Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Treehouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.9
Superb 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.9
Superb 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 10.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 10.0
  • Atmosphere 10.0
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Aug 2017
9.1

The Treehouse is a "home away from home" amongst the most beautiful scenery in Austria! The host Gerhard was amazing, a great free breakfast and optional home cooked lunch and dinner for a small fee which was the best food I've had in Europe! Great place to relax or there is heaps of beautiful cycles and hikes. Gerhard makes his own cider which was great and cheap! Only thing was there wasn't anywhere to lock personal items however I was in a single room, there may have been in the dorms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Very different experience staying in Grunau but I wish I could have planned to stay for more time. Excellent break at the treehouse from the hustle and bustle of city hopping throughout Europe. The cosy lodging forces people to make friends and pair up to explore together or at least meet at dinner time to share your stories. Gherad goes above and beyond for his guests always, and becomes something of a surrogate dad while you're here... and yes he will make you eat your veggies or no dessert!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel is really one of a kind. We were welcomed to the lovely country town by the owner of the hostel. He had picked me up from the train station free of charge and drove me to the hostel. When I entered the door a freshly prepared meal was waiting for me. That night I received a 3 course meal for only 9 euros, you'd be paying double that at any restaurant. The town itself offers spectacular landscapes and views, there is so much to do. Everybody socialises which makes for a great vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Aug 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel of hotel I've ever stayed at. From the moment we walked in the door Gerhard made us feel at home. The beds were comfy, the food was great, the common areas were perfect for meeting people or doing your own thing depending on what you wanted to do. He was knowledgeable about the area and always had something fun for us to do. I really didn't want to leave! I can't wait to come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.7

Treehouse and Gerhard were amazing. If you like hiking, cycling and exploring this is the place for you. Breakfast is included, they will pack a lunch for you if required. Or you can hire a bike, ride to town and visit the supermarket. Dinner is salad/main/desert well worth the price. Laundry will be done for you €6. Loved my time here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
10.0

A home away from home. A holiday break from your holiday. The Treehouse know everyone of their guests and have everything sorted. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and activity suggestions. It's the best place you'll go in Europe. Do it now you won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
9.7

The treehouse is the most wonderful family run hostel! Situated in Grunau (small Austrian town), it is the perfect break away from the madness of big cities. There is plenty to do here (at the hostel itself or in nearby towns/nature attractions) and the surroundings are amazing. Bus stops just outside the hostel & nearby train station where Gerhard (amazing hostel owner) offers pick up/drop off. The hostel environment is friendly, sociable and offers meals & drinks. Will stay here again asap!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Fantastic few days here! We easily could have spent more time in the Austrian countryside. Gerhard and his family make you truly feel welcomed and went above and beyond, including picking you up from the train station. They are very knowledgable about the area and are willing to give directions for walks and cycles. They also serve lovely food and are willing to take in many dietary needs, all served at the table in very sociable environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Aug 2017
10.0

The most hospitable staff and a truly welcoming atmosphere. Loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
10.0

Gerhard is a fantastic host. He cooks delicious home made meals and is always happy to help you organise hikes and bike rides.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.