Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1857 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2017
8.9

Cool hostel, unfortunately the train comes by all night and is noisy as ever. The "lockers" are cubbies that can be padlocked, but a lot are off the hinges. The bar and staff are really neat though, and the bathrooms and showers are clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
6.9

The showers' temperatures and pressure were awful! Either super hot or super cold, no control. The bathrooms were pretty dirty and smelled. It's an old building so I understand but still ... it could do with just a few improvements, even a rug on the floor or something. The bed was really old because you basically sleep in an imprint. The room was also super hot but that's normal for a no AC building (there was one fan). The staff didn't offer any suggestions or help for the city. Bare minimum.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • rpflaum
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.3

Lovely people, lovely staff - cannot vouch more for the friendliness of all the people working there, as well as their checking in to make sure we were comfortable at all times. Very close to two stations, however this means it is quite loud at times, and there was only one shower for quite a few people. Would 100% recommend if facilities aren't at the top of your priorities, and will be staying there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2017
7.1

The hostel is right next to the Waterloo train station and when it's hot out the windows need to be open so all you hear is the tracks all night and it's pretty loud. The rooms were pretty warm as well but at least there was a fan. The showers had low pressure but the breakfast was really nice and the overall location was nice for transportation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
4.6

This wasn't what we were expecting. It's a little difficult to get to, was dirty in the bathrooms, and had flies in the bedrooms. Also right next to a large train station so you will hear the screeching of trains on their tracks all night long. I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this was the worst. Their breakfast is only toast and cold cereal too. Staff was okay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jun 2017
8.9

It is in a good central location, the staff is excellent, specially Alexander, he was always very nice. I would recommend adding something salty to the breakfast (sausages or cheese, ham, etc). The facilities in general are a bit uncomfortable, the room was spacious but the beds have no individual lights or sockets, no elevator, some showers are way too small, and it could get really hot inside. They will provide you with everything - towels, adaptors, etc. Wifi sometimes didn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
8.6

Awesome location and staff very helpful. Had a great time. Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2017
7.4

Overall a good experience except our visit was in summer (June) and the rooms had no airconditioning or fans and the windows didn't open so the room was constantly very very hot which made sleep quite difficult

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hianuale
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
8.0

This was my first hostel ever. I do not recommend staying in the 22 person room because it is loud and often Guests aren't considerate with lighting and talking. However, staff were EXCEPTIONAL. The shower door fell off while I was showering which was unfortunate but otherwise a good place. Very loud because of bar and train station, and being in central London.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Awesome staff. Great bar to hang out and meet locals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.