Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • summerm93
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.9

Place was nice, except for the beds being very squeeky! Shower cubicles could probably do with some maintenance as with the toilets but other then that! I had a lovely stay! Loved the breakfast and bar downstairs

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • holzz
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Awesome location for the main attractions with the likes of big ben, westminster abbey, london eye, buckingham palace all being walking distance away! Only down side is the train line it is quite loud. Staff are really friendly too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.1

London is an expensive place to visit but this hostel is a steal! It is well located in the heart of the city so that everything is pretty reachable by walking (~20min). The facility isn't anything special but it does its job. If you're a light sleeper though, the noise from 1) the train station right beside the hostel 2) creaking beds may keep ya up. Nothing earplugs can't fix! Staff are lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
8.0

It was a very hip hostel. It's very nicely located. It's a bit pricey for what you get but overall great experience. There are a lot of stairs so be prepared to hike.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Staff very polite and helpful. Price reasonable, very convenient location. I arrived early in the morning before my stay and they gave me breakfast in addition to helping me store my luggage. Pub downstairs was nice and had good prices.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2017
10.0

Great place to stay. Staff very friendly and willing to help with any requests. The bar has a good feel to it. All the boxes have been ticked with this place... except for soap holders in the showers! ;) Highly recommend it! Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.9

Best location and best staff! Everyone at this hostel was SO friendly and helpful. They offer free towels, printing, and breakfast which was so appreciated. Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Wonderful find! The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Plus, they provide a lot to the traveler. The location itself was really close to many of the tourist sites. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Mar 2017
10.0

very nice place!! the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
5.7

Overall The Walrus was fine. I really enjoyed the bar on the main floor -- bar had affordable drinks and a great atmosphere (many locals frequent the spot). The actual accommodations though were lacking... I didn't have a hot shower once over my three day stay. The staff also was friendly but ultimately unhelpful: one staff member could not provide me with any directions or recommendations for things to do. I would recommend finding a different place to stay but coming to the bar for drinks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.