Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 834 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Feb 2017
8.9

Was more like a hotel than hostel. Private room was spacious and clean, full sottish breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great stay had at the west end hotel again, It's the second time I've stayed here and had a great time. Staff are always friendly and helpful and place is clean and tidy. See you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Good value for money, more like staying in a hotel than a hostel but for the same price as a hostel. Food served in the bar is good and you get good discount. Staff organised Highland tour for me which was very good and reasonable, all the staff are nice and also helped me book train tickets to Londo which is good of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

I had a good stay at the West End. Great location for Murrayfield and City centre located in a quiet area good for a good nights sleep but the nightlife is only a 10 minute walk away. There is a cool bar located in the hostel and you get discount off food and drink when staying there. Place is clean and pretty spacious for a hostel so no having someone snoring in your face !! Keep up the good work guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

I only stayed at this place 1 night but wish I could of stayed longer. The place has a nice vibe to it and everyone is super friendly. I'm off on a Highland tour but can't wait to get back to Edinburgh and see more. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

It's a very nice place, with a lot of facilities I'm sure I did the most exercise walking from this place to princess street, but I liked this place so much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
6.6

It's like a high end prison. Signs (everywhere) with the house rules are accompanied by warnings that you are being watched on cctv. There are no common spaces available after 11pm. This would not be so bad except the only power outlets available to guests are built into mini cell phone lockers. The room I stayed in had more beds than outlets, so I was out of luck. Literally no other outlets available to guests after 11pm, except in the bathroom. Would never stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Good place, recommend to stay ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

My family & I stayed here on Dec 27-Jan 1, 2017 & truly felt at home & welcomed here. The staff were so friendly & helpful. The location was perfect. Not right in the center of the city(to be noisy), yet so close-it was an easy walk. In the evenings, it was so nice to sit in the bar (have a few drinks) & relax from the days activities.....and the nachos aren't too bad either.Enjoyed the Thursday night trivia (came in last place). Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
7.4

Place and staff were friendly but the room that I stayed in was bad the American girl was up all night and I couldn't sleep which is very annoying people like this should be assessed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.