X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
624 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very good hostel in a reasonable location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

83%

It was pretty good, there was a gentleman behind the bar from New Zealand who persuaded my partner and I to purchase a pair of plastic cricket bats. After closer inspection we found these to be fakes. Very disappointing indeed, apart from that unfortunate occurrence everything was amazing.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

29%

there was holes in the bedroom roof, i asked the lady could i change rooms she said there was no other rooms, i asked for receipt for payment i didn't get it.One bathroom for everyone is very bad, no heating in bedroom, curtains didn't fit the windows they went so far,the light was shining in all night.door to bdrm wouldn't open or lock,I never received towels for my room, and i was outraged to read on the back of door, that when finished with room i had to strip bed and bring down to the bar

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Only complaint was people smoking in the toilet and people using the toilet to wash clothes when there were sinks in the bathroom Good location and clean

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

71%

The staff was very pleasant, but they can prepair more food for brekfast. On the other hand we did not pay much money for this room. And the second thing is that at night was there very cold.


46%

paint and decorate the place and new clean beds,,i slept on top of the bed all 3 nights as they were -Hairs-on the sheets when i pulled the covers back,,

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rubbish. All our beds are clean.

60%

The staff were really nice and the cleaner got everything done as quick as she could because we arrived early. However, the floor in our bedroom had some weird yellow stains, the carpet was horrid, the mattresses and pillows were covered with brown stains and looked awful. There was no kettle in our room for hot drinks, and the stairs leading up to the rooms (there's lots!) were narrow, pitch black at night and in need of repair. Other than that, fine for a weekend break. Thanks to the staff.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

it is worth the money we payed, and actually in compare to other hostels in London is very worthy!!! The room of 4 beds was very nice, and we apprechiated the TV. Toilets and showers were clean, which is rather rare for London cheep hostels. I would sure recommend it!!


37%

It is upstairs a pub, no indication anywhere. No kitchen, no common area, just rooms. This is not a hostel, it is just a place to sleep.Dull place. However bathroom and toilet very clean. Far away from the center, you have to take a bus + metro. Cold staff.


89%

For the money you cant beat it, if you want 5* then pay there prices, dont book a room her then slag it off, the evening meal was top quality, and the accomodation was fine, very good value for money, staff were also very friendly.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


37%

STRICTLY NOT RECOMMENDED!!! 1) No window, no ventilation in the room 2) Only 1 toilet and 1 shower for 3 floors 3) No lights in the corridors (I was almost fall down from the stairs of third floor) 4) Towels provided on payment but the one I got was almost yellowish (rather than white) Above all, whenever you talk to a staff member they are like "Really!!!, Oh I am sorry"; and to the owner "This is what I have and you have to live with it". This was the worst residence I have ever stayed


74%

Excellent value for London.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good value for money. The rooms and bathrooms were fairly clean and there is a tube station nearby. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Good value for money but very basic. Reception is in the bar but some of the staff seemed unaware that there were guests upstairs, directions to bathroom & dining room were poor, the lighting on the stairs could be improved & there is a lack of bathroom facilities considering the number of rooms.In all fairness they are currently refurbishing so these problems could well be resolved soon. All in all we enjoyed our stay & would possibly stay there again if we were in the area.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Incredible value for money! You won't find anything better!


80%

The hostel was fine when taking the price into account. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and having a pub in the front room doesn't hurt.


49%

Only two toilets for the whole pub and hostel, definitely not enough. Staffs are not really helpful. We won't recommend this hostel to anyone!


83%

Good for 1 night stays but wouldn't stay for more then 1 night beds where super comfy though

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Install an addition sink (fx in the bathroom) so one doesn't have to wait for the shower room to be unoccupied in order for one to brush teeth/wash hands after using the bathroom.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
yes we will. Thank you.

77%

The room, bathroom and toilets were wery clean and comfortable. Give it 15 minutes to walk to the nearest Tube station (Acton Town) and after that, at least 40minutes to reach the city center. If you have heavy bags, it can be quite exhausting. But the real drawback was the lack of proper curtains and the nonexistent soundproofing. The light and noise make it really hard to sleep at night. Maybe we weren't lucky with this particular room, we would have recommended the hostel otherwise.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback