Hostelworld.com

The Walrus Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,407 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
84% 1407
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th May 2016
10.0

The Walrus is in a great location close to Waterloo station, and the Houses of Parliament. A big, clean room with free breakfast. The pub offers discounts on all drinks if you're a guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
8.9

Great location and friendly staff. And the unlimited breakfast was good too.. Thank you Walrus Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Kittensgoglobal
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
8.9

Great place and a great location! Beds were comfy! The staff was wonderful and so helpful. Seriously loved the mojitos at the bar. The only down sides was that the bar got packed with a ton of locals which made it slightly difficult to mingle, some of the bathrooms had handsoap, and there wasn't enough lockers for each bed in the room. They do offer to keep your stuff in a locked room so that was nice. Really enjoyed my time here and met some awesome people!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
8.0

Great place to stay, safe area (based on my experience and from info I received from locals). Very central. Staff were great. Only down side was it was hard to find soap at times, but I image this is quite typical of hostels. Very happy with my experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Pippacarter
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
7.7

If youre after a modern hostel this is not the hostel for your. Sub par facilities and right next to the over ground. But if your looking for the perfect location and great atmosphere this is the hostel for you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th May 2016
5.7

We were very disappointed with our stay at this hostel. Upon arrival we were taken to our room (8 bed mixed) and were struck by the cramped nature and lack of storage space. The lockers were very tiny and not all of them were functional. Additionally the room overlooked the nearby railway causing lots of noise with the windows open (shutting the windows somewhat deadened the noise, but made the room very warm and uncomfortable). Also the bathrooms were not clean with black mould in the shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
10.0

Loved this hostel! Very clean and the two guys at the bar were so helpful. Super nice beds, clean room and bathrooms. Bar downstairs was cool, best part was that you couldn't hear the music from the dorm. Overall excellent stay! We will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.4

Very helpful staff. Great central location. Good breakfast. But the bathrooms are bad - no water pressure. Some showers have no place to put clothes or a towel. And the trains ran 24/7 about 5 meters from our bedroom window. Very noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
9.1

Amazing hostel loved it so much! Will definitely return, staff are the nicest and so helpful. Its so close to everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
8.6

We booked The Walrus for 2 nights and ended up extending it for a third. The location was fantastic, right near Waterloo train/metro station which was so key to getting everywhere around London. The breakfast was great every morning and helped us a lot with saving some cash. The staff was amazing, very kind to us and helpful with our dumb questions. The bar was full every night, but the noise never bugged us in the room. My only complaint is that the trains are very loud at all times of the day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.