Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tiki Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 516 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
11th Aug 2017
9.1

Staff very friendly. Allowed us to check in late. Free wifi that worked well. Free breakfast. The only downside was that the hostel is not very sound proof so you can hear everything going on around you - our room was near to the TV/social room which wasn't good - would be better if the TV room was moved into the larger social area attached to the kitchen.great location, free parking, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.6

The hostel was great Just the beds are not really comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2017
8.0

It was great, except it was freezing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a good time at our hostel. We apologise that you found it cold, next time please come find a staff member and we can provide extra blankets as well as the room heaters. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Free Wifi, we had a room to ourselves, nice and warm, lots of space in the bathroom which was also very clean. Very happy with our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you found the room warm and spacious. Free wifi is always a bonus for travellers! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place. It wasn't exactly in the downtown but was maybe a 5 minute walk to it, which I liked better, less noise and disturbance outside. Staff was great, always willing to help and given information on the area. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, it's good to be close enough to town but far away from the noise! We are glad the staff were so helpful and you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • hansolojun561
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.4

Quiet cold during winter as there seems to be not much insulation to the building and the heaters in the room are just ok. Had an extra blanket for the bed which did the trick. The hostel itself feels a little cold, but was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We apologise about the temperature in the rooms, we are looking into our heater system and hoping for upgrades soon! Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ.

20th May 2017
8.3

Second time we have stayed here, really nice hostel, good WiFi, nice staff and free breakfast is always a bonus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
9.1

We stayed there in May with my friend and it was a good backpackers. Breakfast was free, it was clean and not so far from the main streets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.9

It was a great place to stay! The view from the balcony was always gorgeous, and the staff there were really nice. Also, the facilities were always clean and running smoothly, and the free breakfast was a huge perk :) 10/10 would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad the facilities were appreciated and the free breakfast is definately a perk for travellers!

3rd May 2017
7.7

Good location. Staff were super friendly. Wifi was pretty slow at night. Showers kind of dirty and you couldn't run them unless you opened the bathroom window so it was freezing. Free breakfast consisted of corn flakes and toast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We pride our hostel on friendly staff and good facilities! We have monitored the housekeeping in the showers and are currently looking into the ventilation for the bathrooms. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.