Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westend Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 815 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.3
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
84% 815
55.9495541 -3.2185005
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
6.9

The beds were not clean, upon arrival the sheets didn't smell fresh and it was clear that someone had been sleeping in it before (hairs in the bed). Almost no chargers in the hostel which is very annoying, you can basically only charge your phone at the entrance of the dorm (not anywhere else after 11pm). The staff is great and very helpful. There were white spots in the Jars of jam (I think it was fungus growing in it)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.4

Location, staff and security are great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

Ticks all the boxes, no big complaints.... Paid 29pounds per night for the weekend so feel a bit ripped but yeah not a bad place. As a solo traveler i found i really had to put in effort to meet people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
9.1

I loved my stay, I've already rebooked. Very clean, with an ensuite in my room. Kitchen has two of everything which is super handy. The staff were great, very helpful and lovely people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
9.1

The westerns was a very clean and nice hostel. My only complaint was the distance to get into the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emwilson20
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Oct 2016
7.1

Overall the hostel was clean and the staff were super friendly. However, you felt like you were packed in like sardines in the dorms as I barely had any room to put down my bag as there was so many bunk beds. They didn't have proper lockers in the rooms (only tiny ones to charge your phone after you pay a deposit) which is pretty poor considering that is standard across hostels (so at least your passport or cash is safe!). It was okay but just had minor things that made the hostel impractical.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Oct 2016
10.0

Overall amazing place to stay in for the weekend, staff were always friendly, easy check in and check out process, food and drinks at the bar were great and at a good price, always helpful with issues, rooms were nice and clean always up kept, would definitely stay in again if ever back in the area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Oct 2016
7.1

Close to Haymarket Station and plenty of good restaurants within walkable distance. The dorm was located on the 3rd Floor and they had no elevators. Difficult if a lot of heavy baggage needs to be carried. Very tiny lockers with sockets provided for charging phones which didn't fit our adapters. The bathroom was clean although the basin was getting clogged up after every person used it. They have a lounge area with tv and games if we need to wait before a check in or after checkout.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

This is by far a top notch hostel. It is a hotel as well as a backpackers do expect dorm rooms with the feel of staining in a 5 star hotel. Downstairs is a restaurant and bar which the food is to die for with a cut price for being a resident. I had fish & chips witch was more like a whale in size! Breakfast has 2 options a basic one or a Full Scottish cooked breakfast which again was amazing for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
9.7

Overall a great stay in The West End, cheapest price in Edinburgh and not too far from city centre. Spacious rooms and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.