X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Yak Reviews

Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
329 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, we'll run, staff are good, great location right near the beach, can also bring your own alcohol in, Walmart around the corner.


100%

the hostel is in a perfect location,1 block from CocoBongo and 3 from Wallmart. The staff is amazing! There is a nice common garden with hammocks and the bar. I stayed in 12bed dorm, the room was big enough with huge lockers for backpack!! They have not 1, but 2 kitchens (!!!)..but they weren't happy enough that they have made a roof terrace with bbq!!!:) every day something happen, easy to know people.good breakfast (included, which is always a big plus). Clean hostel.


94%

I've been traveling for a year and this is one of the best hostels for atmosphere!


100%

Hade a great time staying at the Yak! Super clean, good location and really friendly staff. One of the cleanest hostels I’ve every stayed at. The courtyard and the bar made it easy to meet people. I would definitely stay here again!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

For me, Hostels are all about the people you meet, but the hostel needs to provide the facilities to enable a relaxing and social atmosphere. The setting for the Yak, and its staff, is perfect for this. The shared courtyard is a great place to relax and chat, listening to music while enjoying some drinks from the bar. The rooftop seating provides a quieter, cooler area for chilling. The rooms are cleaned regularly, and the showers are warm (if low pressure). Organised events add to the fun.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I was starting there for 4 days and got a real good welcome. I like the atmospher and think its great that they have a bar with good prices. Gets it easier to meet people when they gather around the bar. Never been at a hostel that at a hostel thats cleaner, true story! I would really recommend this place, how can u hecitate?!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an excellent time at this hostel for a couple of days in november 2014. There is a lot of activities that you can take part in and the staff is great. The wifi is super and this is by far the cleanest hostel I have been to! Would definitely go her again!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff, nice and clean & a great atmosphere.


100%

I didn't stay for long, but it seems like the right mixture going on. Wish i had more time to spend there :)

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Perfect location, very clean and nice place. Garden was very nice and they organize different activities.


86%

The atmosphere is great and all the staff is the best you can have. I was a little bit surprised when i knew that another person (one guy i met in the hostel and become my friend during my stay) have requested my apartment key while i was out to stay there with a girl and the receptionist gave the key to him. I have booked an apartment because i didnt want to worry with my belongings i.e: passport, notebook, money etc. It was a huge disappointment to me.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The best hostel in Playa del Carmen for sure. Perfect blend of atmosphere without being too crazy. Great chill out area in the middle with fun events at night. The staff are all really good fun and friendly. The place has a great vibe and if you like tequila you will do very well here. Emir, Rachel were great, so were all the other staff. All the best Omar


91%

Love love loved The Yak! Such awesome people, great staff. Definitely recommend this place to everyone - the only downside is leaving :(


100%

Excelent place!! Highly recommended!!! Best location in Playa!! The staff was really friendly and helpfull!!!


100%

Fantastic friendly staff with some help from additional volunteers made this an exceptional travel experience. Cheap tours organised using local transport, basic but adequate breakfast, dorms were a bit airles until fan and air con were put on but to be fair that's expected. Was so good I came back and spent 4 more days here and had a great time. Definite recommend for meeting other travellers, value for money, chilled stay, and getting advice on local stuff to do.


100%

I couldn't have been happier with The Yak. Great location, just a few blocks from the main street and the beach. The staff were amazing - so helpful and so much fun! I would recommend this to anyone.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

awesome place! awesome staff! highly recommended :)


54%

They should have female dorms. People party until late am and being in a 4 persons mix bedroom with drunk guys coming back at 5am and snooring is impossible to sleep. Don't stay here unless your goal is to party. Staff won't let me use computer for emergency i find it very unprofessional. Entrance is not locked. Breakfast was very cheap: bread, jam, fruits are not fresh and instant coffee. For the price they charge which is higher than other hostels in the neighberhood definetely not worth it.


91%

Really clean, fun hostel. Activities are great. Lots of kitchens and bathrooms. Good common area. Great location


100%

Too much fun, great location and facility, easy to feel at home. Would absolute return. .


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Playa del Carmen Hostels

Please give us your feedback