Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Yellow Reviews

Via Palestro 49, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained


10825 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Great first two nights meeting people at the hostel bar and only good experiences with the staff. Place is fairly modern in a good location, and the wifi works great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see reviews like this! Happy you liked our hostel and glad to hear you were able to meet other people in the hostel. Good to know you found us helpful and that you liked the location (one of the best aspects of the hostel). Hopefully seeing you soon again here! Regards, Amparo


The Yellow was one of the best hostels I've been. The atmosphere is amazing, the price is fair and the location as well. The stuff is very prestarive and kind. A special thanks for Filip who helped me a lot with some luggage problems that I had with an Italian air company:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey , Thank you so much for this beautiful review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Yellow, and about the luggage it was a pleasure helping you and I hope you found it! We all hope to having you here again! Cheers, Filip


I loved the hostel. It definitely adds up to the reputation. The vibe was good, the staff were cool and the rooms were nice and clean. I would definitely recommend The Yellow to anyone traveling to Rome.


Great location, nice staff, great atmosphere... Best hostel I have ever stayed!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Muito obrigada :) Glad to hear you liked everything! Feel welcome to come back whenever you want! Regards, Amparo


Just Awesome. No worries lots of partying. You wont feel lost ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! You're awesome :) Thanks so much for your review! Come back anytime soon and party with us again! Regards, Amparo


Overated hostel. I was in a six bed room and there was only 2 plugs. Bathroom was nice and clean, but only 2 for a hole floor. There is a nice bar, but the beer is really expensive and there's no discount for who's hosted there!! Is close to Termini but far from the touristic points. There's no common area besides the bar, difficult to socialize. The staff never helped me or tried to socialize the hosts. I wouldn't recomend. I would tell you to stay in another place and go to the bar some night.




Yellow is the must place to stay. Excellent atmosphere and facilities. Next to Roma termini station so you can easily get around. Very helpful stuff and the hostel itself provides with a lot of activities during your stay. Totally recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your review! We always try to create a good atmosphere with certain events and activities and it's great to hear you enjoyed them! Glad you liked the staff :) come back soon and party with us again! Regards, Amparo


Awesome locaiton, staff was nice. awesome bar down stairs. straight party vibe. lovely city! Dorm set up was awesome too.


Helpful staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms. Bar's a bit pricey but not too much so for Italy. Everybody gets a locker drawer under the bed (bring a padlock) and a cool safe for your valuables. I walked to all the major sights that I wanted to see. Definitely worth the money.


Very commercial hostel but nice nonetheless. Good bar underneath and clean rooms with good showers/bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review. Very glad you enjoyed the bar and liked the rooms! Come back soon :) regards, Amparo


Best hostel I've ever stayed in

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're awesome! Thanks so much! Hopefully seeing you soon :) Amparo, reception team


Very fun hostel with a party vibe -- but the bar downstairs is far enough away from dorm rooms that it is quiet when you want to sleep (best of both worlds). Good priced food available 24/7, lively bar with different events each night (live music, beer pong, etc). EXTREMELY friendly and helpful staff from reception to the bar. Really close to train station and metro, SO easy to navigate city. Showers are decent and beds are comfortable. Would 100% stay here again.


Upgraded me from a share dorm to a bedroom suite for free! The bar across the road is a lot of fun!


Great hostel for meeting new people. Has a bar and restaurant downstairs with an underground dancefloor. The staff is super friendly, and they're all party animals so they know how to have a good time. Facilities were good: bathrooms were clean, rooms were well kept and require a keycard to gain access to. There is also an electronic combination safe in the rooms. Location was the only issue. Very very close to Termini, but a little far away from the main attractions in Rome.


Okay hostel, good location walking distance from station so easy to get around rome.. Other nightlife around Rome wasn't promoted very much, so evenings felt quite samey. Their bar is okay with reasonable priced drinks. The male female ratio however was awful, SO many random and creepy men especially in the down stair dance floor aka dungeon :S. The party bus was great fun! So was night walking tour I did with the guy with dreadlocks from yorkshire.. He was so laid back but very informative


A really cool hostel, friendly and smile staffs. Nice and clean rooms. Really good bar of the hostel with a great atmosphere, awesome for solo travellers. The only bad thing is in 4 days I was there none of them the WiFi works in the building I was (they occupy 3 buildings).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks so much for your wonderful review! Sorry to hear you faced problems with the wifi, we were fixing it on the days you were staying with us. Next time you'll stay with us, it will be working better than ever :) good to know you liked the hostel! Hopefully seeing you soon, Amparo


We liked the hostel, it's very well-located, and there's a great atmosphere. The rooms were clean, but on the ceiling there was mould, and there was also problem with the toilet. The breakfast was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, we're very glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel! Thanks for the comment about the ceiling, we will definitely look into it. Come back anytime soon, Grazie, Amparo


The Yellow was amazing! Friendly staff and nightly activities made meeting people and experiencing Rome really easy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your awesome review! Glad to hear you liked the staff and our nightly activities :) come back anytime soon! Regards, Amparo


This hostel was good if you are staying in Rome to party all night and stay far away from all of the important sites of the city. Everyone staying there was a 20-something with the sole intention of getting plastered at the bar across the street. I am all for a good time but this was not what I was looking for. Although the hostel was a short walk from Termini Station, it was far from all of the important sites in the city.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It's true that our hostel is more of a partyhostel, and in order to have this image, we organise a lot of events for our guests. Sorry if that was not what you were looking for. The hostel is not located next to the Colosseum but within 3 metrostops it's easy to reach. Regardless, we hope you had a nice stay in the hostel. We hope to see you again in the future for a better impression. Regards, Amparo

(373 results)

View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback