Hostelworld.com

Thefunkymonkeyhostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 121 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
Thefunkymonkeyhostel Located at Cdla. Vernaza Norte, Mz 5 V11, Guayaquil.
Thefunkymonkeyhostel
Ecuador
Guayaquil 091059 Cdla. Vernaza Norte, Mz 5 V11
71% 121
-2.1540572 -79.8908185
Thefunkymonkeyhostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • macca856009
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.6

A hostel that's pretty average all round but really close to the airport and bus station so perfect for one night before early flight or bus! Also very close to the big shopping mall which has a cinema playing English movies!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
7.1

When we were there we didn't see any other travelers. Looks like there is a cafe, but it was closed. This caused the place to look a little abandoned. No air conditioning. No towels. Nice water cooler. Very close to airport and mall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Mar 2016
5.7

Hostel is only worthwhile staying at if you have a flight or bus early in the morning as it is very close to bus terminal and bus station. Rooms were quite small, hot and and the beds were plastic. Hostel is close to the mall with lots of eateries and shops and a supermarket. They have a kitchen but you can use absolutely nothing in it; microwave doesn't work, gas was disconnected and no other facilities within it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.4

Perfect location close to main bus terminal and airport. Also, An awesome mall with everything you could ask for (even a book store with English books!) and movie theatre, just a 3 min walk away! Highly recommended if you're simply in town to catch a bus or flight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
7.7

This is the perfect hostel if you are arriving late or departing early from the airport or bus terminal. An easy taxi ride after dark, or walk if you are feeling up to it. The staff is great, rooms are everything you need...bed, towel, bathroom with warm water. The hostel is safe and only 1 block from a huge shopping mall with shops, restaurants, cafes, and more. The best part is the hamburgers the restaurant serves at night! They open the front and the burger bar is fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2015
7.4

We were afraid of using the electric shower :( The room was nice and big and the staff helped us getting a cab in the morning

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2015
3.1

The staff was non-existent. I had to ring the outside doorbell to talk to a staff member. Other people staying at the hotel were informed that a single woman was coming to stay the night which made me feel wildly uncomfortable. In the morning there were patrons asleep in front of the bathroom. The door was flimsy with a flismy lock. As a woman staying by myself I never felt safe or comfortable. When I tried to heat up water there weren't any matches to light the stove and the kitchen a mess.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

sorry for your bad experience we are improving the kitchen and the doors were fixed

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
12th Nov 2015
6.0

Next to a big shopping mall and super close to the bus terminal so perfect for an overnight stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.