Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
85% 758
55.9494160 -3.2183074
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
5.4

This hostel experience was rather bland. Nothing special at all. It's about a 15 min walk from Princes Street, which is ok considering the low price of the room. However, most of the bed sheets were covered with small, dark hairs and there are no lockers where you can put your entire backpack and/or bag, which we would have appreciated. If only one bed had been covered, we would've consulted the staff but now it seemed more like a habit. The kitchen was clean though, which was nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kateypie
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Definitely the fanciest hostel I've ever been to which makes sense since it is also a hotel. There's a really cool bar area downstairs, the rooms are awesome, really really spacious and the staff are cool. Especially the kiwis! The only negative I would have to say is the location (it's only like a 30-40 minute walk to town though) and the fact that there is no common room which makes it more difficult to meet people if you're travelling alone. Still a stand up hostel though, definitely recomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
7.7

There were no outlets to charge my phone in the room. But otherwise it was as described.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

The West End hotel is at a great location for walking to the main sites in Edinburgh, and close to plenty of restaurants. They offer a kitchen for guests (with food storage options), and a laundry room that were not on the hostel world listing, so it was a pleasant surprise. There was a lot of stairs (our room was on the top floor), but not too many rooms, so you don't get too overwhelmed by the other guests. I definitely enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ialindsay3916
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.3

As there were 5 of us travelling together, we had a 4 bed room and then one bed in the 10 bed room. The accommodation itself was very good, well above the typical hostel, and the value for the price of the 10 bed dorm was great but the 4 bed room was very expensive in comparison. Unfortunately, booking at the last minute, and traveling in a group of 5 didn't allow us a lot of other options...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.4

The westend hotel/hostel was the nicest and cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Over my 8 days there staff we're super friendly and helpful. The full kitchen was killer and the 20% off the bar made eating in super cheap and cheerful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

After staying in 2 other crazy loud hostels in Edinburgh it was good to come to a nice chilled place to end my trip. It's only a 5 minute walk to the city centre but this means there's no noise from traffic and people outside. The lounge areas not huge but they have a big bar downstairs which makes up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Loved this place. Great place to meet fellow backpackers in the bar downstairs, The place is newly renovated and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
3.7

Terrible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.