Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tombstone Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 295 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
10.0

Had a fun time!! Definitely would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
9.4

Many positives here. The owners are happy to pick you up from and take you back to the ferry terminal. Scones for breakfast were a nice touch! Wifi was great. Lots of travel brochures available. The two cats were adorable. The concept of the hostel is genius -- It's across the street from a cemetery, hence "Tombstone - Rest in Peace". Very clever, and helps the place to stand out in the crowd. Suggest they add a female only dorm room. I felt uncomfortable booking into a mixed room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

The owners are very friendly and welcoming. I forgot to call them for a shuttle and when I contacted them last minute Gary was nice enough to come get me and also drop me for my bus. Lovely views do Picton. The room was very comfortable and clean. The best thing is the friendly house cats! I would stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th May 2017
9.4

Stayed just one night but they offer everything you wish for. Pool table, hot tub, wifi, tv and so on. Nice kitchen, bathrooms are okay. Plenty of space outside to enjoy the sundown. Owner really nice. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
8.6

I stayed here twice over the course of my NZ trip and hands down these are the most comfortable hostel beds I've ever slept in. They have a nice hot tub (but watch out for sand flies at night), a nice outside area with games, lots of movies, and it feels very homey. No lockers, but that was really the only downside. You're about a ten minute walk to town, but the owners are awesome and if you need to get somewhere like the bus stop or the ferry terminal they will take you. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Apr 2017
9.4

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, friendly and helpful staff, very nice living spaces, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and free breakfast! And a piano! And cats! What more could you want?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Really cosy and comfy hostel with good facilities and nice staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
9.7

This hostel gets everything right, especially the little things. It's so nice getting free milk to use for coffee and tea, along with a free breakfast of tasty scones. Wifi is free and not slow, there are no bunk beds, you get a towel, your bed is made for you when you arrive, there is tons of seating inside and outside, great views, and extremely nice owners who are willing to help you with anything! Overall one of the top 3 hostels I stayed at in New Zealand!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
6.6

for a short stay all right. not a place to meet new people. many people which are older than 30. kitchen is ok. big but to less cutlery . 6 bed dorm room has own bathroom. mattress is little bit thin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
9.4

Unique, comfortable, with lovely owners and staff (Julien). Fresh, hot from the oven scones for breakfast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.