X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
647 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Quite good accommodation for really good money. ;d Easy access by subway and buses

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a nice hostels. Worth the money. Nice location. Nice staff.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

That was our third time at the windmill and we always had a wonderful time! The combination with the Pub is great cause you can enjoy a great meal after a tiring day in the City or even watch a Champions league game . The room is simple but good. One more toilet would be great cause you are always in need to share this one bathroom with everyone else in the hostel and sometimes they leave it dirty or stinky so this is not always nice. But ok...So we will come back for sure.GREAT PRICE! Thumbs up

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is basically several upstairs rooms rented out by the Windmill pub. There is no regular hostel sign, entrance or reception. Payments are collected by the pub staff in cash. We had one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. When we needed to talk with the staff, they were nice and helpful. Good value for this price range. The biggest problem is there is only one toilet and one shower room shared by all the rooms.


83%

No juIce at breakfast for those of us that do not drink coffee and tea.. otherwise a lovely trip and a lovely room

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
JUICE NOT A PROBLEM, JUST ASK . . .

91%

Clean toilets and bathrooms, very nice personel, everything is ok for that price

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Was goed verzorgd,eventueel handiger handdoeken inclusief, en ontbijt extra betalen zodat t wat uitgebreider kan! Verder goede verbinding met Metro!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

NothGood quality for this price.


86%

this hostel is clean good value


54%

The hostel was basic but price wise, it was good. The room was a good size. However, in was very cold as there was no central heating in the room and our last night on New Year's Eve, the main guest entrance was locked and the door to the bar was locked for a private party so we had a fair amount of difficulty in getting back into the building. This only happened the one night of our stay but left a very bad impression and the owner did not know us . The beds only had one mattress cover.


89%

Very good hostel in a reasonable location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

89%

The room was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in for years. Excellent value for money. :)

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It was pretty good, there was a gentleman behind the bar from New Zealand who persuaded my partner and I to purchase a pair of plastic cricket bats. After closer inspection we found these to be fakes. Very disappointing indeed, apart from that unfortunate occurrence everything was amazing.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

29%

there was holes in the bedroom roof, i asked the lady could i change rooms she said there was no other rooms, i asked for receipt for payment i didn't get it.One bathroom for everyone is very bad, no heating in bedroom, curtains didn't fit the windows they went so far,the light was shining in all night.door to bdrm wouldn't open or lock,I never received towels for my room, and i was outraged to read on the back of door, that when finished with room i had to strip bed and bring down to the bar

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Only complaint was people smoking in the toilet and people using the toilet to wash clothes when there were sinks in the bathroom Good location and clean

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

71%

The staff was very pleasant, but they can prepair more food for brekfast. On the other hand we did not pay much money for this room. And the second thing is that at night was there very cold.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
46%

paint and decorate the place and new clean beds,,i slept on top of the bed all 3 nights as they were -Hairs-on the sheets when i pulled the covers back,,

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rubbish. All our beds are clean.

60%

The staff were really nice and the cleaner got everything done as quick as she could because we arrived early. However, the floor in our bedroom had some weird yellow stains, the carpet was horrid, the mattresses and pillows were covered with brown stains and looked awful. There was no kettle in our room for hot drinks, and the stairs leading up to the rooms (there's lots!) were narrow, pitch black at night and in need of repair. Other than that, fine for a weekend break. Thanks to the staff.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

it is worth the money we payed, and actually in compare to other hostels in London is very worthy!!! The room of 4 beds was very nice, and we apprechiated the TV. Toilets and showers were clean, which is rather rare for London cheep hostels. I would sure recommend it!!


37%

It is upstairs a pub, no indication anywhere. No kitchen, no common area, just rooms. This is not a hostel, it is just a place to sleep.Dull place. However bathroom and toilet very clean. Far away from the center, you have to take a bus + metro. Cold staff.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(398 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback