Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 824 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 824 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.1
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
84% 824
55.9495541 -3.2185005
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
1st Jan 2017
6.6

It's like a high end prison. Signs (everywhere) with the house rules are accompanied by warnings that you are being watched on cctv. There are no common spaces available after 11pm. This would not be so bad except the only power outlets available to guests are built into mini cell phone lockers. The room I stayed in had more beds than outlets, so I was out of luck. Literally no other outlets available to guests after 11pm, except in the bathroom. Would never stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Good place, recommend to stay ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

My family & I stayed here on Dec 27-Jan 1, 2017 & truly felt at home & welcomed here. The staff were so friendly & helpful. The location was perfect. Not right in the center of the city(to be noisy), yet so close-it was an easy walk. In the evenings, it was so nice to sit in the bar (have a few drinks) & relax from the days activities.....and the nachos aren't too bad either.Enjoyed the Thursday night trivia (came in last place). Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone! Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
7.4

Place and staff were friendly but the room that I stayed in was bad the American girl was up all night and I couldn't sleep which is very annoying people like this should be assessed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

The beds were not clean, upon arrival the sheets didn't smell fresh and it was clear that someone had been sleeping in it before (hairs in the bed). Almost no chargers in the hostel which is very annoying, you can basically only charge your phone at the entrance of the dorm (not anywhere else after 11pm). The staff is great and very helpful. There were white spots in the Jars of jam (I think it was fungus growing in it)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Location, staff and security are great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

Ticks all the boxes, no big complaints.... Paid 29pounds per night for the weekend so feel a bit ripped but yeah not a bad place. As a solo traveler i found i really had to put in effort to meet people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Nov 2016
8.9

Interior was excellent. Restaurant & pub downstairs is impressive. The 11-bed room was crowded, no proper charge sockets near the beds, all phones through out the night were bundled in a pile near the door, no lockers. A basic breakfast in a nice atmosphere of near luxurious pub for a small extra payment was a good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

I loved my stay, I've already rebooked. Very clean, with an ensuite in my room. Kitchen has two of everything which is super handy. The staff were great, very helpful and lovely people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
9.1

The westerns was a very clean and nice hostel. My only complaint was the distance to get into the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.