X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
683 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The Windmill is not exactly close to city center, but the general feel and facilities, + the friendly staff, more than make up for it.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

There is not enough room to voice my complaints about this horrendous hotel, all i can say is that the rooms were filthy, the staff were rude and the manager was a patronising, ignorant man who has no respect for his customers or staff. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Cheap and easy accomodation.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying , see you again .

77%

The ceiling was broken and i was afraid it will fall...but in the rest everything was fine, we dident had towels either :(

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have towels, just ask. Thank you for staying , see you again .

86%

The thred bare stair carpet needs replacing sooner or later.. So why not replace it now and put your prices up by £1 to off set the cost. Also a Handel on the outside of the loo door would help. Others than that all good. I would definetly stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying , see you again .

46%

Kettle in room but no cups. No TV. 1 toilet between 10 rooms. Threadbare carpet not changed in decades.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying , see you again .

29%

It wasn't a pleasant experience. The property owner wasn't friendly at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, could you tell us what happen ?

100%

The staff were so friendly and helpful! The room was huge and spotless! We felt like we could have stayed in that room for weeks and have plenty of room to do so.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The Windmill is a nice place to stay but a little far out from town. About 5-6 stops from Victoria station and about a 10 minute walk to the Acton Town station to get there. Once we got to the windmill we were greeted by Michael and Joan I believe and they were very friendly and welcoming. The area is a little sketchy but not that bad for a bigger city area. It's over a pub so the first night was kareoke which was Hilarious. Overall good not the hilton but nothing bad either


29%

1. Failure to issue the vat receipt for the payment made (This is an offence under the UK law) 2. Failure to provide the basic facilities such as drinking water and toilet papers 3. Extreme rudeness of the two ladies 4. Not allowing to heat up the food 5. Room full off smoke and provided with used bed linen.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear, you had a bad experience. A bit of a mis-understanding. . I think you need to be honest in what you are writing about on the internet/ comment page. . 1. we are vat reg for the last 30 yrs. 2. You could not open if you did not have running water. 3. Mis-understanding. 4. The kitchen is not included in the hostel, but it is not a problem. If you needed your food heated. When you bought it from outside.. you should of came to main bar, and seen the bar staff. not the chefs.

100%

We accidentally booked the wrong night and turned up early, the staff were still really accommodating and let us bring our stay forward with no extra charge. The room was tidy and a good size, the shower was really decent as well with good pressure.


100%

Absolutely fabulous! We had a fantastic room on the top floor with a window on the ceiling! The room was clean and neat. The staff were so lovely and helpful, we felt like part of the family. We also had a delicious classic English Sunday Roast in the pub downstairs. The bathroom was clean. The place is walking distance to the bus stop and the train station and only 20 minutes ride to the center. Highly recommend The Windmill, excellent value for money and would come back to stay!

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Our flight was canceled and we were late for about 20 hours. Staff were really understanding and helpful! Only thing I would have wanted was a roof window curtain. However hostel was all right.


60%

It wasn't anything special. The staff were alright and the room was relatively clean. The area around the hostel, specifically the street that it was on had a bit of a weird atmosphere but the street up from it, near the train station seemed to have a pretty good vibe. Also, the gym across the road had some really nice facilities so that was actually quite nice to have so close.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Cheap and quiet hostel in nice area. Pub downstairs is a nice plus, eventhough we didn't use it. Serves sports and cheap guinness. Sometimes free food. Room: big, clean, quit and comfortable. Breakfast: basic. Location: pretty far from the center, 1 hour by bus, also accessible by train. Quiet and nice neighbourhood. Staff: friendly and helpful, but hard to find.


100%

EXCELLENT choise for families with low budget! Nice pub with hotel rooms. Location is good: NOT city center, but 30 min. by bus (also good solution for budget tourists) to: South Kensington, Shepherd's Bush, Queensway, Kensington gardens, Marble Arch. Close to Acton Central (London Underground). Pub is very nice (many sorts of beer). All building is safe, absolutely close after 1am till 6...7 am. Basic breakfast. Strong Wi-Fi (close to bar desk only).

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. FOR GIVING US 100 %. LET US KNOW WHEN YOU COME AGAIN.

60%

They only accept cash as payment, so bring enough to pay for your stay. The breakfast (included) was deficient. The room was clean and the furniture was nice. Our room had a window that wouldn't lock. Considering the London prices, it is relatively cheap.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite good accommodation for really good money. ;d Easy access by subway and buses

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a nice hostels. Worth the money. Nice location. Nice staff.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

That was our third time at the windmill and we always had a wonderful time! The combination with the Pub is great cause you can enjoy a great meal after a tiring day in the City or even watch a Champions league game . The room is simple but good. One more toilet would be great cause you are always in need to share this one bathroom with everyone else in the hostel and sometimes they leave it dirty or stinky so this is not always nice. But ok...So we will come back for sure.GREAT PRICE! Thumbs up

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(415 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback