Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • karlamcmahon
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th May 2017
8.9

Only stayed one night but a really nice hostel. Comfortable dorm with a/c at night. 10mins walk from ADO bus station. Right beside pedestrian area and 5mins from beach. They offer trips to beach, cenotes etc but I wasn't there long enough to take advantage. Would def stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
20th May 2017
10.0

Well kitted out hostel with two kitchens, a bar, hammocks, events and tours. Good sized lockers with powerpoints located inside as a nice touch. The only qualm is the ground floor 6 bed dorm is right next to the party area so can be quite loud if you're having an early night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2017
9.1

Lovely reception staff and really great atmosphere. Breakfast was simple but really nice. Also private rooms are in a separate building just next door which was great for us because the room was really quiet but still had access to the main bar/courtyard area. Down a quiet street but in the middle of the town so really close to beach, restaurants and bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th May 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed The Yak. Great outdoor social area under a big tree, also a nice roof top space. There's good activities organise through the reception. Rooms have what you expect in a hostel. I'd recommend to friends and stay again if I was in Playa.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th May 2017
9.1

LOVE The Yak! Very secure, great location in the heart of Playa. Reception/bar staff is friendly, though clique-y at times. The cleaning staff is wonderful, they work incredibly hard to keep the dorms looking spotless. A/C in rooms and outlets inside the lockers, a huge plus. Only downside is that the atmosphere in the common space is hit or miss, totally depends on the guests. Other reviews claim its a party hostel but I experienced a chill vibe the three days I was there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Fsormany
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th May 2017
9.7

The Yak is an awesome hostel! They have a chill hangout spot in the entrance, with hammocks and stuff. Lots of people to socialize with and lots of activities too! They take you to the beach(we saw turtles and reefs), to cenotes and even have cool activities at nights! Rooms have big lockers in them with outlets in them. 2 mins from the beach, good restaurants and shops. But if you want a quiet stay this might not be the spot for you, lots of people means lots of noise at night! The yak is cool!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
10.0

Playa del Carmen's beauty is only accentuated by the existence of this hostel located close to the beach. This hostel has some of the friendliest staff and most enjoyable activities I've been witness to. In addition, the hostel is built so that it's easy to interact with the other guests in an environment filled with hammocks and soothing music. I recommend this hostel 100% as it will do nothing but increase the value of an already amazing time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th May 2017
9.1

Our best night in Playa del Carmen was spent at the bar/courtyard of the Yak. Better than any of the clubs, the drinks are cheap, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is awesome. Plenty of spaces to hang including the courtyard, hammocks, common rooms, and rooftop. The actual rooms are great - one private bathroom per dorm, clean, air conditioned, and had big locked space 10/10 would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st May 2017
8.6

Good social hostel, always had something going on so its great to meet other fellow travellers, good mix of local and foreign. Location is good close to the bars and the beach. Breakfast is standard but does the trick. Would recommend to stay here for a few nights whilst checking out the cenotes and beaches.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel with wonderful people close to the beach and ADO station. Only complaint is that one of our beds was directly under a fan but we later figured out a way to turn it off.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.