Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford Located at Rathkieran, Mooncoin, Waterford.
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
Ireland
Waterford Kilkenny Rathkieran, Mooncoin
88% 130
52.2839754 -7.2367560
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

Clean and friendly but in remote location only suitable for those with car, no town nearby or anything so if you want to head out for some party you won't find anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Tom is a great character and fun to chat with. His little hostel is well out of Waterford but we had a car. He gave us valuable tips on where to park and what to see in the city. Because alterations are underway there was only one shower available , but we were lucky and got a double room which had a toilet and tap. The kitchen is clean and well appointed. Anne

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Tom's hostel was great! I booked last minute so was unable to get a ride from Waterford to the hostel the night I stayed, however, his wife was able to drop me into town the next morning. The hostel is very nice once you get there. It is in a rural area, but there is a shop near by . The hostel set up encourages you to interact with other guests and its easy to get to know the other people staying there. Tom is also very friendly and accommodating. I've never felt more welcome at a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
10.0

Tom's was my wife and i's first hostel stay and it was perfect. Tom is a super friendly and helpful guy. The room was neat and clean and the sheets clean. Wifi was decent speed, and the shower was hot(20euro cents for 10minutes) Would stay there again no problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel to stay in. Very friendly atmosphere and tom the owner, is a fountain of knowledge regarding places to visit within Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

This hostel was amazing! We really enjoyed meeting Tom and the whole facility was cute and clean and it was in a peaceful and quite neighborhood. We would highly recommend staying here! Probably better if you have a rental car, I think there are buses but it was a short drive into the main area of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your lovely message! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
10.0

a great experience all around staying in this family run hostel , Tom is an absolute gentleman and extremely helpful goes above and beyond the call of duty , Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hostel, Looking forward to returning in the near future 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks so much for your review and we also hope that you will return to us in the future

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
10.0

Great hostal very friendly and the owner could not do enough for you. Very comfy beds and very clean. I will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2016
9.7

Tom is extremely knowledgeable about his country...where to go...what to do...and you have the bonus of meeting his wife, daughter and pup! Lovely visit...would extend in this location in the future ;) Not far from town...lovely pub right up the road... Thanks Tom!! Great chatting with you!! s/lil

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
6.0

Tom is extremely kind and welcoming, and there are lovely dogs available to pet. However, the two bed private room is so small you can not move around in it and there are several additional undisclosed costs. You have to pay to take a shower, which is time limited to ten minutes and you pay for a towel. Breakfast is not included, and you can buy it for about five euro- but it's just cereal and toast. Overall, clean and friendly- but not what I expected.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for your review and we are always happy to have feedback from our guests. Just a few points to clarify any misunderstandings. The room you booked was a budget 2-bed room. Shower tokens are €0.50 and provide access to hot water 24h/7. Hostelers normally bring their own towels. The cost is charged in accordance with our environmental policy. Please note that breakfast includes porridge/cornflakes, toast, butter, jam, orange juice, tea/coffee. You might not have been aware of this because you did not order breakfast.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.