X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
580 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice place with a tipical pub downstairs. Really helpful staff. Highly recommend to whoever is looking for a nice place for not a whole lot of money.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is nice. The cleaness is average. The hostel is near to a bar, what is very good for those who like to drink.


80%

Very good value for money, with huge, clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The best of this hostel is the price (the breakfast is good and it's include) . It give you all you need if you only want stay to pass the night and sleep. The worst thing is if you feel cold you must pay a heater and the bed have hair, very unpleasant. It's too far to go walking to the center, you must pay an oyster card and you spend 35 minutes to the centre because of the subway and the walk.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very pleased, staff very helpful and friendly. Good value. Would stay again...

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Good double bed room for this money - spatious and clean. A bit chilly, because rooms do not have heaters and windows could be better, but there is possibility to borrow a heater. Breakfast was ok, hot water always available and nice pub downstairs.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Best value for money you can get for a double room. Staff a bit rude. Breakfast ok, location good to reach from city centre, rooms are clean and spacious. If you're only there to sleep, this is probably the best place you can find in London. Nice pub downstairs.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

cold in room,add oil heater but it not make much better,nice kind staff,poor cleaning,just empty bins

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

We would like to recommend this hostel. Staff was very helpful with our later arrival. Good breakfast was included and every morning prepared in time.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No heating in rooms and TV supplied but no reception.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The room was big and clean. It worth for the money.


94%

The staff were very friendly and our room was very clean, we would love to come back again!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

the hostel is really pretty; dorms and bathroom are clean , and the staff is really Kind. It is a good hostel to stay for some days. Maybe Acton is a bit far from Oxford circus- the central zone - but with London buses ( or metro, if you prefer) you don't have any problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

97%

The Windmill hostel is very nice! The staff are helpful and very polite. I'm realy happy that I chose this hostel :)

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

63%

Nice place but when lost in the city no one could tell us how to find it's location. We ended up having to take a bus when there was a above ground train just a few strips away witch would have been easier then the bus. The staff was nice and the room was clean but the bathroom was a bit dirty. The section of town is also a little scary. For the price I would say it was good though.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

77%

Cute small hostel, only stayed one night in a double bed room. Clean place and lovely staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

71%

It's very very cold on the room and there is not heater.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

100%

We loved it , the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the room was perfect for what we wanted and the food was good .

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, hope to see you again. . . . .

89%

After reading other reviews I felt a bit apprehensive about staying here but then I arrived and quickly realised everyone else was talking rubbish, yes the carpet is a bit threadbare and it initially looks a bit dingy and foreboding. However our room was lovely and clean and comfortable, the shower room was obviously newly tiled and very nice and the staff were so lovely, especially the man who I assumed was the owner/manager, couldn't have been more helpful when reccomendibg places to go!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, hope to see you again. .

57%

Only one shower/toilet for two floors. Someone decides to take a long shower and you may miss out. No-one around to return key depopsit in Morning. Breakfast was late opening. Male cleaner walked into rooms well prior to check-out time requesting sheets.


(370 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback