Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • canavati7
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best I have ever been on!! Very good staff, clean hostel, nice and amazing atmosphere. The location was amazing! Just 2 blocks away from all the night clubs and 3 from the beach! Perfect, just perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
10.0

Amazing place to chill and make new friends. Suoer clean. Air conditioned rooms. Cool chillout area. Daily activities. Would stay here again. Nothing nagative to note.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel was good but to be honest the atmosphere and staff were not that's great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.4

Great hostel for a solo traveller - very social, and the daily organised activities are a great way to meet people. Staff are friendly and helpful, hostel is very clean and has a nice common area with a bar. Would definitely recommend!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
6.9

Travelling through Central America with the gf, got to leave an honest review so people can make an informed decision. The room smelled and the toilet freshener was overpowering. The AC made some serious noises and didn't really work after a couple of minutes. The mixed dorms may be different, we were in the private rooms next door. Staff were friendly and helpful enough. Locations great and breakfast was available early for those going on trips.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.3

We stayed in a private suite which was nice, however, we had to leave the premises and walk two building away from the complex into a less than welcoming building. This was a little isolating as it was away from the atmosphere of the hostel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful when we ventured to the common areas. Seems like a good choice if you are after a dorm room on the main premises.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
10.0

It's really close to the main party points of Playa and the ADO station, so I considered it a plus in order to enjoy better the day and night attractions. Staff are helpful and the bar friendly warms people. I would be there longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel just steps away from PDC's Quinta Avenida. Social vibe (great for solo travelers looking to meet people) due to thoughtful, open layout of courtyard with daily guided activities like mojito night and day trip to Akumal Beach. Beds were clean + a/c runs at night. Very safe: personal lockers, front gate, gate on dorm rooms. Mixed friendliness in staff: some were helpful while others seemed like they couldn't be bothered. Minus: they take a 100 peso deposit at check-in, very unusual.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jul 2017
9.4

Very good hostel with basic breakfast, nice bar where they mix tasty drinks, games and all. The facilities in the main complex look really good. Ours was next door and a bit older.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Great place to stay and to meet friendly and fun people. Rooms were cleaned up to 2 to 3 times a day. The yard is a great place to chill when not in the mood to go outside. The staff was always helpful; they have activities everyday and will take you to places for a fraction of what a tour company will charge. I would definitely go back to the Yak in Playa del Carmen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.