Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
86% 1554
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
6.9

Great location and staff. However as it is situated next to Waterloo station you are kept awake by the trains rattling past until gone 3am. They also lock the kitchen at night and I arrived after 11 and couldn't get a drink of water. Some of the showers don't have locks on the time and no where to hang your stuff. Quite disappointed seeing as it's quite a highly rated hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.1

The walrus is in a great location! So close to Waterloo station and just over the bridge from all the sites. However the only social space is the bar downstairs and it lacked a lounge or chill room. It does get noisy at night from the trains, something to keep in mind if you are a light sleeper. But I slept fine. The bathrooms and showers need some work. Just general maintenance. I would probably stay here again because of the location. But more suited to groups then to solo travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Great Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
8.9

This was a great hostel for the money. The bar below was a nice selling point as well. It is walking distance to the London Eye and Westminster. Loved it and the staff was super accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
7.7

I liked the Walrus, it's basically on top of Waterloo station so bring earplugs because the trains run all night. Breakfast was just cereal/toast/fruit, not bad. Seems like there's not many washrooms but I never had a problem getting the shower or toilet when I needed it so it's actually ok. The only common space is the pub downstairs so you have to make an effort to talk to people. The Lower Marsh St. Neighborhood is very eclectic. Easy walking distance to the London Eye and Southbank.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
8.9

I stayed at Walrus for 4 nights and it was simply awesome. Although it was difficult to find the hostel on my first day, this place simply rocks due to its proximity to all the major attractions in central London. And yes, the Waterloo rail tracks never bothered me and I would love to come back again to this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
8.3

I always stay at the Walrus Hostel whenever I st a y in London. It's in a great location with excellent staff who are happy to help. Tidy clean rooms and the breakfast is good too. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Aug 2016
7.4

Overall clean rooms and public spaces. 15% discount on drinks at the bar was a good perk, but the bar was often full of locals during the evening, leaving little space for guests. Because the hostel was located directly beside Waterloo Station, trains were extremely loud and ran frequently throughout the day and night, so be sure to pack earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Plugs are not available beside each bed, and Wifi signal often inconsistent (weak or constantly disconnecting) in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location, very clean, and fantastically nice staff! I worried about noise from the ground floor pub, but this wasn't a problem. Definitely bring ear plugs for railway and road noise. There is a grocery store right across the street for supplies.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
8.3

My third visit to the Walrus in the last three years. I was in a six bed dorm this time and the pleasant surprise was that it had an ensuite shower room (not sure if all six bed dorms have them). Past visits involved mornings hunting down a free shower over several floors. Pleasant breakfast in nice surroundings and an attractive neighbourhood on Lower Marsh down to the square outside the Old Vic - several bars, eateries and shops etc. Pub\Hostel located a stones throw from Waterloo Station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.