Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Yellow

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 12,168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 12,168 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
The Yellow Located at Via Palestro 49, , Rome.
The Yellow
Italy
Rome 00185 Via Palestro 49
84% 12168
41.9050320 12.5041030
The Yellow
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Party hostel, it's not cheap though. You are paying huge money for the party side, the bed I had was a paper thin mattress on wire. Terrible but once again. Your paying for the pub across the road.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.9

Had a great stay, bar staff were friendly. It's close to termini train station and you can use the metro to get to the tourist attractions or it is a 30-40 minute walk to places like Trevi fountain and collosseum. The yellow bar has a great atmosphere. There is an amazing gelato place opposite the yellow bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
8.6

It was a super fun hostel, but I only felt the way I met people was to go to the bar. It was overall super fun and I had a good time. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone that doesn't like drinking and going out. This is more of a party hostel and good for solo travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Jmeadows
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Really nice clean hostel, with safes and lockers as well as free towels and hairdryers! Wouldn't say it's a party hostel as the rooms, bar and reception (with kitchen and common areas) are all "separate so if you want to go out you can, and if you want to stay quiet in your room you can! The yellow bar did really good food and not too expensive. The night life was good but not the best club/bar. Loved Rome and the yellow!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.1

Stayed here a few years ago and it has only gotten better. Very social hostel, has a great bar open until 4 am so very easy to meet people. My only qualm is that they made me and quite a few other people switch rooms mid reservation to accommodate large groups and tried to pretend this is normal hostel policy. It is not!!! It is so wrong to screw over solo travelers like that so if it happens, demand free vouchers for breakfast for every day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
4.3

This hostel was not what we expected, based on the high rating. It was very dirty and the location was not actually what we were hoping for (within walking distance). The rooms and beds were dirty, the sheets looked like they were not washed with some questionable stains. The bathrooms were very dirty and grotty. We will not be coming back. Hopefully our experience is not the same for others. There were alot of people partying and having fun. This hostel did not suit us.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.3

Solid hostel, probably overrated for the price however. People definitely party, but I didn't think the crowd was the funnest. May have just been the nights I stayed there. Don't eat the breakfast, venture out into Rome for a more authentic Italian breakfast for the same price. Good access to termini station to get around the city, worth buying the metro pass.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.1

I really loved staying at The Yellow while in Rome. It's right next to the main train/bus station, so it's easy to get anywhere in the city from there. They also seem to own the whole street--including a bar/restaurant (get breakfast and the iced coffee)! I stayed in an all girls dorm: clean and plenty of space, including a whole vanity of mirrors for us to get ready in which I thought was brilliant. They also have plenty of activities planned that guests can participate in! Loved this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Catherine! How are you? Thank you for your awesome review! It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your stay here! We hope to see you again in the near future! Best regards, Sarah

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2016
9.1

We had a really great experience with the yellow! We had a really clean and organised dorm and the whole set up was great! It's pretty central to things with just a short walk to everything The nightlife was really fun too! All in all a really great experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • coolbub
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jul 2016
6.9

Definitely a party hostel, but doesn't really live up to its reputation. The facilities are pretty average and the place lacks any real vibe that you get in a well setup hostel. Socialising revolves around the bar which sells slightly overpriced drinks. The bar itself is not really geared towards meeting other travels, catering better to the tour groups "having a sick time in Europe" that stay for one night then move to the next major city.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.