Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
86% 1636
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Nov 2016
2.9

Freaking awful. By far the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. It's directly next to the above-ground trains so you hear the sounds of trains running every 10 seconds and the building LITERALLY RATTLES. You don't expect the most comfortable beds ever in a hostel, but these were about as comfy as a park bench. And the pillows did not fit the definition of pillows, they were basically rags. Also, the light in the room meant nothing, it was so dim you could only actually see during the day.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
8.3

Hostel entrance is at the back of a pub/bar, it does not look like an hostel when you come in. My 6 bunks room was small, but clean. A lot of noise from the Waterloo train station... breakfast included, simple (cereals, fruits, tea). Staff helpful. Location good less than 10 min walk to westminster bridge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
9.4

Great pub downstairs. Bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

100% recommendable. I stayed 4 nights and had no problem, the staff always willing to help and clarify any doubts. Breakfast is simple but very good. The beds are comfortable and the heating works perfect. I would definitely stay here again. The location is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
8.0

Great place to stay as a group. Good fun bar with great atmosphere. Excellent location. Showers could be better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Nov 2016
7.1

Overall it was a good stay. Breakfast is fun in the funky bar, the location is sweet in a rather non-touristy part of London and the staff were wonderful. However, the hostel is extremely close to the train station which means you can hear the screeching noise of a train every 15 seconds from some rooms. Very annoying at first. The showers and toilets were the lowlight of the hostel: awful privacy and shocking general reliability.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • viola111
  • Latvia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Nov 2016
9.1

The Walrus Hostel is in an excellent location. The price is what you would expect in such a central spot. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Wouldn't say it is very secure. We stayed in the biggest room (22 beds) and whenever we were at the hostel 80% of the time the room's door was left open. But it just means that you should always keep your valuables on you. (or you can leave them at the reception!) And if someone does steal your sock, then that's just funny. :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.3

Basically on top of Waterloo station so it's noisy but you get what you paid for. Staff are friendly and helpful and the hostel is generally clean. Seemingly no basic facilities i.e. Kitchen or lounge, just a pub downstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
8.3

The hostel was nice overall. It had a GREAT location (just a 10 min walk for all the big sightseeing), and the staff was very friendly. However, they don't warn you about the trains/buses running outside, which get quite loud at night. Also, there were not outlets for each bed. Not a deal-breaker, but inconvenient. Other than that, everything was very nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

It was a really good experience, the boy in the reception was really kind and help me with all my doubts about transportation to the airport and in the city. The Hostel has everything you need and the personal is really helpful. The breakfast is also really good. I would definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.