X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1483 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

It was third time there. There was nothing wrong, it is on really excellent location but it is not so much clean, especially toilets and showers. And there were some stupid british guys who had no respect to sleeping people. That was only negative point. Highly recommended!


77%

In general, the hostel was cool, very good located and good staff to.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were very friendly and did all they could to help, food was good downstairs and cheap. Room size was good for its money and showers and toilets cleaned dailly. Execellent place to stay for its money! Would deffo go back.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It was great location staff was very nice but no atmosphere


74%

The description on the website said there would be a smoking terrace but the reception staff told me there was not.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Beds are comfy and the staff are super friendly. Bathrooms could be cleaner and with hooks or shelves in the showers.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

Great location, not great for communal facilities, only a couple of rooms but the bar below was really good, 20% discount there was very welcome. Toilets and showers were great, old building so no elevators but a few mind your head signs needed for tall peeps like me! Receptionist wasn't always there to let you in during early hours, which was a little annoying, and some group options to meet people would be cool like walking tours or pub crawls. Altogether, a neat little hostel, would recommend


49%

No common room to hang out in, bad toilets and in general cramped without any good atmosphere. But what do you expect, its in the middle of the tourist area with bars, junk food, coffeshops and red light just outside the front door.


37%

Such a dirty hostel, rooms are so small, upper bunk beds are almost touching the ceiling, very bad staff, almost nothing is cleaned!


89%

Very nice people, great location in Day and night time, friendly staff and all in all a good place to go to! :)

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff is beyond helpful and are very kind. Even the people at the pub next door are awesome! The location was great, and I would definitely stay again!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

expensive at the weekend, not worth almost 30EURO per bad

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A simple hostel on the edge of the Red Light district, 5 minute walk from the main plaza and the train station. Security is good. Pretty clean. Good hostel overall.


43%

Just don't do it! There is no luggage room and the staff really make you feel like you are inconveniencing them. Also, if you arrive earlier than check in or leaving late in the day after check out, you cannot be in the hostel. i.e you have to go and find somewhere else to be. No kitchen facilities at all and what they call the 'common area' is enough seating for 3 people in the hallway outside the bathrooms. Not a place for meeting people.


66%

They advertise as a budget hostel and you will get a budget experience. Nothing wrong with it though. Good value for money. Bit cramped, clean enough, staff is helpful.


54%

I stayed there for 1 night, Hostel is so narrow but cant blame since it is Amsterdam so it is like that mostly typical of the buiding size inside, it is good that internet is available to the room as mostly in Amsterdam is seldom to get free internet access in hotel, mostly are costly.Additional, I felt annoyed with one of the receptionist there because he tried to seduce me like touching hands or try to kiss my cheek.. it is so inappropriate and more like harassment since he asked intimacy Q


83%

Great location. Very noisy at night but that's expected when location is so central. Rooms were clean and the size was perfect. The toilets were clean in the morning but by the evening time they were filthy. Just a simple cleaning rota would make such a difference!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst hostel we've ever stayed in. It takes 'filthy' to a whole new level. 2/3 of the staff are rude and unhelpful. No luggage room. They recommend the lockers at the station for €8 each. Almost the same price as what we paid for a bed. Hostel was on the same block as one of the red light district streets. Because of the location, there's a good chance you will have some creeps staying there. I woke up to find the man in the bunk next to mine touching my feet & wanking himself off. Disgusting!


71%

It's a good hostel considering the price. The first guy that attend me on the entrance looked like not so friendly, and I had to ask for all the information. He didn't give prompt to me. The location is perfect, near to the coffe shops, centraal station, red light... the room is OK, and also the locker. You have some disccount on the bar below the hostel, which is very good. I would recommended, specially if you are planning to stay few days in Amsterdam.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Would definitely stay again. Listen, if you are looking to go to Amsterdam with a few of your mates, this is the perfect place. (Had a 10man private room). You couldn't ask for a better location! The staff were really sound and helpful, the night staff were very security conscious and it made us feel safe. Smelt bad when we arrived but the cleaners were working in the toilets. Safe room, lacking in space however, perfect if you need rest your head. Small toilet but who cares you're in Amsterdam!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1004 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback