Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.4
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
84% 767
55.9495541 -3.2185005
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

I had a great time staying here during the Edinburgh Fringe, Staff are awesome and place is super nice. It's not right in the city centre but I like that as the City was so busy it was nice to come home to a peaceful neighbourhood. I recommend you try the food as its amazing and you get aids count staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
4.9

Even though it is fringe season £28 is exceptionally poor value for a single dorm bed, the hostel is quite far out of town, the 18 dorm bed has 2 extra mattresses on the floor so you are actually staying in a 20 bed dorm. There is a single toilet for all of these people. Kitchen facilities are not great, no separate hot and cold taps for washing up. Kitchen is shut after 11pm (so no access to drinking water) they could also provide recycling facilities as well.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

This is my second stay at a Hostel and my second stay at The West End hotel. I stayed for 1 night during the Edinburgh Fringe and loved it. The staff are super friendly and are well informed about the city. I was staying on the top floor but staff helped me with my bags. Rooms are spacious and cleaned to a high standard. I didn't get chance to try the food but it looked good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

This is the second time Ive stayed at The West End Hotel during Edinburgh Fringe. I stayed in a 18 bed dorm which was big, clean and really spacious unlike some other hostels where the beds are crammed together. Staff are really helpful and found amazing 10 out of 10 guys!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.7

It is a really nice hotel with hostel rooms associated with it. Good location. Room very very clean. Friendly staff. Would happily go there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.1

Location not directly in downtown but not a bad walk - 20 mins. Nice to walk the neighbourhoods. The room and bed was nice, I stayed in female dorm of 8, it came with an attached washroom and shower. Breakfast was not included. Found the attitude of the staff a little chilling - some other people did not find them very welcoming. Not a big deal because your out most of the day touring the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
5.4

This hostel experience was rather bland. Nothing special at all. It's about a 15 min walk from Princes Street, which is ok considering the low price of the room. However, most of the bed sheets were covered with small, dark hairs and there are no lockers where you can put your entire backpack and/or bag, which we would have appreciated. If only one bed had been covered, we would've consulted the staff but now it seemed more like a habit. The kitchen was clean though, which was nice.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kateypie
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.4

Definitely the fanciest hostel I've ever been to which makes sense since it is also a hotel. There's a really cool bar area downstairs, the rooms are awesome, really really spacious and the staff are cool. Especially the kiwis! The only negative I would have to say is the location (it's only like a 30-40 minute walk to town though) and the fact that there is no common room which makes it more difficult to meet people if you're travelling alone. Still a stand up hostel though, definitely recomend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.1

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
7.7

There were no outlets to charge my phone in the room. But otherwise it was as described.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.