X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tiki Lodge Reviews

104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
192 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great hostel, very clean and tidy. Well kept place and provides guests with a lot of space and things to do inside if you fell not on a mood to go outside.


89%

Great stay here. Good value for money. Good hostel


94%

big, spacious kitchen and dining area, but the TV lounge is a bit small! kitchen is clean unless people don't clean up after themselves, clean bathroom, good atmosphere, great and helpful staff! a bit further away from the center of Taupo, but everything is still within walking distance


89%

Overall great place to stay. Nice, clean, great location. Kitchen could have spices. That's just being fussy but just to compare to other hostels. The little things make a difference. Nonetheless, i would definately stay there again and would recommend. In my opinion, best hostel to stay in in Taupo.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Beds a bit squeaky, but fine. Would be great if the kitchen had a couple of very basic ingredients, like most others for the same price (salt, pepper, bread for breakfast etc.). I was there in mid-April and the heating hasn't been turned on, it was pretty cold, so hopefully someone has turned it on by now!


54%

There was no toilet paper on the of the bathrooms for 2 days and there were only 3 woman's toilets for the hostel. You have to pay $4 to use the internet. The staff was really friendly but the beds were just foam and you could feel the wood planks under them and two other girls in my room complained about them too so I know it wasnt just my bed.


97%

Very clean and tidy hostel! Loved this place - rooms were perfectly sized, good range of kitchen equipment available to use and lovely hot showers with fantastic water pressure. Highly recommend this place for a relaxed, chilled stay.


94%

Great hostel, regards from Uruguay!


97%

Excellent location, clean rooms, great breakfast view from the balcony, and one of the best things about this place is the water pressure!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We are incredibly lucky to be located so close to the beautiful Lake Taupo. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

31%

Checkin staff was dull, the hostel is huge and full of noisy people. No one from staff enforces any kind of order, kitchen is dirty, poorly furnished, WiFi costs 4$/day Beds are uncomfortable. Would never stay there

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Tiki Lodge. Unfortunately we cannot always stop guests from coming home late from town and making noise, but we do have night staff who monitor the situation and intervene where necessary. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

89%

yeah this place is dope!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for such positive feedback. Your comment made me smile this morning :)

83%

Very nice hostel. Clean and tidy and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.


89%

Great hostel located close to the lake and the town but not right in the thick of it which was nice. Lovely balcony and big well equipped kitchen. Bathrooms were big and very clean. Bedrooms a little cramped but that was more because other guests spread there things all over the dorm. Only downside was my bed was a bit hard. Would recommend to friends!


69%

Kitchen area was spacious, as were dorm rooms. The atmosphere was really laid back and quiet. It catered well to big groups but for the independent traveler who is young and anxious to get out and see the area, there is something lacking.


89%

Keys were given but no one really used them - not the fault of staff! Just guests being too lazy to lock the door behind them. Staff were very helpful :)




View all Taupo Hostels

Please give us your feedback