X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Walrus Hostel Reviews

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
978 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Great location and amazing staff! Really, they were all extremely nice and helpful, helped out with everything they could! The location is perfect and we could barely hear the sound of the trains.. Everything would be perfect if it weren't for the lack of shower rooms and the bed bugs in the room we stayed. Everyday would be a huge wait for showers and the rooms need to be cleaned and in desperate need of fumigation, bed bugs are unbearable!


97%

The staff was always nice and really helpful! The location of the hostel is excellent for the price you pay! The only problem was the water pressure in the showers was sometimes poor and some showers were quite small. If you are light sleeper ask for the earplugs because a lot of noise can come from the street/train station.


94%

LOVE this hostel! You walk right into a cool bar setting. The staff is very nice, youthful, and helpful. Location is PERFECTION just near the center of the city. I met some awesome people just chilling at the bar and I really couldn't have been happier with my hostel experience in London here at The Walrus!


69%

Kitchen is terribly small for the size of the place, almost don't want to use it when it's so crowded. The place feels a bit grungy, dim lighting in dorms. I had to wait for a shower every day. Wifi was good. Breakfast was decent. Staff were great!


89%

This is a fine place - well priced, great staff, comfortable bedding. Pub on the bottom floor is a great place to hang out, lots of locals coming in as well. Discount on drinks for hostel stayers! Location could not be much better for the price - 10 minutes from Westminster, five from Tube station. It is an older building and a bit dingy, adjacent railroad tracks a bit noisy at night. It is clean enough though. Staff is GREAT.


100%

Staff was brilliant, well done girls. :)

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Staff & location great! The rest? Well, you decide. a) No soap or paper towels in toilet room for ALL 3 days of my stay b) Extreme noise from train station c) Room not vacuumed or swept, & trash not emptied before arrival. d) Shower is terrible with a VERY weak flow, and good luck with getting hot water unless you shower at 6 A.M.....in which case you may get scalded because the water temperature is very difficult to adjust So....NO, I would not recommend this hostel.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The Walrus had a great vibe with a bar downstairs to meet people from all over the world. The staff was very welcoming and the rooms were clean. The complimentary breakfast was great to have on the go too! Loved my stay here

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great bar area which is also one of the common areas. I was in a 18 bed dorm and there was still plenty of space and I didn't feel super cramped. There could be more showers for the amount of beds there are and the showers could be a little cleaner. Staff is amazing. The bar prices are pretty good. The beds are actually super comfortable.


94%

Everything was very good. Price - location the best. Cycle tours every morning. Good maps for first-comers. Friendly stuff, even after the door closed.


94%

Clean. Great location and friendly staff.


83%

Our party of 7( ewwith the accommodation I found. Some negative views about the train noise but not a major problem and easily resolved with earplugs. The location brilliant. Staff GREAT and a credit to the company (I hope they value them). We initially had changes at the booking stage and Silvia in particular was very helpful.The showers do need updating but again we all managed adequately. The breakfast was FAB and a welcome surprise.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

A great backpacker hostel with a great location. The staff is nice and always here to help you if needed. Good that there is a kitchen even if it is a really small one. Great breakfast in the morning with a lot of choice...so far the best place I've been in for it :)


86%

Honestly, facilities are soso. But I want to stay this hostel, if I go to london again. All steps kind for everyone. Breakfast is good also.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent staff stands out the most. Free breakfast simple and processed foods, but good. There was one blood stain on my sheet and one on my towel, but overall cleanliness acceptable for a hostel. The top floor bathroom sink did not work. Some bathrooms only have a toilet, no sink, and only a couple bathrooms had mirrors. The shower I used on the 3rd floor drained slowly. The shower on the top floor had an unusual set up. No garbage cans in any of the bathrooms. Long waits for the bathrooms.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I had quite a good time here. The free breakfast and wifi were great. The staff and guests were friendly and the hostel had a good atmosphere. However, the trains were very loud, so definitely needed ear plugs to sleep! Also, the toilets were not very nice and often seemed to be clogged. The kitchen was very very small.


97%

Amazing hostel. Great welcoming staff and stellar location. It felt like i was at home

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is really good. well organised and you can count on the staff any time. People are friendly and always willing to help. The showers are not so good but it is ok. you will save money staying close to the city centre.


100%

I loved staying at The Walrus! Friendly staff, clean and closed to everything! I'll be staying here again :D

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Although the cleaning staff tried really hard to keep the place clean, there was quite a bit of mould in the bathrooms. The shower facilities were pretty average, with nowhere to put your clothes or towel. They need some work. Also the toilets kept getting blocked. Kitchen too small. As far as the hostel went, it was okay, but we had the normal dorm problems with people snoring and getting up too early. We ended up moving to a hostel a block away for the las night, which was much nicer.

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(100 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback