X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
611 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

You need to oil the beds as they're very noisy and creaky. And you need to clean the bathrooms and hoover the bedroom floors


54%

It is not actually a hostel, it is a hotel with a 18 dorm so it does not have the "hostel life". It is really quiet. There is only 1 wc and 3 showers for 2 big dorms so it was a bit of a problem. The location is pretty good, walking distance to the town.


100%

A very nice hostel. I'm already looking at staying there again in November. Less than 5 minutes walk from hay market train station.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Must climb three flights of stairs to the top to get to the hostel room= not fun! No breakfast or support staff available before 8am=bad news! Blue-white LEDs at each bunk are very disruptive to circadian rhythm =bad for night vision, cause melatonin suppression, warm toned (orange or red) LEDs=much better - Google "light pollution." Need light blocking curtain in door frame between sleep and shower area! Bunks need to be sturdier to support weight of person climbing down from top bunk.


83%

Friendly, helpful staff. Good central location. Dorms were clean . Had charge points for phones. Bathrooms ok, showers not great but sufficient. Bunk beds were comfy. Card keys allowed for late entry into building. Overall met our needs which was a place to stay on the cheap for the fringe festival.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel is a wonderfully run place. Special mention to Scott, Imogen and Rachel for making my stay especially great and enjoyable. Places to lock your valuables available and the location is great.


91%

Very friendly staff, very clean and had everything I needed for a reasonable price (considering it was during the Fringe).

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was fine. The man who checked us in was nice but didn't encounter any staff after that. My bunk and the one above me were the creakiest things in the world (along with the door and the floorboards) which made staying asleep very difficult. The beds felt a little grimy or damp or something which wasn't great and I think overall it was too expensive for what you got.


100%

Friendly place and clean.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice little hotel located in a very nice area of Edinburgh, only a short walk to the city centre and only 2 minutes walk to the train station. Good food and drinks and discount.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing time and really friendly staff.

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Clean, very new and modern facilities. Had everything I needed. Comfy bed in a not-too-cramped female dorm with new clean carpet, place to charge my mobile, big window with a view +lots of light (but blinds too). Toilet and roomy separate shower to share between max 8. Clean and modern kitchen + dining. Luggage storage WiFi and card operated lock system. It was a Thursday so joined in free trivia in the pub. Very quiet and comfortable stay. Only downside- no lift , no inside bike storage.


49%

The staff people weren't really helpful or nice.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice clean place decided to extend my stay as I loved the place so much


100%

I would definitely recommend this place to fellow travellers. If your looking for somewhere to chill out and relax this is the place. I only stayed for one night but loved it. The staff are awesome and very helpful, they will even book tours of Scotland for you at a discounted price.

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved it in this City and hostel. It's a sort of hotel with hostel prices. I will come back when in Edinburgh

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Only one toilet for a 12 bed dorm room and more is not really enough

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

At first sight it looks like a reasonable hostel but it was too unclean to enjoy staying there. Beds are okay (I slept in my own sheet though), the bathroom was gross, the showers would have the same hair balls in the same place each day, some gross unidentifiable goop (eww) and one was just a cold dribble. The kitchen was never cleaned in the 5 nights I stayed, smelled terrible. I was saw a guy try to clean it but he just mopped over all the crumbs, moving them about


83%

is very clean and the staff is very nice


80%

Someone threw up in the shared toilets around 5am or before (I nearly stepped in it when I went to the loo) and it was still there around 9-10am. Also, they should make it crystal clear on the site that if you arrive after 11 you have to pay an extra £5. I will say though that the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback