X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1286 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I really liked the location and the pub, but I found the place really noisy and the bathroom was really dirty. It could be a great hostel if they payed a little more attention to simple things like washing the bathroons EVERY DAY. And also calling attention of impolite guests, who talk loudly and slam the doors all the time as if they were the only ones there... I think the staff should be more careful about this.


46%

First of all this review is more aimed at a partner hostel of "The White Tulip" called "The Croyden". We arrived at White Tulip only to be handed a slip of paper and pointed down the road without any real explanation. We got to The Croyden where we were told that White Tulip "..had probably overbooked again..". The reception staff at the Croyden were friendly and helpful, but that was the only good part. Filthy bathroom, black mould on walls and the far too few lockers in the room didn't lock!!!


83%

good place good location but not much space for Atmosphere


69%

Good atmosphere with friendly staff, centrally located and each bed is equipped with a Powerpoint which is handy! The location was a bit too much for us... Being situated at the beginning of the Red Light District meant there was constantly loud music, yelling and screaming which resulted in little sleep... Good for a short stay but not for a longer period of time, mainly due to the noise (we were all for partying, but we also love sleep...) and the incredibly poor/tiny bathroom facilities.


69%

Each bed had a fairly large trunk (5euro refundable deposit for a lock). Each room has a key card (5euro refundable deposit) but the one to my room didn't work well. One guy in my room had his laptop stolen (didn't have it locked up). No communal area made it hard to meet other travelers. If you wanna smoke in coffee shops & get drunk then this place is close to all the action. If you want something more chill it's not the best given its location. Good enough facilities. The room had a mouse.

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Excellent location, very noisy, relatively clean, so can't ask for more really. What do you expect from a hostel? Five star treatment? People need to lighten up !

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good Hostel! Very well located. Plugs beside every bed (y) ! Great value for the money


86%

Location is great as well as stuff! Black guy on reception is great and funny! There is mouse in room 201 and you should solve that problem. Other things are good and discount for Irish bar is a great thing! Keep on guys.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

well placed, really well placed, near to everything.. and, really cheap.. but dont expect any comfort... you get a bed to sleep in the middle of the city.. if you are making a trip with your friends, and you need a place to put your luggages, thats the prefect place... ;)

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I really had a good time in the White tulip hostel. the reception staff was really nice and helpfull if i didn't had any plans for the day they will give you a lot of options to do which is really nice, they also have a really nice bar just downstairs to meet up other people from the hostel. you will get a green wristband which will give you 20% discount in there bar. if your planning to go to amsterdam really recommed this hostel!!!

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We rent two beds. The first night, someone was sleeping in one of the beds, so we slept in the same bed. I didn't want to kick the guy out. I slept really bad, so in the morning I went to see the guy at the reception. He was nice, and though he refused to give our money back for one bed for that night, he moved us to two beds in a smaller room (thus more expensive but we didn't pay more) , which was really nice, since the first room was really hot and smelling of feet. Good stay overall.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Honestly, if your looking for a cheap place to sleep this is it.It's located in an amazing area, the bar downstairs gives you discounts and the staff is pretty cool.BUT it does smell kind of funky,i did see mice and they were doing construction early.but then again who's going to Amsterdam to chill at the hostel.great place of your going to just crash

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

On Tripadvisor, all comment about this hostel were horrible, but finally, the rooms is clean. There are not a lot a space in the bachroom, it is true, but the showers is hot, so it's perfect. Very good location, and very good Irish pub! The reception need to be improve!


57%

Was bad timing celtic played ajax and for 3 days before game full of middle aged football fans out on lash and was very difficult to sleep because of this.


71%

It is rite out of the rad light district Vary Noisy street ....


49%

Felt like we were disrupting the mice that lived there.. far from cleaned ... wont go back


94%

We had a great stay and it was very clean. An absolute dream for the price we paid and so central - we went clubbing about 4 doors down, so we never felt unsafe! That said, it definitely wasn't too loud and people staying there were all very respectful of each other's sleep time (including our regular 7pm naps!) Towels and big locked chests to put your stuff in were provided free, which was amazing as I thought we would have to pay extra for these. Crepes and Waffles discount was fantastic too!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

While staying at this hostel, security was not very tight and anyone could really walk in. I also thought that the bathroom facilities where very poor and smelt disgusting and where not very clean. The smell was nauseating and unbearable at times.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The White Tulip was under construction when we stayed there. There was debris and workers everywhere. They really shouldn't be having guests stay there at the moment. I would not recommend this hostel.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I wasn't expecting much from a hostel in Amsterdam. White Tulip is really a bar, with an additional business of housing upstairs. If you're just looking for a place to stay for a night or two and nothing else, this place is perfect. The security is great, as the door to get upstairs is always locked and the giant sliding lockers under the bed fit a big bag. The location is perfect, as it's in the heart of the city. There is really no atmosphere, unless you hang out in the bar. Good hostel.


(912 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback