X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, as above, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
386 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great atmosphere with friendly staff...

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Such a gorgeous place. Beautiful backyard. Super comfy bed and comforters. Swanky looking bar. A little bit of a walk from everything but that is my only complaint. Really nice place.


100%

I really liked this hostel and have already a few friends who will no doubt be visiting this hostel

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed at the west end hotel for a few nights and was instantly blown away by the helpfulness and very upbeat staff. They were very helpful with pointing me in the right direction as to where to go and see. I ate at the hotel both nights the food was amazing and very well priced for the big portions i needed after a long day. The hotel was very spatious and clean which made coming home inviting. Massive thankyou to Alyce, Juan and Lauren it wouldnt of been the same without you guys there!!!


91%

Great accommodation. Very clean, card locked dorm & bathrooms, well equipped kitchen. No issues with WiFi. Lack of power points in the room though. Only one toilet for 30-ish people, so go during "off-peak" times. The bathroom is locked, so carry your card with you at all times. Credit cards are charged a fee, so bring cash.


100%

I love the westend! The staff was friendly knowledgable and kind. The little bar/ resturant downstairs has great food and the tea is brilliant!!! I would stay here any time I was in Edinburgh. Its also a short and very nice scenic stroll to a lovely shopping area. A Great Experience!


83%

good clean hostel/hotel type place. showers were great. only one toilet though for the 18 bedder and 12 bedder together. can get a little tricky...


91%

I like this hostel. Good facilities, staff are fine and the showers are great.


100%

Nice clean and friendly hostel. Bar is great to hang out at night and meet other backpackers food is good too.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel. Only stayed one night. The bar has good food and the staff is very helpful. It's kind of far from the city center, but it's easily walkable and in a safe area.


97%

No complaints. Great customer service. Kitchen facilities excellent. Great showers, hot with a poweful jet. Only minus I would say is that there is only one toilet as far as I can see, which isn't a problem when the hostel is quiet but I can imagine at busy periods it would be inadequate.


97%

Westend Hotel was a wonderful, clean and friendly hostel, close to the center of town. I would highly recommend and would stop by if I were in Edinburgh again.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing place. slightly out of centre but this is nice. food in the bar is very high standard. staff are. Very good and helpful.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mauritania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

All Good will be back

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

It was a perfect hostel, the people that worked there were really nice and helpful. The kitchen was not very clean but it was really good to have kitchen to cook.


97%

Amazing place, has everything, like a hotel and is ,excellent value, restaurant, bar and self catering kitchen and warm as well!


86%

I had a good stay. Nice clean and secure atmosphere.


60%

I stayed in a 18 bed room there and there was only one toilet for everyone which made things kind of harsh in the morning. I met some great people there, though. And one more thing, the hostel is not that close to the train station, they say it's a 15 minute walk (if you run, maybe...), but in fact it's more of a 30 minute walk.


100%

I've stayed at The West End Hostel previously and am more than pleased to say that it just doesn't change, you get friendly, attentive service with excellent efficiency, politeness and everything to the high standard. Having stayed in a lot of hostels over traveling the last 3 years this is one of the best!!

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was pleasantly surprised by this hostel. Perfectly located (in the Wes End, five blocks away from the rail station, end equally distant from Edinburgh Castle, everything was just perfect. Staff are really friendly, rooms were very nice and clean. Their Bar had a good variety of snacks, meals, breakfasts, and drinks etc. at cheap prices and you were rapidly served.There was a counter to buy sandwiches and drinks and similar to go if one preferred, at very decent pries.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback