Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1495 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jun 2017
7.1

This place is in a great location. Close to the beach, transportation, grocery stores etc. It isn't a hostel, more like a hotel. There is no hostel vibe here, it gets all kind of people passing through. Decent pool and kitchen/laundry facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
8.0

A bar of soap would be nice instead of the tiny trial sized liquid bottle they provide.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
7.7

Good location. Staff helped with dinner recommendations and transport. Basically just a hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th May 2017
7.1

Great location within 5 minutes of the beach and plenty of places to eat and drink. No security lockers and other people in my dorm complained of items and money going missing. Pretty clean and good facilities with laundry, a kitchen and a pool! The issue really was the atmosphere, a lot of long term people so few other travellers and difficult to meet people from other dorms. Still, great value for Miami, just maybe not for solo travel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
8.9

Good choice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belarus, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th May 2017
3.1

No airport shuttle, terrible accomodations, dirty bedsheets. They don't accept state IDs- MUST have passport.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
9.1

We booked 2 rooms with 3 twin beds in each with private bathrooms. We were a group of older ladies staying in Miami after a cruise. We all enjoyed our stay. We used the pool each day. The ocean is only a block away. All kinds of restaurants and bars with in walking distance. If you are looking for a budget Hotel/ Hostel The Tropics is a great choice. They are always doing work around the Hotel to keep it looking nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.3

Great location and facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nataliehenshall7395
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd May 2017
8.9

This is a cool fairly low budget hotel nonetheless providing good value for money right on Collins avenue a few mins walk from ocean drive. Really awesome location & good kitchen for self catering. No complaints!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.7

No hot water in tub, but no problem. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.