X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Reviews

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
1089 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location, 1 street away from the beach and ocean drive and close to bars

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location in South Beach Miami i.e. Close to the beach, supermarkets, dining, entertainment and city bike hire. The staff are friendly and helpful. We staying in a private room with a double bed - the room was large with an ensuite, tv, table and a small walk in clothing cupboard. The facilities were dated but totally fine in our room plus the location was priority. I would stay here again!


57%

I was very disappointed by the value for money. $41 for a bunk bed in an 8 bed dorm is quite a lot, even in a prime spot like Miami Beach. The room was not clean and it was smelly. There was no window to open and the A/C was not able to provide enough fresh air. The bathroom did not make a clean impression. No lockers were provided. I had booked with two friends and it was not even possible to put us in the same room, although we were under the impression that we had a booking in the same room


69%

Great location but moldy. Decent place to crash for a couple nights.


83%

The only complaint that I have is that the room smelled like urine. Not a nice smell.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Right in the Heart of South Beach Miami, 1 block away from the beach, 1 block away from Lincoln rd. Good value for money, Wifi is a bit poor in the rooms but great in the lobby. There is also a computer if you need to use it. A swimming pool which is pretty good for a hostel. The kitchen is great and there is a laundry room too. Staff are all great and very accomodating. If i am back in Miami, Ill BE STAYING THERE AGAIN THANK YOU !!


94%

The window was broken and the smell there was strange smell. Besides that everything was perfekt and the location is perfekt! Also the staff were superfriendly and helful. Specially Jonathan.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is really good. Staff was friendly, specially Jonathan and the only lady that we saw at front desk. AC didn't work the first 2 nights. Room was poorly cleaned. We found hair in the bathroom. Price is fine. It's all about location.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Nicaragua
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice location, close to the beach. Big kitchen and common area to chill.


94%

The staff is great. Such nice and helpful people. The hostel is party if you want, but I had classes every day 8am and had no problem getting asleep. Not that much noise and the fan is cool enough, so staying in the 11$ room is perfectly fine. A 10 for me this hostel!!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Location is perfect, the rest is up to standard. But a good place to stay over the nignight!


86%

Its a really nice hostel for staying a few nights. Its clean, staff is nice and the food is decent. However it has very much a party atmosphere and there is not enough space to hang and just drink a beer, read a book and chat with people.


97%

A part from the internet that would not always connect and the hair dryer that most of the times was not available, our experience was absolutely great. Lovely staff, very helpful and great atmosphere.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

not a lot of activities

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If this were a yacht, I'd name it -LE PETIT PRINCE- location, location, location. No HDTV, no toaster, no lockers, no geyser, no prob. Still the patio kitchen has a feel of provence I favored. Unforgettable holiday holidaying with an ABBA touch that may not last forever.


80%

The location is great; just a few steps from Lincoln Road and very close to many clubs. Double private room in which we stayed was spacious and clean. Swimming pool is a plus. Only thing wifi was not working At all in our room at 3d floor but only in the lobby.


66%

1. Room key was not available at time of check in 2. Prior tenant's sheets still left on bed and we had to clear it ourselves 3. Mixed bedroom not recommended for female lodgers as most tenants were male and some were intimidating (after coming back drunk) 4. We came in a party of three and swapped rooms between ourselves. Staff woke one of us up abruptly early in the morning at about 6 am she was asked to leave the room immediately without seeking clarification

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel in a great location. The facilities offered were great, a place to cook if you are on a budget or South Beach is just on your doorstop to explore. The reception was manned 24/7 so you felt secure and it was nice to know there would be someone there if you needed them. All the staff I talked to were fun and helpful. The room itself was fine, could maybe do with a lick of paint but for the price it was spot on - nice Art Deco features. Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Its a very quiet hostel and not really a place to meet new people. However the pool area is really nice. The rooms and bathrooms are not clean and there are no safety deposits in the room!


86%

Amazing place to stay. The staff are very friendly yet professional and strict that helps Miami vacation crowds in control especially on weekends. They have strict rules and guests abide by them which make others feel secured. We paid 18$ a night in a four bedroom dorm. So we didn't really expect a lot. However, there are no lockers for your personal belongings. Diff cultures and guests indeed made my trip more exciting. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will stay there again.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback