Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • matanzvili4435
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2017
10.0

Good vibe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
11th Sep 2017
10.0

Awesome hostel. Have activities every day so you can get out and see the sights. Air con on from 8pm till 11am which is a bit more reasonabke than other places that turn off at 7am or 8am. Good bar open until 2am and the free breakfast has more variety than most. Fruit, yogurt, warm bread, jams and cereals. BOOM.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • clarawan965446
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2017
8.3

Great hostel but extremely noisy. Group of people used all the fridge space and constantly making stuff in kitchen so could never cook myself. Amazing band plays every Sunday who I loved!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mcampbell14253707
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2017
9.1

What a truly lovely gem. I was really tempted to switch out and spend my time in an all inclusive; after visiting the a Yak I'm really glad I didn't. If you're looking for something authentic and connected with a really relaxed but inviting atmosphere then this is the place to be. It's busy so there are plenty of people to meet, but it's well designed and operated. Lots of activities, cheap bar, beautiful courtyard and close to the action of 5th (few minutes walk). Will return :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Sep 2017
10.0

Best hostel!! Great atmosphere, always people around. There are plenty of activities, a great kitchen and the staff is super helpful. Also PERFECT LOCATION, near everything! GO TO THE YAK. I have no complaints

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2017
9.1

Outdoor lounge area was great and made it easy to meet people. Daily events were good, I recommend going to akumal and doing moijito night! Rooms and beds were clean and breakfast was mediocre but free is free. Had a great stay and would go back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2017
8.9

All you need... Go here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kyliejayde
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Sep 2017
9.1

Cons: no swimming pool Pros: affordable laid back vibe, has a bar and close to the beach and clubs. Go diving! It's even better than Cancun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2017
9.7

Stayed at the Yak for three nights and really loved it. The hostel plans daily activities that you and sign up for as well as other things to do at night. Great location staff, and atmosphere, there are always people hanging outside in the reception area so it's great great for solo travellers to meet people :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2017
10.0

Awesome place to stay, would highly recommend. Close to everything. Staff are fun and helpful. Atmosphere is great, always trips to do during the day and party things to do at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×