X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Theatre International Hostel Reviews

8va Avenida 14-17, zona 1., Guatemala City, Guatemala

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
273 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Wonderful hostel, relax, party!!! Its perfect for all you want!! I recommend to stay there at least 2 night to enjoy Guatemala City and meet wonderful people!!! staff are incredible, I really liked it.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This a great place to party!!!! the breakfast is delicious and they have a great staff. Good Vibes all the time!

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I thought i was an excellent place with an awesome staff. The people working were committed to doing whatever they possibly could to make my stay and everyone else´s stay as pleasant as possible. I really appreciated that aspect. The group of travellers that were there during my stay were awesome. It felt like there was a nice sense of community at night and in the morning during the ALL YOU CAN EAT PANCAKE BREAKFAST. Fantastic. Quality location near 6th ave. I would definitely come back.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The Theatre International Hostel is in a great location to explore the city; walking distance to the Centre Market and pedestrian streets in historic Zona 1, near some very good restaurants, and a block from the main transit system! However, the best thing about this hostel is the people who stay here. I met some wonderful people who know the ins and outs of this bustling city - it's worth spending a few days here to see the real Guatemala!

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

is a big and good place.

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

the best hostel in Guatemala definitely excellent service, clean and tidy and recommend it to everyone because it is the best hostel in Guatemala

  • 26th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The doors seems to be frail and the blankets were paper thin.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

The beds were very uncomfortable, pillows were good, sheets were clean, only one thin blanket supplied so a bit cold at night. Could hear busy traffic from the main dorm throughout the night. Bathrooms were very large and clean, showers consistently hot with good water flow. Free breakfast was a small but endless may be difficult to get a decent feed with lots of guests. Staff were polite but not very helpful, didn't speak a lot of English so it can be hard.

  • 12th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Lovely staff, very helpful, yummy breakfasts, would recommend this place as a good hostel to stop over in the city in.


97%

My experience at international both times I've stayed was amazing. I got to meet travelers and lounge! I don't exactly call it a party hostel because it really depends on the vibe. So it really depends on who is staying at the time. The beds are comfortable and the showers are nice! Breakfast in the morning with free filtered water. The location is expected especially in zona 1. Just be safe and wander during the day! It's closed to a lot of things like shopping and food. Otherwise thumbs up!!!!


77%

Good hostel with everything you need, not the flashed but definitely a solid choice. The only thing I found was that it doesn't really look like a hostel from the outside so it's hard to spot and can be a little daunting for first time travellers


66%

+ interesting old charming house - dorm beds are not comportable, soft matresses with huge curve in it. -when we stayed there, some locals (owner's friends?) were partying, drunk and taking pills, lots of guests got pissed of, stayed in their rooms or just went out.


89%

Good stay in a convenient location near the main plaza. The staff is really friendly and helpful, there is a computer for guests' use and free breakfast and wifi. The owner would enhance this hostel's appeal by replacing the tired mattresses. Advertising there is a pool is a bit exaggerated, as it is more of a footbath, anyway all in all a good stay with a common area for relaxing and meeting other guests.


29%

Worst hostel I have stayed at during my 3 months trip in Central America.The bed size is quite small. Bad smell in both the dorm room and on the living room. Weak internet connection and only cold shower is available even though they are claiming they have hot showers. Avoid at all cost.

  • 2nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly staff, great maps of the local area and bus system. Free breakfast of pancakes, fruit and coffee was delicious.


100%

Friendly,relaxed.helpful .good atmosphere.Good location.Happy place Would always reccommend it.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This was a pretty quiet hostel, but it is also off season. The staff was very nice and helpful.


100%

This is a wonderful hostel. I stayed one night when I first arrived in Guatemala, and enjoyed my time so much that I decided to stop by for another night after visiting Antigua. Definately should be your first choice if staying in Guatemala City, not to mention it is also the best priced hostel in the city. Pros: -great atmosphere & at-cost beer sold in hostel -safe area w/in walking distance of most sights -staff very helpful -good beds & strong wifi (in my bed too) Cons: -none


100%

It was centrally located, great atmosphere the hotel owner is awesome and just provides everything you can want at a hostel!

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel is right next to the main street, very secured and the staff is nice. however, the breakfast is very poor and the showers could be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing our hostel. We now improved the breakfast bringing more options of seasonal fruits. The showers we always kept them clean.

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Guatemala City Hostels

Please give us your feedback