Hostelworld.com

Tokyo Village

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 278 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.0
Tokyo Village Located at 243-247 Cleveland Street, Surry Hills, Sydney.
Tokyo Village
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2016 243-247 Cleveland Street, Surry Hills
69% 278
-33.8899221 151.2062072
Tokyo Village
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Lankles86
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Apr 2016
3.7

We booked last minute as we needed a bed for the night and were not due to arrive until 2am. They left the key out for us but unfortunately the wrong key so had to wake up the manager. This is the most unhygienic hostel I have ever stayed in, everything was filthy and smelt including bed sheets. The hostel is covered in aggressive notes including 'do not talk to reception unless it is to sign in/out, don't waste our time'. No lockers. We couldn't wait to leave. I would stay well clear.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2016
7.1

Booked a deluxe 3 bed en suite and were given a bathroomless 3 bed. Staff didnt seem capable/bothered to resolve this. Not a fantastic place but decent for the price. Should learn to afçdvertise correctly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2016
6.3

Owner Charlie said my girlfriend has a mental disorder and accused her of stealing. Claims he has footage of her he had sent to police which means he put a camera in her room days after the "items" we're stolen without permission and probably saw her and other girls nude.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2016
8.6

Great staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Feb 2016
6.3

I stayed for two weeks. The good: -Within easy reach of Central Station, Newtown, USyd etc -Generally a good vibe, communal areas, free breakfast. -30 mins of free wifi/day The bad: -Room was not clean and had stinky mould on the walls. Staff said we had to run a hot, noisy dehumidifier to try to keep this to a minimum. No air con. -No flyscreens on the window meant mozzies or a hot, stuff night -They tried to increase the rate from $75 to $90 despite my booking.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2016
4.3

The amount of money they get per person per night, and the place is falling apart!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
7.1

Pros:good location, good tv room, free rice Cons:overpriced for what you get

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2016
9.1

We only stayed one night in a twin private, so I cant say much about the hostel, but we didnt have any complaints either. Seemed allright :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2015
7.7

Really beautiful hostel with a courtyard. Breakfast is decent and there is free rice all day. The people working here are really friendly and the tv room is very sunny. Lots of stairs, but a central location and friendly people makes this a great place to stay. There are two bathrooms in the main building and the outdoor bathrooms are a bit far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2015
4.3

no running water!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.