X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

This Old Place International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.2 Yiwu Road, Guilin, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
241 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Its a great hostel, the staff is efficent and very helpfull. The place is nice and the food is good.


83%

Simple but Nice hotel, very well located. Only negative point...the expensive price of the taxi when it is booked by the hotel (we paid 130 instead of 70 with the meter)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your review and recommend.We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. About the taxi fee :We call the taxi driver from other place come to our hostel pick up you,then directly to the Guilin ariport .Beause the taxi driver don't run the meter from Guilin city center to Guilin ariport basically,so it's more expensive . We hope you could understand. Thanks a lot. Best regards This Old Place

100%

The hostel is great, the staff is very nice and helpful (good atmosphere!). Also it is very clean and quite comfortable. They offer tours. We did the one for Yangshuo, we had a great day though we paid for a boat ride + a hike and the guide didn't let us hike. Instead he offered us to pay 100 yuan (too expensive) to get to do another ride and see a water buffalo. This problem is not the responsibility of the hostel and they appologized for that. Just be careful with the dishonest guides.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're glad you can enjoy our hostel,and thank you very much for your review. We're so sorry about the tour .Hope you have a nice day!Thank you Best regards This Old Place

83%

Location fantastic, rooms really big and clean. Internet worked ok for me and i tried the Pizza, which i thought wasnt that Bad. I have had worse, Even in italy ;) can definitely recomend it here, best Location in guilin

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you very much for your review and recommend.We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.We’re always committed to giving our guests the most comfortable experience.Thank you a lot. This Old Place

89%

My friends and I spent one night at "This Old Place International Youth Hostel". We had a three people bedroom, which was very big and clean. Staff is very helpful in case you need information. In this hostel, you'll find a beautiful rooftop with an amazing view of Guilin karstic landscape.We really loved the atmosphere... It is moreover well-located. Pretty close to the night market. 2 mn walking from the bus that drives you either to the coach terminal or the railway station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your reviews! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.We are always committed to giving our guests the most comfortable experience.Have a nice day!

89%

Nice common room with a pool table and a tv corner. Food was delicious and reasonable priced. We liked the roof terrace although its not like a bar, just tables and chairs. But you can still enjoy the view. We would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your reviews!We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and looking forward to see you again.Have a nice day! This Old Place

86%

Nothing to complain, great location, helpful staff. I enjoyed the time I spent there.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your reviews! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.Have a nice day! This Old Place

63%

I came into my room and saw a 7cm long cockroach ... The staff didn't really want to help me with my trip plan - difficult thing when one doesn't speak Mandarin ... Go to Wanda Hostel, that's a good place to stay in Guilin! The girls are angels!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your reviews,we're terriblely sorry about that.We'll try our best to improve ourselves and committed to giving our guests the best experience.Hope you have a nice day,thank you very much for your suggestion! This Old Place

77%

Really good location and a very nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review, We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.Have a nice day! This Old Place

86%

A lovely comfortable hostel, although a little quiet. Offers great deals on tours (in particular the bamboo raft ride to Xingping) The wifi wasn't great in the rooms and on the last day the wifi was not working at all which meant that we couldn't book our next hostel :( Overall a nice stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here and had a nice bamboo raft trip. Meanwhile we must offer you an apologize for the Wifi issue that you experienced on the last day. Thank you! This Old Place

100%

This hostel could also run for a 3-star hotel: rooms are big and bright, well-equipped and extremely clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect in terms of safety and with many sights and places to eat nearby. What else could you ask for? I can definitely recommend This Old Place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay here! Thank you very much for your reviews and support.Hope you have a nice day! This Old Place

100%

an exzellent one, would go again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your reviews! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.Looking forward to see you again..Have a nice day! This Old Place

91%

The standard room is next to the staircase and therefore it may be noisy at night because people are watching movies in the common area. Apart from that, the hostel is clean, cosy, offers cheap and good sandwiches, has extremely helpful und friendly staff, and offers a high value for your money. However, the WiFi is incredibly slow, barely usable. Luckily they had hardcopies of several travel guides. The pizza is overrated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback, also we must offer you an apologize for the inconveniences that the WiFi brought to you. . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best and most reliable Wifi networks available and good service to our guests.Thanks again,Have a nice day! This Old Place

97%

Outstanding hostel! Fantastic location, nice building and wonderful, helpful staff! Would go back any time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your kind words! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay in This Old Place.We are looking forward to see you again.Have a nice day! This Old Place

89%

Internet was incredibly slow, barely usable. The basic double room doesn't have a window facing the street/backyard and is located next to the staircase, so it is a bit noisy if people watch movies in the common room, etc. Apart from that, the staff was super helpful with bookings/recommendations/whatever. All in all, this place is clearly worth the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback, also we must offer you an apologize for the inconveniences that the WiFi and noisy brought to you. . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best and most reliable Wifi networks available and good service to our guests.Thanks again,Have a nice day! This Old Place

94%

nice hostel, very cleanandcomfy with soft bed. nice quiet place with pretty location by river. its a slight trek from station when you have your backpack though. staff were really helpful and i would recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you very much for your review.We're so happy you enjoyed your stay in Guilin This Old Place.Wish you happy every day! This Old Place

100%

It's an excellent place to stay! I love the atmosphere and so much cleaner than I expected. However, please encourage the younger staff to explore guilin, so they will be able to provide "hands-on experience" for the tourist in reaching places. I also suggest to put certain trip on certain day (monday: bamboo raft, tues:, wed:etc), so that the guests are more "organized", but mention terms & condition just in case they want independent trip. & fix the bikes. THANKS A LOT!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for your feedback.Its very helpfull for us ,We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thanks again for your suggestion. Guilin This Old Place

74%

It's a nice place, a little difficult to find. It's conveniently next to the river and a 15-minute walk from the Sun and Moon Pagoda. They offer tours, which I enjoyed, but they expect you to confirm again at a certain time, which can be difficult if you're out and about all day to make it back in time to confirm again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay here.Our hostel located in the Guilin cinty centre,nearby the Banyan Lake which have a beautiful lake view.Also thanks a lot for your suggestion about the tour ,we have accepted it to improve the service.Wish you have a nice day! This Old Place

80%

Curtains are covered in dust, tours seem overpriced and we would appreciate if the light in the room is not pink in color.


77%

We were the only guests and felt quite lonely. Rooms were really nice but the staff was unfriendly and not willing to help (wouldn't call us a taxi despite our huge backpacks). The atmosphere amongst the stuff was bad too, they were arguing in front of us. The food was disappointing, the italian pizza was neither italian nor a pizza, same goes for the salad. Overrated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, Thanks for staying with This Old Place.We’re glad to receive your feedback,.Meanwhile we must offer you an apologize that you experience in our hostel . Please know we would make every effort to provide the best service and delicious foods to our guests.Thanks again,Hope you have a nice day! This Old Place

(143 results)


View all Guilin Hostels

Please give us your feedback