Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.1

I would suggest some control with smokers by the pool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

It was completely AMAZING the staff is beyond sweet and what ever you need they make sure your needs are met ,the outside pool area is clean n beautiful the rooms are clean n homeie feel i loved everything about this hotel ,its close to the beach and food places shopping area and party night clubs I will be staying here again in july ❤❤❤❤❤

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
9.1

For this place it's all about two things budget and location, self catering also ranks highly as there's a great area out the back where you can cook and eat / chill. Staff are great too. Cheers Tay and Jonathan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
21st Mar 2017
9.4

My go to accomodation for Miami Music Week! Perfect location. Great staff. See you again next year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.3

it's great place in great location, but it has no "lockers"!! if you want to put your stuff in the lockers you have to go to the reception and pay 25 cent for each opening!! which I could understand!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.4

Could hear lots of noise from other rooms. Girl in the reception during the morning was not friendly at all. Great location, though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
7.1

The black woman at the front is probably the rudest person I have ever met in my entire life. I saw her give every guest attitude and literally talk down to them and make fun of them. Even took someone's bag out of the storage closet because they annoyed her. Everyone else was very nice and polite. You don't get blankets or towels and there are no lockers to keep your things. You just have to trust who's in your room. Also if you pay for 4 beds and a quad room you still may be separate :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Mar 2017
8.6

Been to the Tropics the 2nd time. Always a good stay for some nights. Just the Matrasses are a nighmare... for a guy with over 170lbs - be aware you might feel every spring of the mattress... If they would change to better mattresses - that would be just perfect. The bunk beds are standard steel frame squeeky beds ... and make the usual bunk bed noise. My room, 108 had ONE wall-plug for 4 beds... which is rather less... difficult to recharge your personal devices.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
2.0

I cannot submit a review of this hostel because I never stayed there. When I showed up to register at the front desk on 02/19/17 @ 3:00 PM, I was told that I could not stay there because I did not have a passport. The front desk said it was strictly required and referred me to other hostels down the street which, he said, did not require a passport. So, I did not register to stay and they declared my reservation as a " no show", which is not true, since I did show up on time!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.3

great location 1 min from beach and right in the middle of everywhere in south beach.a nice,relaxing place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.