Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,481 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
85% 1481
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.6

It was my first time staying in a hostel and the Walrus was a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.4

About a 5 minute walk from Waterloo Station, located in a hip, trendy shopping area with nice vibes, next to several coffee shops and bars. Walk in to a lively bar, relatively cheap alcohol and a very welcoming, very friendly staff. Very patient, helpful and accommodating. The free breakfast was a great added perk and actually quite prime. Stayed in a 22 bed room, which was large, spacious and nice and open. Not so bad at all. Great value for price! Great atmosphere. Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
15th Jul 2016
8.9

Great hostel, perfect location. Clean!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location. The beds were comfortable. Train noise didn't bother me at all. I stayed in the dorm room of 20 and sometimes some of those 20 people can be a little chatty to prevent you from sleeping. Ear plugs should solve that problem which isn't actually a fault about the room but the people. The only problem about the room was the lack of power plugs. Toilets and sheets were very clean and they also provide free towels. Breakfast is fine, nobody expects full english breakfast for free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
7.7

Great location, although the adjacent train station is noisy it's not hard to fall asleep. Staff was terrific and the bar downstairs is awesome. Showers and toilets are decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
9.4

There was a lot of stairs. (We stayed at the very top.) we will definitely stay here if I go back to London!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.6

Great central location (2 minute walk from Waterloo Station) and good value to stay. Very friendly staff. I emailed them in advance about late arrivals and airport transport. They were very helpful and replied quickly to my message. If you arrive late or have to get up early however all the facilities (kitchen, bar) are only open between 8am and 11pm. There is a Co-op across the road therefore breakfast was not a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
6.9

The location was great and the staff was amazing. The shower room on our floor was terrible. The floor was always soaking wet from the shower. And the hostel itself is right beside Vitoria station, which is amazing for travel, but not so amazing when you're trying to sleep. The trains are so loud all night. It was the worst. Was also disappointing that the only common room was the bar itself.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.0

The Walrus hostel was a great central location, with an easy walk to the tube station and close to some sites. The room was clean and the free breakfast was good. The staff were exceptional and a great help.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.4

The Walrus was a great stay!! Just on the other side of Westminster bridge it was within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. The staff were great particularly CLINTON!!!!! Breakfasts in the morning were also brilliant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.