Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1961 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing place! Staff were so kind and really care, made sure I was clear on everything and gave me a little tour and even hung around with me the next morning. I missed the free breakfast but I'm sure the atmosphere would have been good, the people I met were so funny and kind. Also 5 minutes from Waterloo station and with a bus stop right outside, it was so easy to navigate to even after a night out!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
6.6

It might be a good pick for those who like to shower off-peak hours (or for those who simply don't shower), as there were only 3 showers available and I once had to wait in line to have a shower at half past midnight (2 showers were out of order and it didn't look recent). Of course these showers were not very clean as well. And the way from Waterloo Station is not very nice to walk alone at night. So, in general, I was not impressed. Breakfast was good though, and staff was friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
6.6

The bedrooms are typical of any hostel, but the bathrooms were terrible. There were only 3 showers for the entire hostel and you almost always had to wait for one. There were separate toilets, but some of them didn't even have a sink to wash your hands. I was able to check in early but I don't think my bed had clean sheets and the towel they gave me had stains on it. The only plus was that it's so close to Westminster, but it's right next to Waterloo station so you hear the trains constantly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jmuinos
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
3.4

Just one bathroom available, one out of service and another one inside the room without hot water. Terrible!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

Great place to stay and great staff. Centrally located, with a 10 minute walk to Big Ben/Parliament. A little noisy at night since it's located next to a train station, but would definitely recommend to any travelers to London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

friendly staff. old building from what was a bar previously. no lifts and narrow stairs. nice atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

Very helpful, friendly staff. Best location ever!!! Seriously, everything is walking distance. Lockers are quite small, but they're workable. Crowded rooms but people are generally respectful. Fairly clean. Wish there was outlets closer to top bunks- inconvenient when you are setting an alarm on your cell phone. Overall great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.6

Location and staff were perfect, unfortunately cannot say much about anything else considering the price. I paid for a dorm with an ensuite, yet the ensuite did not have a toilet and the shower was broken the whole week I was there. The rooms are very small and cramped for space/power outlets but I met some really great people so didn't mind too much in the end!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
4.9

This hostel was advertised as a "great location, great accessibility, great...". It's not. It's an old bar with a hostel on top. All the rooms are combinations, which we had two separate combinations that opened the door (should only have one working). The rooms and bunks are small/old/barely standing. Showers are minimal and you have to move from the toilet to the "shower room" to wash your hands. Location wise, it's right beside a very busy trolley track and very loud. Not at all as advertised

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
10.0

Awesome place with an awesome staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.