X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
693 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Can hear bar music from the room and no outlets at ones bed. And the washroom (with stalls) is shared. All other facts of this hostel were awesome. I really liked it. Will likely return.


100%

I stayed here only for 1 night when attending a conference, I was a little apprehensive as I had not stayed in a backpackers before but due to the festival hotels were so expensive. I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely use this place again. Thanks.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

A big shout out to the staff who make this place what it is. They have backpackers working all the time so they know what the average traveller wants. It's just outside the centre but good place for a quiet nights sleep as its in a quite upperclass residential area. They have high speed wifi and powerful ?HOT showers and amazing food. I will return.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

You need to oil the beds as they're very noisy and creaky. And you need to clean the bathrooms and hoover the bedroom floors


94%

Staff were very accommodating and were willing to do their utmost to help.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

It is not actually a hostel, it is a hotel with a 18 dorm so it does not have the "hostel life". It is really quiet. There is only 1 wc and 3 showers for 2 big dorms so it was a bit of a problem. The location is pretty good, walking distance to the town.


80%

On one hand, the location is very convenient and the facilies are excellent because the hostel is very modern and almost brand new. Also, the staff is very kind, helpful and approachable. On the other hand, the cleanliness was very poor, a pitty because the hostel is very new and very confortable. Also, I have to say that I expected to have a place where to put my luggage securely but the hostel does have any inside the shared rooms.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Hostel was a little out of the way. Was not close to the centre of town, but that was good if you wanted a good night sleep without all the traffic sounds at night. There are a lot of stairs. And not much privacy


100%

A very nice hostel. I'm already looking at staying there again in November. Less than 5 minutes walk from hay market train station.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Must climb three flights of stairs to the top to get to the hostel room= not fun! No breakfast or support staff available before 8am=bad news! Blue-white LEDs at each bunk are very disruptive to circadian rhythm =bad for night vision, cause melatonin suppression, warm toned (orange or red) LEDs=much better - Google "light pollution." Need light blocking curtain in door frame between sleep and shower area! Bunks need to be sturdier to support weight of person climbing down from top bunk.


83%

Friendly, helpful staff. Good central location. Dorms were clean . Had charge points for phones. Bathrooms ok, showers not great but sufficient. Bunk beds were comfy. Card keys allowed for late entry into building. Overall met our needs which was a place to stay on the cheap for the fringe festival.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel is a wonderfully run place. Special mention to Scott, Imogen and Rachel for making my stay especially great and enjoyable. Places to lock your valuables available and the location is great.


91%

Very friendly staff, very clean and had everything I needed for a reasonable price (considering it was during the Fringe).

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was fine. The man who checked us in was nice but didn't encounter any staff after that. My bunk and the one above me were the creakiest things in the world (along with the door and the floorboards) which made staying asleep very difficult. The beds felt a little grimy or damp or something which wasn't great and I think overall it was too expensive for what you got.


100%

Excellent. Hostel attached to a hotel so exceptional services and cleanliness. Location was a healthy 20 min walk into central Edinburgh but a nice walk so all good. Staff fantastic also


100%

Friendly place and clean.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice little hotel located in a very nice area of Edinburgh, only a short walk to the city centre and only 2 minutes walk to the train station. Good food and drinks and discount.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(57 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback