X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
544 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Only one shower/toilet for two floors. Someone decides to take a long shower and you may miss out. No-one around to return key depopsit in Morning. Breakfast was late opening. Male cleaner walked into rooms well prior to check-out time requesting sheets.


80%

Our time at the hostel was really good and we would stay there again and again.

  • 24th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU , HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN. .

60%

Pretty much what I expected for the money (after all, it really was not much for a double room in London). Any breakfast, even just a toast/tea/cereal, is nice for the price! Fairly easy access from the center, e.g. 20min tube from Victoria and then 15min walk. A kettle in the room (for a cup of coffee/tea inside the privacy of the room) and a bit more friendliness from the staff would improve the experience a lot. Having a TV in the room was nice.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU , HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN. .

83%

Needs TLC. But affordable, very good staff, good facilities and nice location.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU , HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN. .

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Please let customers know that their rooms will be cleaned if they are staying more than one night, as it might upset some customers, it was nice to have this service, but it would have been nice to know. Also can breakfast time be a bit earlier as some people may want to travel early to get to places and Acton is a good 20mins from central London. But it was a lovely stay.

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good value for the money. Friendly hosts, rooms clean, comfortable beds, breakfest ok. Extra points for pub food lunch special, sheperds pie was made with love and in top 10 sheperds pie's i ever have had for just under 5 £. I really dont find anything bad to say about this place, would recommend.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU , HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN. .

83%

I stayed at the 4-bed female dorm and it was by far the best I have seen in a hostel. It was a very large room with 4 single beds in it. Each bed had its own nightstand. The bad was made and the bedding new. There was also a wardrobe, a TV, and an armchair in the room. Showers and tilet renovated and clean. Very quiet. Nice outside area. No lockers and security not as tight as downtown (didn't ven ask for an ID). Iwould recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, see you again . . .

83%

Excellent value for money! Yes, hostel is little bit far from the centre, but we were aware of that before booking, so there is nothing to complain about. The bus stop and overground are relatively close. I was also little bit afraid, that our room could be cold (as mentioned in older reviews), but everything was fine, heater was there and was working. Breakfest is included in the price - great!. And the bar is very nice (with an atmosphere).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, see you again . . .

80%

It was clean and nearby london city ca. 15 min. With underground. We booked 3 nights delux room with 2 seperate beds. Bathroom was clean. English breakfast 4.99 £.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, see you again. . .

91%

This was our 2nd time staying there and other than being a little way from central London found it to be clean, comfortable , with friendly staff.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you, see you again . . .

69%

Good location, friendly staff, nice bar

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

if you want somewhere peaceful, close to central london with wonderfully friendly people in the area then this is the place to stay ! the staff were amazing with us, went out of there way to help us with directions, made us feel welcome; we didn't want to leave ! stay here if u head to London, we will be back :-) thank you

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

This was the second time we stayed. Good value for money, rooms and toilets/washrooms were clean. All basic needs catered for, for a very affordable price. A downside is the bad location far form city centre, but a 15-20 minute walk to Acton town subway is reasonable.


97%

Good value for money, rooms and toilets/washrooms were clean. All basic needs catered for, for a very affordable price. Staff were really helpful. The downside is that there is only one shower and bathroom that had to be shared by all the guest and no WIFI..


91%

The windmill is value for Money and then some. Very friendly staff. And the food was very good. I ordered a steak rare, and it actually came rare. Dun dun durrrrrrrrr.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Really pleased with everything! Pleasantly of freedom, and not too far away from central London! Breakfast included too, incredible value for money! Only bad point was there was no access to sockets for charging phones

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Bit far from london but still good easy walk to underground and nice rooms


37%

The location is bad. A 15 min walk is required to get to the closest tube station, Acton Town, which is in zone 3. It is very inconvenient carrying all the luggage if you are coming from the airport. The hotel is a back operation of a bar/restaurant which lacks a proper reception. The manager is snappish and not very helpful. There is no clean linen for the room and I could feel dust on my bed. Wifi is non-existent. Bathroom cleanliness and facilities could be improved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. SEE YOU AGAIN

94%

very friendly and convenient, lovely stay

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. SEE YOU AGAIN

74%

Our stay at the windmill was quite pleasant and overall we were pleased with the room. The shower room is very clean and remained clean throughout our visit. The room was also clean and the beds were comfortable. The only complaint that we do have would be the noise from outside and from other residents but after full, busy days in London it wasn't difficult to block out this noise.

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. SEE YOU AGAIN

(351 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback