Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tiki Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 504 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Free Wifi, we had a room to ourselves, nice and warm, lots of space in the bathroom which was also very clean. Very happy with our stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place. It wasn't exactly in the downtown but was maybe a 5 minute walk to it, which I liked better, less noise and disturbance outside. Staff was great, always willing to help and given information on the area. Would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind review, it's good to be close enough to town but far away from the noise! We are glad the staff were so helpful and you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • hansolojun561
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2017
9.4

Quiet cold during winter as there seems to be not much insulation to the building and the heaters in the room are just ok. Had an extra blanket for the bed which did the trick. The hostel itself feels a little cold, but was very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We apologise about the temperature in the rooms, we are looking into our heater system and hoping for upgrades soon! Enjoy the rest of your time in NZ.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.9

It was a great place to stay! The view from the balcony was always gorgeous, and the staff there were really nice. Also, the facilities were always clean and running smoothly, and the free breakfast was a huge perk :) 10/10 would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad the facilities were appreciated and the free breakfast is definately a perk for travellers!

3rd May 2017
7.7

Good location. Staff were super friendly. Wifi was pretty slow at night. Showers kind of dirty and you couldn't run them unless you opened the bathroom window so it was freezing. Free breakfast consisted of corn flakes and toast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We pride our hostel on friendly staff and good facilities! We have monitored the housekeeping in the showers and are currently looking into the ventilation for the bathrooms. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2017
9.1

Tiki Lodge is conveniently located near McDonalds and the likes. It's a short walk to Lake Taupo. stayed here for 2n.Thea, the front desk agent was extremely helpful to us! The dorm room was fine. Common area is spacious. Upon entering the kitchen, a somehow weird smell will greet you but after a few seconds you'll get used to it and it didn't bother me that much. Free breakfast(loaves and cereals) was great especially if you're on a tight budget. I would definitely recommend this to my friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are glad the staff were helpful and you enjoyed the common rooms and free breakfast! Apologies about the odour in the kitchen area, we clean multiple times a day and have large balcony doors that can be used if there are aromas from cooking! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

6th Apr 2017
8.9

Absolute gem of a hostel. Lovely staff who were very welcoming and informative. Room had decent en suite and finally a BYO hostel. Best kitchen I have come across in my travels had everything you would need to cook any meal and had a beautiful porch balcony with lovely views. Feee unlimited wifi was great if a little slow. Overall very pleasantly surprised with the Tiki Lodge and would be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely review, it's great to hear so much positive feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please come back to Tiki if you come through Taupo again!

5th Apr 2017
7.7

Nice dorm but could've done with more plugs. Other than that it was really good. We also got free breakfast which was really nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the free breakfast! We have extension cords in each room but sorry you struggled to use the plugs during your stay. Enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a great stay. The staff and accommodations were great for the cost. The location is within easy walking distance to the lake, stores and restaurants. It was my second stay at The Tiki and if I ever make it back I'll be sure to stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.7

Nowhere to hang anything in room or bathroom. Nowhere to put soap/ shampoo etc in shower. Towels were very old/thin Top cover on bed did not look clean - had stains on it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.