Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Wayfarer

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 122 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.7
The Wayfarer Located at 12 East Montecito Street, , Santa Barbara.
The Wayfarer
USA
Santa Barbara CA 93101 12 East Montecito Street
96% 122
34.4149934 -119.6922375
The Wayfarer
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Natiakharaishvili
  • Georgia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2016
10.0

It will be difficult to stay at other hostels after having been at the Wayfarer. It is absolutely perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

It was super clean, very comfy hostel. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Overall, a great experience. Beds are amazing. It's very clean and proper, I would def stay there again. One small neg was that the staff at the lobby counter are a bit "arrogant". I think his name was Clive, or something like that...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
10.0

I was extremely happy to discover The Wayfarer, and before I left I was already planning another visit. I stayed in a female 5-bed bunk room. The mattress on the bed was quite comfy, with lovely sheets and comforter. I'm not a fan of bunk bed ladders, and this one fit the norm. The bottom step seemed quite high, the rung hurt the soles of my feet, and the gap width at top made it difficult to turn, especially getting down. The continental breakfast was more than satisfactory. Nice free wi-fi!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
10.0

I've already sent in the review.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2016
8.6

Super expensive but that's Santa Barbara for you. Beautifully decorated, new bunk rooms and ensuite bathrooms. Plush furnishings and memory foam mattress. Bed already made like a hotel and no need to strip it when you leave. Great breaky and breaky area. Good internet. Beautiful pool. Perfect location near main street and the beach. But not a real hostel vibe. Parking available costs $10 per night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th May 2016
10.0

It's just amazing. Great shower, comfy beds, great breakfast and such an perfect location. Best place I've ever stayed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2016
8.3

Best staff I have ever dealt with at a hotel/hostel hands down. They go above and beyond to help their customers. Only downside is if you are travelling solo there isn't many places to meet otger travellers here so be prepared to do SB solo. Facilities are amazing though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2016
10.0

We loved Santa Barbara and The Wayfarer so much we stayed an extra night! The hostel/hotel is located right in the Funk Zone so a super awesome location and the front desk staff are so friendly and know the city well and offer the best recommendations - especially Lalo!!! It's a bit pricey if you're looking for a hostel, but you definitely get what you pay for - super clean, great kitchen and facilities and just an overall great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great review!

5th May 2016
9.1

This place is absolutely stunning! Everything was on point with the facilities, but it is more suited for families/couples in my opinion. If they didn't close their porch at 9PM, it would be more convenient to have a good time with the other young fellows. If you want to have a good time, don't travel in off-season; the beaches were empty...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the 9.1 review!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.