Hostelworld.com

The Village Surry Hills

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1622 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • CharlieB2017
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.0

Finding the village was nice and easy had a great location and atmosphere across the hostel even tho we only stayed for one night I would definitely recommend this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Next time I'll make sure we get a room with ensuite an fridge (if possible)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

Great location in Surry Hills. Free breakfast was also very nice with Nutella and coco pops available. Had to clear out of outside area by 9 and no drinking outside of room after 10 so not the most social place but very helpful and friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

A really lovely clean hostel. I don't have any complaints! Nice friendly staff and comfortable beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Perfect hostel for catching the GH out of Sydney early in the morning. The guy that greeted us was great and we had no issues with our room. We were only there for 12hrs but don't be scared of the cheap price it's actually a very nice place for a nights sleep. Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel for the money breakfast was served until late which was great and the air con was really good. 30 mins walk to the CBD. Only downside was our bathroom flooded every time someone had a shower and the toilet seat was broken.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

The place is a little bit older then it looks in photos but overall an excellent choice. Super close to the central station and easy access to anything you may need. A coles just up the street and the kitchen was an easy to use environment. The staff including cleaners were all friendly and helpful. The internet is $3 a day for 24 hours unlimited access (even though the assess code says 500mb its unlimited, tho you may need to log in again if connected for an extended time). Excellent!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.9

Stayed at Village Bondi a week before but this place is on another level! Best 4-bed dorm I've stayed in (travelling for 2 months)!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
6.0

It's an ok hostel. Only picked for price and close to central station and 15min walk to grey hound stop. No lockers, surrounding area not great apart from park. Lots of workers living there so very cliquey. Breakfast was fine fridge space lacking and you have to pay $5 for a net bag. As a place to sleep it was fine, bed comfy, bathroom clean and good air con.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.9

Super nice hostel with friendly staff. Very relaxed atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.