Hostelworld.com

The Westend Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 747 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.6
The Westend Hostel Located at 35 Palmerston Place, , Edinburgh.
The Westend Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH12 5AU 35 Palmerston Place
86% 747
55.9494160 -3.2183074
The Westend Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.1

The West End hotel is at a great location for walking to the main sites in Edinburgh, and close to plenty of restaurants. They offer a kitchen for guests (with food storage options), and a laundry room that were not on the hostel world listing, so it was a pleasant surprise. There was a lot of stairs (our room was on the top floor), but not too many rooms, so you don't get too overwhelmed by the other guests. I definitely enjoyed our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ialindsay3916
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.3

As there were 5 of us travelling together, we had a 4 bed room and then one bed in the 10 bed room. The accommodation itself was very good, well above the typical hostel, and the value for the price of the 10 bed dorm was great but the 4 bed room was very expensive in comparison. Unfortunately, booking at the last minute, and traveling in a group of 5 didn't allow us a lot of other options...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2016
9.4

The westend hotel/hostel was the nicest and cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Over my 8 days there staff we're super friendly and helpful. The full kitchen was killer and the 20% off the bar made eating in super cheap and cheerful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

After staying in 2 other crazy loud hostels in Edinburgh it was good to come to a nice chilled place to end my trip. It's only a 5 minute walk to the city centre but this means there's no noise from traffic and people outside. The lounge areas not huge but they have a big bar downstairs which makes up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
10.0

Loved this place. Great place to meet fellow backpackers in the bar downstairs, The place is newly renovated and very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
3.7

Terrible.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.4

No lockers, very dirty. Location is good, staff friendly, the atmosphere was very nice. The en-suite facilities were the best I ever encountered in a hostel. The beds are not that good, very noisy so it's almost impossible to move whitout waking up everyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Great value for money. I met a lot interesting people in 10 people room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place, staff are very helpful food good, very clean. Great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, I stayed in a 12 bed room, all facilities are clean and tidy. Staff are really helpful and give great advice on tours ect. They have a self catering kitchen and a restaurant and bar attached. Great value for money and a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.