X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Windmill Reviews

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
667 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff were so friendly and helpful! The room was huge and spotless! We felt like we could have stayed in that room for weeks and have plenty of room to do so.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The Windmill is a nice place to stay but a little far out from town. About 5-6 stops from Victoria station and about a 10 minute walk to the Acton Town station to get there. Once we got to the windmill we were greeted by Michael and Joan I believe and they were very friendly and welcoming. The area is a little sketchy but not that bad for a bigger city area. It's over a pub so the first night was kareoke which was Hilarious. Overall good not the hilton but nothing bad either


29%

1. Failure to issue the vat receipt for the payment made (This is an offence under the UK law) 2. Failure to provide the basic facilities such as drinking water and toilet papers 3. Extreme rudeness of the two ladies 4. Not allowing to heat up the food 5. Room full off smoke and provided with used bed linen.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We accidentally booked the wrong night and turned up early, the staff were still really accommodating and let us bring our stay forward with no extra charge. The room was tidy and a good size, the shower was really decent as well with good pressure.


89%

Our flight was canceled and we were late for about 20 hours. Staff were really understanding and helpful! Only thing I would have wanted was a roof window curtain. However hostel was all right.


60%

It wasn't anything special. The staff were alright and the room was relatively clean. The area around the hostel, specifically the street that it was on had a bit of a weird atmosphere but the street up from it, near the train station seemed to have a pretty good vibe. Also, the gym across the road had some really nice facilities so that was actually quite nice to have so close.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Cheap and quiet hostel in nice area. Pub downstairs is a nice plus, eventhough we didn't use it. Serves sports and cheap guinness. Sometimes free food. Room: big, clean, quit and comfortable. Breakfast: basic. Location: pretty far from the center, 1 hour by bus, also accessible by train. Quiet and nice neighbourhood. Staff: friendly and helpful, but hard to find.


100%

EXCELLENT choise for families with low budget! Nice pub with hotel rooms. Location is good: NOT city center, but 30 min. by bus (also good solution for budget tourists) to: South Kensington, Shepherd's Bush, Queensway, Kensington gardens, Marble Arch. Close to Acton Central (London Underground). Pub is very nice (many sorts of beer). All building is safe, absolutely close after 1am till 6...7 am. Basic breakfast. Strong Wi-Fi (close to bar desk only).

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU. FOR GIVING US 100 %. LET US KNOW WHEN YOU COME AGAIN.

60%

They only accept cash as payment, so bring enough to pay for your stay. The breakfast (included) was deficient. The room was clean and the furniture was nice. Our room had a window that wouldn't lock. Considering the London prices, it is relatively cheap.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite good accommodation for really good money. ;d Easy access by subway and buses

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a nice hostels. Worth the money. Nice location. Nice staff.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

That was our third time at the windmill and we always had a wonderful time! The combination with the Pub is great cause you can enjoy a great meal after a tiring day in the City or even watch a Champions league game . The room is simple but good. One more toilet would be great cause you are always in need to share this one bathroom with everyone else in the hostel and sometimes they leave it dirty or stinky so this is not always nice. But ok...So we will come back for sure.GREAT PRICE! Thumbs up

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This place is basically several upstairs rooms rented out by the Windmill pub. There is no regular hostel sign, entrance or reception. Payments are collected by the pub staff in cash. We had one of the rooms on the top floor. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. When we needed to talk with the staff, they were nice and helpful. Good value for this price range. The biggest problem is there is only one toilet and one shower room shared by all the rooms.


83%

No juIce at breakfast for those of us that do not drink coffee and tea.. otherwise a lovely trip and a lovely room

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
JUICE NOT A PROBLEM, JUST ASK . . .

91%

Clean toilets and bathrooms, very nice personel, everything is ok for that price

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Was goed verzorgd,eventueel handiger handdoeken inclusief, en ontbijt extra betalen zodat t wat uitgebreider kan! Verder goede verbinding met Metro!

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

NothGood quality for this price.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

this hostel is clean good value


54%

The hostel was basic but price wise, it was good. The room was a good size. However, in was very cold as there was no central heating in the room and our last night on New Year's Eve, the main guest entrance was locked and the door to the bar was locked for a private party so we had a fair amount of difficulty in getting back into the building. This only happened the one night of our stay but left a very bad impression and the owner did not know us . The beds only had one mattress cover.


89%

Very good hostel in a reasonable location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU, SEE YOU AGAIN. .

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(407 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback