Hostelworld.com

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 343 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.1
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel Located at Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles., , Medellin.
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
Colombia
Medellin Antioquia Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles.
83% 343
6.2497977 -75.5876755
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Very friendly staff, and a great atmosphere. Perfect location in laureles right near El estadio and the metro. Much better neighborhood than poblado!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
8.9

Great facilities, staff are helpful and polite. Location is very close to Estadio metro station (and the stadium itself, if you're interested in catching a game or two). Just off la 70, and not too far from 33, which is a decent nightlife alternative to Poblado (and a bit more Colombian!). Not sure why, but it can be a very antisocial kind of hostel. People don't interact as much as other hostels (even non-party hostels). There's a cool bar and TV room so not sure why that is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
5.1

Tiny rooms, unhelpful staff and the laundry service is terrible. Best thing about it is the kitchen!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.9

Comfortable enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Mar 2016
8.3

Good location, close to metro estadio, or 20 minutes walk to the city center. Shops, restaurants, bars, very close.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Mar 2016
9.4

Very cold chilled out hostel in a really nice area. Great if you want to grab a Nacional or Medellin football game as the stadium is 15 min walk away. Has a good language exchange and the hostel has good nights out without being as mental as some of the other hostels. Has loads of hammocks and good selection of beer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
10.0

This is a fantastic place to stay. The staff and fellow guests were incredibly friendly. They have an awesome karaoke evening and language exchange evenings which were really fun. Cannot recommend it enough and I will definitely stay there again if I return to Medellin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
4.9

Not pleasant experience. Plus someone got stabbed in the area the same night we stayed. Don't recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello. We have no record of anyone being stabbed or any police calls of any guests in our hostel being stabbed at the time you were in the hostel. Are sure you didn't make a mistake? The neighborhood we are located in is very safe and we've had almost no robbing muggings or assaults in the area over the last 5 years.

28th Feb 2016
10.0

The hostel is at a great location. Although it is in a different part of town (within 5 minute walking distance of the soccer stadium) and not in El Pablado where many backpackers stay, I really enjoyed this part of town as it gets incredibly lively after a soccer game. Furthermore, the staff at the Wandering Paisa are incredibly helpful in providing city tour info and can speak good English, especially Gisela. Thank you for making my stay in Medellin a memorable one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • christinegranzer6140
  • Austria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
15th Feb 2016
8.3

It's a nice place, very well located (a nice area, only a few minutes walk to Stadio metro station) and clean. Staff is very nice, towels are free. The atmosphere was not so good when we were there because the building was under construction and many common areas were closed, but I guess normally it's nicer ;-) What I didn't like is that there are no room keys for dorms, and you have to pay for using the computers..but there's a good wifi connection :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.