X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
590 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I'm more than pleased with my stay at The Windmill. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfy. There was only one toilet and one shower on the whole floor (which luckily wasn't much of a problem because those rooms were always free when I wanted to use them). I was really glad to see that those rooms have been renovated so they looked pretty modern (and they were clean, too!). Unfortunately it takes quite some time to get from Acton to the city centre.


31%

extremely dirty. there were spiders on the curtains, dirt on the floors, chewed gum on one of the beds, sheets were yellow with hair, never any toilet paper or wifi. it was evident the place was not cleaned before we arrived. staff is hardly anywhere to be found but when they are, they were nice. takes about 45 minutes to get into central london by tube.


74%

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and everything was fine. Of course it is nothing special but it was the cheapest hotel I found in London and even so it was better than expected. It is located above a pub but it was not a problem during the night. The noise actually came from the street, which seemed to be the busiest street in London and quite noisy. The bathroom is shared but clean and working correctly, also the hot water. A very simple breakfast is included. The main problem is that i

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff are not around when needed like for checking out or for the breakfast refill. The have no clear outfit telling us they are staff or customers (did not look obvious to me!). And a smile, would be much appreciated (in general it is desapointed and poor, except for the manager who was lively and really helpful). The common areas and atmosphere could be improved, poor lighning and ambiance. Facilities generally satisfying and good value for money.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

For the price we paid it was perfect. Only disadvantage was there was a bit of noise on the one night from the pub, but it was to be expected.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The room was large which was great. Also, surprisingly, being above a pub and next to a dance club was not a problem. It was quiet enough to sleep at night, even on a Friday and Saturday night and even with single glass windows! The worst part by the far was the bathroom situation. There is one very small toilet (you have to stand over the toilet to close the door) and one shower room for 8 rooms or so. There was a lack of hand soap and paper in the shared toilet and no towels in the room.


86%

Nice place with a tipical pub downstairs. Really helpful staff. Highly recommend to whoever is looking for a nice place for not a whole lot of money.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is nice. The cleaness is average. The hostel is near to a bar, what is very good for those who like to drink.


80%

Very good value for money, with huge, clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The best of this hostel is the price (the breakfast is good and it's include) . It give you all you need if you only want stay to pass the night and sleep. The worst thing is if you feel cold you must pay a heater and the bed have hair, very unpleasant. It's too far to go walking to the center, you must pay an oyster card and you spend 35 minutes to the centre because of the subway and the walk.

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very pleased, staff very helpful and friendly. Good value. Would stay again...

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

Good double bed room for this money - spatious and clean. A bit chilly, because rooms do not have heaters and windows could be better, but there is possibility to borrow a heater. Breakfast was ok, hot water always available and nice pub downstairs.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Best value for money you can get for a double room. Staff a bit rude. Breakfast ok, location good to reach from city centre, rooms are clean and spacious. If you're only there to sleep, this is probably the best place you can find in London. Nice pub downstairs.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

cold in room,add oil heater but it not make much better,nice kind staff,poor cleaning,just empty bins

  • 6th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We would like to recommend this hostel. Staff was very helpful with our later arrival. Good breakfast was included and every morning prepared in time.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

No heating in rooms and TV supplied but no reception.

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The room was big and clean. It worth for the money.


94%

The staff were very friendly and our room was very clean, we would love to come back again!

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

the hostel is really pretty; dorms and bathroom are clean , and the staff is really Kind. It is a good hostel to stay for some days. Maybe Acton is a bit far from Oxford circus- the central zone - but with London buses ( or metro, if you prefer) you don't have any problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

97%

The Windmill hostel is very nice! The staff are helpful and very polite. I'm realy happy that I chose this hostel :)

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN.

(376 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback