X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Reviews

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1131 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Really good location!

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed staying at this Hostel because of the good location and the 4 bed dorms with a private bathroom. The staff was friendly and they offer some great activities. The only thing i thought was a little bit weird is that this hostel does not provide blankets in the dorms, just linen. And I would not necessarily recommend staying in this hostel by yourself because it was not a very ''social'' hostel. But overall my experience was very positive and Miami Beach is great!

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

They have a pool and a entrance to the beach just in front, what else you need in Miami ?!


54%

Though the pool is nice, the carpet in the room was filthy. There were also no private lockers for your belongings which is a huge concern.

  • 23rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Me and my friends stayed here for spring break. It was a great location. We were in walking distance from everything, and the hotel was nice and the staff was really friendly. The place was a little old (slow elevator, hard to flush toilet, older furniture), but it was clean, and it was worth the price we paid.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Not at all fancy but a GREAT value for money as it is a stone's throw from Miami beach and south beach. Prime location! It is also pretty clean and comfortable. Absolutely perfect for a great visit to Miami on a budget!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The place itself is kinda dingy, don't expect anything nice in terms of the rooms/toilets or the outdoor kitchen, but the garden kitchen area is a cool place to meet people of you just strike up convo! Honestly can't beat the price for the location tho, and the pool is a nice touch


80%

The place was a great location,overall it's a good value for the Location. What you need to know is the have no parking there so you will have to pay for overnight parking at the parking garage(additional $17) and also I found it strange that they do not have an ice machine.Fortunately there is a Walgreens a few blocks away where you can get ice and another thing they have is a common refrigerated area where you can keep food as well as a Grilling area to cook food if you want .


91%

I was very happy with my choice of Tropics. It had the perfect location, on the main block of Collins Avenue in the heart of the Art Deco neighborhood. It was also 1-1/2 blocks from the beach and from the Front Porch, an excellent, reasonable restaurant on Ocean Avenue. It was just across the street from the Big Bus sightseeing stop, and 1-1/2 blocks from the 150 Airport-South Beach Express ($5 roundtrip). 4-bed female dorm w/bath. Calm, quiet atmosphere. I purposely avoided party hostels.


77%

+ Excellent location (very close to the beach and restaurants/bars/clubs) + Good value for money - Not really a fun/party location (quiet hostel, age average of guests quite high) - You cannot open the windows in the rooms, thus rooms are slightly smelly


91%

The perfect location right in South Beach!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The Tropics has the best location you can have if you want a vacation in the Miami Beach. Connection to the Miami airport is also very good and cheap with the bus 150. Private rooms are big enough to stay for a longer time and the common kitchen/pool area is awesome! The place in general is not in a perfect shape and could use a little renovation/tune up. Housekeeping was working well and especially the reception staff was very helpful and polite. Their prices are a bit high but its worth it!!


91%

The hotel is well situated near the beach and bus stops. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can book some excursions at the reception. The kitchen and a big fridge help you save money. I stayed in a four-bed women room and my roommates were great. The rooms are cleaned every day. The only inconvenience is that there are no lockers in the room but you can leave your belongings at the reception. During the night it may become cold (ac) so don't forget to ask for blankets at the reception.


100%

Great location, 1 street away from the beach and ocean drive and close to bars

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location in South Beach Miami i.e. Close to the beach, supermarkets, dining, entertainment and city bike hire. The staff are friendly and helpful. We staying in a private room with a double bed - the room was large with an ensuite, tv, table and a small walk in clothing cupboard. The facilities were dated but totally fine in our room plus the location was priority. I would stay here again!


57%

I was very disappointed by the value for money. $41 for a bunk bed in an 8 bed dorm is quite a lot, even in a prime spot like Miami Beach. The room was not clean and it was smelly. There was no window to open and the A/C was not able to provide enough fresh air. The bathroom did not make a clean impression. No lockers were provided. I had booked with two friends and it was not even possible to put us in the same room, although we were under the impression that we had a booking in the same room

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that your 7 roommates did not keep their belongings organized, the complaint that you did not stay in the same room with your friends is attributable to the fact that you have booked a bed in a shared room for 8 guests and your friends booked a shared room with 4 guests. Those are 2 different categories.

69%

Great location but moldy. Decent place to crash for a couple nights.


83%

The only complaint that I have is that the room smelled like urine. Not a nice smell.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Right in the Heart of South Beach Miami, 1 block away from the beach, 1 block away from Lincoln rd. Good value for money, Wifi is a bit poor in the rooms but great in the lobby. There is also a computer if you need to use it. A swimming pool which is pretty good for a hostel. The kitchen is great and there is a laundry room too. Staff are all great and very accomodating. If i am back in Miami, Ill BE STAYING THERE AGAIN THANK YOU !!


94%

The window was broken and the smell there was strange smell. Besides that everything was perfekt and the location is perfekt! Also the staff were superfriendly and helful. Specially Jonathan.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback