Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tiber Hostel and Camping Reviews

Via Tiberina km 1.400, Rome (Prima Porta), I-00188, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1675 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 56%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


There was a little fuss with our room and the wifi stopped working from time to time. All in all, a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Juho, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be of great value and convenient. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Kind Regards


In general it was good but the internet service is very bad.


DO NOT STAY HERE! You have to travel way too long and the station you get off at has no sign. Everyone misses it. The staff gave me misinformation on how to get back to the campsite after midnight and it ended up taking 4 hours, several buses and hitchhiking to get back! The staff on the shuttle bus were rude. I was trying to get off the bus first to get my train and the ticket lady blocked me and yelled at me in Italian because she wanted to get off first. I missed my train because of her.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Douglas, Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered on your trip to the train station. Regarding the misinformation, this is very surprising, there must have been a misunderstanding because we give hundreds of information and it never happens that someone gets lost in coming back from the City centre. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards


We stayed in a private cabin. Extremely hot at night which kept us awake sometimes. Couldn't open doors or windows due to mosquitos. Pool was good and so was attached restaurant. Showers and toilets clean. Even though it was only a train journey to the centre, this train was very busy and hot but was easy to get and find everything from there. Cheap shuttle bus to the train station but does not run mid afternoon. You get what you pay for here. Good base for exploring Rome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that overall you thought we were good value We hope you enjoyed your trip to Rome and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind Regards


Even though it is a good 45-60 min away, the price and services provided, make it well worth the trip plus not being in the hussle and bustle of downtown Rome. You take the U20 bus back and forth from campground to train station but there is also a non-numbered blue bus that takes you to a main bus terminal and the same train line as the U20 but further down to Saxa Rubra. Catch bus 32 from there and it ends at the Vatican. We were in the tent and the bed was a little saggy. Otherwise, great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We hope you had a great time in Rome. Hopefully you can come and stay with us again next time you are in the city. Ciao!


Expect to go from central Roma and then another hour and a half by train. Once there, lovely place. Good luck if you can find how to get there. Regardless, no kitchen/fridge/stove. No access to food aside from paying the 2 euros during the 2 hour stints the shuttle goes to town. Onsite shop is not good for food, but the wine is cheap.


The camping is good. I would just work on this: the tents are too close, you can hear everything from the next tent, in the day thwy get too hot so it is impossible to hang out there. The prices of the supermarket are really good but the bar is a little overpriced. The atmosphere is cool and it feels like a safe place, I would add some lockers to make it even safer and more power contacts in the tents. The only thing that upset me was having to pay 1.50 for the shuttle service at 7 hills is free

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at our Camping Village. we are glad you liked the atmosphere and that you felt safe. The shuttle service is only € 1,50, we think it is a good price for the service, anyway, you can also use the public bus. Many thanks again for your review and tips. Kind regards,


Everything was good.. but location was far from the city but accessible via train than one have to walk through 2 km.. shuttle service is ok but paid before they said it is free. An environment for those who love camping..

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review our Camping. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, Regarding the shuttle bus, as written on HW, it is € 1,50. We hope you had a nice trip. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Rome. Ciao!


It takes around 50 mins- at least, to get back to this campsite. It takes two long metro rides, plus their own shuttle bus which is every 30 mins. The campsite is really nice; the atmosphere is good, pool is great and the restaurant has fab food for cheap prices compared to Rome itself. We stayed in one of the campsite's small caravans, which were actually really good. The beds were very comfy and we got an ensuite bathroom, all for a great price. quite hot, but soon cool down. Great place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. It normally takes 25 minutes from the Centre of Rome to Prima Porta, unfortunately there has recently been a public transport strike, so we think this is the reason it took 50 minutes to get back to the Campiste. We are glad everything was fine with your stay hopefully you can come back again soon. Kind regards


Was very good value for the money. Staying in the tent was basically the same as in a hostel, only for much less. In fact, it was better in the evening than many hostels because the air moved into the tent better and it was cooler. However, the big drawback is the noise. The tents were close together and all the different parties going on around made it difficult to sleep. Also, it is quite far from the Rome city center, and the walk to the campground can seem a little sketchy at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you thought we were good value for the money and hope you had a nice time in Rome. Kind Regards.


AWESOME! Loved it! Staff was super nice and friendly☺ We had a great time! 😊😊


I had a great time here, staff is really nice. You can arrive to the city centre in 40min but it's not that far, believe me, it's worth it when you see can have best of both worlds, city - camp.


Tent dorms provided were well cleaned after each stay and bedding provided was clean. Laundry service was available for a fee and towels could be purchased at a fee. Pool area was great to have and a store and a resteraunt were also available at certain points of the day. Downside to stay was that the hostel was far from the city center and although public transport ran well the shuttle from the camp site to the station didn't run from 12 to 4 and it was a 20mim walk.


If You looking for cheap place to spend some time next to the swimming pool its place for You , but to get to the center of Rome is a bit difficult, the staff are friendly and helpful, take with You something from bloodsucking mosquitos i recomend that place.


The shuttle dont runs every 30 minutes, and stop in the afternoon for no reason, but u can get a public bus, even they dont tell this in the description.


The major issue is the location, the hostel is very far from the city centre. If you don't mind that, I recommend this hostel to you. They have a nice bar/restaurant, with good food and cold beer. The staff is amazing, specially the guys in the bar. Facilities are good, lots of showers and bathrooms, a mini-market, and even a pool.


There are many mosquitoes and the location is really far away from center. Also, the wifi is really bad


Would stay again because of how cheap it was...but no lockers for valuables, and pretty far outside the city...we stayed for a week so had time to see everything we wanted to, but if you are in Rome for a short time just stay in the city as the commute takes at least 45 min every morning and evening...restaurant, store, and pool all very good...toilets and showers ok, but a ton of Mosquitos due to moisture, should be some way to remedy this as it was quite annoying being bitten after disrobing.


With it being a metro, tram & bus ride away it's pretty inconvenient to make it out to the city of Rome , but for a nice getaway from the city madness , it worth it for a place to get away. The price is very good, but you end up paying for it in the end with the cost of food as there's nowhere to cook food, but overall a great place!


I loved Tiber because of the beautiful trees and nice shared tents. Everything is very clean and neat and there's a great atmosphere. However the wifi wasn't working for the whole time I was there and it really is quite a commute to get from there to the center of Rome.

(49 results)

View all Rome Campsites

Please give us your feedback