Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Kings Cross

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1106 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location and great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lauren-harris93203
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
6.9

My only issue with this hostel was that the one kitchen was far too small for the amount of people living there. Also my room was on the ground floor and the cooking smells came into my room throughout the day. The location is good as it is walking distance to the city centre providing you like a good walk but if not Kings Cross station is 2 mins away. The rooftop balcony was great, stunning views!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
6.3

Not bad but essentially average. I feel for sydney and this price you probably couldn't do better. Old place with not much hang out space. After the kitchen closes people would hang in the tiny shared space w a tv which was right next to some rooms, including mine, making it very hard to sleep because right outside people were being loud until late at night. Kitchen is quite small and easily overwhelmed by people. Position is okay with good connection via train

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • adnanhiroli5449
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2017
7.7

Enjoyed our stay, the kitchen is slighlty small in relation to the guests there and that does make the kitchen messy as people dont often clean their dishes. Saying that the staff on hand are always making sure the place is clean and tidy and helpful. Enjoyed our stay- thanks you 👌🏼

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
6.9

The wifi was my biggest issue with this hostel. The stay was fairly pleasant but for the same price I could have had breakfast and decent wifi at another hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sirhcainsley6611
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2017
6.9

The location was great, about 15-20 mins walk from the city centre and harbour. The cleaning lady, who may have been an owner, was absolutely lovely and made you feel right at home. Few gripes were that the beds were so squeaky! Plus there is only 3 toilet/shower rooms to each floor, which can be competitive in the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2017
8.3

The kitchen can get crowded and the wifi is slow. The hostel does have a great team of staff, and lovely cleaners who do an excellent job. The bathrooms are among the better I've seen in hostels. It's common room areas are fairly small, as a result the social side is quite good and for those staying long term you quickly feel a part of the family. The hostel take noise complaints and misbehaviour seriously and I've seen people thrown out for noiseyness which is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th May 2017
4.9

Kitchen far too small for number of guests by around 9pm every night sinks both completely blocked up. Guy who cleans kitchen is very rude. Room not overly clean neither was bathroom and my bed was held together on one side with cello tape. Handy location near to King Cross station and a few nice cafes and places to eat around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th May 2017
7.4

Nice hostel in a decent location, close to train station and only a 25 minute walk from central Sydney. Facilities seem quite basic and the lockers are not the most secure. Bathrooms can get messy at times but that's not the hostels fault and it is tidied up very regularly. You get what you pay for, it's value for money that's for sure!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th May 2017
7.1

Safe and clean hostel, not too big, great location. Bigger kitchen and a living room would have been nice but otherwise was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.