Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 487 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2017
6.9

Great atmosphere but definitely not the cleanest hostel. Staff was super helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved Wandering Paisa!! The location was impeccable - close to lively Carrera where there is a good nightlife, and in a very safe and beautiful neighborhood, close to both the Metro and the Futbol Stadium. The atmosphere was wonderful - it was super easy to meet fellow travelers and the events that they host - Salsa lessons, language exchanges, karaoke - attracts locals, making it easy to befriend those that actually live in Medellin. Do NOT stay in Poblado, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.7

receptionists are professional. and costs are superb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice hostel. Easy to get to on the metro. Lots of areas to chill or party. Good atmosphere. The Brazil dorm was a bit noisy because windows face onto common area, so just bring earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Apr 2017
9.7

Amazing location 10 minutes walk from estadio station. helpful staff, particularly the lady in the morning. Very organised and welcoming Hostel, large kitchen and multiple areas to relax/hangout in, with a bar on site. The cleaning lady did an amazing job every day we were there cleaning up after people who left dishes in the sink. The only improvement I could suggest would be to have more crockery plates and mugs rather than the plastic ones that are there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2017
10.0

One of my favourites - everyone is extremely friendly, impossible to not make friends here. Tons of great common space, bar, kitchen, clean bathrooms and rooms, lots of social events, staff is extremely helpful. Rooms are a little warm but that's my only complaint. Awesome neighbourhood, felt extremely safe even walking alone at night - very close to the subway as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2017
8.9

Loved it here. The dorm was unbelievably cramped though, legitimately no room to walk it as absolutely ridiculous. But other than that the beds were comfy, they gave me an extra blanket to use, the showers were nice and had hot water. The staff were incredibly helpful! Brent is fluent in English and knew everything so he's great to go to for advice! Not in the party neighborhood which is nice, but still lots of places to go out nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

Great hostel, especially if you don't want to stay in the overly touristy Miraflores. Good atmosphere in hostel although the bar can be noisy until 1am so not ideal if you want an early night. Fully equipped large kitchen. Bathrooms could have been kept a bit cleaner but it wouldn't stop me coming back. Staff really make this hostel as they are so helpful and lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.6

People in general were nice but there was something missing in the atmosphere to make it great. Not sure, more friendliness from the bartender or something to get the atmosphere going. The bathrooms could have been a lot cleaner. There were a lot of people staying and I feel it's important to keep it clean at all times. A lot of hair everywhere and the toilets were a bit gross. The room was good and clean and the staff were very cordial and attentive, excellent service, thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Ended up staying five weeks instead of five days. Brent and all the staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. I got to know many locals thanks to the language exchanges every Thursday. Well equipped kitchen. Laureles is THE neighbourhood to stay in, 2 of the best salsa bars within 5 mins as well as dozens of other bars and clubs and next to no tourists in the area. Very safe as well. Perfect balance of being a social hostel, without being a party hostel. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.