Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tomato Kyoto Station

  • 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
Tomato Kyoto Station Located at 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo, Kyoto.
Tomato Kyoto Station
Japan
Kyoto 600-8241 135, Shimizu, Siokoji-Horikawa-Nishi, Shimogyo
83% 237
34.9869347 135.7518339
Tomato Kyoto Station
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
6.6

Convenient to Kyoto station and pleasant enough place to stay, but extremely cold! I only managed to stay two nights as I had my sleeping bag with me. I would suggest trying it in warmer weather or come prepared with lots of layers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
7.4

You get what you pay for. I prefer the private room. I was unable to get hoy water but the heating system was eccellent. Overall I would certainly come back again. Thank you

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
10.0

Great place, easy access, good vibes; what more to ask for? This place rocks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • allanjhs4200
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Wonderful place. Wonderful staff. Very good value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Oct 2016
7.4

Staff were super nice and friendly, it's close to the station and overall the hostel was fine, but our room didn't have any windows so it was really dark, stuffy and a bit smelly....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.6

very clean, and honestly -- what more can you ask for for the price?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
8.9

Location was close to JR Kyoto station (especially after I exited out of the correct gate) and the little tomato lantern outside made it super easy to find. The bunks were cool and didn't squeak as much as I thought they would but my curtain was small and was the only one in the room to not totally enclose my bed but I think that's cause my bed was under the air conditioner so it was probably for air flow! Located near a life changing Kyoto vegetable buffet! So oishii! Definitely inquire!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.1

Nice hostel near the kyoto station. Easily accessible from there. Small room and small common room but overall a good stay. Air coditioning worked well which helped after a big day out in the sun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.7

Tomato was great. The room was spacious and clean, the bedding was nice and the facilities were perfect for a weekend trip to Kyoto. My twin room was located close to the bathroom, sink, and common areas so it was naturally a little bit louder, but the I would definitely stay here again. The staff spoke perfect English and the policies and prices can't be beat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.