X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
590 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The staff people weren't really helpful or nice.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice clean place decided to extend my stay as I loved the place so much

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I would definitely recommend this place to fellow travellers. If your looking for somewhere to chill out and relax this is the place. I only stayed for one night but loved it. The staff are awesome and very helpful, they will even book tours of Scotland for you at a discounted price.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it in this City and hostel. It's a sort of hotel with hostel prices. I will come back when in Edinburgh

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Only one toilet for a 12 bed dorm room and more is not really enough

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

is very clean and the staff is very nice


80%

Someone threw up in the shared toilets around 5am or before (I nearly stepped in it when I went to the loo) and it was still there around 9-10am. Also, they should make it crystal clear on the site that if you arrive after 11 you have to pay an extra £5. I will say though that the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I wish you guys would change the sheets after each person and take out the trash.


100%

Nice place, very clean, good staff :-)

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I must say after 4 years of backpacking this is one of the best places I've stayed. Everything is perfect. The staff are so helpful and go out of their way to make you're stay a special one. The big shower room is big and the showers are always hot and powerful. I ate lunch one day at the bar and was amazed at the size of the burger!! Great Place

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Needs some vacuuming.


100%

nice place! No lift but it's good excersise. Showers are hot and powerful which makes a change for a hostel. I would recommend.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tokelau
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed in a big 18 bedroom. The hotel is nice and clean and staff helpful. Food is good and drinks cheap.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very pleasant stay, the staff was incredibly helpful throughout our stay. Kitchen facility is great, and rooms are very nice.


100%

Nice hostel. Rooms are big and not to crammed. The place is only 10 minutes walk to city centre and nice and quiet at night. You get discount of food to such us good.


100%

Loved my stay here. I will return if in Scotland.


100%

Great Hostel ended up staying longer just cause the staff made me so welcome.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Well I stayed at this place for only 1 night but wished I had stayed longer. The place looks like it has just been refurbished everything is so clean., all the staff are helpful and will do anything for you. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff members were all very nice and hepful. I enjoyed my stay, and I would stay here again.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Unfortunately the boiler broke on the second night so we didn't have any hot water. We did get an apology in the morning. We didn't realise that our room included breakfast - so was extremely happy with that!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback