X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.2 Yiwu Road, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
225 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

an exzellent one, would go again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your reviews! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.Looking forward to see you again..Have a nice day! This Old Place

91%

The standard room is next to the staircase and therefore it may be noisy at night because people are watching movies in the common area. Apart from that, the hostel is clean, cosy, offers cheap and good sandwiches, has extremely helpful und friendly staff, and offers a high value for your money. However, the WiFi is incredibly slow, barely usable. Luckily they had hardcopies of several travel guides. The pizza is overrated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback, also we must offer you an apologize for the inconveniences that the WiFi brought to you. . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best and most reliable Wifi networks available and good service to our guests.Thanks again,Have a nice day! This Old Place

97%

Outstanding hostel! Fantastic location, nice building and wonderful, helpful staff! Would go back any time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your kind words! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.We are looking forward to see you again.Have a nice day! This Old Place

89%

Internet was incredibly slow, barely usable. The basic double room doesn't have a window facing the street/backyard and is located next to the staircase, so it is a bit noisy if people watch movies in the common room, etc. Apart from that, the staff was super helpful with bookings/recommendations/whatever. All in all, this place is clearly worth the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback, also we must offer you an apologize for the inconveniences that the WiFi and noisy brought to you. . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best and most reliable Wifi networks available and good service to our guests.Thanks again,Have a nice day! This Old Place

94%

nice hostel, very cleanandcomfy with soft bed. nice quiet place with pretty location by river. its a slight trek from station when you have your backpack though. staff were really helpful and i would recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you very much for your review.We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in Guilin This Old Place.Wish you happy every day! This Old Place

100%

It's an excellent place to stay! I love the atmosphere and so much cleaner than I expected. However, please encourage the younger staff to explore guilin, so they will be able to provide "hands-on experience" for the tourist in reaching places. I also suggest to put certain trip on certain day (monday: bamboo raft, tues:, wed:etc), so that the guests are more "organized", but mention terms & condition just in case they want independent trip. & fix the bikes. THANKS A LOT!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your feedback.Its very helpfull for us ,We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thanks again for your suggestion. Guilin This Old Place

74%

It's a nice place, a little difficult to find. It's conveniently next to the river and a 15-minute walk from the Sun and Moon Pagoda. They offer tours, which I enjoyed, but they expect you to confirm again at a certain time, which can be difficult if you're out and about all day to make it back in time to confirm again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.Our hostel located in the Guilin cinty centre,nearby the Banyan Lake which have a beautiful lake view.Also thanks a lot for your suggestion about the tour ,we have accepted it to improve the service.Wish you have a nice day! This Old Place

80%

Curtains are covered in dust, tours seem overpriced and we would appreciate if the light in the room is not pink in color.


77%

We were the only guests and felt quite lonely. Rooms were really nice but the staff was unfriendly and not willing to help (wouldn't call us a taxi despite our huge backpacks). The atmosphere amongst the stuff was bad too, they were arguing in front of us. The food was disappointing, the italian pizza was neither italian nor a pizza, same goes for the salad. Overrated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback,.Meanwhile we must offer you an apologize that you experience in our hostel . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best service and delicious foods to our guests.Thanks again,Hope you have a nice day! This Old Place

97%

Excellent value for money! The bed are so big, it was amazing! Nice hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your kind words! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in Guilin This Old Place.We are always committed to giving our guests the most comfortable experience.Thanks a lot .Have a nice day! This Old Place

91%

Staff here were very helpful, spoke very good English and made great pizza! Their sister hostel in Xingping was equally as good. Happily recommemd This Old Place as a place to base yourself whilst you visit the rice terraces

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you very much for your review.This Old Place could try our best to provide the best service and the most comfortable experience for you.Thanks again for your recommend.Have a nice day! This Old Place

100%

wow! beautiful hostel! big and beautifully designed rooms! best stay in Guilin!


91%

It was a nice stay, the hostel is well located, western food downstairs is pretty good. the only problem is that they asked deposit, which was crucial in the end of the trip, when you basically have no money left. The rest was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, We're very happy that you enjoyed stay with us and thank you very much for your review.As your feedback,we're so sorry that took you the inconveniences.We could try our best to giving our guests the most comfortable experience.Have a nice day! This Old Place

83%

I make 1 hour to reach the hostel because nobody knows where is it buuuuut when I was there I find it s a good place. The building is new there is not a Chinese atmosphere but the location need to be see. It s a good place for relaxing ans walking a lot of way to escape near the river. Don t expect to eat chinese food in the hostel I don t know why the make western food..what a pitty!!


89%

Helpful staff, comfortable beds, and nicely set up. Like the reading lights! Pizzas are great too :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you very much for you choosing stay in This Old Place and enjoyed staying with us.Have a nice day! This Old Place

83%

Most of the locals we found and greet to ask doesn't know the hostel by its name "This Old Place International Youth Hostel". The reasons may be due to we speak English. We got into trouble to find this hostel. It helps when you mention the big banyan tree (Long Shu Bao) and library (pronounce it in chinese). The locals then knew right away to give you direction. Just mention this 2 things to find this hostel. The hostel located near the Big Banyan Tree and the library.


89%

The private rooms are extremely nice, you might as well be in a hotel. The dorms are a little less nice (no windows, a little cramped). The hostel was really helpful in booking me an extra night and I loved the cat :) The only complaint was that our room looked out over the river and one of the tea shops would BLAST music at the crack of dawn. Maybe the hostel could make a deal with the tea place to keep it down until a reasonable hour?


89%

The best hostel in guilin and xingping!

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel itself was very nice, clean, and what you would expect. The staff however were very unorganized, and failed completely with providing transportation from the airport to the LongJi Terrance's, all of which had been previously arranged and paid for before ever arriving in Guilin. This made for a terrible first day of our trip, as we spent the day arguing over money and how we could cut the rest of our trip short in order to do what we had been guaranteed to do for that day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
So sorry for the convenience! We have sent you a email ask about the flight number and arrive time. But we haven't received your reply until 0:57AM, we cannot arrange that for you at that late time! Welcome to Guilin next time, have a nice trip then!

100%

Would definitely recommend this hostel! If you get a chance, try one of the wood oven pizzas. So yum.


(132 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback