Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tiki Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 447 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Tiki Lodge Located at 104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo, Taupo.
Tiki Lodge
New Zealand
Taupo 3330 104 Tuwharetoa St, Taupo
85% 447
-38.6895295 176.0748767
Tiki Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.7

Hostel itself was good but we ended up with a lot of terrible loud roommates. Doors need to be made quieter, and curfews should be enforced especially when many people have 5am starts for Tongariro. Kitchen facilities good and there is a nice living area. Would stay again but in a private room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jan 2017
5.4

Did not like the place. It was kind of cold, no cozy atmosphere. Facilities quiet old. Mattresses very uncomfortable and bunks super squeaky, doors were even worse. Best thing was they awesome lakeview from the kitchen and that there was heaps of space in common areas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lordtomo90
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
6.0

All was good until arriving home and being told I had to pay a night for two people on 31st January as we were supposed to stay that night. This was after being told that they weren't able to fit us in by their sister hostel just around the corner. Real professional ... I sent a reply to their email stating that they were going to take the funds from my account, explaining what had happened. To which they couldn't even be bothered to reply.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Dec 2016
7.1

Not bad. Not so good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Dec 2016
9.7

Very very good hostel ! I stayed for only two nights, but I really enjoyed it ! I met a lot of people with a good atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Dec 2016
7.7

Friendly and helpful staff. 4 shower/4 toilet stalls on the floor, always quite clean. Kitchen always quite clean as well with lots of cooking supplies and tables. Nice large lounge room by the kitchen. Small lockers available outside rooms. Only complaint was the mattress was not the best but I chose the one closest to the door which I'm guessing gets the most use/first choice. Didn't find there was much of an atmosphere while I was there. Grocery and downtown within walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

great place to stay, close to all activities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.1

One of the nicest hostels I've been to! Loved my stay there and would definitely return. Great atmosphere, great facilities, everything clean and relatively new. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

One of the cleanest hostels we've ever stayed in, lovely staff and good atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Nov 2016
9.7

Fantastic place to stay and Taupo is gorgeous. Staff are lovely. Dorms are huge which is rare. Loads of space - kitchen, tv room, balcony, etc. Bathrooms are clean and plenty of showed. Laundry area is great as well. Parking onsite which is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.