X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tiki Lodge Reviews

104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
221 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very thin matresses. Very cold in the kitchen/living room,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently updating our mattresses so apologies yours wasn't up to the highest standard. We hope you are enjoying the rest of New Zealand.

94%

시설이 매우 깔끔하고 정돈이 잘 되어있었으며, 리셉션 직원이 매우 친절했습니다.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent service - our bus wasn't arriving till 1am and they still made arrangements for us to stay. Free breakfast was a great addition - have never had that in a hostel before. Also had eggs for sale for 50c so we ended up having scrambled eggs, peanut butter and jelly toasties and cereal for a dollar! The ensuite in my dorm was super clean and the heater kept us nice and toasty throughout the night. Very spacious kitchen/eating area and only a 2 minute walk to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I love that you made use of the free breakfast.. it has definitely proved to be very popular. Thanks such much for a great review and I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the staff.

94%

Stayed for 3 nights. Arrived in early hours & though reception was closed they were able to leave a key & instructions for us. Staff really friendly & so helpful in advising activities etc. room was really clean & beds comfy/cosy. We were in a triple room & even had our own little kitchen. Free breakfast (toast,spreads,cereal) was really good. Kitchen a little dirty but maybe due to other guests not hostels fault! Very short walk to shops, isite, bars,etc. would recommend & stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. Breakfast has been so popular we are extending the offer to cover September and October as well. We look forward to having you back if you are passing through Taupo again.

97%

It was very good for all.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of NZ :)

60%

The bag storage room is not locked. The TV room is too small and acts as a walkway between bedrooms and kitchen and so people are in/out all the time. Good kitchen + facilities. VERY uncomfortable bed - mattress against the slats!! Poor drainage in the bathrooms leaving a smell. Shower cubicle a bit cramped. Handy that brekkie is included!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. The morning of your check out we had a large group arrive before the rooms were ready so the bag storage was unlocked for a period of time so they could get in and out easily however a staff member was present at reception at all times. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and glad that you enjoyed the free breakfast.

60%

Not the best place. Very very weird smell in the whole upper floor? Dorm room heater only worked half the time and lots of stains on the carpet. The eating area was so cold in the morning you could see your breath. Also, the showers had no benches or anything to speak of, so a lot of my stuff got wet. Free breakfast was good- but they run out of bread. One girl was very helpful at front desk, the other had no desire it seemed to help when my internet didn't work (which wasn't free).


94%

I'm very happy with my stay and are definitely going to stay here again next time I visit Taupo!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We look forward to having you stay on your return and hope you enjoy the rest of our beautiful country in the meantime.

86%

My stay was short but sweet! The TV lounge/kitchen area looks out onto a beautiful view!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so lucky to have such a beautiful view over the Lake across to the mountains and glad you got to share our daily experience. You will have to come back and visit us for longer next time :)

86%

The guests who leave at hostel are awesome.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean and free breakfast!


86%

Good hostel well located for everything in Taupo but not so close you hear the bars. Big well equipped kitchen. Only downside no lockers in rooms but reception will look after valuables

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us last week and thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are lucky with our location close to with a great lake view from our balcony etc. Im sorry you did not see the lockers that we had installed last month - They are located on the main corridor by room 7. We decided to place them in the corridor to give more room in the dorms as during the busy periods space can be limited and not everybody uses them. Thank You again for staying with us :-)

100%

Really good hostel. Clean, friendly staff, comfortable beds, hot good pressure showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You very much for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again if you pass through Taupo again on your travels. :-)

97%

I have stayed here twice and it is one of the best hostles I have stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and common areas are.very clean. The beds and esp. the mattresses are very comfortable. It is just up from the lake and close to CBD. Very good value for money.


86%

Hostel is well located, in a few minutes you are at the most important places. Kitchen was clean and more than enough cooking facilities. Beds felt a bit old, I woke up in a hole. Unfortunately you had to pay for the wifi. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, felt really welcome. Thank you guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are currently updating our mattresses. You will have to come back and visit us to check them out :) Enjoy your travels.

83%

Rooms are really nice but lack a proper way of air flow. Mattresses should definitely improve.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are currently working on the mattress situation and will hopefully have it sorted soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels :)

94%

Great little hostel, very friendly where it's easy to meet new friends.


100%

Great hostel, very clean and tidy. Well kept place and provides guests with a lot of space and things to do inside if you fell not on a mood to go outside.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are super pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great review :)

89%

Nice kitchen and dining area. Liked that the TV lounge was open 24/7 and had a free food fridge. Not a super social hostel, and I was bummed that the hot tub was cold and not filled when I wanted to use it, but overall I had a chill stay here. Close to a Pac n Save grocery store was a perk!


89%

Great stay here. Good value for money. Good hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review :) We love hearing that our guests have a great time in beautiful Lake Taupo.

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Taupo Hostels

Please give us your feedback