Hostelworld.com

Tiki Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • joosiej85
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.6

No atmosphere. Uncomfortable mattress, pillow super thin. Ripped toilet paper all over ladies bathroom floor for 3 days so doubt the rest got cleaned either. Kitchen cleaning also poor, dining tables permanently sticky, oven hobs were so greasy they kept catching fire (heard this from a staff member!). Very noisy at night, alcohol allowed in common areas til 10.30pm when they get locked so all the drunk kids go into the car park and shout below the bedroom windows for hours. Not very impressed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Bloody great, will be back..:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel, nice people, nice staff overall pretty good! The beds were a little worn out but the atmosphere was good nice people staying at the hostel. Not so much a party hostel but you can also hang out at the sister hostel where the common area stays open till later. We had dinner there, 5 bucks for a proper sized plate of food and very tasty would stay again and recommend it to other travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2017
9.7

Wonderful staff and friendly atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Hostel itself was good but we ended up with a lot of terrible loud roommates. Doors need to be made quieter, and curfews should be enforced especially when many people have 5am starts for Tongariro. Kitchen facilities good and there is a nice living area. Would stay again but in a private room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
5.4

Did not like the place. It was kind of cold, no cozy atmosphere. Facilities quiet old. Mattresses very uncomfortable and bunks super squeaky, doors were even worse. Best thing was they awesome lakeview from the kitchen and that there was heaps of space in common areas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lordtomo90
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
6.0

All was good until arriving home and being told I had to pay a night for two people on 31st January as we were supposed to stay that night. This was after being told that they weren't able to fit us in by their sister hostel just around the corner. Real professional ... I sent a reply to their email stating that they were going to take the funds from my account, explaining what had happened. To which they couldn't even be bothered to reply.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
7.1

Not bad. Not so good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Very very good hostel ! I stayed for only two nights, but I really enjoyed it ! I met a lot of people with a good atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Dec 2016
7.7

Friendly and helpful staff. 4 shower/4 toilet stalls on the floor, always quite clean. Kitchen always quite clean as well with lots of cooking supplies and tables. Nice large lounge room by the kitchen. Small lockers available outside rooms. Only complaint was the mattress was not the best but I chose the one closest to the door which I'm guessing gets the most use/first choice. Didn't find there was much of an atmosphere while I was there. Grocery and downtown within walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.