Hostelworld.com

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Located at 1550 Collins Ave, , Miami.
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
USA
Miami FL 1550 Collins Ave
76% 1336
25.7885698 -80.1305222
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ninabamberg1310
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
3.7

The stuff were so unfriendly and the whole atmosphere was strange. The stuff viewed pejoratively at us. Moreover, the room was so dirty and it smelt like old wet socks. There was no possibility to open the windows. And there were so Many things everywhere on the floor and in the bathroom, too. Maybe the Former guests left them there, towels, underpants and many more! The kitchen smelt dirty and musty. The only good thing was the Pool. I would recommend it only of its Price!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.7

Wonderful central location in So(uth) Be(ach). Fantastic pool. Great kitchen and eating area outside. Marvellous staff. Just had a lovely 2 weeks here. Would go again. Can't be beaten for price and relaxed atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2016
5.4

The staff was rude. The pool was dirty. The kitchen was lacking a lot of kitchen wear. The facilities were old and some of them broken. People were making noice in the hallway in the middle of the night for hours and staff wouldn't do anything about it. The only good thing I can say about this hostel is that the bathroom got cleaned every day and the location was great.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
8.0

good wifi, pool, good location, clean and enough facilities such as washing/ironing. Good value for money i guess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th May 2016
5.7

The location and the pool are the best things (although they falsely advertise an 'Olympic size' pool) Negatives: found one particular member of staff very rude, he wouldn't give us towel or blanket because they aren't for "dorm guests" and made an insulting comment about our card being accepted on arrival. He did not have a helpful attitude throughout our stay and seemed to look down on travellers. Also, the police were called out on two occasions to deal with other guests which i

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
7.1

The location is PERFECT, near to the beach, the ocean drive and everything! The room didnt look like the photo. We didnt get towels, just sheets. But we still enjoyed our stay, because of the great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Apr 2016
8.9

Good and clean with good facilities. Location was fantastic and that made the cost of the stay even better value. The atmosphere was OK, only I would say that it doesn't quite have a friendly hostel atmosphere nor a service related hotel atmosphere and sits somewhere in the middle. For me it was somewhere to sleep for a couple of days in a central location and on a budget which it more than met my expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.6

Great location and pleasant atmosphere. It didn't feel like a party hostel. Depending on what you're looking for can be a plus or minus. There is a swimming pool but I never used it because it's so close to the beach. Highly recommended if you're looking for a bargain in Miami Beach and you're ok with basic facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • teoshiqing9743
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.6

This hostel was in a very location and the room was ok and clean too. However the 2 reception staff I interacted with were rude and unhelpful. There's also no way to meet or interact with other guests as well - I suppose that's why it's a few $ cheaper than some of the other 'party hostels'

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • xhostels
  • Italy, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.9

All great except for no wifi

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.