Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Zoo Bar and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.1

Cool place and right next to full moon party made it very easy Place is decent we had the private room and was good space and great to have a fan and aircon Zoo bar opposite was good for drinks and the food is incredible everyone must try it hands down some of the best burgers i have ever had Thanks again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks guys, really enjoyed having you stay with us, such easy going lads. Thanks for the comments about our burgers our chef will be chuffed that you highly recommend them! hope to see you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my stay at the zoo, stayed here for halfmoon and made some good friends, drunk in the zoo bar before we went out. Highly recomend pre drinking here, strawberry daiquiri buckets were amazing & really cheap. The owners are pretty chilled & are always on hand to help. Defiantly like the old skool island vibe going on here. This is exactly how a island hostel should be (take it easy) .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Thank you for my lovely stay! I never normally do these review thingys but had such a great time and wanted to thank you for all the help and service I received throughout my stay! I know I'm not an easy customer to please! Beautiful pace to stay so close to local beach and shops plus the full moon party! I met some great people at your place to! And for all these reasons I will be back! See you next year!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
7.1

Every hostel in the area brags about their location but this one truly does have the best of both worlds. One minute walk to beach, party atmosphere, food, etc. But it's just around the corner so it's away from the noise. Had a great experience there but it's nothing over the top. Fairly spacious dorms (at least my dorm) bathrooms weren't great, but they were clean. Common area is the Zoo bar across the street but it didn't really get used much in my stay. Staff was great, very helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • oliviamitchellj
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Dec 2016
3.7

bathroom had rat droppings and never cleaned there was 18 people and one toilet which is beside the shower so the toilet paper would get soaked everytime anyone took a shower there was no soap so the 14 of us who started there went to 711 to buy some for the group I understand it's an island but a little bleach and proper mattresses would help I mean mine was as hard as rock you might as well be sleepin on the floor there was a human indent I paid 12$ in Bangkok for 5star and 35$ here for motel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Your review is a rather unfair!! To start you were in a 12 bed dorm not 18 as this does not exist, also you are staying in a dorm, we do not provided soap this is your responsibility, as for toilet paper getting wet, surely you are old enough to use your brain and move it if you cannot shower properly without getting everything wet! Also there defiantly was not any rat poo, and the bathrooms got cleaned everyday. Think you are a little annoyed as you had to pay new year prices & you did not have any fun with the rest of the group! Hope you manage to enjoy your travels, rather then finding things to moan about.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Dec 2016
7.7

Location was excellent for full moon, a few minutes walk from the beach. Lockers are basically a small wooden cupboard so not very safe. Our room was a good size, however wasn't full so wasn't an amazing atmosphere especially for full moon. Owners were really helpful and gave us free burgers, buckets and neon paint for the party which was cool, however the room increases about 3 times in price for the night of the party so technically not free! Overall enjoyed staying here, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.7

very good location, 2 mins walking to full moon beach. and also can use a swimming pool room is good , with AC clean. Sabina is very nice and friendly. and also knew some new friends was a good stay 旅舍很好,距离full moon beach很近 2分钟走路就到 房间有空调 很干净 员工也很友好,也认识了很多朋友 价钱很便宜 值得推荐

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.6

Great value for money and perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our stay here, the owners are really friendly and welcoming and make a wicked burger! Would deffo recommend the zoo hostel to all travelers. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.