Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Yak

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Mar 2017
10.0

I was in a private room. The room has a small kitchen well equipped and a small living room. It is more like an studio. Everybody was very nice and the prices at the bar weren't expensive. You cannot drink alcohol from outside in the common area, but if you got a private room, just turn on your music and enjoy your private party.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CalTraveler
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
9.4

The way an Mexican vacation should be. I stayed in Cancun at somewhere much more expensive but nowhere as nice. The rooms felt like real rooms and not plastered shacks. The breakfast was actually good here and they even have a nice rooftop gathering spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
8.0

Really fun place! It had a great courtyard bar where everyone could hang out on hammocks and get a drink. They also organized daily activites like trips to the beach or mojito lessons. Very cool, and a great way to meet people. Although make sure to lock up all your stuff in a locker -- a friend of mine had her bag and her cell stolen from our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2017
10.0

Best hostel. The breakfast system could be designed more efficient. Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
6.9

Stayed at the Yak 2 weeks ago with 3 other friends and felt as though the reviews read and description of the hostel itself was a bit false. We had just came from Cancun for Springbreak and had booked at the Yak because of it's supposed party-like atmosphere. We were mistaken almost instantaneously to find out it was more of a chilled out hostel, far from what we had anticipated. Overall, I have definitely stayed at worse hostels in my life but there is so much room for improvement at the Yak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
7.7

The Yak was fine but nothing exceptional. They have some minor events but they seem forced and very few people participate. The bar and lounge area is beautiful and great but completely underutilized. The hostel needs to hire more outgoing and sociable staff as it seemed like they were more interested in talking to eachother than guests and needs to put effort into creating a more friendly atmosphere, things like daily dinners, pub crawls, drinking games, etc. It was fun but nothing amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • pperryy
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

I had an awesome time at the Yak. I came on the mojito night which was great. A good way to meet everyone too. It's so close to the main strip and there are activities everyday to meet people and see the sights. Cons: the sheets felt like they hadn't been washed when I got them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Friendly staff, lots of activities organised for guests

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Mar 2017
10.0

The hostel matches its description perfectly, very well organised staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Mar 2017
8.3

Perfectly thought out hostel. When a hostel does things right you can tell. Great place to explore the area from as they run trips to a bunch of outside beaches. If you're thinking about staying more than 1 night book all nights at the same time otherwise you will have to move rooms or change hostels as they book up fast. Only thing lacking was drinking water in the 2 kitchens (they said they weren't allowed to offer water for free or cheap bottle refills since they sold bottles at the bar)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.