Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Wandering Paisa Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Jun 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel in an authentic area in Medellin and a nice alternative to staying in Poblado. If you want to party there still are loads of bars and clubs around. Great area to meet locals as well! Hostel itself is nicely decorated, staff speaks good English and is very knowledgeable. There is a nice kitchen, a TV room with a wii and games and a bar. 8-bed dorm is ridiculously cramped though, to the point where if you move one bed slightly, the door wouldn't close.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.4

Air conditioning and very spacious lobby. No breakfast, but they offer one from a restaurant nearby to bring in for 4000-6000 COP

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

The bunk rooms appeared to be very tight without a lot of space for personal belongings. No AC, so we worried it would be hot and stuffy (I think some of the rooms have AC or windows, but the 8 person bunk did not). We moved to a private room on first floor where it was very loud both nights. We liked the location being close to the metro and the stadium. The staff was helpful, although some staff members were friendlier than others.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Everyone was so friendly and there was something different to participate in every night if you wanted to. The hammocks were so relaxing after a long day of sightseeing. My only complaint would be the noise level. Quiet hours are from 12-6am and they are enforced pretty well. We were unfortunately right next to the hammock area so it got loud outside of those hours. Overall, definitely stay here if you're looking to meet new people while traveling in Medellin!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st May 2017
9.4

Very chill hostel yet you can still party . Shoutout to the homie Josh the bartender for hookin it up and helping a homie out as well. showers are legit and have hot water . Smaller hostel yet intimate vibe to it . The location is great too. More locals and a chiller vibe from el poblado .Couple blocks from the metro and right next to Carrera 70 which is where you'll find a lot of the action at night . Would come here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2017
7.4

This hostel came highly recommended but I was a bit disappointed. The staff were not super friendly, nobody was there to open the door for me after 10 minutes of waiting when I first arrived. The one exception was the girl who first explained everything about the city the first morning, she was wonderful. The room was cramped, nowhere for people's backpacks. The bathrooms in the dorm felt like the got cleaned every other day which is kind of gross. Atmosphere was Ok, we met some nice people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
6.9

Great atmosphere but definitely not the cleanest hostel. Staff was super helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th May 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved Wandering Paisa!! The location was impeccable - close to lively Carrera where there is a good nightlife, and in a very safe and beautiful neighborhood, close to both the Metro and the Futbol Stadium. The atmosphere was wonderful - it was super easy to meet fellow travelers and the events that they host - Salsa lessons, language exchanges, karaoke - attracts locals, making it easy to befriend those that actually live in Medellin. Do NOT stay in Poblado, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
9.7

receptionists are professional. and costs are superb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.1

Nice hostel. Easy to get to on the metro. Lots of areas to chill or party. Good atmosphere. The Brazil dorm was a bit noisy because windows face onto common area, so just bring earplugs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.