Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
86% 1666
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

Perfect! I loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
9.1

Really great hostel, perfect location, friendly staff, great bar downstairs, very warm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
8.3

The bed was extremely comfortable, with an amazing location a minute's walk from Westminster. The only bad thing was that the first floor had no shower, so one had to use the broken shower head on the second floor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Dec 2016
9.7

The location is excellent, just 5 mins walking to London eye. The facilities are great, bathroom are clean and tidy, staff are helpful. But, the hostel is near the railway, so it will be a bit noisy during the night, and the breakfast will commence from 8am, but you can ask staff to give you some take-away breakfast, it will be few breads.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
5.7

The train noise is no joke, BRING EARPLUGS. However the staff was super nice. We were on the top floor so beware that you could be hauling your luggage up 4 narrow winding flights of stairs. Bathrooms are "rustic" at best, old and dingy in my opinion. After one night we cancelled the rest of our reservation and moved to different accommodations for the rest of our visit in London.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
10.0

A very warm and friendly staff greets you and explains you everything in detail... one of the best locations to stay around London with everything a arms throw away... thoroughly enjoyed the stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
10.0

I love the Walrus Hostel! This is my second time staying there when I visited London. Rooms are clean and the staff are so nice! It's in a great location, slight technicality was when Lambeth North Station was closed, had to walk to with suitcase from Waterloo. The amazing part is the free breakfast. Not many places offer free breakfast so this was a treat! Highly recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
9.7

Lots of people were worried about the trains but they do not come that often and really they are not very loud so don't worry about them. The rooms were lovely, staff were lovely and the location was the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
9.4

We had a great time at the Walrus!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Dec 2016
8.0

I very much enjoyed my stay. At first, I was a little concerned- saw a bad review and I was weary of the bar on the ground floor, but the room was rather nice. I stayed in the 22 bed room and I felt fine. The ladies washroom was a little chilly, but other than that, the place was clean, the staff was helpful and I felt pretty safe. Bed was warm, sheets were clean, and the mattress wasn't super uncomfortable. I would recommend staying here. The location isn't bad either if you don't mind trains.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.