Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Timur Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 160 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Timur Guesthouse Located at No 375 TKT 2B, JLN Tengku Maharani, Kota Bharu.
Timur Guesthouse
Malaysia
Kota Bharu 15000 No 375 TKT 2B, JLN Tengku Maharani
81% 160
6.1291300 102.2414624
Timur Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Oct 2016
7.7

It is an odd place, but suited my purpose. I was all alone un the hostel. Matt, the operator, would come in sometime after 10pm to watch movirs and eat with friends. Place was kept up to college apartment cleanliness standards.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2016
8.0

Great place to stay for one or two nights! This was just my stopping off point before getting to the Perhentian's and it was perfect. The owner took me personally to a great food spot and was a really nice friendly guy! Watched a movie in their front lounge from the heaps of selection he has available and took a nice warm shower. The bunk beds are comfy and the accommodation was simple and had everything I needed. Will definitely stay again when passing through!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
7th Oct 2016
8.9

Cozy little spot in the middle of Kota Bharu - only a stone's throw away from Pasar Siti Khadija, easy to access places with food. Generally quiet and comfy bedrooms - beds are a bit too soft though. Mat has been most helpful during our short stay :) Plenty of TV/movies to keep you entertained in the evenings when the city town becomes "dead" by 9 or 10ish pm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2016
8.0

Mat is a really great host who will take the time to help you orientate yourself not only in KB but on the Perhentian Islands and with all travel too. Hostel was really quiet when I was there - just me at one point - but I see how it makes for a sociable setting during busier periods.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
8.3

Was just a quick stopover before heading to the Perhentian islands and this place suited perfectly. The guy who owns it has loads of info on other parts of Malaysia. Great film collection too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.1

Matt the owner is really really lovely. He took us out to meet his friends on the beach as we were in Kota Bahru during a public holiday and nothing at all in the city was open. Genuinely lovely guy, highly recommend this place. So close to the bus station making it perfect for your next journey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.9

I stayed 3nights in Mat's guesthouse. He's incredibly nice and willing to help you enjoy your stay. I would say everything was perfect except the quality of he bed (dormitory) which hurts your back since they're old and the mattress are worn. I arrived at 7am after a night bus, mat offered me to sleep for free in a private room to wait until my check-in in the dormitory, what nice! The private room mattress is excellent!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Really helpful and friendly staff who can help sort your trip over to Perhentian easily!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2016
8.9

Timur Guesthouse might not win best hostel of the year but would come close to being best value for money. Everything you need, close to centre of town and the bus station, good atmosphere, clean and friendly helpful owner. Thanks Mat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aaronjhart
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing guy running the place, Matt will help you with any questions and makes you feel welcome. Been here twice now and couldn't recommend it any more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.