X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
696 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Well I was in room 1 the 18 bed dorm. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was good as well sinks, toilet and showers are separated, you have hair dryers and a hair straightener as well. The staff was nice and helpful, they help you with planning your vacation!! Kitchen was fully equipped and big enough for severe people to cook.


100%

Could not really fault anything to be honest. If I had to pick something it would be all the stairs but it's a good work out ach day and the staff did help me with my luggage at check in. The communal area is quite small but there is a bar where people hang out. All in all a great stay Thank You!

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place for meeting people.Food is amazing too and you get a discount for staying in a dorm room.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hotel was great- the rooms were very nice, the building was really pretty, and it was nice that the bathrooms were divided up (the sink, toilet, and shower were all in separated so multiple people could use them). Everything was clean, but it would have been nice if they ran a vacuum over the floors in the rooms. The automatic light in the 8-person dorms were a bit annoying, as there was no door between the bathroom and the bedrooms so the light really bothered everyone who was sleeping.


94%

Lovely neighborhood and facility! The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the hostel blends in to the neighborhood. The neighborhood is residential, safe, and quiet. Breakfast costs money, and it didn't seem worth it for what you get. The room is average size. Unlike some hostels with ensuite bathrooms, I like that in this one toilet, shower, and sink are separate so multiple people can be in there at the same time. Biggest complaint is no outlets near the bed to easily charge your phone.


100%

Nice experience :-) Thanks guys

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice building located in the West of the city. It takes around 10 minutes to get to the City centre. I was attending a conference at Murrayfield and this is the nearest Hostel for both Murrayfield and the airport. Self catering kitchen was good and fully equipped and staff at bar were very helpful and knowledgable of the local area. The rooms are not crammed and there is plenty of place for luggage. I would give West End 10/10

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely place

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow what can I say, loved my stay here. I stayed in a 18 bed dorm very big room with so much space! Showers were hot and very clean and the building is very old with lots of character x

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I must say this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at while travelling, my only regret was not staying here longer! It's more like a hostel with hotel comforts. 20% off the food and drinks is helpful too when your on a budget. Thanks Guys!

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed here for 1 night in January, The place is in a very good location for the airport and fort he City centre is only a 5 minute walk away. Nice big spacious rooms and very clean. I would stay here again if I was in Edinburgh.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is good (15min to Princes Street on foot), but could be closer. Bedroom was warm and confortable. Staff realy nice. The kitchen and living room was too small and not as clean as I would like. Only one computer. The internet was good.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

My friend and I were on a road trip in Scotland. We stayed at 4 hostels all together and this was definitely the best.

  • 9th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really clean and tidy. Could probably do with one more toilet on each floor as there was only 1 per floor for both dorm rooms, but otherwise great facilities and just an overall awesome place to time spend. Rooms were spacious and offered a nice view. Would come again.


86%

Decent hostel, good location. Sound staff. Easy check in and out. But prices for what it was, I'll let them off since it was hogmany though!


80%

I really liked the idea of lockable mobile phone charging ports in the dorm rooms! The toilet next to room 2 seemed pretty dirty quite often - lots of paper on the floor and full bin.


80%

Sockets are far from the beds. Lockers aren't large enough to fit an average sized backpack. Common area with lockers closed after 11pm.


100%

This hostel is very nice, almost like a hotel. Having wifi in the rooms was very nice as well as throughout the hotel. Doing laundry was easy you have to pay though but it's not expensive and they provide washing powder. Some nights they have live music in the bar which is cool. The staff here was super friendly and always willing to help if you need advice. Close to markets and bus stops and the neighborhood is safe and pretty. We would stay here again.


60%

The beds are some of the sqeakiest I've ever slept in. Good luck if you're a light sleeper. There are no plugs in the bedroom, other than a phone charging tower by the door. So if you need to charge laptops or cameras... There was no lounge area, just a bar open to the public and a kitchen. Would've been nice to have a chill out place with some vouches for people staying. The bathrooms were great, other than having one toilet for a whole floor. Hairdryers and (pay for) straightners included.


83%

Very homely hotel; beautiful interior and friendly staff. Facilities were excellent, I especially liked the night lamps in the doorm and the hair dryers.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback