Hostelworld.com

The Walrus Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1,442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1,442 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.7
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
84% 1442
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice -- excellent location, pub downstairs, great kitchen! Yes, trains screech on the tracks outside the window but you get used to it. Serving breakfast earlier would be welcomed since the early running trains wake get people out of bed earlier than usual. Overall, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
7.7

The Walrus Hostel was in a good location about a 10 minute walk from the London Eye and Big Ben. There were train tracks right outside which were very noisy while trying to sleep. There was only one bathroom and one shower on each floor. The staff was very friendly and the bar downstairs was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.0

Good hostel. Fabulous location. Just a 10 minute walk from Big Ben and the London eye. Everyone was friendly. The train was a little noisy as it was behind the building manageable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jun 2016
6.3

Very average hostel. No locker big enough for any type of luggage in the rooms. Bathrooms were relatively clean. Night life in the hostel was good but lots of locals that were much older crowd. Really nice staff though and London is expensive so not bad overall.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chevmeister
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
9.1

Great hostel!! Rooms were good and staff were lovely. Close to everything, best location! Only improvement would be showers, either boiling or freezing. Would stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

We are two 22 year old women. Pros: Awesome & helpful staff Great location - walking distance to most of London's attractions Very "happening" and young place Towels included Cons: Breakfast was bare minimum. Toast, cereal, fruit. Showers were hit or miss, some were fine, some were awful w water pressure and cramped. The lockers in the rooms were tiny. Did not fit our backpacks. (They do offer keeping your valuables in a storage room they have) Overall I would reccommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.6

It is a good place to stay for a couple of nights in London as it is conveniently located in the heart of the city. It is safe and overall a good place. The hostel staff is nice and helpful. The only downside can be the noise of trains but it is not as bad as you might imagine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
10.0

The Walrus Hostel was an amazing experience! I stayed in the large dormitory and was able to meet lots of interesting people. This hostel has a very welcoming vibe to people of all age and cultures. I enjoyed spending time in the bar living room space and going out with new friends. The bathrooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. Enjoyed my time here, and highly recommend it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
8.9

I was only there for one night but I had a great time. All the staff I met were very friendly and helpfull, and the pub downstairs is a nice place to hang out in and meet people. The free breakfast was basic, but suitable and saves going out for something. There is some noise from the nearby train line, but this was expected given the location, and the shower pressure was very poor on the top floor. I would happily stay there again though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
29th May 2016
9.4

Very good hostel with everything nearby. Lots of stairs haha! Great place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.