Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 384 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.5
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel Located at Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles., , Medellin.
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
Colombia
Medellin Antioquia Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles.
86% 384
6.2497977 -75.5876755
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hgood
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel, we stayed for a week! The bar is very cheap and the hostel has a really nice atmosphere and great hammock area. We loved the location not being in Poblado, we were 5 minutes from the metro, 15 minutes from the city centre and there are several bars and clubs nearby within walking difference (very safe area at night) that are a lot less touristy than the ones in Poblado. The staff are lovely, so friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2016
7.1

Quite a noisy hostel, so more for those interested in a party vibe. One staff member was great, with excellent tips and advice (the girl with blue hair), but the others lacked knowledge on the city or a willingness to share it (told us wrong information a couple of times). Location is good, near metro and good food options. No locks on rooms but lockers outside rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
10.0

Best Hostel we stayed in during our time in Medellin. The atmosphere was great - there were plenty of people ready to party! Kitchen is readily available, laundry service is available for cheap, towels can be rented, receptionist spoke English and was helpful in planning day trips, room was clean, bathrooms are plentiful, Calle 70 (a major avenue with restaurants and stores including a supermarket) is a 2 minute walk away. Metro is about a 10 minute walk away. Soccer stadium is near as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.3

Great hostel, great people. Only down side is that the rooms are a little dirty, and smelly. They should really be cleaned more regularly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.0

I didn't find it dirty like other reviews made out. It can be quite noisy which was fine for me but might bother others. Short metro ride from centre of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
9.4

The staff is bilingual and very helpful, especially Gisela. Laureles, the neighborhood it's in, is really safe and lively and incredibly close to the metro. The hostel itself has great facilities: a big kitchen with lots of supplies, a patio with hammocks, a cool hangout spot at the very top called "the castle," and more. There are lots of opportunities to socialize with other guests. The hostel hosts several events during the week. My main critique is more cleaning throughout the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jul 2016
5.1

Very durty. We ask to Clean the room but Stills durty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
6.3

Location is good, close to the metro and in a safe neighborhood, the staff is nice but the place was super dirty. The bathrooms were already terrible by 10 am and there was a dead cockroach in the bedroom that lasted 2 days. There's nothing similar to a housekeeping service. There's a balcony for smokers full of beer bottles and dirty ashtrays which never got cleaned out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.3

Loved the beds here! Very comfy and the bunks are wooden, not horrible metal. They've got a lot of relaxing space with hammocks and chairs and it's near to grocery stores and restaurants. Often had to ask several times for toilet paper refills and the laundry service was just ok. You have to be buzzed in the front door, so I felt quite safe. I also arrived at 5 am and was able to get in my bed straightaway with no complaints. Thanks again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
7.1

Great hostel. Kitchen is well equipped, wifi is good and works everywhere. Good vibe. Literally the only downfall is the lack of cleaning it receives. It is so incredibly dirty everywhere. Not sure bathrooms got cleaned once while I stayed, or if they did very poorly. The only mantenance was emptying garbage bins. Kitchen did a get a couple of times but not well. Considering how many people there are and how few bathrooms, this should really be a higher priority.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.