Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Zoo Bar and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.4
The Zoo Bar and Hostel Located at 130/11 Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan,Surat Thani, Koh Phangan.
The Zoo Bar and Hostel
Thailand
Koh Phangan surat thani 84280 130/11 Haad Rin Beach, Koh Phangan,Surat Thani
70% 194
9.6745168 100.0671029
The Zoo Bar and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
2.0

Honestly the worst hostel in the world.....for example the shower kept cutting out and the staff members was very intimidating when he turned it back on, thought he was going to get his Thai gangster to come and beat me up because of that. DO NOT STAY THERE PLEASEEEEEEEEE......THE WORST HOSTEL EVER

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Aug 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed my stay, really friendly welcoming staff and super cool hostel. They have 2 hostel dogs which are super friendly and there happy hour strawberry daiquiris were amaz. Would really recommend this hostel to all travelers, it's great value for money, clean and great to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Aug 2016
5.4

We stayed there for the full moon. It is a great location for the event. However, the lockers are little IKEA dressers that someone could have easily picked up and left with. The door of the dorm was almost never locked too. We stayed there 4 days and no one ever came to clean the bathroom, the bed or even the floor. The staff were welcoming enough, but nothing more. We stayed in the 16 beds dorm which is actually divided in three, which is good. However the AC only worked once in a while.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Iam sorry you felt like you had a bad stay. The bathrooms and dorms get cleaned everyday, maybe you were always out, and by the time you got back your fellow room mates meshed it up again. As for the door not being locked that's your responsibility, I give everyone keys, so the balls in your court. Also the lockers many other dorms use exactly the same, there is no problem. The dorm is 14 not 16. Are you sure you stayed with us? There are 2 aircon units in the dorm so it's up to you guys to keep them on

16th Aug 2016
4.3

Other than location Zoo bar hasnt got much else going for it. I had a hole in my top bunk bed.The safes are small, light wood so should anyone really want to they could get it in. A guy who volunteered at the hostel was in our dorm this was difficult as he would often make comments regarding the group talking etc Whilst i was there it was never cleaned one girl asked the volunteer when the cleaners would be coming he said they dont-floor was filithy by the end. They dont have a pool either.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I love you how to moan but you don't bother to ask the questions in person. We do have a pool you can use its at paradise bungalows. Of course there's a hole above the beds they are called slats every bed has them, between the mattress. We had a cleaner go in everyday to clean the floors and bathrooms and also came to clean all your empty food and beer bottles. But if you leave clothes and bags all on the floor it makes it very differ cult to properly clean the floor.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Aug 2016
7.4

Lovely place! Perfect location for full moon party. You are a two minute walk from the beach but just far enough that you won't be kept awake all night from the music. The staff was great, they would hang out with you at the bar. You get one free drink every day if you stay there which is cool. the water pressure for the shower was very weak but I guess that's what you expect on an island.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hhewing
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.6

A party hostel only if you meet the right people , the hostel doesn't give you anything but free paint 1 free cocktail which doesn't taste like alcohol, I had the best stay here though! Met amazing people and had the best time over full moon party! Would stay again, location is really good in the middle of everything. Should be less pricey though for the standard of the hostel . Too expensive personally

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2016
9.7

The owner & her husband are super friendly & really helpful. We rented bikes & they took the time to show us on a map all the best places to see. The area Haadrin was pretty quite outside of the fullmoon time, but it was just want I needed. The hostel bar was great to, happy hour on cocktails only 100b & their burgers were insane.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
7.1

The location is great, but the cleanliness should have been better - we had toilet paper only on the day we arrived, no more after that ! There are two dogs living outside the window - be sure they will start barking and howling early morning. They serve free breakfast between 11-12am, which are super basic but a nice gesture.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Expensive! The rates for the month you picked are low season prices, which include free breakfast & 1 free drink each night.hardly think that's expensive.As for the cleanliness of the bathrooms, they got cleaned twice a day.the rest of the time between everybody in the dorm you should take care also.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.