Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.3
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel Located at Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles., , Medellin.
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
Colombia
Medellin Antioquia Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 Laureles.
85% 373
6.2497977 -75.5876755
The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Jul 2016
9.4

The staff is bilingual and very helpful, especially Gisela. Laureles, the neighborhood it's in, is really safe and lively and incredibly close to the metro. The hostel itself has great facilities: a big kitchen with lots of supplies, a patio with hammocks, a cool hangout spot at the very top called "the castle," and more. There are lots of opportunities to socialize with other guests. The hostel hosts several events during the week. My main critique is more cleaning throughout the week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jul 2016
5.1

Very durty. We ask to Clean the room but Stills durty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
6.3

Location is good, close to the metro and in a safe neighborhood, the staff is nice but the place was super dirty. The bathrooms were already terrible by 10 am and there was a dead cockroach in the bedroom that lasted 2 days. There's nothing similar to a housekeeping service. There's a balcony for smokers full of beer bottles and dirty ashtrays which never got cleaned out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.3

Loved the beds here! Very comfy and the bunks are wooden, not horrible metal. They've got a lot of relaxing space with hammocks and chairs and it's near to grocery stores and restaurants. Often had to ask several times for toilet paper refills and the laundry service was just ok. You have to be buzzed in the front door, so I felt quite safe. I also arrived at 5 am and was able to get in my bed straightaway with no complaints. Thanks again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
7.1

Great hostel. Kitchen is well equipped, wifi is good and works everywhere. Good vibe. Literally the only downfall is the lack of cleaning it receives. It is so incredibly dirty everywhere. Not sure bathrooms got cleaned once while I stayed, or if they did very poorly. The only mantenance was emptying garbage bins. Kitchen did a get a couple of times but not well. Considering how many people there are and how few bathrooms, this should really be a higher priority.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel. My 2nd visit. Best location, social but not party hostel, cheap beers in the bar, great wifi, hot showers, good beds and a locals language exchange night on Thursday nights so you can meet Colombians easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.4

One of the best hostal I have stayed in Colombia. It's not in the Poblado (the gringo area) but super close to everything especially a metro station and everything a lot cheaper than in the Poblado. I ended up staying a week more than what I had planned because the people were so nice. Just be clear about how long you're staying, sometimes they get things mixed up. Would go back anytime.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

Great atmosphere, fun events (language exchange, salsa class), comfy hammock area upstairs. Would definitely recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.7

really loved this hostel, the staff was friendly and helped a lot! i will recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.6

Would stay again! Great area, beats Poblado.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.