Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 7.8
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford Located at Rathkieran, Mooncoin, Waterford.
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
Ireland
Waterford Kilkenny Rathkieran, Mooncoin
88% 155
52.2839754 -7.2367560
Tom's Comfort Hostel Waterford
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
10.0

The hostel itself was realy comfortable and clean. The bathroom and the bedroom were both in great condition. Tom and his wife are really nice and friendly and helpful, providing us with interesting information for locations around the area. There is also a local bar in the area with very nice people to meet, we had a great night there. For some people the hostel might be a bit far from town, but for me it was perfect. The area was quiet and with a car you can reach Waterford within ~10min.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.4

Well situated for travellers, this hostel offers a very friendly and comfortable place to stay. Easy to follow the directions and located striking distance off a main road

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your review and for having stayed in our hostel!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
7.1

Had to pay for the shower which was a bit off. Granted it was only 10c but that's also the thing, it was only 10c. Otherwise lovely place, far out so need a car. Pub up the road but don't expect much. Literally a cheap place to rest your head and get on your way.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

Great and very friendly. Tom is a mine of information!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for having stayed with us!

12th Aug 2016
8.3

Excellent quiet rustic location close to Waterford. Wonderful hosts with good tips for visiting the surrounding area. Great homely atmpsphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and nice comments about our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.7

Lovely family hostel off the beaten track. Tom, family and pets were very welcoming and the staff were happy to help us with the rest of our itinerary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for having visited our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
5.1

Seven people sharing a bathroom with a toilet that only flushed periodically. Someone was in our room while we were out. Building we stayed in did not appear to be up to planning or safety standards for hostel accommodation. Only 2 showers and toilets available to entire hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Please be assured that there was nobody, except for housekeeping staff, in your room during your stay and also considering that you had your own key to your private room. As you booked a room with shared bathroom we find your comment surprising, in particular considering that your group of 7 people had your own bathroom that nobody else used. We would like to stress that there are no issues with safety standards in our hostel. Possibly this was your first time staying in a hostel?

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

Clean and friendly but in remote location only suitable for those with car, no town nearby or anything so if you want to head out for some party you won't find anything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. If you were looking for a party, you should have asked us! There are 4 Pubs within walking distance from the hostel (nearest is only 700m away) and generally you can find a lively crowd in any of them.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Tom is the nicest man on the planet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hope you will be coming back to the hostel one day!

14th Jul 2016
10.0

We booked one night as we were on our way to Dublin, but we liked it so much we stayed a second night. Tom is a wonderful host, he is very knowledgeable about the area and is so willing to sit and help you work out your visit. He is really a great guy. The hostel is small, so you get to meet everyone there. It has a very different feeling from larger hostels, and that is it's charm. You will sleep quite well in the peace and quiet of the country. We would most definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your lovely review and it was a pleasure to have you in the hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.