X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1409 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

We started for just one day and were mostly roaming outside, so the hostel was mainly for sleeping and a bath. The facilities are good, in an excellent location

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

2 of us stayed in a large dorm. wake up early or you will get disturbed by the Old Church bells, they are kind of a novelty though so cool nevertheless. This place was great central location right in the oldest part of Amsterdam. All the guys at reception were great with any questions we had. and discounts at the bar. pretty sweet deal. recommended.


74%

Great location right in the middle of red light district. Very noisy at night outside and in the hallways. Pub downstairs was awesome though 20% off food and alcohol and happy hours throughout the day.


74%

the location is great,5minutes walk to Dam square,and there are many restaurants and shops around the staff is very helpful,when i check out early in the morning and ask about the metro,he helped me write down the timetable. the internet is bad,i can't get connected in room on 2nd floor the blanket is really thin


86%

Good location but on a busy lane,so foot traffic at all hours can be a problem. Clean enough and comfortable beds. As with all hostels other room mate can be difficult when using the lights or talking with others asleep. All this considered it was an excellent place to stay for a little money in the red light district :)

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

it smells bad and it seems like the linens are not changed


49%

Worst hostel I've stayed at, only good thing was the nice bathrooms, they put me in a different room that I booked, some staff were ok, poor atmosphere, also the cleaner broke my phone charger and is rude and I checked out early with 72 hours notice

  • 24th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The gentlemen working the evening shift front desk was friendly and welcoming. The gentlemen working the morning shift with the LA cap was actually quite rude and unpleasant whenever I would enter and leave the hostel. The morning shift guy would question my staying at the hostel and I had several rude encounters with this guy, I'm not sure if he was drinking on the job and having fun but it was quite a weird experience.


83%

As far as location goes, this place is amazing. Very close to the Amsterdam Centrail Train Station. Located in the red light district. Close to shopping, tours, clubs, bars, coffee shops (for those who smoke weed), and other attractions. The water gets hot. The rooms are clean. There's no lobby area to sit. But there was a table with chairs in my room (10 bed mixed). Wifi is free but the quality depends on how many people are using it. Best wifi hours: 10p-6/7am. (When people are out/asleep).

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Das Hostel hat eine super Lage, nette Mitarbeiter, und ist ziemlich sauber. Die Wasserfallduschen sind wirklich gut. Leider war unsere Heizung im Zimmer kaputt, deshalb lief sie stets auf Höchsttemperatur. Die Betten waren in Ordnung, nicht so bequem wie sie auf den Bildern aussehen. Alles in allem waren wir zu frieden


100%

for sure it is a recommanded hostel. the bed was good..the most important are toilet and shower were clean and good smell. the staffs were nice and friendly. thank you for everything The white tulip hostel. i was so happy staying there:)


94%

The White Tulip Hostel es un lugar perfecto para poder descansar y poder empezar a visitar la ciudad por su perfecta localización, ya que está situado en pleno centro de Amsterdam. La relación calidad-precio es impresionante. Las camas son cómodas, la limpieza es excelente y las taquillas para guardar las mochilas son muy grandes. MUY RECOMENDABLE.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay here was exactly what i needed! .. perfect location and literally the best shower's I've ever come across in a hostel!!!


40%

I'm tired of hostels where the WiFi doesn't work. How hard can it be to have working WiFi at your hostel in central Amsterdam? It's just lazy and unacceptable.


89%

Great staff, great hostel, I loved it to stay in Amsterdam. It is in excellent location. The bathroom are cleaned regurlaly but because it is only a few cabins to a lot of people sometimes it is a bit dirty (usually it is clean though). The staff is really friendly and the bed sheets were clean. My only critic to it is that it doesn't have a kitchen - not even a microwave! And the region being central is quite expensive to eat. You can take food inside though (sandwiches! =)


80%

Thanks for being the most welcoming hostel we've stayed at!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, the staff was super nice, and I think this is the cleanest hostel I've ever seen. Only stayed one night and it wasn't full so that might explain it, but it was great, I recommend. The rooms are clean and spacious. You don't have to pay for the huge lockers, just to leave a deposit, which is nice. They also lend towels, that spares place in your luggage. The hostel is in the centre, impossible to be closer. I recommend!


69%

If you're planning on having a partytrip to amsterdam i guess that place will do it's job! No recommendation if you try to get some decent sleep at night, at least in the 14 bed-dorm i stayed in there was always something going on and additional you can hear almost every sound from the street beneath. staff was friendly...except the guy who was there when i checked out. good pub downstairs, a lot of things around the corner. Would probably try another hostel next time but it's worth its money.


71%

Good hostel if you're easy going, not great if you're picky. Top bunks in room at the top of the building only had about 2 feet between the bed and the ceiling which made it uncomfortable. The room was super hot too (in winter) which was also really uncomfortable. Staff were pretty odd, kept coming into the room at random times without even knocking. Location was perfect and rooms were clean & discount at the bar was good. Big lockers too. I'd go back if I couldn't find somewhere much better

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel, great value for money considering its location. We were able to walk everywhere and see everything within three days. The rooms were spacious and the bed very comfy. Staff were very helpful when asked something and also very eccentric. Showers were good. Toilets cleaned regularly from what I could tell. Good discount at the bar below. Only downside was that you could smell cooking smells from the bar below in the toilets. Otherwise very nice and would definitely stay again!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(66 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback