Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 914 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
92% 914
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
9.4

The best place- atmosphere, crew, crazy location and clean !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
9.4

Great place to meet people! I went there knowing no one... After Wednesday mojito night I met lots! And the staff organize a club outing every night. Common area is as good as it gets, staff are all young ex-backpackers and are very friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
9.7

To avoid loud song/music don't stay in the 6 dorm or 4 dorm. They are right next to the lobby area. But it was still an awesome stay, just loud at times ! It was clean, great staff and travelers alike. Fun events each and every night , or day trips ! I would definitely recommend staying here. Also perfect location !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kristyrae
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
31st Aug 2016
8.6

A really fun and sociable hotel. We stayed in a mixed dorm which was clean and spacious the only downside was that it was right by the outdoor area and bar so was a little noisy and the bar didn't close until around 1.30am. We were super tired everyday so the noise didn't effect us too much. The bar staff do have a bar meeting at 6pm on a Friday night which I think is a bad time considering the cenote tour is that day. Maybe make your bar meeting earlier in the day. Just a suggestion.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Aug 2016
6.6

The yak has a great reputation however poor management made it a kind of frustrating stay. The activities were awesome and Sandy was a great host but the sign-up/pay process was rubbish and got staff stressed out. Also check in was an issue for us as staff were changing shift. And honestly. Who closes the bar at 6pm on a Friday for staff meetings. They could see people waiting for a drink. Private room was very dark and damp. Triple rooms apparently really nice tho.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel! Very recommended by any means

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
7.1

We were staying in the double bed room. The private rooms locate in a building next to the hostel. When we arrived the room it smells like cigarettes and was kind of old and not that clean. The staff is nice and the location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Aug 2016
7.7

Very good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Great stay at the Yak, would highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Loved every minute of it! Stayed for three nights, very well kept place and helpful staff, everyone is very friendly. Really great vibes. There's air conditioning in the rooms they're nice sized and clean, cold filtered water available 24/7, the kitchen though isn't air conditioned so it gets pretty hot when/if cooking. Very close to walmart which is good if you're grocery shopping for your meals! Overall very highly recommended!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.