Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Westgate Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 167 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
The Westgate Hotel Located at 1 Botley Road, , Oxford.
The Westgate Hotel
England
Oxford OX2 0AA 1 Botley Road
72% 167
51.7526460 -1.2708091
The Westgate Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
2.0

My boyfriend had booked the hotel for me and my sister to stay as we had an event to attend that night in Oxford. The deposit was taken from his account but upon arrival at the hotel, we were told we hadn't booked. I was very disappointed as clearly we had book from the deposit being paid. We ended up driving around Oxford for the next two hours trying to find somewhere else to stay. Luckily we found a travelodge. I am very upset and disgusted by what happened.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
6.3

we wanted near the city we got just that,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tanya78555
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
29th Jul 2016
5.7

Staff were nice, location was great, but the rooms are in bad need of a renovation. The bed was very springy and small, the top sheet hardly covered, it was difficult to sleep. The bedroom was clean, but difficult to cover up years and years of carpet stains... Shared bathroom and shower were kept very clean. If this was half the price I wouldn't complain at all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
5.7

We waited for about half an hour for someone to even come to check us in. The people were friendly and professional but it seems a little ridiculous to have to wait that long just to check in. Also, the actual room we stayed in was an annex and not connected to the main hotel. That was a surprise! Overall, the experience was interesting, but it would have been nice to have a little warning beforehand, or at least have it described honestly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
6.0

Room just OK, no shampoo. Just perfect location saves this place. Low service: waited 25 min to check-in because no one in reception (despite I informed I was arriving at 1pm!). Breakfast not tasty, bad manners. Wouldn't come back again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
6.0

A bath with no shower was situated on our floor. I wasn't told where/if there was a shower .... I just presumed there was a shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
10.0

Perfect budget lodging for Oxford! Right on the edge of the city centere, next to Oxford station with plenty of pubs and eateries within walking distance. Not to mention they have their own cafe on the ground floor. Very friendly staff as well. Highly reccomend! Don't bother spending triple the price at most the other places available, the Westgate has got you covered!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
9.7

Staff were all very polite, and gave local recommendations. Breakfast was well cooked & arrived quickly,& though it might have been nice to have a vegetarian option for the full English there were other options so can't fault them too much. They were very kind in letting us keep our luggage there after we'd checked out, as our coach wasn't until mid afternoon. Wifi connection was good & we also had a television in our room. Very pretty garden & very close to station & the town centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
6.0

Very good location--5 minute walk from Oxford Central Rail station. Caring staff who worked hard to make a good breakfast. Our room was in the annex. Room was suitable but shower needed cleaning. Comfortable bed and nice to have a room with a window that opened. Kettle, coffee and tea, and towels provided made nice additions. Would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice staff and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.