Hostelworld.com

Tomato Kyoto Station

  • 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 4.0
  • Atmosphere 4.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 212 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 6.0
  • Staff 4.0
  • Atmosphere 4.0
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0
Tomato Kyoto Station Located at 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto.
Tomato Kyoto Station
Japan
Kyoto 600-8241 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo
54% 212
34.9869347 135.7518339
Tomato Kyoto Station
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • naughtyshoes213
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2015
6.6

The staff were really nice, the bathrooms were fine, but the beds were super uncomfortable and the place didn't feel so clean as we have got used to in Japan. It's was fine but I wouldn't go back unless I was out of other options

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2015
8.9

Very helpful and nice staff. Practical place if one are planning to travel out from Kyoto with the JR pass a lot since it's really close to Kyoto Station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2015
9.1

The staff were extremely kind and thoughful. They offered to loo after my bag even though I was a few hours earlier than expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2015
6.3

Strong points: close to main station, cheap price Negative points: No smoking area, no entertainment As just a place to take shower and sleep, this hostel is good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2015
9.4

Staff were very friendly and helpful. the hostel was clean and comfortable and good for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you guys:) I enjoyed talk to you guys when you were checking in ;) ARIGATO!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2015
8.3

Stayed for two nights, slept really well in the dorm. Also enjoyed the common room a bit. Good location near the railwaystation and good bike rentals nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2015
7.7

It's a clean hostel where staff is so kind,but time of check in is poor, only in the evening. It would be better 24 hours.and beds are very uncomfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2015
9.4

Very affordable Hostel and close to Kyoto Station where you can take a bus to many of the sites. Staff are welcoming, the facilities are clean and is in a safe area. As much as you will be enjoying Kyoto you really don't need to much for a place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th May 2015
7.4

Good location close to the main Kyoto station, which is what I needed for quickly traveling between cities by JR pass. Rooms were nice, as were the facilities. Ample storage, clean bathrooms and showers, and it appeared to have a kitchen for use. My gripe is that the bed mattress was pitifully thin, if I slept on my side I could feel the wood platform digging into me and it was hard to sleep in any position except for flat on my back. Thankfully I was only using this as a one night stop.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2015
6.0

As a bed for a night it was okay. However, I would not recommend to stay there for longer, e.g. 5 days or so.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.