Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 850 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 850 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
9.1

Really lovely hostel, with clean facilities and a great staff. The breakfast and food is AWESOME, and there is live music played in the bar at night. It's a very quiet, low-key hostel. Not the place where you will meet a lot of people. It is a bit of a walk to the main tourist area, known as the Royal Mile. However, with the price and facilities, I would still recommend, especially to people like me who enjoy sleeping in a quiet building!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Beat hostel i've e ver stayed. Super friendly and helpful staff, very nice location in a beautiful neighborhood, 100% clean (they kept bathrooms and common areas very clean), lockers with plugs available in every room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.1

Exceptional hostel. I arrived very late once everything was well shut up but as soon as I rang the night bell the lad answered and let me in. Friendly and professional at 3am. The beds and linen were fantastic and the ensuite bathroom was clean. A power point by each bunk would be a good improvement.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2017
4.3

Filthy place. I stayed in an all female dorm, the floor was dirty, rubbish and clothes were left in corners of the room, no hand soap the whole time and bed sheets clearly weren't washed as there was blood spots on one bed. Charging ports were only in one place. Common room was in a basement where I had to watch people go out for a smoke every 10 mins while trying to eat my food. Big tub of dish washing liquid was left out instead of staff filling the container for it. Not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
8.0

Basically a hotel converted into a hostel. Huge clean rooms, good showers. About a 30 minute walk from old town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.9

Was more like a hotel than hostel. Private room was spacious and clean, full sottish breakfast was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great stay had at the west end hotel again, It's the second time I've stayed here and had a great time. Staff are always friendly and helpful and place is clean and tidy. See you soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

Good value for money, more like staying in a hotel than a hostel but for the same price as a hostel. Food served in the bar is good and you get good discount. Staff organised Highland tour for me which was very good and reasonable, all the staff are nice and also helped me book train tickets to Londo which is good of them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
10.0

I had a good stay at the West End. Great location for Murrayfield and City centre located in a quiet area good for a good nights sleep but the nightlife is only a 10 minute walk away. There is a cool bar located in the hostel and you get discount off food and drink when staying there. Place is clean and pretty spacious for a hostel so no having someone snoring in your face !! Keep up the good work guys.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
10.0

I only stayed at this place 1 night but wish I could of stayed longer. The place has a nice vibe to it and everyone is super friendly. I'm off on a Highland tour but can't wait to get back to Edinburgh and see more. Thanks guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.