Hostelworld.com

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,325 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel Located at 1550 Collins Ave, , Miami.
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
USA
Miami FL 1550 Collins Ave
77% 1325
25.7885698 -80.1305222
The Tropics Hotel and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th May 2016
5.7

The location and the pool are the best things (although they falsely advertise an 'Olympic size' pool) Negatives: found one particular member of staff very rude, he wouldn't give us towel or blanket because they aren't for "dorm guests" and made an insulting comment about our card being accepted on arrival. He did not have a helpful attitude throughout our stay and seemed to look down on travellers. Also, the police were called out on two occasions to deal with other guests which i

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
7.1

The location is PERFECT, near to the beach, the ocean drive and everything! The room didnt look like the photo. We didnt get towels, just sheets. But we still enjoyed our stay, because of the great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.9

Good and clean with good facilities. Location was fantastic and that made the cost of the stay even better value. The atmosphere was OK, only I would say that it doesn't quite have a friendly hostel atmosphere nor a service related hotel atmosphere and sits somewhere in the middle. For me it was somewhere to sleep for a couple of days in a central location and on a budget which it more than met my expectations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
8.6

Great location and pleasant atmosphere. It didn't feel like a party hostel. Depending on what you're looking for can be a plus or minus. There is a swimming pool but I never used it because it's so close to the beach. Highly recommended if you're looking for a bargain in Miami Beach and you're ok with basic facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • teoshiqing9743
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.6

This hostel was in a very location and the room was ok and clean too. However the 2 reception staff I interacted with were rude and unhelpful. There's also no way to meet or interact with other guests as well - I suppose that's why it's a few $ cheaper than some of the other 'party hostels'

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • xhostels
  • Italy, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
6.9

All great except for no wifi

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
6.9

This is a basic place, not so bad not good at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
9.1

Quite simply a major reason I keep coming back to Miami. Three words, location, location , location ! The pool and eating area are pretty good too. Jonathan always a pleasure to deal with ! Rooms are a bit worn and torn but if you want better, there's plenty of other ( more expensive ) options available !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Mar 2016
9.4

Stayed here during Miami music week and Ultra! Perfect location with supermarkets a short walk in either direction of the hostel and the local shopping strip right around the corner! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm, spacious room with built in bathroom! Only issue was the lack of power points with only two outlets in the room between 8 people but a power board solved that one. Great affordable accommodation, will definitely be staying again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2016
8.0

best hostel in Miami beach, except no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.