Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Zoo Bar and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Facilities 6.1
The Zoo Bar and Hostel Located at 130/11 Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan,Surat Thani, Koh Phangan.
The Zoo Bar and Hostel
Thailand
Koh Phangan surat thani 84280 130/11 Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan,Surat Thani
70% 203
9.6745168 100.0671029
The Zoo Bar and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • oliviamitchellj
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
3.7

bathroom had rat droppings and never cleaned there was 18 people and one toilet which is beside the shower so the toilet paper would get soaked everytime anyone took a shower there was no soap so the 14 of us who started there went to 711 to buy some for the group I understand it's an island but a little bleach and proper mattresses would help I mean mine was as hard as rock you might as well be sleepin on the floor there was a human indent I paid 12$ in Bangkok for 5star and 35$ here for motel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your review is a rather unfair!! To start you were in a 12 bed dorm not 18 as this does not exist, also you are staying in a dorm, we do not provided soap this is your responsibility, as for toilet paper getting wet, surely you are old enough to use your brain and move it if you cannot shower properly without getting everything wet! Also there defiantly was not any rat poo, and the bathrooms got cleaned everyday. Think you are a little annoyed as you had to pay new year prices & you did not have any fun with the rest of the group! Hope you manage to enjoy your travels, rather then finding things to moan about.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.7

Location was excellent for full moon, a few minutes walk from the beach. Lockers are basically a small wooden cupboard so not very safe. Our room was a good size, however wasn't full so wasn't an amazing atmosphere especially for full moon. Owners were really helpful and gave us free burgers, buckets and neon paint for the party which was cool, however the room increases about 3 times in price for the night of the party so technically not free! Overall enjoyed staying here, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.7

very good location, 2 mins walking to full moon beach. and also can use a swimming pool room is good , with AC clean. Sabina is very nice and friendly. and also knew some new friends was a good stay 旅舍很好,距离full moon beach很近 2分钟走路就到 房间有空调 很干净 员工也很友好,也认识了很多朋友 价钱很便宜 值得推荐

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Great value for money and perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our stay here, the owners are really friendly and welcoming and make a wicked burger! Would deffo recommend the zoo hostel to all travelers. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
2.0

Honestly the worst hostel in the world.....for example the shower kept cutting out and the staff members was very intimidating when he turned it back on, thought he was going to get his Thai gangster to come and beat me up because of that. DO NOT STAY THERE PLEASEEEEEEEEE......THE WORST HOSTEL EVER

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Think this is rather unfair, the water might of keep cutting out as this was just after fullmoon when 20,000 people come to a small island and use a lot of the resources in a matter of days! Remember we out on a tropical island, not in London where everything works 100% all the time. Also you came rudely over to the bar demanding that you have water now! When the staff member kindly told you he would come to look in 10 mins after he had finished cooking. I think you are just anoyed as he wouldn't fix straight away! Sometimes people carnt come to your beck & call as soon as you click your fingers! As for thai maffia, think you have been reading to many thai gangster books!!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay, really friendly welcoming staff and super cool hostel. They have 2 hostel dogs which are super friendly and there happy hour strawberry daiquiris were amaz. Would really recommend this hostel to all travelers, it's great value for money, clean and great to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
5.4

We stayed there for the full moon. It is a great location for the event. However, the lockers are little IKEA dressers that someone could have easily picked up and left with. The door of the dorm was almost never locked too. We stayed there 4 days and no one ever came to clean the bathroom, the bed or even the floor. The staff were welcoming enough, but nothing more. We stayed in the 16 beds dorm which is actually divided in three, which is good. However the AC only worked once in a while.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Iam sorry you felt like you had a bad stay. The bathrooms and dorms get cleaned everyday, maybe you were always out, and by the time you got back your fellow room mates meshed it up again. As for the door not being locked that's your responsibility, I give everyone keys, so the balls in your court. Also the lockers many other dorms use exactly the same, there is no problem. The dorm is 14 not 16. Are you sure you stayed with us? There are 2 aircon units in the dorm so it's up to you guys to keep them on

16th Aug 2016
4.3

Other than location Zoo bar hasnt got much else going for it. I had a hole in my top bunk bed.The safes are small, light wood so should anyone really want to they could get it in. A guy who volunteered at the hostel was in our dorm this was difficult as he would often make comments regarding the group talking etc Whilst i was there it was never cleaned one girl asked the volunteer when the cleaners would be coming he said they dont-floor was filithy by the end. They dont have a pool either.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I love you how to moan but you don't bother to ask the questions in person. We do have a pool you can use its at paradise bungalows. Of course there's a hole above the beds they are called slats every bed has them, between the mattress. We had a cleaner go in everyday to clean the floors and bathrooms and also came to clean all your empty food and beer bottles. But if you leave clothes and bags all on the floor it makes it very differ cult to properly clean the floor.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.4

Lovely place! Perfect location for full moon party. You are a two minute walk from the beach but just far enough that you won't be kept awake all night from the music. The staff was great, they would hang out with you at the bar. You get one free drink every day if you stay there which is cool. the water pressure for the shower was very weak but I guess that's what you expect on an island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.