X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
580 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good for 1 night stays but wouldn't stay for more then 1 night beds where super comfy though

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Install an addition sink (fx in the bathroom) so one doesn't have to wait for the shower room to be unoccupied in order for one to brush teeth/wash hands after using the bathroom.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
yes we will. Thank you.

77%

The room, bathroom and toilets were wery clean and comfortable. Give it 15 minutes to walk to the nearest Tube station (Acton Town) and after that, at least 40minutes to reach the city center. If you have heavy bags, it can be quite exhausting. But the real drawback was the lack of proper curtains and the nonexistent soundproofing. The light and noise make it really hard to sleep at night. Maybe we weren't lucky with this particular room, we would have recommended the hostel otherwise.


51%

The room was dirty. The bathroom and shower were clean. The staff was helpful but grumpy. The area was noisy, one of us had to sleep with earplugs on. Also the room had no curtains. The pillows were sub-par and the sheets had stains. The bus to the Underground station ran regularily and the bus stop was close to the hostel.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Easily the worst place I have ever stayed in. The staff were unhelpful and didn't care about any of the issues we raised. They just wanted our money. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

the hostel was very clean with a very comfortable bed which honestly is the best basis for a good stay ,the breakfast was basic and adequate the coffee was very good .the breakfast is served in the bar, the bar was nice and very clean staff were friendly,

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a nice stay here, rooms were very basic but you get what you pay for. The staff was extremely helpful and nice!!!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It's great value for money and in a brilliant location to get to Twickenham and Wembley, both of which we had to travel to within 24 hours! Would stay there again.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place. Super friendly and helpful staff. Thanks.


83%

Windmill is very clean. All staff is effort to keep clean. Location is good easy to find but little.bit far from metro about 15m walk. Nice bar!


83%

The staff should be more friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you felt this way. We like to make all our guest feel welcomed. .

83%

Best price for a hostel room you can find. The place was clean, breakfast was ok and wi-fi worked, staff was friendly and the pub downstairs wasn't a problem. The only problems were that in the second floor the toilet and shower were separated and you couldn't wash your hands after toilet if someone went to shower at the same time, and you had to climb the stairs up with your heavy lugage. But all in all, it was great place and I would stay there again.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I really liked staying here. It was a good value for money and the rooms were very nice. It was close to many bus stops and one Overground station was five minutes walk from the Windmill.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I like Acton town and The windmill very much. Nice people and the rooms were ok :) Absolutly worth the cost. It's a very low price you pay. No problems taking the bus or underground to central London and Heathrow.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I'm more than pleased with my stay at The Windmill. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy. There was only one toilet and one shower on the whole floor (which luckily wasn't much of a problem because those rooms were always free when I wanted to use them). I was really glad to see that those rooms have been renovated so they looked pretty modern (and they were clean, too!). Unfortunately it takes quite some time to get from Acton to the city centre.


31%

extremely dirty. there were spiders on the curtains, dirt on the floors, chewed gum on one of the beds, sheets were yellow with hair, never any toilet paper or wifi. it was evident the place was not cleaned before we arrived. staff is hardly anywhere to be found but when they are, they were nice. takes about 45 minutes to get into central london by tube.


74%

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and everything was fine. Of course it is nothing special but it was the cheapest hotel I found in London and even so it was better than expected. It is located above a pub but it was not a problem during the night. The noise actually came from the street, which seemed to be the busiest street in London and quite noisy. The bathroom is shared but clean and working correctly, also the hot water. A very simple breakfast is included. The main problem is that i

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff are not around when needed like for checking out or for the breakfast refill. The have no clear outfit telling us they are staff or customers (did not look obvious to me!). And a smile, would be much appreciated (in general it is desapointed and poor, except for the manager who was lively and really helpful). The common areas and atmosphere could be improved, poor lighning and ambiance. Facilities generally satisfying and good value for money.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

For the price we paid it was perfect. Only disadvantage was there was a bit of noise on the one night from the pub, but it was to be expected.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The room was large which was great. Also, surprisingly, being above a pub and next to a dance club was not a problem. It was quiet enough to sleep at night, even on a Friday and Saturday night and even with single glass windows! The worst part by the far was the bathroom situation. There is one very small toilet (you have to stand over the toilet to close the door) and one shower room for 8 rooms or so. There was a lack of hand soap and paper in the shared toilet and no towels in the room.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback