X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Wayfarer Reviews

12 East Montecito Street, Santa Barbara, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
56 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel was better than some hotels I have stayed in. Would recommend staying here for anyone in the area


100%

for sure, was the best hostel that i have been! Congrats

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

There was an error with my booking and so they gave me a free upgrade to a private room, no questions asked!!! Awesome location, however a lounge in the hostel would be welcomed!


43%

I booked a 4 person dorm and when I got there there were FIVE! people in the room! 20% more hassle and wait for the bathroom, which incidentally has a frosted GLASS! door. It was very awkward, with light leaking into the room where people were sleeping. Very bad choice of materials. The bathroom was also microscopic, especially when you consider it was to be shared by 5 women. The toilet was IN the shower! Also, very noisy, next to freeway and a bar that had men yelling at all hours.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Thank you for your hospitality. Your Hostel is the Best one where I Have Been on the Pacific Coast Highway ! Your rooms are very Pleasant and clean.

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Fantastic facilities but this is definitely a hotel more than a hostel - the price of a room for a traveler is extortionate and because of the price, the wayfarer attracts an older crowd which in turn leads to a poor atmosphere - I didn't meet a single other backpacker over 4 nights. As a hotel this place is perfect. As a hostel, it has slightly missed the mark.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had such a great time! Fantastic location, very nice and helpful staff, great breakfast. Can't ask for a better place where to stay =)

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear We couldn't have asked for a better review :) So happy you enjoyed yourself and we hope you can visit us again. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

100%

Amazing little place. Had a stressful trip to get to Santa Barbara and this hostel was perfect. Clean. Comfy beds. Big tv in the room. Best shower facilities had all trip.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear So happy we could be a haven after a stressful trip. Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing this lovely review. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

Awesome place - great location, rooms are incredible quality, Santa Barbara is good fun. Would recommend!

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for the lovely review! We truly appreciate the recommendation. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

94%

Expensive but squishy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Richard, I may never fully understand this review, but I appreciate it nonetheless. From your almost 5 star rating, it looks like it was a good stay. Hope you can return for another squishy stay. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

86%

nice hostel everything ok

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nicolas, So happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope you will come back and stay with us again! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

AMAZING!!!!! BEST DEAL IN TOWN. WE COOKED OUR OWN DINNER IN BRAND NEW KITCHEN. BREAKFAST ARE GENEROUS. AMAZING POOL AREA. WOULD DEFINITLY GO AGAIN. WHEN THE WORD GOES AROUND ABOUT THIS PLACE, IT MIGHT GET VERY POPULAR.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
AMAZING REVIEW!! Thank you so much. We hope you can come back and visit us again!

97%

Cosy hotel, Great position, super friendly staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sonia, Thank you so much for the great review. I'm thrilled our staff stood out as super friendly and you enjoyed our location. Hope you can visit us again! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

83%

A bit pricey but great location! I like the decor and really good breakfast offerings for a hostel! Def worth a stay while in SB.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The place was excellent for location and cleanliness. Staff was friendly, and the lobby was very nice and comfortable. I was a bit disappointed with security - the lockers in the men's dorm could be opened even when 'locked'. There were two doors to the outside that were unlocked when I entered the room - not sure they could be opened from the outside but made me feel less safe. I misplaced a room key, and when I went up to get another one they did not even ask me for my ID!


86%

This is a great hostel in terms of structure. Excellent location, the most comfortable beds, solid wifi and good staff. But it is very expensive and lack group initiatives and social integration. I didn't find the hostel experience that I wanted and maybe it would have been better just to get a bigger bed by myself at other cheaper place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Gustavo, I'm happy to see you found the location excellent and enjoyed the comfortable beds and good service. I am sorry you weren't able to interact with other guests more though. We do offer weekly activities including a Pub Crawl and Bike Tour, but I'm sorry you weren't able to get involved with that. I do thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share that experience. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

A very swanky hostel, not quite like any I've stayed in before; incredibly comfortable beds without the usual creakiness and fresh white linens. Miniatures as you would see in a hotel and a pool with towels and the best free breakfast I've encountered. Not cheap but well worth the money for a night in my opinion.


91%

I felt like in 5 stars hostel. Nice pool. Nice rooms. Good breakfest

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Henrique, So happy to see you had a five-star experience staying with us. Thank you so much for the great review and most of all for being our guest. We hope you can visit us again! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at. It is a hybrid: part hostel part hotel. The place is less than a year old and appears to be a new building. Very nice. The staff was great. It even has a pool.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear James, Thanks so much for the high praise and the wonderful review. We can't thank you enough for the kind words, for taking the time to share your experience and most of all for being our guest! We hope you can visit us again. Warm regards, Casey General Manager



View all Santa Barbara Hostels

Please give us your feedback