Hostelworld.com

The Yak

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 809 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 809 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
90% 809
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
10.0

Really great place! Always activities to do with other travellers, really gives you opportunities to meet people. Excellent location near 5th avenue and short walk to the beach. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice 4-bed ensuite dorm - enough space, good shower. A pillow was pretty bad. Also, they do not provide towel for free - you have to pay 10 pesos for rent...No drinking water in the kitchen. Also you can bring there any alcohol from outside - they want you to buy it in their bar. Staff was pretty cold with me. Good location, price is ok for this town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Apr 2016
10.0

WiFi was spotty, but use able. The atmosphere was great and the dorms where really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Great location. Great Atmosophere. $2 coronas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st Apr 2016
10.0

Location, location, location - the Yak must have one of THE best locations in Playa!! Really nice and friendly staff who have patiently accommodated my requests for blankets at night. It can get cold at night - but however you want the room at night is up to the people in the room, and the staff is really accommodating! Great atmosphere, and very nice travellers, have met people who have returned to the Yak many many times :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2016
10.0

I stayed three nights at the YAK and the only thing I regret is, that i couldnt stay longer. It was absolutely fantastic! The people i met were very friendly, the room was appropriate and the 5th avenue is just around the corner! I highly recommend this accomodiation to travelers who are looking for some good company!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.9

Overall nice place to stay, good for meeting fellow travelers, full bar. I liked that they had activities happening every night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Mar 2016
7.7

It is a nice hostel with good atmosphere and people. Breakfast is comparatively great! Stuff was very rude though. They did not want to turn off the AC even though the room was freezing cold. Our beds there right next to the AC so we woke up with a cold. Also it is a little overpriced.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
8.3

The Yak is very well located, a few blocks from the beach and from the main bars and pubs. The atmosphere is great. The place is in general clean, however in the room we stayed nobody went to clean it for 3 days until I went to ask directly to the staff. The guys at the bar are friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2016
7.1

Nice place,good people in general,could be a lot cleaner .Staff is ok some are really nice some are not... if you are looking for a nice party vibe kind of hostel it's a good choice if not stay away due to hard noise, on a personal note the music selection is just horrible...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.