X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1263 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We rent two beds. The first night, someone was sleeping in one of the beds, so we slept in the same bed. I didn't want to kick the guy out. I slept really bad, so in the morning I went to see the guy at the reception. He was nice, and though he refused to give our money back for one bed for that night, he moved us to two beds in a smaller room (thus more expensive but we didn't pay more) , which was really nice, since the first room was really hot and smelling of feet. Good stay overall.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Honestly, if your looking for a cheap place to sleep this is it.It's located in an amazing area, the bar downstairs gives you discounts and the staff is pretty cool.BUT it does smell kind of funky,i did see mice and they were doing construction early.but then again who's going to Amsterdam to chill at the hostel.great place of your going to just crash

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

On Tripadvisor, all comment about this hostel were horrible, but finally, the rooms is clean. There are not a lot a space in the bachroom, it is true, but the showers is hot, so it's perfect. Very good location, and very good Irish pub! The reception need to be improve!


57%

Was bad timing celtic played ajax and for 3 days before game full of middle aged football fans out on lash and was very difficult to sleep because of this.


71%

It is rite out of the rad light district Vary Noisy street ....


49%

Felt like we were disrupting the mice that lived there.. far from cleaned ... wont go back


94%

We had a great stay and it was very clean. An absolute dream for the price we paid and so central - we went clubbing about 4 doors down, so we never felt unsafe! That said, it definitely wasn't too loud and people staying there were all very respectful of each other's sleep time (including our regular 7pm naps!) Towels and big locked chests to put your stuff in were provided free, which was amazing as I thought we would have to pay extra for these. Crepes and Waffles discount was fantastic too!

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

While staying at this hostel, security was not very tight and anyone could really walk in. I also thought that the bathroom facilities where very poor and smelt disgusting and where not very clean. The smell was nauseating and unbearable at times.

  • 20th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The White Tulip was under construction when we stayed there. There was debris and workers everywhere. They really shouldn't be having guests stay there at the moment. I would not recommend this hostel.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

I wasn't expecting much from a hostel in Amsterdam. White Tulip is really a bar, with an additional business of housing upstairs. If you're just looking for a place to stay for a night or two and nothing else, this place is perfect. The security is great, as the door to get upstairs is always locked and the giant sliding lockers under the bed fit a big bag. The location is perfect, as it's in the heart of the city. There is really no atmosphere, unless you hang out in the bar. Good hostel.


54%

The manager was very helpful and tried to accommodate us after the first nights complaints but there was not much he could do. We heard rats at night and while the rooms were cleaned daily the facilities were a bit overused. There is construction under way so they might improve on this in the near future. The noise level was a bit of a problem as the hostel IS in the red light district and the partying does not stop till 6 in the morning. The room mates were not particularly worried about noise.

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The church bell rings every 15 minutos from 7am on, the hostel was under remodelation and the construction work started at 7:30, basically hammering besides my door, staff was very unhelpfull and didn't warn us about anything, rooms are too small, basically room for 2 beds and your luggage and thats it.


37%

Rooms were horrific, no common area, the staff werent very helpful, moved hostels after 1 night. I award this hostel no points and may god have mercy on this hostels soul and no one should ever stay here!

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location is really great, but the room is not clean (without room service!) You can get free clean towels,which is really good, but the smell of the hostel room is not good due to the lack of cleaniness. It does have a really good Irish pub with discount and the staff was very helpful sugesting a good parking with cheap price in amsterdam (parking in amsterdam cost a lot)

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Fine hostel if you want to explore city/ not stay in room the whole time- it's the cheapest in Amsterdam, you get what you pay for.


43%

There was mold growing on the floor, bathrooms were disgusting, they made us move rooms without telling us and just threw our stuff off our beds and onto ground. Very small. Good location, right next next to RLD. They overbooked and turned people away who had reservations as well. Doing renovations at the moment so also very loud.


94%

At first when I got to the reception I tought that it will be a creepy hostel but the true is that the bedrooms and bathrooms have a lot of space and are very clean. The hoste has a great location only a few meters to the Dam saquare and is also located at the perimeter of the red district. Having a pub downstairsl is a great deal if you want to chill out a little bit.


60%

Not smoker friendly in Warmoestraat!!

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Location is good but cleanliness is very very bad..

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is very noisy due to proximity to red light district, church and renovations. Renovations where ongoing just outside dorm room. Unsafe amounts of debris, brick dust etc being carried into dorm rooms. Unable to sleep on the last night due to bed being full of grit and breathing difficulties, needed to find alternative accommodation. Staff not helpful in this matter.

  • 14th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(902 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback