X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Reviews

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1148 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

It was good hostel but I think they should offer the locker I lost my shoes in there Except security, quite good hostel

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not the nicest looking but the location is great.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a great stay, room was perfect for what we needed, thanks!


97%

Great place to stay, awesome location, staff were very helpful. Nice cooking space outside.

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Loved outdoor kitchen. Great place for any age group to stay. Good quiet place to sleep if this is what you want to do.


94%

If you have lockers in the room to secure the safy of personal items. It would be much helpful!

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

Here's a list of what you need to know: - The wifi is not working in the rooms, it only works in the lobby. - The staff is rough. - The pool is not clean and it smells like garbage outside. - It's really close to the beach and other location of miami beach! - The beds are not comfortable at all, make sure you have your own pillow. The a/c works, but is very noisy For this price, I recommend you pay a little bit more to be somewhere else than in this hostel. I would definitely not recommend it.

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

As many other reviewers have noted, the walls are quite thing and sound carries astonishingly well. Hey, you didn't come to Miami to sleep, did you?? But, with a single street and charming, tree-lined pass through between you and the beach, 2 blocks from the strip, it is a fantastic value for your dollar. Staff were consistently helpful. Baddass Thea(?) was a delight, and when we left a dress behind in the closet it was held for us until we could return for it, 2 days later.


80%

Really good location!

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed staying at this Hostel because of the good location and the 4 bed dorms with a private bathroom. The staff was friendly and they offer some great activities. The only thing i thought was a little bit weird is that this hostel does not provide blankets in the dorms, just linen. And I would not necessarily recommend staying in this hostel by yourself because it was not a very ''social'' hostel. But overall my experience was very positive and Miami Beach is great!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

They have a pool and a entrance to the beach just in front, what else you need in Miami ?!


54%

Though the pool is nice, the carpet in the room was filthy. There were also no private lockers for your belongings which is a huge concern.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Me and my friends stayed here for spring break. It was a great location. We were in walking distance from everything, and the hotel was nice and the staff was really friendly. The place was a little old (slow elevator, hard to flush toilet, older furniture), but it was clean, and it was worth the price we paid.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Not at all fancy but a GREAT value for money as it is a stone's throw from Miami beach and south beach. Prime location! It is also pretty clean and comfortable. Absolutely perfect for a great visit to Miami on a budget!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The place itself is kinda dingy, don't expect anything nice in terms of the rooms/toilets or the outdoor kitchen, but the garden kitchen area is a cool place to meet people of you just strike up convo! Honestly can't beat the price for the location tho, and the pool is a nice touch


80%

The place was a great location,overall it's a good value for the Location. What you need to know is the have no parking there so you will have to pay for overnight parking at the parking garage(additional $17) and also I found it strange that they do not have an ice machine.Fortunately there is a Walgreens a few blocks away where you can get ice and another thing they have is a common refrigerated area where you can keep food as well as a Grilling area to cook food if you want .


91%

I was very happy with my choice of Tropics. It had the perfect location, on the main block of Collins Avenue in the heart of the Art Deco neighborhood. It was also 1-1/2 blocks from the beach and from the Front Porch, an excellent, reasonable restaurant on Ocean Avenue. It was just across the street from the Big Bus sightseeing stop, and 1-1/2 blocks from the 150 Airport-South Beach Express ($5 roundtrip). 4-bed female dorm w/bath. Calm, quiet atmosphere. I purposely avoided party hostels.


77%

+ Excellent location (very close to the beach and restaurants/bars/clubs) + Good value for money - Not really a fun/party location (quiet hostel, age average of guests quite high) - You cannot open the windows in the rooms, thus rooms are slightly smelly


91%

The perfect location right in South Beach!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The Tropics has the best location you can have if you want a vacation in the Miami Beach. Connection to the Miami airport is also very good and cheap with the bus 150. Private rooms are big enough to stay for a longer time and the common kitchen/pool area is awesome! The place in general is not in a perfect shape and could use a little renovation/tune up. Housekeeping was working well and especially the reception staff was very helpful and polite. Their prices are a bit high but its worth it!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback