X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Wayfarer Reviews

12 East Montecito Street, Santa Barbara, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
31 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

nice hostel everything ok

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Cosy hotel, Great position, super friendly staff

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A bit pricey but great location! I like the decor and really good breakfast offerings for a hostel! Def worth a stay while in SB.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The place was excellent for location and cleanliness. Staff was friendly, and the lobby was very nice and comfortable. I was a bit disappointed with security - the lockers in the men's dorm could be opened even when 'locked'. There were two doors to the outside that were unlocked when I entered the room - not sure they could be opened from the outside but made me feel less safe. I misplaced a room key, and when I went up to get another one they did not even ask me for my ID!


86%

This is a great hostel in terms of structure. Excellent location, the most comfortable beds, solid wifi and good staff. But it is very expensive and lack group initiatives and social integration. I didn't find the hostel experience that I wanted and maybe it would have been better just to get a bigger bed by myself at other cheaper place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Gustavo, I'm happy to see you found the location excellent and enjoyed the comfortable beds and good service. I am sorry you weren't able to interact with other guests more though. We do offer weekly activities including a Pub Crawl and Bike Tour, but I'm sorry you weren't able to get involved with that. I do thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share that experience. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

91%

I felt like in 5 stars hostel. Nice pool. Nice rooms. Good breakfest

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Henrique, So happy to see you had a five-star experience staying with us. Thank you so much for the great review and most of all for being our guest. We hope you can visit us again! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

Best hostel I have ever stayed at. It is a hybrid: part hostel part hotel. The place is less than a year old and appears to be a new building. Very nice. The staff was great. It even has a pool.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear James, Thanks so much for the high praise and the wonderful review. We can't thank you enough for the kind words, for taking the time to share your experience and most of all for being our guest! We hope you can visit us again. Warm regards, Casey General Manager

97%

This is the most beautiful, upscale hostel I've ever stayed in (and I've been to many throughout the world). Definitely felt like I was staying in a high class hotel with a friendly hostel atmosphere. Beautiful interior design, comfortable beds, great complimentary toiletries, delicious breakfast. A five minute walk to the heart of downtown. The ONLY drawback was that it was right next to Highway 101, and the noise from the traffic is a little loud if you get a room close to the highway.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Brianna, Thank you so much for this lovely review. "A high class hotel with a friendly hostel atmosphere." We could not have asked for a more perfect description. I'm sorry there was a bit of noise from the 101, but it sounds like you still had a great stay and for that we are truly thankful. We hope you can visit us again! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

100%

Was very pleased with my experience; I firmly recommended for a hostel The Wayfarer to my friend I was visiting with. Thanks!

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind words and the great recommendation. We truly appreciate it and hope you can visit us again. Thank you for staying with us! Warm regards, Casey General Manager

89%

Crazy cool decor and room. I love it when you get the individual lights and sockets. They even get you your own set of toiletries. Breakfast was just average and you have to pay extra for parking.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. Happy you enjoyed the decor and room. Thank you for being our guest and we hope you can visit us again. Warm regards, Casey General Manager



View all Santa Barbara Hostels

Please give us your feedback