X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
656 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

EXCELLENT choise for families with low budget! Nice pub with hotel rooms. Location is good: NOT city center, but 30 min. by bus (also good solution for budget tourists) to: South Kensington, Shepherd's Bush, Queensway, Kensington gardens, Marble Arch. Close to Acton Central (London Underground). Pub is very nice (many sorts of beer). All building is safe, absolutely close after 1am till 6...7 am. Basic breakfast. Strong Wi-Fi (close to bar desk only).

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. FOR GIVING US 100 %. LET US KNOW WHEN YOU COME AGAIN.

60%

They only accept cash as payment, so bring enough to pay for your stay. The breakfast (included) was deficient. The room was clean and the furniture was nice. Our room had a window that wouldn't lock. Considering the London prices, it is relatively cheap.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite good accommodation for really good money. ;d Easy access by subway and buses

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a nice hostels. Worth the money. Nice location. Nice staff.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

That was our third time at the windmill and we always had a wonderful time! The combination with the Pub is great cause you can enjoy a great meal after a tiring day in the City or even watch a Champions league game . The room is simple but good. One more toilet would be great cause you are always in need to share this one bathroom with everyone else in the hostel and sometimes they leave it dirty or stinky so this is not always nice. But ok...So we will come back for sure.GREAT PRICE! Thumbs up

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is basically several upstairs rooms rented out by the Windmill pub. There is no regular hostel sign, entrance or reception. Payments are collected by the pub staff in cash. We had one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. When we needed to talk with the staff, they were nice and helpful. Good value for this price range. The biggest problem is there is only one toilet and one shower room shared by all the rooms.


83%

No juIce at breakfast for those of us that do not drink coffee and tea.. otherwise a lovely trip and a lovely room

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
JUICE NOT A PROBLEM, JUST ASK . . .

91%

Clean toilets and bathrooms, very nice personel, everything is ok for that price

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Was goed verzorgd,eventueel handiger handdoeken inclusief, en ontbijt extra betalen zodat t wat uitgebreider kan! Verder goede verbinding met Metro!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

NothGood quality for this price.


86%

this hostel is clean good value


54%

The hostel was basic but price wise, it was good. The room was a good size. However, in was very cold as there was no central heating in the room and our last night on New Year's Eve, the main guest entrance was locked and the door to the bar was locked for a private party so we had a fair amount of difficulty in getting back into the building. This only happened the one night of our stay but left a very bad impression and the owner did not know us . The beds only had one mattress cover.


89%

Very good hostel in a reasonable location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

89%

The room was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for years. Excellent value for money. :)

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback