Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Surry Hills

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1654 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
3.7

Don't be fooled by the pictures, the front bit in the window looks really nice, but inside everything is so dirty. I stayed there 3 nights, and on the first night there was a free BBQ (if you could even call it that - a sausage and a piece of bread - tastes disgusting do not eat!!!!) by the 3rd night there was still ketchup splattered on the tables and dirty plates everywhere. The rooms themselves had cockroaches and spiders. I also found the staff quite rude and unhelpful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.3

+ Clean spacious room with own bathroom (female dorm) + First internet access is FREE, valid 24 hours + Muesli was offered on the breakfast + Big laundry machines (3 AUD washing, 3 AUD drying) - AC was broken in our room (didn't need it though) - Only one socket in the room (other one inside the bathroom) - The guy who was cleaning the kitchen after 10 pm was really unfriendly to me - Breakfast was made from the most cheapest products what you can find

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.9

Most of the employees where very rude. The kitchen closes at 10pm and they won't let anyone in after that time -we still had some dishes to wash and they told us to "do whatever we want with them". In spite of what says in the website there are no security lockers, only a public room that's open to everyone where you can leave your bags. The wifi connection was also very bad, almost only working near the reception desk.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Mar 2017
7.1

The 5 bed dorm that we stayed in was very small more like a 2 bed. Nowhere to put your stuff will there. There was quite a bit of noise after 10:39pm and the pillows were terrible. The atmosphere was poor no interaction. The location was really central and easy to get to central station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.4

21st century towns and villages are entirely FREE WIFI . Here 10m all to bed 500 mg on YouTube lasts 30 minutes for 3 dollars .non stop rain 5 out 7 days for 3 weeks so you stay in and watch YouTube or radio ? 50 dollars wifi A JOKE.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Great location, walking distance to central so transport is a breeze. Large kitchen, very clean, pretty big range of forms so you could either get lucky or get the shorter end of the stick but even the lesser quality ones still aren't bad. Heads up- if you are not a long term stay don't expect much of a social scene. If you are looking for long term stay this is a solid choice. Only downside is no free wifi so get ready to spend $$ on data

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lorraine_aylward7490
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Feb 2017
8.0

The sinks could do with a shelf above as had to put my things on the floor. Sometimes shower area were really untidy, rubbish on the floor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Really clean and is just an 8 min walk from central station - also pretty cheap on certain days too! Really good breakfast and not too much of a party hostel either which means you can get a good sleep. Very sociable and the kitchen area is so lovely! Air con and under bed security lockers in the rooms also which is really good! Comfy beds and very clean. Not really any pros to this just stay there it's so nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
9.1

The Village was a great Hostel. we stayed in a 4 person with a bathroom and it was great! Air con in the room and storage under the bed. It was a quick walk through a great park to central station. Would stay there again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
8.0

The village hostel is the best hostel I've stayed in so far in Sydney. It has a great atmosphere and there is plenty of space for the backpackers to socialise. The place is very clean and security is good. Staff are pleasant. Good stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.