Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tokyo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 6.1
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.7
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
Tokyo Hostel Located at 3-12-5 Ryusen, Taito-ku, Tokyo.
Tokyo Hostel
Japan
Tokyo Tokyo 110-0012 3-12-5 Ryusen, Taito-ku
63% 236
35.7237211 139.7915947
Tokyo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2015
3.1

Only one staff member fond and he was far to interested in his own world to care about anything.. Top bunks in the room were broken, almost dangerous. 5th bed was incredibly uncomfortable, could feel springs digging into my back. One of ou party of 5 suffered an allergy attack due to dirt and dusty room. Heater did not work, so very cold night. Kitchen was filthy and left that way for more than 24 hrs.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Oct 2015
7.7

A bit out of the way from major tourist areas in the west side of Tokyo, but not too bad if you want to do a lot of exploring around the east side. About a 15 minute walk from Sensoji Temple in Asakusa, quick subway rides to Akihabara and Odaiba. Staff was pleasant, showers were excellent. I had the bottom bunk which, for a tall guy like me, didn't give me much head space. Cheaper than the average hostel in Tokyo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
21st Sep 2015
2.0

old, smelly, dirty hostel, rude staff and far away from everything

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2015
5.1

Big rats in the kitchen !!!!! But rats can't enter your room as long as doors are closed !!! Not very well located .... Close to Ueno but it takes a 25 minutes walk !!! Or 2 stops by subway but transports in Japan stop at midnight. In terms of price .... it should be cheaper !!!! Really cheaper !!!! I was in Sakura Hostel in ikebukuro and it was really much better !!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Sep 2015
2.6

Was under construction when we stayed, didn't offer any discount. Location is very poor, not near any metro or JR line and area around is pretty dead. I was staying on the 2nd floor and had to go to the 5th floor for a shower or bathroom

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2015
5.7

Floors smelt of cheese (had to wash all my socks and shoes after) there is only one bathroom as the 2nd floor one is being built (they start work at 9am so no need to set an alarm) so have to use the 5th floor shower/ toilet. Location is ok if you don't mind using the metro all the time to commute. Wifi is good!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2015
10.0

Had an amazing stay and met some amazing new people. The staff took me out to Ueno on a Saturday night and we ended up having quite a wild time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2015
7.4

Had a twin room with ensuite, was lovely and not a bad location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2015
8.6

On the whole a really sweet stay but as with all hostels, it's the company that makes it worthwhile. The receptionist was happy to accommodate and the entertainment available was quite impressive. Some of it was a bit dated but there was plenty on offer which took me by surprise!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.