Hostelworld.com

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.8
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Located at 1550 Collins Ave, , Miami.
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
USA
Miami FL 1550 Collins Ave
78% 1296
25.7885698 -80.1305222
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • xhostels
  • Italy, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.9

All great except for no wifi

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
6.9

This is a basic place, not so bad not good at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.1

Quite simply a major reason I keep coming back to Miami. Three words, location, location , location ! The pool and eating area are pretty good too. Jonathan always a pleasure to deal with ! Rooms are a bit worn and torn but if you want better, there's plenty of other ( more expensive ) options available !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Mar 2016
9.4

Stayed here during Miami music week and Ultra! Perfect location with supermarkets a short walk in either direction of the hostel and the local shopping strip right around the corner! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm, spacious room with built in bathroom! Only issue was the lack of power points with only two outlets in the room between 8 people but a power board solved that one. Great affordable accommodation, will definitely be staying again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2016
8.0

best hostel in Miami beach, except no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Feb 2016
9.1

I had a great stay. Depending on the room or bed you sleep it can be comfortable or not. 1st of 2 stays I had a terrible bed. I felt every spring of the mattress. 2nd stay I had a very good mattress. Overall experience is good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2016
6.0

The walls were so paper thin that it was really hard to sleep, even at 4 in the morning. The pool seemed pretty dirty and I did not see anyone go in it while we were there. The location in Miami Beach was good, but overall, it felt like we were staying in a sleazy motel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
6.0

The Location is, without a doubt, perfect. Very close to the Beach and on Collins Ave...what else do you want? OK, it could be cleaner, the rooms could need a good refurbishment and the staff could be a little more attentive and friendly but if you're just staying for a short period or anyway out all day, its ok.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • msztein
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
18th Jan 2016
10.0

We stayed in a private room. The value for money of this hostel/hotel is far better than that of other hotels in the area. Tropics is right in rhe city centre, one block away from the beach and the rooms and absolutely comfortable, spacious and quiet. The only two things I'd complain about are that there were not enough mugs at breakfast and that although we had written our name, room and date of departure on the papar bag, our bag with food disappeared from the fridge twice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2016
5.1

Pathetic, Unprofessional and Rude hostel. I book a bed in a dormitory, and they forced me to take a private room and pay extra. Probably they oversold their beds, instead of compensating me for their mistake, the front desk lady rudely said "Either pay the full price of a private room or go and find any other hostel". I explained that I have done a booking and have already paid the amount for the bed and she said that she doesn't care.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.