Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.4
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Located at 1550 Collins Ave, , Miami.
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
USA
Miami FL 1550 Collins Ave
77% 1346
25.7885698 -80.1305222
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

By far the best hostel i've stayed in miami. Nice pool, 1 block away from the beach and nice public spaces.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
6.0

Extremely unfriendly staff, I checked just after 11 pm and the guy in the reception started to argue with me for no reason. The facilities are nice and the location is excellent, it's close to both Licoln Road and Ocean Drive. However, if you're looking to meet people this is not the right place, there's no common area whatsoever, just a hotel lobby (this is basically a hotel with some dorms)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
4.6

When arriving to the hotel the staff said that the deposit we made through hostel world didn't count. Because of this we had to pay the fee again. The staff were extremely rude throughout out stay. The rooms were very outdated and dark. We stayed for a week and didn't get our sheets changed once after asking for new ones several times. The rubbish in our room was also never taken out, because of this we left it outside our room and the manager complained.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ninabamberg1310
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
3.7

The stuff were so unfriendly and the whole atmosphere was strange. The stuff viewed pejoratively at us. Moreover, the room was so dirty and it smelt like old wet socks. There was no possibility to open the windows. And there were so Many things everywhere on the floor and in the bathroom, too. Maybe the Former guests left them there, towels, underpants and many more! The kitchen smelt dirty and musty. The only good thing was the Pool. I would recommend it only of its Price!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Wonderful central location in So(uth) Be(ach). Fantastic pool. Great kitchen and eating area outside. Marvellous staff. Just had a lovely 2 weeks here. Would go again. Can't be beaten for price and relaxed atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
5.4

The staff was rude. The pool was dirty. The kitchen was lacking a lot of kitchen wear. The facilities were old and some of them broken. People were making noice in the hallway in the middle of the night for hours and staff wouldn't do anything about it. The only good thing I can say about this hostel is that the bathroom got cleaned every day and the location was great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.0

good wifi, pool, good location, clean and enough facilities such as washing/ironing. Good value for money i guess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th May 2016
5.7

The location and the pool are the best things (although they falsely advertise an 'Olympic size' pool) Negatives: found one particular member of staff very rude, he wouldn't give us towel or blanket because they aren't for "dorm guests" and made an insulting comment about our card being accepted on arrival. He did not have a helpful attitude throughout our stay and seemed to look down on travellers. Also, the police were called out on two occasions to deal with other guests which i

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
7.1

The location is PERFECT, near to the beach, the ocean drive and everything! The room didnt look like the photo. We didnt get towels, just sheets. But we still enjoyed our stay, because of the great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.9

Good and clean with good facilities. Location was fantastic and that made the cost of the stay even better value. The atmosphere was OK, only I would say that it doesn't quite have a friendly hostel atmosphere nor a service related hotel atmosphere and sits somewhere in the middle. For me it was somewhere to sleep for a couple of days in a central location and on a budget which it more than met my expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.