Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 146 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford Located at Rathkieran, Mooncoin, Waterford.
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
Ireland
Waterford Kilkenny Rathkieran, Mooncoin
88% 146
52.2839754 -7.2367560
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Excellent quiet rustic location close to Waterford. Wonderful hosts with good tips for visiting the surrounding area. Great homely atmpsphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and nice comments about our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.7

Lovely family hostel off the beaten track. Tom, family and pets were very welcoming and the staff were happy to help us with the rest of our itinerary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for having visited our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
5.1

Seven people sharing a bathroom with a toilet that only flushed periodically. Someone was in our room while we were out. Building we stayed in did not appear to be up to planning or safety standards for hostel accommodation. Only 2 showers and toilets available to entire hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Please be assured that there was nobody, except for housekeeping staff, in your room during your stay and also considering that you had your own key to your private room. As you booked a room with shared bathroom we find your comment surprising, in particular considering that your group of 7 people had your own bathroom that nobody else used. We would like to stress that there are no issues with safety standards in our hostel. Possibly this was your first time staying in a hostel?

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

Clean and friendly but in remote location only suitable for those with car, no town nearby or anything so if you want to head out for some party you won't find anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. If you were looking for a party, you should have asked us! There are 4 Pubs within walking distance from the hostel (nearest is only 700m away) and generally you can find a lively crowd in any of them.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Tom is the nicest man on the planet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hope you will be coming back to the hostel one day!

14th Jul 2016
10.0

We booked one night as we were on our way to Dublin, but we liked it so much we stayed a second night. Tom is a wonderful host, he is very knowledgeable about the area and is so willing to sit and help you work out your visit. He is really a great guy. The hostel is small, so you get to meet everyone there. It has a very different feeling from larger hostels, and that is it's charm. You will sleep quite well in the peace and quiet of the country. We would most definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your lovely review and it was a pleasure to have you in the hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.7

Tom is a great character and fun to chat with. His little hostel is well out of Waterford but we had a car. He gave us valuable tips on where to park and what to see in the city. Because alterations are underway there was only one shower available , but we were lucky and got a double room which had a toilet and tap. The kitchen is clean and well appointed. Anne

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.1

Tom's hostel was great! I booked last minute so was unable to get a ride from Waterford to the hostel the night I stayed, however, his wife was able to drop me into town the next morning. The hostel is very nice once you get there. It is in a rural area, but there is a shop near by . The hostel set up encourages you to interact with other guests and its easy to get to know the other people staying there. Tom is also very friendly and accommodating. I've never felt more welcome at a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for having been such a nice guest!

17th Jun 2016
10.0

Tom's was my wife and i's first hostel stay and it was perfect. Tom is a super friendly and helpful guy. The room was neat and clean and the sheets clean. Wifi was decent speed, and the shower was hot(20euro cents for 10minutes) Would stay there again no problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the future

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel to stay in. Very friendly atmosphere and tom the owner, is a fountain of knowledge regarding places to visit within Ireland.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.