X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tomato Backpackers Hotel Reviews

Via Silvio Pellico 11, Turin, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
480 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

one of the best hostels I've stayed in. the place isn't far from the city which you can walk in everywhere amd the staff are always willing go help you find your way around.the bar is really cool and there are lots of.great areas to hang out at. it is a shame the basement isn't used by some as it could be a great place to hang out but that could vary from group to group. a very pleasent stay.


100%

Incredible hostel So helpful staff Free water all you want Clean Comfortable Nice garden to relax Parking outside for 5€ a day The best hostel in ever experienced


94%

Not much atmosphere inside, but by far best hostel i've been to. Just great facilities and tidiness.


100%

This place is adorable and affordable! Great location within walking distance of all the tourtisty things, Greg services like allowing you to leave luggage for free until midnight of the day you check out. Very youthful atmosphere and the staff was SUPER helpful. Plus the one receptionist was cute :) if I ever go back to Turin, staying here for sure!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a great place for meeting people. Tiny complimentary breakfast was a nice perk. Staff was kind and very helpful. Location was great and it was easy to walk everywhere. No air conditioning but a decent fan was provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emily, It's been a pleasure to host you. Thank you for your nice review, although you didn't like the atmosphere a lot. We provide to our guests about 200 squared meters of common areas, with a bar, travellers guides, wi-fi and useful informations about our city. Plus, there's plenty of bars and clubs in this area. Again thank you for your nice review! We're looking forward to host you again and to provide you a better atmosphere. Best regards, Benji

100%

Would definitely come back to Tomato! A really good hostel with everything you need and amazingly friendly staff. Breakfast was good and there was a lot of info about where to go and what to do. Atmosphere was great too!


91%

The location is very convenient to reach different parts of Turin. Staffs are all friendly and helpful. The room is clean, with lots of spaces. The common room is a nice place to meet new friends. The hostel can provide many useful informations for traveling Turin. And it is definitely a good choice for a budgeted traveller!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Hoi Ting Lai, thank you for your nicest review!!! It's really useful for us, but it also provides informations to our next guests. Reviews like yours really help us to do our job! We're looking forward to host you again some other time. Best regards, Benji

100%

I enjoyed my two-night stay here. Allocated a single room for the first night because the lock on the 4-bed was broken. Moved into the 4-bed room on the second day. Excellent staff. It makes such a difference when the workers are willing to help, have a smile on their face, and make some chat with guests. Having just come from a couple of places which were the total opposite, I really appreciated some friendly faces. Comfortable place. Bear in mind very hot Summer. Good quality fan in room.


97%

Free breakfast and helpful staff made our stay at Tomato Backpackers comfortable and enjoyable. Would return again!


94%

This hostel was lovely, the staff were so helpful and friendly and the room was great. There were great communal areas, a kitchen and a cheap shop just down the road. We loved this hostel and would definitely recommend

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely hotel/hostel within walking distance of everything you'd want to see in Turin and the main train station. Staff were very helpful and friendly at all times, giving great advice on which ways to walk to see the nicest streets and squares. Room was nice and big for two. Would definitely recommend.


83%

The staff at Tomato were fantastic. Very helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to assist me in finding the Apple store when my I Pad broke. Plenty of cafe's, restaurants and small supermarkets in the local area. A bit of a walk from the train station with a pack on back. Great little breakfast place only 200 metres along the street called Teapot that the staff recommended.


86%

We spent two nights here. It's a bit of a walk from the main center of Turin, but very close to the train station! The park nearby along the river is very nice too. We were disappointed with the free breakfast, which is just coffee, white bread, and jam/Nutella. And a reluctant second coffee. There are a lot of great suggestions for things to do all over the walls!


100%

Great place, perfectly comfortable and very friendly.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

very basic breakfast is only a spoonful nutella

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are sorry that you didn't like our breakfast! We know and clearly state that ours is not a rich breakfast, but it's not just a spoonful of Nutella. We also offer apricot and peach jam, butter, orange juice, apple juice, one coffee or cappuccino, tea. We apologize in case we didn't inform you correctly. Kins regards, The Staff

86%

We stayed for 2 nights and were warmly greeted on arrival and shown all the facilities and to our room and given a good restaurant recommendation for eating that night. The Tomato backpackers hostel is located in a nice area of Turin close to good restaurants and bars and less than 10 minute walk from the railway station, the staff are very friendly and efficient and if visiting Turin again I would stay here again.


91%

A really lovely hostel. The private room we stayed in was very clean, tidy and with excellent facilities. Both members of staff we saw were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is basic but helps you start your day with coffee, bread and jam. The kitchen is also a little basic but this is a small thing as this hostel is really worth choosing if coming to Turin.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Ideal place, whether you are a backpacker or a little old lady like myself. Particularly excellent the spirit of the people who work there. Lovely atmosphere.


86%

Only stayed in Turin for 1 night in-between places but the hostel was nice! Bedrooms and bathrooms for each room were very clean and spacious. Staff were friendly.


94%

Fantastic location and friendly staff


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Turin Hotels

Please give us your feedback