Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.7
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
91% 974
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Nov 2016
8.3

Party hostal like most in Playa and Cancun. Bar downstairs pushes drinking, not even supposed to bring in outside liquor Noisy a few night till 1 am. Bring your earplugs Good value for Playa but have stayed in lots better in Mex

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Nov 2016
9.4

Really brilliant!! No complaints at all

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.6

In general The Yak was ok. Simple breakfast, nice bar, activities. We stayed in the privates, it was in a different building next door. The privates are too expensive for what they are. It was very noisy due to the construction next door and there people coming and leaving the building the entire time being very hard to sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Nov 2016
10.0

I don't normally do reviews but this is an exceptional hostel! I've been traveling the world the past 6months and this is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed! Cleanest hostel I have ever visited. Super comfy beds, awesome social areas with hammocks and the mojito lesson is not to be missed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel, amazing location, walking distance from everywhere. Amazing and sweet staff, great vibe in the place. One of the best hostels I've been to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

One of my top 5 hostels so far! Great atmosphere! Love it! ❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.4

A great hostel! Excellent beds and dorm rooms with lovely hot showers. Social area is big and it's easy to meet people in the bar of an evening if you're travelling alone. Really good free breakfast with rolls, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee and juice. Bunk beds are pretty tall up so request a low bunk when booking if you're not a fan of being high up! Hostel also organises various cheap excursions so overall a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
10.0

The vibes are really good - you'll always be able to make friends and have fun, wether you want to chill out or go out. I think its cause the common spaces are really nice, you'll actually want to spend time there chatting to people. The bar in the yak in probably the best, most social one in town. Also has big, clean kitchens, bathrooms and beds. Probably the best hotel I've stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Nov 2016
9.1

We enjoyed our stay in the yak hostel very much. It has a good vibe and is ideal for those who like to socialize and meet new people in the common areas. They have a bar right there and the bartenders are very nice. You even get a free welcome drink! Breakfast was good, buns with jam, fruits and cereals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.7

Great place with awesome staff. Free drink on arrival and there's a whole assortment of tours and activities that they run or can organise. Only downfall is you cant bring in any outside alcohol.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.