Hostelworld.com

The Yak

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 853 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.5
The Yak Located at Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15, , Playa del Carmen.
The Yak
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Quintana Roo 77710 Calle 10 Norte Bis, entre Av. 10 y Av. 15
90% 853
20.6279646 -87.0733022
The Yak
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Jun 2016
9.1

Fab hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.9

Good facilities to meet other fellow travelers, and location is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Amazing hostel! Staff are helpful and friendly. Atmosphere is great. The room is clean and big and the AC is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

The Yak is awesome! Staff are so welcoming, activities are good and it's so close to all the action. Air Con from 9pm - 11am is awesome and the room is cleaned like 3 times a day it seems. Will be back if we come to Playa again :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
10.0

We paid for a private room and it was perfect considering it's a hostel. The bed was comfortable and also the room was quit which is a super plus. The location is the best. We could walk to go to the most important places. By the way they gave us a free welcome cocktail, that's really nice :) Don't even doub staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
10.0

Perfect place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Close to everything, banks, food, bars and clubs. Staff were super friendly with guests regularly filling in behind the bar. The hostels bar is the perfect place for pre-drinks with a activities to get the night started. If you want to sleep early, the room I was in was extremely quiet so you shouldn't be interrupted by the shenanigans going on downstairs. This place is a must if your staying in Playa del Carmen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
9.1

Great people here, excellent for solo travelers. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm and an 11 bed dorm. The 11 bed dorm only has 1 ensuite bathroom which gets annoying, but I try to stay gone form the hostel most of the day so i don't notice it much. Fun events nightly, day trips you can purchase each day and attend with other people from the hostel, great location, and the bar has good deals. Top 3 hostels in Playa for sure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at!! such a good atmosphere and really close to the beach and 5 AV ! Would definitely stay again if I was back in playa deal Carmen !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Daniellong922923
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2016
9.1

Pros: Awesome hostel, spacious rooms, comfy beds, good pillows, great location close to the beach and main strip, cool patio with really cheap bar and good cocktails. Con: wifi is terrible

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd May 2016
7.1

Location is great, hostel has a nice atmosphere. Only downside was nobody came in our room all week to empty any rubbish or anything. No soap in the bathroom which is kind of disgusting. Air con and wifi were good though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.