Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Winchester Tourist Home Reviews

137 Winchester St., Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

No Rating
10 Total Reviews
  • 0%Value For Money
  • 0%Security
  • 0%Location
  • 0%Staff
  • 0%Atmosphere
  • 0%Cleanliness
  • 0%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Nice property and good value. Easily commutable to downtown area. Unfortunately no staff present at any time during stay. Had to chase up proprietor via email just to pay! No bed made or towel change over our three day stay.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ....Thank you for your review to let others know your experience. The WInchester Tourist home is not a hostel or hotel. Its a self catering property which many people enjoy the minimal interaction . Once they arrive at the home there is a phone available to contact me, the live in manager or my guest services manager. If at anytime you needed something you could have asked. We are enviro friendly and daily use of towels is wasteful. Our prices are very fair for location and accommodati


Fantastic place and fantastic location, loved it and reccomend it to everyone!!!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The people at the accommodation didn't speak English and we couldn't ask about parking and therefore got a parking ticket. It's not too much to ask for English speaking personnel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katja, the live in staff are really cleaners to tend to the daily tasks, Your communication has been through us in emails etc. We were available at anytime to talk on the phone or by email to discuss parking etc. Please note as a driver in any country you are to read signs that are posted regarding parking etc. The street signs , if read, inform you that a permit is required after midnight. We would have gladly assisted you if you let us know that you had a car. Joseph


My boyfriend and I spent the last weekend in Toronto: one night in The Winshester Tourist Home and we had to move the second night to Banton House because of a double booking issue. The staff in both hostels was very kind and friendly, they helped us planning our stay in Toronto and suggested us the best places to go. Because of the issue with the reservation The Winshester Tourist home offered us the two nights for free which we appreciated a lot.

  • 2nd Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The Winchester Tourist Home is a beautiful house in the lovely neighbourhood of Cabbagetown. It's a 5 min walk to a street car that takes you to College subway, or a 20 minute walk to the subway. Clean room, with good facilities. Having cups and a hair dryer would make the room even more complete. The small fridge for wine was a nice touch. Definitely a good place to stay in Toronto!


My boyfriend and I stayed here on a 3 night visit to Toronto. Neither of us were expecting such a beautiful and well maintained building. The city centre is well withing walking distance, but an easily accessible tram line is available for those who don't fancy the walk. The building is situated in a leafy residential area, which felt very safe to both of us. Our room was clean, tidy and roomy with everything we needed. We would definitely stay again if we returned to Toronto.

View all Toronto Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback