Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
91% 1033
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • wiseangel444962
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Jan 2017
8.0

When did hostels stop being a place you can actually sleep? This party hostel is amongst the worst with the bar playing loud music until 2am making it impossible. The AC was also way too cold. I also didn't like that there aren't female dorms, hence I also had to listen to the loud male snoring all night. Partygoers arriving at all hours also make sleep difficult. Otherwise it's a pretty good place. And if you want to party, it's great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Andrewjohnpollock1170
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

The best shower I had in Central America. Also it's a pretty cool place overall. It's a big hostel, so that affects the vibe, but staff and guests are friendly and welcoming. Seriously the best shower though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
7.7

This is the second time I've stayed at the Yak Hostel. I really enjoyed my stay the first time around however this time was not the same experience. I stayed over the New Year Period so the prices was put right up. In addition, the staff this time around were rude. They seemed disinterested in helping me out and when I would ask for a drink it seemed like a real hassle for them to make it for me. After my most recent experience I will not be back again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
6.6

The private room is insanely overpriced, making it more expensive than some 3-star hotels in the area. The room clearly smelled like mold, the toilet flooded the bathroom and you could hear everything that happened outside/in the adjacent rooms. To top it off, the internet only worked by the front door. On the bright side, the main hostel area has a cheap bar, hammocks for lounging and a super inclusive feeling so it's easy to make friends.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
8.9

The Hostel was brilliantly located and had a great atmosphere, I was there over New Years for four days so peoples experience of the atmosphere may be different. Location was perfect and VFM was very good. Facilities have everything you need without being outstanding and the bar prices are fair.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

Perfect. Staff were awesome, atmosphere was incredible, bar was great (and decently priced) and the facilities and rooms were fantastic. Loved it, and will be back here next time I come to playa

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2016
10.0

Proper hostel, nothing to complain. Only thing is that it was bit pricy but it understandable since you take into consideration fact that I was there during Christmass time... Otherwise really good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.9

I can see why this hostel consistently gets high ratings. I stayed here twice on my trip. Decent organised activities. Very easy to meet people. I had a fun each time. Beds and bathrooms were ok. Playa DC is expensive, so is this hostel in comparison to other places in Mexico. Too be fair, I don't think there is much to do in playa other than party (o course there is, but you go elsewhere for real culture) and this is a good place to do that from.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Had one of my most amazing experiences here. All the people I met here are SO NICE! All the events the hostel had: mojito night, beach day, pasta night etc. have pretty fair price and really good. It is really easy to get to know people. Although most staff do not really know English, l still had an unforgettable time here. At least they are willing to talk to people and they are super friendly :) I was planning to stay here for four nights and ended up staying here for the whole week THANK YOU

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
8.3

The staff was very friendly, but not extremely helpful. The room was a bit tight, but ok. However, the room smelling like wet stank, I think from the attached bathroom. The common area is nice to hang out, but because the seating is not comfortable and it's not well-lit, it's difficult to hang around for a long time. Plus it's not positioned in a conducive way to chat with people. Location is excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.