X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
677 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Dirty and uncomfortable. Definitely not a nice experience.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A little unfair as your arrival was advised as 11pm, & you did not call to advise of a delay. We waited until 2am - no show, you arrived at 3am & staff got up, checked you in & gave you a bed. You checked out at 10am - maybe you should show a little class & thank us !!!

66%

Es war ein anderes hostel was ich gebucht hatte also bin ich extrem unzufrieden

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I think the main hostel (yale) is pretty much cooler

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Iain was super helpful.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The lovely staff failed to make up for the extensive flaws. Whilst the communal kitchen and living areas were fine, the bed was the worst I've stayed in - no barrier for the top bunk combined with a very low quality mattress and bed frame meant it never felt like a safe sleep. This is a review for the overflow property on Yale Avenue, which is further from the beach than the one advertised, though it is still walkable.


80%

A good hostel especially for younger travelers. Many students from all around the world. Always something going on. Even if the location is announced as 716 Washington Blvd, I had no problem to find the correct location (YALE AVE) for check-in (got an email right after the booking). Venice Beach is a almost 20 min walk and LAX 30 min by bus.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean place, strange location with a hobo hang out outside. Heard them shouting all night. Staff is super cool and friendly. Big confusion with the "other" location.


46%

Overpriced and no atmosphere

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel was passable, but not ideal. I wouldn't have liked to stay there for more than one night. The address given on the hostel was not where we were actually supposed to go - please change it to the Yale Avenue address! The 13-bed dorm was very crowded, and became smelly through the night, and people were not that considerate about coming in late and making noise. However, the service was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was nice.


97%

Helpful staff, clean hostel and nice location


57%

This hostel has 2 locations (one close to the beach, the other a 20min walk from the beach). The 2 locations makes it more difficult to create a good environment with great ambiance. The beds were old and are due to renew. But Every person gets new sheets which was good. The bathroom needed a good clean(water and sand all over the floor). I think that if this hostel was located in only one place, it would have made my stay a lot better. It felt more as renting an apartment for a few nights.


86%

The staff were all amazing and so friendly.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good Hostel, twenty minute walk from the beach. The staff is really nice and friendly and the rooms are very clean. Nothing to complain about really, i would rather live a bit away from Venice beach rather than next to the ocean.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

All good! Ian is a great guy. Thanks for having me ;)


80%

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

No lockers in or near the dorms. I was in the second location which is closer to 30 than 15 minutes walk from the beach. The place is a bit scruffy. And it costs $5 to leave your bag in the unlocked garage for a day after you check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There were lockers 2 metres from your room next to the soda machine !

37%

"The Venice Beach Hostel" (this hostel) and "Venice Beach Hostel" are two completely different hostels. The Venice Beach Hostel isn't even located to Venice Beach, it's in Marina Del Rey. Why the pictures of Venice Beach? It's a good 25 minute walk to the beach. Also, they moved us to "the other hostel". My rating is of the "other hostel". It's a old unit which has been coverted into a one bedroom (6 beds) and a single private. This wasn't even a hostel!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location for getting busses and trains into Hollywood and LA. Also not too far from Disney. Stayed at the 2nd location on Yale avenue which was a 15min walk or more to Venice and muscle beach. Chilled out relaxed atmosphere safe area Great stay

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

So the staff was really nice and helpful all the time and they gave good advices for trips all around Los angeles. Nevertheless in my opinion towels would be needed in the bathroom for drying hands, the toilets smelled bad and the blankets seemed not to be washed for every new traveler (either they should be washed every time or they should use sheets/covers).

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and quiet but a bit far from the main activities. Great staff and clean rooms.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback