X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
694 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Das Hostel ist extrem dreckig. Es gibt nur 2 duschen und man kann sich nur im öffentlichen Bad umziehen um zu duschen. Die Matratzen sind sehr alt und man merkt jede Feder. Der Teppichboden ist nicht sauber und hygienisch. Falsche Adresse in buchungsbestätigung. Viele Mücken. Sehr stickig in den Zimmern,

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Helpfuo staff, but it it's nit a real hostel it's just some kind of appartment for up to 14 people with just 1 bathroom, it's a bit far too far to the beach to be named "beach hostel" 20 min walk to the beach, very old bunk beds, it's ok if you don't expect nothing but otherwise it's not worth the money+ they charge you 15$ for buying by credit card!!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

For the price it really wasn't very good. Beds need new matresses.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well lets face it - at check in you said that you hadn't liked your previous hostels so we are following a trend !!

100%

Warm & welcoming staff with respectful guests. Positive energy in a casual social setting.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We checked in to a 6 bed dorm, with no air conditioner, no fans, so hot we had to have windows open, with cars/trucks driving down the main road at all hours of the night, resulting in next to no sleep, it was extremely hot and uncomfortable without anything to keep us cool, the bunk beds felt like they were going to break considering how unstable they were, a pull out bed blocked the the entrance to the room, meaning we had to squeeze in and out of the dorm, the toilet didnt flush.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location for the beach and felt very safe. The facilities are however a bit unclean and it would be nice to shower with some more privacy but as a young female it never felt unsafe. Very relaxed environment, it may have been the timing but after socialising loads in previous hostels people kept themselves to themselves here.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The bunks are not the best, but the house is charming, and the place safety and full of live. Love it!


40%

Good breakfast, location was alright, but it's actually not really close to the beach. The beds were totally worn out and almost all the facilities were moldy and dirty. Our room was very small. We had a window directly to a busy street, but there was no possibility to completely close it, which made the room very noisy. No air conditioning was available. Staff varied between friendly and creepy. We did not feel comfortable at any moment and felt quite insecure in addition. stay somewhere else!


34%

This place was pretty grimy and quite far away from Venice Beach. It was overpriced and mediocre.


89%

Julia was the best!! She is very helpful and always smiling.


31%

Dirty and uncomfortable. Definitely not a nice experience.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A little unfair as your arrival was advised as 11pm, & you did not call to advise of a delay. We waited until 2am - no show, you arrived at 3am & staff got up, checked you in & gave you a bed. You checked out at 10am - maybe you should show a little class & thank us !!!

66%

Es war ein anderes hostel was ich gebucht hatte also bin ich extrem unzufrieden

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This hostel is ok if you're staying for one or two nights, but I wouldn't recommend a longer stay. The atmosphere was nice but compared to other hostels this didn't offer clean towels or bedding, there was no ac, the madrasses felt dirty and completely worn out.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I think the main hostel (yale) is pretty much cooler

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Iain was super helpful.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

The lovely staff failed to make up for the extensive flaws. Whilst the communal kitchen and living areas were fine, the bed was the worst I've stayed in - no barrier for the top bunk combined with a very low quality mattress and bed frame meant it never felt like a safe sleep. This is a review for the overflow property on Yale Avenue, which is further from the beach than the one advertised, though it is still walkable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well you liked it enough to return for a 2nd visit !

80%

A good hostel especially for younger travelers. Many students from all around the world. Always something going on. Even if the location is announced as 716 Washington Blvd, I had no problem to find the correct location (YALE AVE) for check-in (got an email right after the booking). Venice Beach is a almost 20 min walk and LAX 30 min by bus.


80%

Clean place, strange location with a hobo hang out outside. Heard them shouting all night. Staff is super cool and friendly. Big confusion with the "other" location.


46%

Overpriced and no atmosphere

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel was passable, but not ideal. I wouldn't have liked to stay there for more than one night. The address given on the hostel was not where we were actually supposed to go - please change it to the Yale Avenue address! The 13-bed dorm was very crowded, and became smelly through the night, and people were not that considerate about coming in late and making noise. However, the service was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was nice.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback