X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Westend Hostel Reviews

35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
609 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

West End is an interesting are near the superb Museum of Contemporary Art and amongst some streets of brilliant residential architecture. It's a social and happy environment with some quirky entertainment in house on various nights. It's a reasonable but a happy walk through the streets to the old city and castle. I would return there and recommend ot

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This place was awesome! Super clean and great wifi!


71%

Really nice and very clean rooms, but not a typical backpacker hostel. There was only one other girl in my 8 bed dorm. The common room is small and not very comfy and the bar downstairs is quite expensive. It is a good 10 minutes walk to princess street and around 20-25 to the royal mile. I would recommend this hostel if you're with a group of friends but it's not the best place for single travellers as you don't really meet other people there.


86%

Really nice staff, nice bar, good location. Lack of plugs in room is my worst complaint.


89%

The Hostel was interesting! I've never stayed in one before and I loved it! Bar and restaurant type area were sweet, kitchen facilities were fantastic, rooms were comfortable and the restroom facilities were always clean. The Scottish breakfast was a total win ❤️

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff is great, decoration fantastic at the bar, huge room with plenty of space and power sockets. Breakfast fair for two pounds. One toilet or more would do some good. Recommend!


83%

Great place to stay - it is a hotel with dorm rooms in essence. Very very clean - each room with own bathroom. Beds comfy. No lift but only a few floors. Kitchen facilities clean and easy to use. There was no common area though - only a bar and it was quite small. The biggest issue is the location. It is a fair walk to the city center, but can't complain for the price.


86%

Professionally run establishment, with all the facilities you could want. Safe and secure. Only complaint was bathrooms could use a more frequent clean, but even then things weren't bad. Thanks for the stay.


100%

Amazing welcoming staff and a great place to meet people if travelling alone.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good place to stay great staff great accommodation will recommend to people in Australia wen l get home thanks fore a wonderful stay .

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff is very welcoming and professional, but not helpful regarding information about the town. The hostel is NOT in the center. The kitchen is very small and not really clean. I would recommend this situation if you book a private room, if you do not travel alone and have no need to meet people and get information about the town. Good quiet, safe area. No plugs in the dorms, and only 3 in the dining room, of which you are allowed to use only half if you didn't pay for a private room...


100%

I like this hostel. Rooms are very big and warm. Showers are very good and food is very big! I would like to come herer again.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice and friendly

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very pleased. The facility is sympathetic, clean and cozy. Staff is very friendly. Overall a perfect servise for the money.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We enjoyed very much our stay at Room 4,. Only suggest a new keyboard for the computer downstairs.


100%

This place is more like a hotel with hostel prices. Loved my stay, thanks guys.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Hey! This is a great little hostel. you are made to feel very welcome by the very attentive staff. Food is amazing and dorms are huge!! I was worried about the location but it is literally 5 minutes walk to the city centre and is nice to be in a quiet area at night.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Benin
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Was there over Easter weekend because this hostel had lower rates than others. The location isn't central (about a 25 minute walk to nightlife and sights) and there was only about 1 minutes worth of hot water for showering. It's more of a hotel than hostel, so not a good atmosphere for trying to meet other travelers


89%

Great surprise, great hostel.


89%

I spent four nights here in Mar/Apr 2015 and would highly recommend it. It's modern and clean and residents get a 20% discount in bar and restaurant which serves excellent food at a great price. Good location, about 15 minutes walk to Princes St but longer to Old Town and Royal Mile. Only complaint is how unbelievably creaky the beds are, I raised my arm during the night and ended up waking all 7 girls in the room! Great that the bathroom/shower are in the room. Would stay again and recommend

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(65 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback