Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 527 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.6

We stayed in an 8 Bed Dorm, the Bolivia room it is very small wasn't much room for bags however its not much extra for a room with more space. Air-con in the room was good, beds very comfortable. Communal areas very good and social. Bar area in hostel, you can bring your own drink in as long its not in the bar. Kitchen was really good! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice location close to the metro station. Would recommend this hostel and Medellin, we even stayed an extra night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2017
9.7

The hostel is not located in the main party area but it has a great atmosphere and is close to a main road of bars and restaurants that is very fun and only a short taxi ride to the main part. The staff were really helpful and the hostel was nice and clean. Can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Jul 2017
6.9

Pros: Staff are very helpful Location is great - close to supermarket, restaurants and metro. Cons: Rooms are very loud at night with noise from the bar and are hot/stuffy - air con doesn't work properly. Common areas can get a bit messy Wifi is very hit and miss Didn't have any lockers in our room for valuables

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jun 2017
6.6

My boyfriend and I chose to stay at the Wandering Paisa because of all the great reviews. We are not overly picky people, but were not satisfied with our experience here. It was very out of the way from the backpackers area of the city & main parts of the city so we ended up spending a significant amount of money on cabs/transportation. For the amount we ended up spending it would have been wiser to stay at a slightly more expensive hostel more central. The staff was 50/50 & atmosphere was worse

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I am sorry you were not happy with your experience at the hostel. With regards to the location, we are actually 10 minutes walking from the center, near the Botero museum, the barefoot park, nutibarra hill and the other main tourist sites of the city. I am sorry this was not better communicated to you by myself or our staff, had you known that you could have enjoyed our central location better. Safe travels and thank you for the feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel in an authentic area in Medellin and a nice alternative to staying in Poblado. If you want to party there still are loads of bars and clubs around. Great area to meet locals as well! Hostel itself is nicely decorated, staff speaks good English and is very knowledgeable. There is a nice kitchen, a TV room with a wii and games and a bar. 8-bed dorm is ridiculously cramped though, to the point where if you move one bed slightly, the door wouldn't close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
9.4

Stayed here in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Had our own beds (no bunks). Really great atmosphere there. Met a lot of fellow solo travelers. Didn't get great wifi up in the common hammock area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.4

Air conditioning and very spacious lobby. No breakfast, but they offer one from a restaurant nearby to bring in for 4000-6000 COP

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

The bunk rooms appeared to be very tight without a lot of space for personal belongings. No AC, so we worried it would be hot and stuffy (I think some of the rooms have AC or windows, but the 8 person bunk did not). We moved to a private room on first floor where it was very loud both nights. We liked the location being close to the metro and the stadium. The staff was helpful, although some staff members were friendlier than others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Everyone was so friendly and there was something different to participate in every night if you wanted to. The hammocks were so relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. My only complaint would be the noise level. Quiet hours are from 12-6am and they are enforced pretty well. We were unfortunately right next to the hammock area so it got loud outside of those hours. Overall, definitely stay here if you're looking to meet new people while traveling in Medellin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
9.4

Very chill hostel yet you can still party . Shoutout to the homie Josh the bartender for hookin it up and helping a homie out as well. showers are legit and have hot water . Smaller hostel yet intimate vibe to it . The location is great too. More locals and a chiller vibe from el poblado .Couple blocks from the metro and right next to Carrera 70 which is where you'll find a lot of the action at night . Would come here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.