Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Walrus Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
The Walrus Hostel Located at 172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London.
The Walrus Hostel
England
London London SE1 7RW 172 Westminster, Bridge Road
86% 1515
51.5000340 -0.1144391
The Walrus Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Aug 2016
6.9

The bathrooms really need some updating. There actually weren't sinks or mirrors in some of the toilets which could be an annoyance. It would be nice to have mirrors in all of the bedrooms and sleeping was very very warm at night. Onr fan was provided for 6 people. I could hear many of my roommates just as restless as I during the night because of how hot it was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Couldn't have asked for a better stay in London. Very close to the Big Ben, London eye, etc. Staff were amazing and very helpful. Free breakfast was simple but good. Loved the atmosphere and definitely would come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
8.6

Very nice helpful staff. Hostel is in a real neighborhood with locals about and is not so mobbed by tourists, which is good. Close to tube stations. Extremely close to Waterloo train station... As in, your window is 30 ft from the tracks. Continuous train noise all day long but otherwise a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
9.7

AWESOME! Great place, really close to Big Ben, comfortable rooms. Really cute. Kitchen was super nice and everyone was friendly, I was even allowed to use the kitchen the second day even though I was staying at the Horse and Stables. Highly recommend, good deal for the money paid!! Thank you Walrus Hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
10.0

Great staffs! Great location! Very clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
10.0

I love staying here. It feels homey and welcoming. The staff are really great and friendly, and everyone I've met staying here are affable and polite. It is next to Waterloo station, so the trains are loud. Bring earplugs and you will be fine. I've always gotten very good sleep here, as long as I wear earplugs, and I'm quite sensitive to noise. Good breakfast - tasty milk and cereal, with biscuits and some fruit (other stuff available too). I always try to stay here whenever I'm in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Lovely but NOISY. Really nice hostel in a good location with loads of showers/bathrooms and friendly staff. The kitchen closes over night which is a shame if you have to leave early, also the our room was quite packed...Wouldn't go back though because the hostel is basically on the rails so sleeping is quite hard with all the noise going on.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
10.0

Extremely kind and accommodating staff. I couldn't have asked for a better experience with The Walrus--it's located in an excellent place, the people are friendly, and the security felt top notch. I will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in London.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.6

It was my first time staying in a hostel and the Walrus was a great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.4

About a 5 minute walk from Waterloo Station, located in a hip, trendy shopping area with nice vibes, next to several coffee shops and bars. Walk in to a lively bar, relatively cheap alcohol and a very welcoming, very friendly staff. Very patient, helpful and accommodating. The free breakfast was a great added perk and actually quite prime. Stayed in a 22 bed room, which was large, spacious and nice and open. Not so bad at all. Great value for price! Great atmosphere. Would definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.