Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
83% 789
55.9495541 -3.2185005
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Anguilla, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Sep 2016
2.0

What a DUMP, rooms crammed with cheap/uncomfortable beds, no space to put your stuff, no outlets, 1 toilet for 26 people!, reception is the bar, bla bla bla ... Please someone call the Council and shut this place down

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.4

It's mainly a hotel, so don't expect a hostel atmosphere. Towel hire is an outrageous £5. No sockets in rooms other than for charging phones. Otherwise quite clean and a fairly nice and comfortable place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
5.7

Picked because the pictures are cute, but there's no lift. They put me 4 stories up. ... as someone with severe knee issues and vericose veins, when I tried to talk to them about that, the staff was just like, "meh, you should have noticed that on our website". Bunk beds are cheap, and look like ikea bought, no privacy screens. General appearance is super cute, and they do serve food and do bar games. Severe lack of charging ports in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

I had a short but fantastic stay at The Westend Hostel! My trip was made particularly great thanks to the incredible customer service I got from Dan. He was attentive to all my needs during my stay. 10/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Wow what a place! I booked a bed in a 18 bed dormitory expecting a small cramped room which looked out of town on the map. When I arrived it took a 5 minute walk from Edinburgh city to find the hostel. On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff and given the key for my room. The staff even helped my with my luggage. Food in the restaurant was so good too. Great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
4.9

The staff was nice. The facility is not close to the royal mile. This is not really a hostel to meet people. This is more of a hotel than a hostel. There is 2 pound laundry, one of the only benefits of my stays.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

This is a fantastic place to stay, eat and drink. We had a room for 12, which was perfect for the days out we had. The service was excellent and staff were very polite, knowledgeable and helpful. The bar was excellent as was the food. The location, although a little away from the direct city centre, was still close enough to walk there quickly and easily - it was also quiet at night. The value for money was excellent. I will most definitely be back - a real gem of a place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.7

Stayed over Edinburgh fringe festival. Great base to explore not far from the city and great vibes. Clean and friendly for a reasonable price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

Nice place to stay more like a hotel than a hostel. Very clean and powerful hot showers!! Thanks guys! Try the pub crawl great night?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

I only stayed at this place 1 night but it's a great little place. Rooms are big and not cramped. I stayed in a 18 person room but there was plenty of space for luggage ect. They have cool lockers with power points in to charge you phone while you are not there and a fully equipped kitchen if you want to cook for yourself. I had fish & chips in the bar which was huge!! And you get dis not for staying there. The place is 10 mins walk to the city but a nice walk. Staff are excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.