X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The White Tulip Hostel Reviews

Warmoesstraat 87, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
1324 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Un ostello fantastico!! non ho niente da dire, sia come qualita prezzo che come posizione. Abbiamo trovato tutto molto soddisfacente, dal personale disponibile, alla pulizia, alla posizione centralissima..... lo raccomando!! ps. il pub che c'è sotto l'ostello e veramente super, i ragazzi che soggiornano nel white tulip hoste hanno diritto a uno sconto del 20 per cento sulle consumazioni... meraviglioso il tutto


83%

en los días en que he estado en este hostal (4 noches) han estado muy bien, la ubicación es inmejorable, los dos muchachos de recepción de la noche muy amables y ayudándonos en todo momento a la hora de indicarnos las cosas o dándonos consejos sobre a donde ir. la limpieza para habitaciones donde hay tanta gente no es muy buena por motivos de que están todo los zapatos por los suelos pero intentan limpiar almeno lo que pueden. la relación calidad/ precio esta bien por lo que lo recomiendo 100%

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

expensive at the weekend, not worth almost 30EURO per bad

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

A simple hostel on the edge of the Red Light district, 5 minute walk from the main plaza and the train station. Security is good. Pretty clean. Good hostel overall.


43%

Just don't do it! There is no luggage room and the staff really make you feel like you are inconveniencing them. Also, if you arrive earlier than check in or leaving late in the day after check out, you cannot be in the hostel. i.e you have to go and find somewhere else to be. No kitchen facilities at all and what they call the 'common area' is enough seating for 3 people in the hallway outside the bathrooms. Not a place for meeting people.


66%

They advertise as a budget hostel and you will get a budget experience. Nothing wrong with it though. Good value for money. Bit cramped, clean enough, staff is helpful.


54%

I stayed there for 1 night, Hostel is so narrow but cant blame since it is Amsterdam so it is like that mostly typical of the buiding size inside, it is good that internet is available to the room as mostly in Amsterdam is seldom to get free internet access in hotel, mostly are costly.Additional, I felt annoyed with one of the receptionist there because he tried to seduce me like touching hands or try to kiss my cheek.. it is so inappropriate and more like harassment since he asked intimacy Q


66%

Estive no Tulip por três noites. Não consegui dormir quase nada nas duas primeiras porque algumas pessoas fumavam maconha no quarto o tempo inteiro. Não havia qualquer intervenção dos funcionários. Na verdade, os únicos funcionários que vi foram os que se revezavam na recepção e um rapaz da limpeza, que fez uma meia-sola no banheiro apenas no dia que eu estava de partida. O hostel não oferece qualquer serviço, não tem cozinha, e a área de convivência é uma piada.


83%

Great location. Very noisy at night but that's expected when location is so central. Rooms were clean and the size was perfect. The toilets were clean in the morning but by the evening time they were filthy. Just a simple cleaning rota would make such a difference!

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst hostel we've ever stayed in. It takes 'filthy' to a whole new level. 2/3 of the staff are rude and unhelpful. No luggage room. They recommend the lockers at the station for €8 each. Almost the same price as what we paid for a bed. Hostel was on the same block as one of the red light district streets. Because of the location, there's a good chance you will have some creeps staying there. I woke up to find the man in the bunk next to mine touching my feet & wanking himself off. Disgusting!


71%

It's a good hostel considering the price. The first guy that attend me on the entrance looked like not so friendly, and I had to ask for all the information. He didn't give prompt to me. The location is perfect, near to the coffe shops, centraal station, red light... the room is OK, and also the locker. You have some disccount on the bar below the hostel, which is very good. I would recommended, specially if you are planning to stay few days in Amsterdam.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Would definitely stay again. Listen, if you are looking to go to Amsterdam with a few of your mates, this is the perfect place. (Had a 10man private room). You couldn't ask for a better location! The staff were really sound and helpful, the night staff were very security conscious and it made us feel safe. Smelt bad when we arrived but the cleaners were working in the toilets. Safe room, lacking in space however, perfect if you need rest your head. Small toilet but who cares you're in Amsterdam!

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The best host I've had I. 5 months of travelling, Johannes is funny


89%

LOVED IT. Right when we showed up the receptionist treated us like princesses. Simply the nicest people working the front desk at all times. They were able to hold our luggage for us and even when we were early before check-in time they were able to accommodate us very easily. We stayed in a 14-mixed room and we still had plenty of room for our stuff and didn't feel cramped at all. The location is AMAZING. Literally in the center of Red Light district. I would absolutely stay there again!!!

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Daytime staff member was very helpful in getting room changed after first night. Only stay in the 6 bed room or smaller unless you want to be with large groups of annoying, loud 21 yr old english goons. Bathrooms need help. No kitchen or common area. Social atmosphere non-existent. Food at bar next door only 'good' if you have just smoked 1,000 joints.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Other than location this hostel is dirty, not run well and a complete joke. They just let people do what they want. No respect for other people in the dorms at all at any times. Not for light sleepers.


54%

Crowded and with a mild odder. The showers were warm and the beds were clean. If that's all you're looking for than this place is fine.


66%

Ouaip... Y a pas de Cuisine, Pas de Salle commune (Ha si, y a 2 Canapés dans une Pièce qui sent le Prout et la Friture) Les Douches souvent occupées Bref, C'est vraiment le minimum vital

  • 15th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Horrible stench throughout the building. No available smoking area except out on the streets. Staff regularly barged into our locked room in the early hours of the morning without a courtesy knock. Toiliets and showers didn't get cleaned throughout our stay.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good location, 10 min walk from the train station. Dorm room was spatious but definitely needs better cleaning ( walls and windows were filthy ). There is a small common room and no kitchen. What was unacceptable was staff barging into the room in the middle of the night, turning lights on, speaking loudly showing the room to someone who then ended up going to another room.Then the staff started waking everyone up to find out their check out date. Overall OK for a few days


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(67 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback