Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Village Surry Hills

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1699 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1699 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
8.3

Nice staff and awesome location (just a short walk from Sydney Central station), however there wasn't any locker in my room!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th May 2017
6.0

Our second stay. Was much much worse this time round....seem to not be spending any money on the place, going downhill a little! Room had a broken window, literally smashed glass with a painting hung over it to stop the draft, don't seem too fussed about getting it fixed. Kitchen is getting worse, longtermers taking all the cups etc to their rooms. Won't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Couple, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 61 reviews
7th May 2017
7.7

Staff is nice. Kind. Location is also good. But the size of the room and space for a personal zone is not enough, so many stuff is together..get mess!! And smell.. anyway its fine with the money. But also its expensive than other country as europe or others that i ever have been.. Aus is too expensive country zz

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2017
2.6

Stayed for 3 nights & hated every second of it! It's a hostel for long term workers who just spread their belongings all over the room so there was no room for even our bags. Our room might as well have had a revolving door with how many people came in & out of it. 2 girls shared a bed in our tiny room so they could split the cost. The place was filthy, the kitchen didn't have any mugs so we all had to drink out of bowls. The whole place was disgusting!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
8.6

Had some issues with other guests but staff was very helpful in accommodating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
5.4

The vibe is great at this hostel. HOWEVER other guests were playing music at 12.30am. No staff were on site during this period, so after speaking to the guests I called the after hours security number. The person who answered offered to attend the site IF the disturbance continued for half hour. Patrons should be made aware that no staff are on site over night - which is why I give this hostel such a low rating.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

it's near the central station and very convenient for walking to CBD. There is also a beautiful park in front of it. Rooms and bathrooms are pretty clean and enough for us to use. Free breakfast is included. Very nice experience here and I will come back and would like to book again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
10.0

wonderful experience nice rooms good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2017
3.7

There was rats everywhere, it was disgusting

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.6

i stayed in a 12 mix dorm. our dorm had our own bathroom which i wasn't exspecting but glad we had. the dorm lacked personal storage. lockers and individual draws under the beds would be ideal. 5-10 minute walk to central station. standard connon room, staff were helpful breakfast was basic but at least its offered here unlike some in Sydney over all this is a standard hostel but with a modern twist on a old building i would stay here again for a weekend away

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.