Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Surry Hills

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • katielove949491
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jun 2017
2.9

"Surry Hills" in the title of this hostel is very misleading. It's not in Surry Hills and is not a good location. The staff are rude and unhelpful. The rooms are overfilled, run down and dirty. We had cockroaches in our room - there was no food or excess mess. Just a horrible space. The kitchen is tiny. The wifi doesn't work. Staff did nothing to try to fix it. Only positive was free breakfast but the food was in the courtyard and everything else in the kitchen. Stupid layout. Horrible place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • apps3006
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.1

Really funky smell emanating everywhere in hostel. Not enough toilets and bathrooms and that too on another level. Not enough power points in room. Hostels in Europe are so much nicer for the same value as you get in Australia. 5 min walk to central station. Overall ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
3.7

Stayed in a 6 bed ensuite dorm room. Room was cluttered with stuff, no space to put anything. The security boxes didn't lock. Bathroom wasn't very clean. There is no comfortable hangout place. The TV room has dated furniture and got really messy towards the evenings. There is not enough space in the kitchen for all the people staying at this hostel. People didn't seem to clean up after themselves. Food storage was not ideal. My food bag sat next to a rat trap because there was not enough shelf space

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
8.3

Hi, I had a really good sleep. I found the room quiet ~ the staff lovely ~ the linen lovely and clean. The bathroom was a little dirty. Though if you want an honest feedback -the mattress was sticking into my ribs and there was no hot water. The hot water was a bit annoying after walking around Vivid all night and travelling. Just really wanted that hot shower and the water was cold ~ well tepid. Apart from that I liked it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
8.6

Stayed for a night in a 4 bed female dorm. Clean hostel from the bedroom to the bathroom. Many areas to socialise in though I didn't do much socialising. Kitchen clean and food sorted in laundry bags which kept the fridges organised. BONUS! Free breakfast was toast and cereal with tea, coffee or Milo. Excellent location, very close to Central Station in a safe neighborhood. Cons: Plugs to charge around room but not next to beds while you sleep. 500mb wifi/day unless you want to purchase more.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th May 2017
8.3

Nice staff and awesome location (just a short walk from Sydney Central station), however there wasn't any locker in my room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
6.0

Our second stay. Was much much worse this time round....seem to not be spending any money on the place, going downhill a little! Room had a broken window, literally smashed glass with a painting hung over it to stop the draft, don't seem too fussed about getting it fixed. Kitchen is getting worse, longtermers taking all the cups etc to their rooms. Won't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 62 reviews
7th May 2017
7.7

Staff is nice. Kind. Location is also good. But the size of the room and space for a personal zone is not enough, so many stuff is together..get mess!! And smell.. anyway its fine with the money. But also its expensive than other country as europe or others that i ever have been.. Aus is too expensive country zz

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2017
2.6

Stayed for 3 nights & hated every second of it! It's a hostel for long term workers who just spread their belongings all over the room so there was no room for even our bags. Our room might as well have had a revolving door with how many people came in & out of it. 2 girls shared a bed in our tiny room so they could split the cost. The place was filthy, the kitchen didn't have any mugs so we all had to drink out of bowls. The whole place was disgusting!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
5.1

While I enjoy the atmosphere here, I'd advise anyone against booking. There has been no hot water for over 3 weeks now and it's beyond a joke. Everyone has understandably complained many times but staff don't care. The wifi is an utter shambles. The free one may as well not exist and paying $3 for the 'high speed' one is a waste of money. The sofas in the common area are filthy, food drops down the sides and is never cleaned up. Sitting in there makes me feel sick. No lockers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.