X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
592 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Excellent value for London.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good value for money. The rooms and bathrooms were fairly clean and there is a tube station nearby. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Good value for money but very basic. Reception is in the bar but some of the staff seemed unaware that there were guests upstairs, directions to bathroom & dining room were poor, the lighting on the stairs could be improved & there is a lack of bathroom facilities considering the number of rooms.In all fairness they are currently refurbishing so these problems could well be resolved soon. All in all we enjoyed our stay & would possibly stay there again if we were in the area.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Incredible value for money! You won't find anything better!


80%

The hostel was fine when taking the price into account. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and having a pub in the front room doesn't hurt.


49%

Only two toilets for the whole pub and hostel, definitely not enough. Staffs are not really helpful. We won't recommend this hostel to anyone!


83%

Good for 1 night stays but wouldn't stay for more then 1 night beds where super comfy though

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Install an addition sink (fx in the bathroom) so one doesn't have to wait for the shower room to be unoccupied in order for one to brush teeth/wash hands after using the bathroom.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
yes we will. Thank you.

77%

The room, bathroom and toilets were wery clean and comfortable. Give it 15 minutes to walk to the nearest Tube station (Acton Town) and after that, at least 40minutes to reach the city center. If you have heavy bags, it can be quite exhausting. But the real drawback was the lack of proper curtains and the nonexistent soundproofing. The light and noise make it really hard to sleep at night. Maybe we weren't lucky with this particular room, we would have recommended the hostel otherwise.


51%

The room was dirty. The bathroom and shower were clean. The staff was helpful but grumpy. The area was noisy, one of us had to sleep with earplugs on. Also the room had no curtains. The pillows were sub-par and the sheets had stains. The bus to the Underground station ran regularily and the bus stop was close to the hostel.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Easily the worst place I have ever stayed in. The staff were unhelpful and didn't care about any of the issues we raised. They just wanted our money. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here.

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

the hostel was very clean with a very comfortable bed which honestly is the best basis for a good stay ,the breakfast was basic and adequate the coffee was very good .the breakfast is served in the bar, the bar was nice and very clean staff were friendly,

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a nice stay here, rooms were very basic but you get what you pay for. The staff was extremely helpful and nice!!!

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It's great value for money and in a brilliant location to get to Twickenham and Wembley, both of which we had to travel to within 24 hours! Would stay there again.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place. Super friendly and helpful staff. Thanks.


83%

Windmill is very clean. All staff is effort to keep clean. Location is good easy to find but little.bit far from metro about 15m walk. Nice bar!


83%

The staff should be more friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you felt this way. We like to make all our guest feel welcomed. .

83%

Best price for a hostel room you can find. The place was clean, breakfast was ok and wi-fi worked, staff was friendly and the pub downstairs wasn't a problem. The only problems were that in the second floor the toilet and shower were separated and you couldn't wash your hands after toilet if someone went to shower at the same time, and you had to climb the stairs up with your heavy lugage. But all in all, it was great place and I would stay there again.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I really liked staying here. It was a good value for money and the rooms were very nice. It was close to many bus stops and one Overground station was five minutes walk from the Windmill.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I like Acton town and The windmill very much. Nice people and the rooms were ok :) Absolutly worth the cost. It's a very low price you pay. No problems taking the bus or underground to central London and Heathrow.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback