Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tomato Kyoto Station

  • 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 269 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
6.3

If you're looking for a basic, no-frills hostel, this is a good place to stay. On the plus side, it's located within easy walking distance of Kyoto Station. But for better or worse, the rooms are pretty bare bones: We had a TV in our private room, but there were no other amenities to speak of. We could feel every wooden bed slat through the paper-thin futon. There are only two showers for the entire building. Still, our room was spacious, and for the price, it's hard to beat the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
6.9

This place is really "ok". Location is good right beside Kyoto station. Staff's English isn't great. Rooms are bare minimum and a bit cramped. Basic dorm room style place. Staff aren't there for half the day. Not particularly well organized. I wouldn't stay here again just because I know there are better places for the same kind of money, but it's not a bad place to spend a night or two.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location and nice rooms, Good to have air-con and small dorms at a low price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
5.7

The dorm was completely windowless so you rely on the loud rattling aircon that smells like cigarettes to not completely suffocate. Please guys fix that thing and clean it!! It's disgusting to sleep in there. The cardboard thin walls don't improve the sleep quality either because you hear every single noise from the adjecent rooms and facilities. Staff was friendly and helpful though and the location is convenient, but still I can't recommend it with that smelly aircon.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th May 2017
10.0

The location was great. Easy distance to the Railway station and to find. However if you had a lot of luggage I would get a taxi. The hostel was great. Very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were all there and the place was exceptionally clean. Even a photo was taken to put on post cards to send away. How good was that! The staff were wondeful. i would recommend for value for money if one wants to really budget or for easy access to the railway station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th May 2017
9.4

Great location near the Kyoto central station. Tons of helpful advice on where to go and what to see. Facilities are not superb but, it is a really good value for the price. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
9.1

Very good for the value, the room for two was much more spacious than I thought. Plus it was one of the closest to Kyoto station I can find! Got my bang for my buck

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Not to far away from the Jr station. There were close temples by. Great restaurants were close by too. The beds and bathroom and shower facilities were clean and nice to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.9

So this place lost a couple of marks for not having anywhere to lock up valuables and the cleaners leaving the room unlocked when they were finished. The bunk beds was a children's bed so noisy if I moved around and the curtains only pulled halfway along the bed. However it is a hostel and a fairly reasonable one. It has a great location and compared to European hostels I've visited it's very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.3

A quiet hostel close to the station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.