X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Walrus Hostel Reviews

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1108 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Ótimo! Eu e meu namorado passamos quatro dias no hostel e fomos muito bem atendidos, inclusive com camas próximas, como havíamos pedido mesmo tendo feito a reserva separadamente. O café da manhã é ótimo, e a equipe muito receptiva. Dormimos muito bem, nossas coisas ficaram super seguras, tomamos banhos ótimos e o café da manhã foi uma delícia!


97%

Amazing staff, bar, location (if you don't mind the train),and nice rooms. Sylvia was awesome and very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and wish it was longer. The bar was perfect and had great service. The train didn't really bother us because we had ear plugs. Can't wait to go back!

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

a bit noise.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel itself was okay, but we were very irritated when we booked an ensuite and it only had a shower, no toilet. It wouldn't have been so bad if there hadn't been someone puking in the toilets every night. Some people just don't know how much they should drink in the bar below the hostel.


71%

Could do a better job with cleaning the bathrooms and showers. Also, this hostel is very dated.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

LOVED this hostel! Great location- you can walk to most major sites and the surrounding neighborhood is very cool with plenty of food options. Rooms are clean and spacious with comfy beds, and the staff is so welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The hostel is located above a bar, but the hostel itself was never noisy. Definitely recommend!


89%

Los mejor es el personal que atiende abajo y la es inmejorable

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was excellent People were respectful Sleeping accommodation and patterns were observed


91%

Great for backpacking, the Walrus Hostel was in a really good location right across the Thames from Big Ben and other local attractions. The bar downstairs was a cool pub atmosphere.


89%

Fun place, great staff and a nice atmosphere. The location was somewhat far from nightlife on a weekday.


86%

Staff were absolutely amazing! Would definitely stay again!


83%

Very well located directly at Waterloo Station (however next to the tracks, so you might bring earplugs), cosy furnishing and comfy beds, very helpful staff, pub downstairs, free breakfast - one of the best hostels I've stayed in.


80%

La cocina es muy pequeña y pobremente equipada El baño en la habitación NO tiene toilet All in All es muy recomendable x la ubicación y el desayuno es genial!

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

It is at an excellent location, walking distance from Big Ben and the river. We spent 3 days in the 6 mixed with washroom and 1 day in the 6 mixed with shared washroom. The shower was lots cleaner ensuite, but we have to use the shared bathroom all the time. We had bit problem with the locker inside the room. One locker was too thick for our common pad lock. The stuff are fantastic, very friendly and very helpful on directions. There were free breakfast came with the stay, which is very simple.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hands down the best place to stay in London as a backpacker. Will recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a great time at the walrus!! Upon arriving, the staff offered us free maps and made sure we were all prepared with the necessities(towels,converters,earplugs). Our room as on the 4th floor and there is no elevator. The free breakfast was simple but tasty. There's a discount on drinks for guests as well s the horse and stable just down the road. There we met Grant, who was super friendly and offered to take a few of us out before the Camden pub crawl,which was a blast! Definitely recommend


86%

Very dedicated Staff! Creating an excellent atmosphere!


83%

I only stayed one night in this hostel but my overall experience was a good one and the location cannot be beat! It is a 5minute walk from the Westminster bridge! The staff was wonderful, informative, and friendly and they took the time to call a taxi for me on the night I was leaving. I highly reccomend this host!


80%

Excellent location, friendly staff, free towel rental. My only (minor) complaints were that the shower I used didn't have much hot water (though this was a 6:30am so maybe the boiler wasn't on yet), and the lockers were a bit small and flimsy. Overall, very good.


69%

Enjoyed my time staying at The Walrus. Admittedly, the amenities are not the greatest. Some of the toilets took some effort to flush. And as other reviewers pointed out, it's a bit loud at night with Waterloo station right outside your window. But the staff and bar are great and breakfast provided a nice start to every day. Would stay again.

  • 21st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(92 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback