X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tiki Lodge Reviews

104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
156 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Tiki Lodge was a nice if quiet place to stay in Taupo (though considering its winter, was understandable). Great location near the lake and town, though the staff wouldn't let stay in the common room after we checked out, which was annoying as we had a bit of a wait till our bus and it was quite cold outside. The toilet floor was also always wet, which seemed a bit weird.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for feedback. As explained to guest - due to our 11am checkin policy - guests checking out are asked to vacate these areas to allow efficient cleaning of the lodge. It's difficult enough to work around current guests, constantly (politely) asking them to move so we can clean particular areas - let alone working around luggage/extra guests. The guest was offered to come back after cleaning and their luggage was stored for free. Toilet floor wet = guest with poor bathroom manners.

89%

It's homey, large kitchen, and cozy dining room, very near to the lake and city center, large parking space. The most important thing is, this hostel is not too crowded (dunno in summer). Not the best, but at least very decent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for posting a comment. Off season can be very quiet - Summer is busier but we are usually one of the least noisiest hostels in town.

69%

Tiki Lodge was a fine hostel. Everything was there, but the atmosphere. With some more attention to details to make it feel more homy, it would have been more recommendable. The hostel has a good location, nice view over lake Taupo, everything is clean. But it really has lacks a good vibe, that usually makes your stay memorable. To me it was all bit gray and dull, which is a shame because with that it would have been great. (Tips: put some color on the walls, some nice music in the lounge etc.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for the feedback. May is the quietest month of the year so it can be hard to find "a good vibe" when so quiet with so few guests. The music has been in the lounge in the past - but due to guest complaints was removed. Sorry. Lease requirements restrict our options with colours. However, we are in the process of redecoration but already have maori/kiwiana artwork on display in the hallways and communal areas. We have found that artwork in the dorms get defaced too often.



View all Taupo Hostels

Please give us your feedback