X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
511 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is an ace hostel great rooms great bar and very cheap!!! Ideal location for City centre and 10 mins walk to Murrayfield for Six Nations rugby.. I had a blast and will be back.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice and clean, great staff and good food

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice, clean & comfortable stay. Not to far from city centre and very good price.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel in a great location, would defiantly stay here again. Only thing they could improve on is larger personal lockers in the rooms. Beds were warm and all other facilities good, loved the bar area.


83%

Nice accommodation. friendly staff but poor internet connection in the room. awesome breakfast and kitchen facilities is good. overall is recommended. Thanks


100%

Big rooms, full kitchen, hot showers, bar with live music. Perfect.


100%

Loved this place. Only stayed 1 night but it was the best nights sleep I've had in a hostel. Also the showers are amazing!!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was so much better than anticipated! We were confused because the hostel promotes itself as a hotel, but I can see why! The staff was excellent, the beds comfortable and clean, the bar/restaurant area was wonderful. Only 1/2 hour walk from the grass market area, very convenient and beautiful! I would definitely recommend to anyone staying in that area!


83%

It was really cozy. They make you feel more like in a hotel/house than in a hostel. The neighborhood is really nice and quiet. Beds are comfortable and the sheets were clean. The toilet and showers could have been cleaner, but they were fine in general.


80%

The staff were great, very helpful ! The place nice. But stayed there for 4 nights and they never cleaned. The bins and carpet were dirty. The room was kind of stuffy. But on the whole, we had a good stay.


74%

Please book the beds. Two times, i was in a mix up of someone claiming a bed in the dorm, but not clearly. This caused problems with an attitude from two individuals, which was unfortunate. Do not think they were very nice people anyway, but this could be easily avoided by booking a specific a bed in the dorms. The hotel is very nice in decor, It is both a hotel and and a hostel. It seems to work.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Extraordinary. Food was wonderful, people were friendly, place was immaculate. Loved the room, the building and the kindness of everyone.


97%

Very good everything of the west end hotel.


91%

A 15 minutes walk from the town centre, 5 mins from bus stops, the hotel is excellent! Comfy beds and the bathroom was flawless. Very helpful and kind staff!


97%

I spent a weekend with my sister and we found it really nice in several ways! It's an affordable place, it looks really nice and its facilities are the necessary, clean and near. The staff was very attentive and we didn't find it far from the city centre as we are very used to enjoy walking around the city. Great place, we will surely recommend it!


100%

really liked the place, welcoming, would recommend it.


91%

First hostel experience was awesome! Thanks west end!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

When I first arrived I was impresed by the decore as it was very modern and stylish. It looks like hotel and feels like a hotel, the backpackers kitchen is disgusting, it was filthy. The Lounge was like a waiting room with no atmosphere. The rooms were big but the floors, showers and toilets were filthy. There are no plugs in the rooms for your laptops you have to use the staff office you can only charge phones. The walk to the center of Edinburgh was easy. Don't take your car no parking.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything was really good except the cook was OOA for the majority of my stay. Various reasons !! They supply everything for tea or coffee except milk. Surely you can supply a little milk for the guests to have a cuppa in the evening ? Location was a bit of a walk to the centre but overall a great place to stay.


100%

This place was great for my weekend stay! I would definitely return!! The bed, the food, the breakfast, and the staff was very helpful when I had to leave my bag after check out! Excellent!!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback