Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1706 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.1

I had the best time at the Walrus. Great staff, met some awesome people and brilliant value for money. Right near the London Eye if that's your thing and Southbank Skate park. The surrounding streets are full of good pubs and good food. You get money off drink if you decide to drink at the Walrus anyway. Bed's were comfy and the facilities were clean and there's plenty of them. Will definitely be going back there soon. Cheers guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.4

I would definitely stay there again. The staff was was very friendly & helpful. Some may not like the minor train noise but I was not bothered by it. The location is very close to the tube station & easy to find from the hostel's directions. Easy to get to from Heathrow. I liked the breakfast. Door codes for the room & exterior felt secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2017
8.9

This was the first hostel my friend and I stayed in on our backpacking trip. Overall we enjoyed it, and staff was nice. We were able to store our bags in the morning before check-in. The bar itself was fun and seemed to have a mix of tourists and locals, although that's the only common space to hang out in other than the kitchen. The hot water was nonexistent at times. The breakfast was toast and cereal, which was great to help save some money!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
8.3

The location is amazing; only a five minute walk from the London Eye! The staff is also helpful. The facilities could have been better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
8.6

A little noisy, because of the nearby train station, but a great overall experience. You can tell this guys know what they are doing, and that they have been doing it for a while now. Great atmosphere, helpful staff and kind passengers, perfect for a 1-week trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Yeh all really good apart from the bathrooms. Some of the taps and showers needs due fixtures and fittings. The one bathroom on the 3rd (?) floor, when I turned the tap on it wouldn't go off (it was push-down plunger type one) and the shower head bracket thing to hold the shower head up was broken. But everything else was superb, location, staff, atmosphere. A hostel with a lot of character.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Feb 2017
6.9

Only a small locker in the room but the luggage room is available for storage valuables, which still isn't as safe as a locker. Location is amazing. 15 minute walk through London Eye, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Nearest station is very close and you can get to nearly every part of London easily (pretty loud at night though). Staff is nice and caring. Atmosphere is lacking, only place to talk is in the kitchen. Hostel is overall pretty old. Showers, toilets, Wi-Fi and beds are average at best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.7

This was my first hostel experience and everything was great! It was a perfect location, the staff was friendly, and the room was nice. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location and good staff. The rooms were sufficient and it was easy to meet people at the hostel. The kitchen is pretty small but we managed to hang out with about 5-6 people there squeezed in. Everything is about this hostel is pretty awesome. People who complain about the train exaggerate. If anything it helped me sleep. The only recommendation is to somehow find a way to have a common area aside from the bar. Great hostel in London.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
8.9

It was totally fine and just what I needed as I was out doing things most of the time. The location is great and you have a million different transport options you can take. My two quips is that the bathrooms and showers could use a little updating esp on the 4th floor and I was only able to take a shower with hot water once during my 6 day stay, the rest of the time it was cold (definitely woke me up though) Breakfast in the morning was really appreciated and staff was really friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.