Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tiki Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 482 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Apr 2017
8.9

Absolute gem of a hostel. Lovely staff who were very welcoming and informative. Room had decent en suite and finally a BYO hostel. Best kitchen I have come across in my travels had everything you would need to cook any meal and had a beautiful porch balcony with lovely views. Feee unlimited wifi was great if a little slow. Overall very pleasantly surprised with the Tiki Lodge and would be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Apr 2017
7.7

Nice dorm but could've done with more plugs. Other than that it was really good. We also got free breakfast which was really nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a great stay. The staff and accommodations were great for the cost. The location is within easy walking distance to the lake, stores and restaurants. It was my second stay at The Tiki and if I ever make it back I'll be sure to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Nowhere to hang anything in room or bathroom. Nowhere to put soap/ shampoo etc in shower. Towels were very old/thin Top cover on bed did not look clean - had stains on it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • laurenboard
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
13th Mar 2017
9.7

Such a nice hostel, get free wifi which actually works and it's just down the road from Base so easy to stay at if your on the kiwi experience bus and cheaper! Such a nice kitchen too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.4

Nice hostel 2 mins to town on a quiet street. Good atmosphere, laundry facilities and clean rooms. Always an empty shower ( the one closest to the sinks is like a jet wash - super powerful!) kitchen and lounge shut 22.30 but there is enough space to chill out after this if you want. Overall a decent hostel for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
9.1

Room is clean, staff come in everyday and wash the bedsheets. Kitchen is clean. Staff are very helpful. Strong wifi but need to top up (free of charge) at the reception area every 2 day. The location is very near lake taupo and my fav Pak n Save supermarket, woohoo ! There are small lockers outside not inside the room. Room can be quite stuffy. overall it's a good place to stay !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joosiej85
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Feb 2017
6.6

No atmosphere. Uncomfortable mattress, pillow super thin. Ripped toilet paper all over ladies bathroom floor for 3 days so doubt the rest got cleaned either. Kitchen cleaning also poor, dining tables permanently sticky, oven hobs were so greasy they kept catching fire (heard this from a staff member!). Very noisy at night, alcohol allowed in common areas til 10.30pm when they get locked so all the drunk kids go into the car park and shout below the bedroom windows for hours. Not very impressed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Bloody great, will be back..:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Nice hostel, nice people, nice staff overall pretty good! The beds were a little worn out but the atmosphere was good nice people staying at the hostel. Not so much a party hostel but you can also hang out at the sister hostel where the common area stays open till later. We had dinner there, 5 bucks for a proper sized plate of food and very tasty would stay again and recommend it to other travelers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.