Hostelworld.com

Tombstone Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 179 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.4
Tombstone Backpackers Located at 16, Gravesend Place, , Picton.
Tombstone Backpackers
New Zealand
Picton Marlborough 7220 16, Gravesend Place
93% 179
-41.2896417 173.9988470
Tombstone Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • bdubsontour2016
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.9

Really enjoyed my short stay here with the beds being pretty comfy and the unlimited wifi being an excellent speed. Nikki, the hostel owner, was also very, very helpful in picking me up and dropping me off at the bus station and also recommending sights and walks to take! Would absolutely recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2016
9.4

The owners were friendly and helpful, the cats were welcoming, and you can't beat fresh scones for breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bpowers27600
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2016
10.0

We stayed in a Queen Ensuite room and it was fabulous. It seemed to be newly renovated with stone floor tiles in the bathroom, a big shower with great water pressure, nice furnishings in the bedroom, fluffy towels, shared balcony, I could go on. Prime location by the Bluebridge ferry check in building. Staff and common areas were great as well. Very highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
9.7

Brilliant hostel. Free scones was lovely and bread as well. Bed was really comfy. Atmosphere was really good and chilled. Picton is quiet in itself but the surrounding Marlborough sounds and queen Charlotte track is a must do.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
10.0

This was a great hostel for my stopover in Picton. The owners gave me a ride to my scheduled ferry ride for a hike which was much appreciated. The scones in the morning are an awesome added bonus. They were very relaxed about stowing away my baggage twice. The location is almost right at the ferry terminal and very close to the main strip of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2016
7.4

The owners are very friendly and helpful, the German girl on reception not so much. Nice cosy feel, good wifi, do your laundry before you get here as there's only one machine and the dryer doesn't work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
8.3

I turned up to this hostel in the dark and left first thing in the morning so didn't get to see much of it but the bed was comfy and the showers were hot which is pretty much all I look for in a hostel! I would say that maybe the room was slightly too small for six beds so if you're there for a while it'd be a bit cramped but overall the hostel seemed to have a very good atmosphere. Also a great location for the Bluebridge ferry terminal - it's literally two minutes away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.4

Very nice little hostel with a really nice terrace and homely atmosphere. They offer free Wifi (doesn't work in the bedrooms) which is great + there's a free breakfast in the morning with homemade scones. Only criticism: I stayed in a 8-bed-room, and found it too small to fit 8 people - it was very difficult to find space for all of our luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
10.0

AMAZING! I had such a lovely experience at Tombstone. The place was impeccably clean, comfy beds, HOT TUB, small gym area, working wifi, great atmosphere with ping pong and pool. The owners go out of their way to help and accommodate all guests. And the morning scones are delicious! Nothing but good things to say about this place. Wish Picton had more to offer because I would've loved to stay longer than the few days I was there. So great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.9

Great place to stay as we were passing through on the way from Wellington to Nelson. The host Gary was really friendly and helpful, and had even made homemade scones for breakfast! We were only there for a night and out early the next morning but it seemed like a chill and friendly place to stay if we'd been there longer. Would recommend as good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.