Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Surry Hills

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 1,514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 1,514 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.7
The Village Surry Hills Located at 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, , Sydney.
The Village Surry Hills
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2010 207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016
67% 1514
-33.8894319 151.2041179
The Village Surry Hills
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

A lot of long termers, so rooms are a bit packed with stuff. Nice people, great staff. Rooms are quite small and dirty. Felt like the rooms were not vacuum cleaned at all, always a bit of a feeling of dirt on the floor. Kitchen also a bit dirty and small. Showers were ok, few cockroaches. Free breakfast was ok. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
6.6

No security lockers were provided.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
5.7

I was disappointed that we weren't notified about the renovations, and it made the stay much less pleasant, especially in relation to sleep. the drain in our shower was also blocked and no one we spoke to would help.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.9

Very good, we enjoyed our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
4.9

Service is alright. But the rooms are just very dirty. The bathrooms are moldy and disgusting. The sheets have stains on them. It was very unsettling to sleep there at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
7.4

Easy to find, friendly and helpful staff, in great location. No frills and affordable hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
7.1

Stay very short. The location near the train station but still a large distant for huge luggage. Rooms are not so clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
7.1

Relaxed hostel with clean kitchen and bathrooms, no communal spaces apart from a semi outdoor dining area, no smoking allowed on the property even in outdoor spaces. Mainly long term guests, not particularly social. Lack of storage for belongings in dorm rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.1

I have never visited such a warmhearted hostel before. The staffs are enthusiastic and residents are friendly. It gives me the feeling at home rather than in travel. Though the location is a bit far from CBD but there are public transports around. Nice and comfortable place for long stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
8.0

Great place for short stay. Too much noise if you want to rest well in the first floor rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.