X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tiger Paw Hostel Reviews

Car. 36 No. 10-49, Medellin, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
490 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

best hostel in medellin, location, super clean is great because you are 2 blocks from the main area parque lleras, but is really nice for sleeping because is in a quiet block, in front of the hostel is crepes ând wafles *you have to eat there(.. the staff is very profesional and frendly and all of them have diferents personalitis ,,annie the manager has a boyfriend is a guy from canada*brody( that you definitly need to know is a really frendly and helpfull guy. he knows the local move.


29%

terrible with this new staff....I like the old staff...Im guessing they had a management change and cleaned house...this place is a dump now and the new staff has attitude and feels that Americans should bow down to them and not complain about bad service....I was told that "this is not your country and just deal with it" as their response for me complaining about bad service....Bring the old crew back...as long as these rude people and management are here, I WILL NEVER stay here...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry but we`d rather not have your business. Tiger Paw is much more safer and better now. You should learn to respect other countries policies and customs. Good luck on your future travels - Tiger Paw

49%

The staff are very friendly however the hostel as a whole is not looked after very well. The sofa area smells like stale beer and other areas smelt damp and of mould. On two occasions a friend of mine accidentally picked up damp wood from the bannister which shows what bad condition the hostel is in. Otherwise there is a great atmosphere at night, however the facilities need to be looked after better.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your honest review about the hostel. We are currently renovating what needs to be fixed up as we want to make the hostel the best that we can. With the new management now, it`s our main priority. The hostel cleaned on a regular basis. Also we are re-painting the hostel and touching it up. Happy travels - Tiger Paw

60%

The bathrooms were very dirty.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you didn`t like our bathrooms. They are cleaned very day by our cleaning staff of course but its also the responsibilty of the guests to clean up after themselves too as the staff can`t go into the bathrooms to clean everytime a guests uses them as they are constantly used throughout the day, They are for everyone to share. Happy Travels - Tiger Paw

83%

Great location and friendly staff! Bathrooms are not clean and rooms are a bit cramped.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Best Regards: Lucille regret not having met your expectations during your stay at our hostel. And the staff appreciate your comment, for the next opportunity we hope to offer a better service. We are currently strengthening cleaning the bathrooms, especially where we have more dates occupation. With relation to the rooms, dormitories are relatively spacious because the standard of dormitories is regularly 6-12 persons per bedroom. However we also have private rooms with shared or private bath

54%

The rooms smell terribly of damp

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regards Tess: We are aware of this problem, we are currently working with the our real estate to resolve this situation. As a visitor to other cities, we always hope that the place where we stay have prioritized the comfort and health of the guests, for this reason understand and accept in good shape your comment. Regards

66%

We paid for a deluxe 6 bed dorm but were not impressed. The room absolutely stank of damp and was not very nice to be in. We were only there for one night so didn't bother moving but definitely would have if we had been there for longer. Good location but there are plenty of places to stay nearby. We wouldn't stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Sophiya: We apologize if your stay was not pleasant for you. With relation to moisture, the hostel is aware of this problem that has much to do with the property as such and are in process of correcting it. At any time we are open to suggestions from our guests if it allows, they may have a better stay. We work every day to improve the points that our guests have considered critical.. At any time we are open to suggestions from our guests if it allows, they may have a better.

66%

Overall I thought the hostel was average and not really worth the price that they charge. For less money you could probably find a better hostel. Pros; Hot showers Small and social so easy to meet people Safe area Cons; No electricity outlets in dorm Kitchen is a joke and has basically nothing. (Still worth using for very basic meals) No maps or towels as stated on hostel world Staff don't give a lot of helpful info

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Josh: we apologize for your bad experience. Now was corrected the problem of the showers, too we adapt a new entertainment area on the second floor. Each friday have free latin dance and Spanish classes for only 5,000 cop per person. The kitchen area is probably not the biggest but has been made to improve it a little more. The maps are sometimes scarce, because we ordered at City Hall and is a bit long at times, but are easy to apply at any subway station.Towels always give return deposit

80%

decent hostel. staff could be friendlier, but my only real complaint is that the dorm smelled extremely moldy/musty

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Celia: We apologize if your stay with us was not the best. We are very aware the suggestions of our guests; actually have new people working in reception and also those carrying more time with us are working strong customer service and of course we are doing our best efforts to correct the moisture problem as soon as we can. At any time if one day you decide to return, you can approach the reception and tell us if anything was not your total satisfaction.

86%

I can not say enough good things about Annie at the front desk. We had an issue with a lost passport and she was incredibly helpful in coordinating with us to ensure it's safe return. Along with that she was very helpful in giving us information on Medellin with good suggestions on tours and places around the city to check out.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy, all the help we could give you as guest and is very satisfying for us, when we can be of great use to you. We hope that in the near future they can come visit again. We send many greetings.

83%

Really close to parque lleras and parque poblado and for that the best hostel when you want to party. Staff is really friendly and speaks english.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thaks for your kind review and we our happy to hear your enjoyed your time at the hostel. All the best on your future travels - Tiger Paw

66%

The hostel is quite far from the metro the instructions given aren't very clear on how to get there. Otherwise a nice area. Staff can be a little rude and unhelpful, there was a bit of an issue/misunderstanding with my booking. My room was above the bar so it was loud at night I think all the rooms would be like that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your experience here at the hostel. We are a 15min walk to the metro plus there is a bus that drops you right off next to the hostel. We speak English as a 2nd language here and since we are in Colombia, we speak Spanish at work, however we can communicate in English if the guests can understand that our English is not perfect and may need to ask questions again to better understand. Not all rooms are close to the bar plus the music is off at night. Happy Travels - Tiger Paw

66%

After visiting the homepage and booking the hostel i was very disappointed. The bed was completely saggy, the showers were between cold and warm but far away from hot. one of the hostel ladies was very unfriendly and always bugged. The kitchen was very unclean and sticky. I have been to so many hostels but this was one of the worst. For two days it was bearable. Ahhh, also the Internet didnt work well.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your experience with us. We make sure the guest feel welcomed and comfortable here. If guest are not happy with their room, they are welcomed to change of course. We do clean the kitchen on a daily basis however it is the responsibility of the guests to clean up after themselves as alomost all hostels follow this rule. Our showers work great with plenty of hot water and also we have a great wifi for the internet. Hope your travels are well in the future - Tiger Paw

89%

Staff really friendly and very helpful. Perfect location and comfy beds! We felt really welcome and safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Philippa Bull, Thank you for your stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and liked the location. We wish you all the best on your future travels - Tiger Paw Hostel



View all Medellin Hostels

Please give us your feedback