X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Walrus Hostel Reviews

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1343 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This was my first hostel experience and loved it! The bed are so nice! I was warm and toasty every night that it was sometimes a struggle to get out from underneath. The breakfast was light with toast, cereal, fruit and a number of spreads including peanut butter which all travelers from the US were happy about including myself! The hallways could be a bit drafty but overall such an excellent experience, thank you!


80%

Pros: Free breakfast, friendly staff, accessible location, kitchen facilities, wi-fi, free towels. Cons: bathrooms were constantly in a terrible state with the floors flooded with water. Trains/ambulances were loud, especially at night. Squeaky beds!


86%

Please fix the shower rooms! It really isnt that hard and would make this hostel seriously the best

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

In general it was ok. The bad thing is that there are a lot of stairs and if you are carrying luggage it's a bit exhausting. And the bathrooms are not comfortable. The rest is ok. The people working there are excellent.


91%

We really enjoyed our stay at Walrus Hostel and would definitly go back there! Thanks to the friendly staff!!! :D

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything was very good. But the kitchen was a little bit too small.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The best staff ever :)

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The Hostel was great! Super clean,smelt like chlorine type clean. I was only there for one night but if I ever go back to London. I will stay there again in a heart beat. The bar area was super comfy and felt very homey. The bathrooms were the only down side but it wouldn't deter me at all.


100%

GREAT HOSTEL! Stayed here over New Years and it was perfect location, plus free breakfast (always a bonus!) and very friendly staff :) Great bar downstairs fro socialising!


69%

Loud Germans keeping everyone in the room awake from 23:00-02:00


89%

We had a great time. The location can't be beat, the staff is great, and the atmosphere was a nice touch. The only complaint is that the beds squeak loudly when anyone moves. We would definitely come back.


74%

I liked it here, one of London's best hostels for sure. For the solo traveler you may find it not great. There are no pub crawls or tours on offer to get to know others. But thats not to say you wont meet people here. The staff are nice enough. Lots of food shops near by. Tube station is easy walking distance.

  • 16th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Not a bad place to stay for a couple of nights. High points Location, staff, breakfast and a good bar downstairs. Low points were Wi-Fi and the noise from the nearby trains.


86%

This was my first time in a hostel, and I was very satisfied. The hostel is attached to a bar and has a very hip and laid back vibe. The staff were so helpful and sweet! It's always a little disconcerting when you first arrive to a new city, but they all put me at ease. The free breakfast in the morning was great -- fresh fruit, coffee, juice, cereals, bread; it was simple but filled me up. The location was incredible. A two minute walk out the door and youll see Big Ben and the Waterloo station

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything was superb. The atmosphere in the bar was very chill and we did not have any issues with roommates or anything. Overal an excellent hostel and bar.


89%

I've stayed here before and will definitely stay again as it was just the same, with very friendly and helpful staff (though they were different staff to last time) and good facilities. It is very close to an underground station so it is very convenient. It is also within short walking distance of Big Ben and Southbank.


86%

Great staff and location. They made my first visit to London even better!

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

A very very loud hostel so absolutely recommend taking earplugs. Location was central but literally under the waterloo train tracks, dont come here for rest. Cosy bar and nice staff. Was ok


74%

Showers and bathrooms could use some TLC. Highlights: Awesome staff, great location and a cool, cosy bar downstairs Lowlights: Bathrooms\showers could use some TLC, not a great place to meet people if you're backpacking on your own and no organized events (ties into not a great place to meet people).


86%

Staff were fantastic! Shower temperature controller seemed erratic. Disappointed the "en-suite" room had no WC/ toilet. Clean rooms & bedding.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback