X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
662 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

This hostel has 2 locations (one close to the beach, the other a 20min walk from the beach). The 2 locations makes it more difficult to create a good environment with great ambiance. The beds were old and are due to renew. But Every person gets new sheets which was good. The bathroom needed a good clean(water and sand all over the floor). I think that if this hostel was located in only one place, it would have made my stay a lot better. It felt more as renting an apartment for a few nights.


86%

The staff were all amazing and so friendly.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good Hostel, twenty minute walk from the beach. The staff is really nice and friendly and the rooms are very clean. Nothing to complain about really, i would rather live a bit away from Venice beach rather than next to the ocean.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

All good! Ian is a great guy. Thanks for having me ;)


80%

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

No lockers in or near the dorms. I was in the second location which is closer to 30 than 15 minutes walk from the beach. The place is a bit scruffy. And it costs $5 to leave your bag in the unlocked garage for a day after you check out.


37%

"The Venice Beach Hostel" (this hostel) and "Venice Beach Hostel" are two completely different hostels. The Venice Beach Hostel isn't even located to Venice Beach, it's in Marina Del Rey. Why the pictures of Venice Beach? It's a good 25 minute walk to the beach. Also, they moved us to "the other hostel". My rating is of the "other hostel". It's a old unit which has been coverted into a one bedroom (6 beds) and a single private. This wasn't even a hostel!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location for getting busses and trains into Hollywood and LA. Also not too far from Disney. Stayed at the 2nd location on Yale avenue which was a 15min walk or more to Venice and muscle beach. Chilled out relaxed atmosphere safe area Great stay

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

So the staff was really nice and helpful all the time and they gave good advices for trips all around Los angeles. Nevertheless in my opinion towels would be needed in the bathroom for drying hands, the toilets smelled bad and the blankets seemed not to be washed for every new traveler (either they should be washed every time or they should use sheets/covers).

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and quiet but a bit far from the main activities. Great staff and clean rooms.


54%

Pour commencer aucune intimité dans la salle de bain. Il n'y a même pas e poignée de porte! J'avais le lit du dessous et quand le gars s'est couché j'ai eu peur que le lit s'effondre tellement c'est vieux. Le petit déjeuner est entre 9h et 10h, ce qui est beaucoup trop tard, à moins de vouloir passer ses vacances a l'auberge..


100%

Everything was good ! The hostel us Nice ans zen and 20 min to walk for The beach Thank you so much !! Xxx


91%

Friendly and helpful staff regarding the area and things to do. Pleasant stay. Bathrooms a bit lacking in privacy for the female travelers.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

In dem Hostel herrscht schlechte Atmosphäre. Man kommt kaum mit Leuten in Kontakt, so wie man es von anderen Hostels kennt. Die Mitarbeiter sind nicht gerade geschult in meinem Fall auch sehr unfreundlich. Die Lage lässt doch sehr zu wünschen übrig. Der Name "Beach Hostel" führt in die Irre. Das Hostel liegt einen weiten Fußmarsch vom Strand entfernt. Die Ausstattung sehr schlecht. Es gibt kaum Infomaterial, nur eine Dusche und eine Toilette pro Etage, und die Betten sind sehr durchgelegen.


80%

While there are things that are rustic in nature I love the atmosphere of this place. People are laid back and there is a hominess to the facility. After staying in a few other hostels this one remains my best pick out of all of them.


57%

We booked a private room with bathroom and it was not disclosed that it was without a shower. Also the location of Hostel is not clear we thought we booked closer to the ocean but when we arrived they said the only private wasd at the other Hostel further away.


97%

There should be breakfast on both lokations.


69%

Excellent manager !! Very funny block


43%

You can not even lock the shower as it just has a curtain. There were not ladders to the top bunk.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Little unfair Kiralee, you were picked up from the airport saving you $25 in a taxi, the shower has a nice door as you are aware & you chose a top bunk when many other beds were available !!

83%

good breakfast, nice staff

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback