X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Wild, Wild West Dallas Irving Backpackers' B&B Reviews

214 W. 6th. Str., Irving, TX, Dallas, Texas, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
485 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 66%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This is a cool little place in Dallas. It feels like a home away from home and is pretty close to the train station from the Airport and that connects to everywhere else. The owner is really friendly and cool and the place is really laid back and chilled. It's a great place to relax and enjoy what Dallas has to offer.


89%

This was an excellent hostel, with a very friendly, open atmosphere. Ivan the boss is very friendly and helpful :) The facilities were very good, including on-site laundry with powder included, computers, and even a massage chair! The only downside is the location - it takes about an hour to get to downtown Dallas, since Dallas has without a doubt the worst public transport of any city I've been to!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a great time. Good value, good facilities, good people. Plastic wrap on the mattresses was super noisy though.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Meh, I thought it was ok.

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

A great place to stay and while basic I was impressed by how clean it was. The location is a remote from things but it should be noted the manager Carlos is awesome and often will drive everybody to downtown at night to go for drinks or out to fun places in Dallas during the day.

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The Wild West was the best deal I could find in Dallas. So I booked it, and of course printed Ivan's & Carlos' directions before landing at DFW airport. I had no problems finding the place and when I did, I immediately felt at home. When I arrived, I realized that it wasn't about my wallet. Just pay your 25$ and that's it. Carlos opened the fridge and it was full - he said, "eat whatever you want." You can forget about your wallet at the Wild West - it's not about money. IT FEELS LIKE HOME.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Brilliant place to stay, very relaxed hostel. In between both Dallas and Fort Worth. Carlos is my hero!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a wonderful time here! Carlos makes you feel at home and keeps the atmosphere up! He took us to texas two step dance lessons which was great! I'd still love to see the pictures Carlos! This is the best place for solo travellers. Public transport is very good in this area and Dallas and Forth Worth are certainly worth the visit! Gaby

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

I felt that I was being singled out in a negative way and the price is the same as the local weekly hotels so I didn't save much.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Traveler, We can't help you feelings and these should not be a reason to leave a lowball feedback in all categories. Activities are open for everyone to join. You chose not to. If cheap hotels are your preference then maybe you should stick with them .. .. Ivan Ivanov Mgr

89%

Carols was wonderful. Genuine, friendly and professional.


89%

I had a great time at this hostel! Its not too big and has a really nice atmosphere. The rooms were clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful! Something fun and different to do every night which caters for both those who want to party, or experience a more relaxed stay. Would definitely recommend staying here for a few days on your travels!

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

No staff at this hostel either when I arrived or when I left. Had to call after my departure to pay for my bed. I slept in a blanket without any linen.

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are in business to provide affordable accommodation to Backpackers and have been doing it successfully for the past 9 years. Leaving a really low feedback in All categories is Not acceptable - you arrived at 12am, left before 7am, used our free internet facilities and had free coffee. Assistance was available.. We left special directions for you at front entrance which you didn't see/follow; linen and blankets are easily accessible in every room.Thanks anyway! Mgr Wild Wild West Backpackers

91%

Carlos was great


97%

Rare type of backpackers where u feel like your home as soon as u walk in the door, has everything u need; fridge and cooking facilties, oven an ice cube machine, tv-dvd, aircon, basketball hoop in back yard, bbq etc... The best thing is the fact that carlos will drive and pick u up from everything from minor and major league baseball games to line dancing (ladies night should not be missed on every thursday ;) as opposed to throwing u a map and saying its over there somewhere! The guys


100%

The staff was so kind!!!! They answer everything what I want. and they told me about many events. I don't have any idea about going place but they told me many things. they also pick me up when I got trouble. they told me about Irving and Dallas stories. This area is so safe that u can go out at midnight by yourself. I just stayed 2days. but I really love them and they are so kind and repectful. If u consider about hostel, Go to this hostel! I swear u will be a good time:) Have a good day!

  • 21st Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This place was great, the staff was extremely helpful. Cowboys red river was a total trip. I had a great time, my only complaint would have to be the location is a little ways out and the train doesn't run on Sundays. Other than that aweaome

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Train doesn't run sunday but buses do, and we have Carlos, who is your perfect private tour guide for a very inexpensive fee.

80%

Says dallas but its a 30 minutes bus ride to town. But it is in a very quiet safe neighbourhood. Staff are only there first thing in the morning so if there's any trouble it could be difficult to sort. Otherwise fine and great value


94%

I recommend the Wild, Wild West Dallas Hostel. The staff is very kind and the hostel looks like a home.


94%

Had a pleasant stay at Dallas - Irving Hostel. It's small and has a real homely feel about it. Location is good for visiting Dallas and Fort Worth by day as it's between both, but don't expect to be in party town at nighttime. The staff, Betty-Jane and Bill, were helpful!


100%

My stay at wild Wild West hostel was an enlightening experience Ivan and his staff were helpful on my journey. One thing though, the TRE,which runs between Dallas and Fort Worth, does not run on Sunday so unless you want to chill out Sundays do not include Sundays to sightsee these areas.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just to clarify about the public transport - downtown Dallas - with the JFK museum, uptown, the West End and Deep Ellum are still accessible via public transport (bus) on Sundays. And the DFW airport is accessible daily. Appreciate it! Ivan Ivanov Mgr, Wild Wild West

(393 results)


View all Dallas Hostels

Please give us your feedback