Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Trip Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 668 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2017
5.7

Tiny nine bed rooms with three levels of bunks and no floor space. The walls between rooms are paper thin. The hostel is old, everything is in need of renovation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Thanks guys. Friendly chilled vibe. So handy to everything. Supermarket around one corner, bus station around the other. Beaches in both directions two short blocks away. Going into off season so lovely and quite around town, still warm enough to swim though if you're feeling brave! Beautiful sunsets and action still on around the port area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
8.0

Location is great. Very clean. Good kitchen and well equipped. Breakfast is ok (coffee, bread, spreads, cereal). Beds ok. When i was there in March there seemed to be mainly Spanish speaking guests. Security i felt was questionable as the gate is always open, main door open, dorm room dorn no key always unlocked and the lockers under the beds you couldn't fit a backpack and i don't think you can use a lock to lock your small valuables. it felt safe bit still. Overall good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
7.4

Dirty beds. No washing facilities. Great location. Awesome staff. Nice vibe at night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Feb 2017
8.0

Great hostel but would hate to see the 12 bed dorm at full capacity as could hardly fit the bags of 6!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.3

It was mostly Spanish speakers staying there when I was there, but the hostel had a really good atmosphere with stuff happening every night. The staff were also great and all spoke good English. Only downside is there are no lockers in any of the rooms. You can't really lock valuables away, not that I felt like anything would get nicked. This has the added problem of everyone's stuff having to just go on the floor so the dorms are messy most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.4

Very cool backpacker hostel with great vibes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
10.0

I LOVED my stay at The Trip Hostel! The location is perfect– 2 blocks from the bus station, from the beach and from the famous hand! There is always something going on at the hostel every night and the staff there were helpful and friendly. Special shoutout to Aldo for being the coolest expat in the country!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
4.3

The place was very dirty, they kept running out of towels, the beds would shake every time you moved, the bathrooms were dirty, my clean sheets had hairs on them, the mattress had a horrible smell, the wifi doesn't work in any of the rooms (just the common room and even then it didn't work half the time), there was nowhere to lock up your bag or suitcase and worst of all, the hostel has 3 dogs which wasn't mentioned anywhere. Positive: The staff were extremely friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
8.0

Very nice people and location. The only negative thing I saw is that rooms are very small and three beds with very small stairs....is dangerous and uncomfortable, and I had to sleep in the third bed at the top... It also could be cheapper...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.