Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tomato Kyoto Station

  • 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 256 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th May 2017
9.4

Great location near the Kyoto central station. Tons of helpful advice on where to go and what to see. Facilities are not superb but, it is a really good value for the price. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
9.1

Very good for the value, the room for two was much more spacious than I thought. Plus it was one of the closest to Kyoto station I can find! Got my bang for my buck

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Not to far away from the Jr station. There were close temples by. Great restaurants were close by too. The beds and bathroom and shower facilities were clean and nice to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.9

So this place lost a couple of marks for not having anywhere to lock up valuables and the cleaners leaving the room unlocked when they were finished. The bunk beds was a children's bed so noisy if I moved around and the curtains only pulled halfway along the bed. However it is a hostel and a fairly reasonable one. It has a great location and compared to European hostels I've visited it's very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.3

A quiet hostel close to the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Cozy little guesthouse, great location not far from the hub of things. Friendly staff, would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.6

Convenient to Kyoto station and pleasant enough place to stay, but extremely cold! I only managed to stay two nights as I had my sleeping bag with me. I would suggest trying it in warmer weather or come prepared with lots of layers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
7.4

You get what you pay for. I prefer the private room. I was unable to get hoy water but the heating system was eccellent. Overall I would certainly come back again. Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.