Hostelworld.com

The Yak

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 844 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
90% 844
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
10.0

We paid for a private room and it was perfect considering it's a hostel. The bed was comfortable and also the room was quit which is a super plus. The location is the best. We could walk to go to the most important places. By the way they gave us a free welcome cocktail, that's really nice :) Don't even doub staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Close to everything, banks, food, bars and clubs. Staff were super friendly with guests regularly filling in behind the bar. The hostels bar is the perfect place for pre-drinks with a activities to get the night started. If you want to sleep early, the room I was in was extremely quiet so you shouldn't be interrupted by the shenanigans going on downstairs. This place is a must if your staying in Playa del Carmen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at!! such a good atmosphere and really close to the beach and 5 AV ! Would definitely stay again if I was back in playa deal Carmen !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Daniellong922923
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2016
9.1

Pros: Awesome hostel, spacious rooms, comfy beds, good pillows, great location close to the beach and main strip, cool patio with really cheap bar and good cocktails. Con: wifi is terrible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.1

Location is great, hostel has a nice atmosphere. Only downside was nobody came in our room all week to empty any rubbish or anything. No soap in the bathroom which is kind of disgusting. Air con and wifi were good though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd May 2016
8.9

Location was 10/10. 2 blocks from the beach & main nightlife area. A few kitchens but no toaster / frying pan with handle the one we used. Atmosphere was pretty good, there's a organized activity most days. Not a huge party hostel during the week but still a friendly vibe with a big communal/ bar area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

Nice place, great location in Playa del Carmen. Nice and chilled atmosphere and pretty courtyard. We were in a private room which is in the building next door so felt quite removed from the actual hostel itself but the room was clean and cool, which was all we wanted!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
10.0

Brilliant. Has everything you want and need when staying in a hostel. Would help if the staff showed you around a bit on arrival so you know where the kitchen is etc. But otherwise couldn't fault it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

Really great place! Always activities to do with other travellers, really gives you opportunities to meet people. Excellent location near 5th avenue and short walk to the beach. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice 4-bed ensuite dorm - enough space, good shower. A pillow was pretty bad. Also, they do not provide towel for free - you have to pay 10 pesos for rent...No drinking water in the kitchen. Also you can bring there any alcohol from outside - they want you to buy it in their bar. Staff was pretty cold with me. Good location, price is ok for this town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.