Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tombstone Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 249 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Saltmaster
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

By far the best hostel I've stayed at. You can enjoy the comfortable beds, the peaceful atmosphere, and the fresh baked scones for breakfast! The walk to town was only a few minutes. There was a lovely hike nearby and the wi-fi was pretty good as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2017
4.9

Disappointed with my stay at Tomb Stone due to being double booked into a dorm as a result of a hostel world website issue. Instead of being contacted the staff thought it was appropriate to place me in the sunroom, where I was told I wouldn't be able to go to bed until 10pm as it's kept open for other guests. I was still charged $30 but after speaking to Gary he gave me a refund of $8. Another person was then put in the room without my knowing, complete lack of good service and communication.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Best hostel of my 17 I stayed in!!! Seriously, I'd live here. The free breakfast was awesome and everything was so clean and nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best backpackers I've ever stayed in. Owners live on the premises and are often around. Freshly made scones for breakfast every morning. There are a couple of cats and a puppy walking around the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

Loved the family owned and operated vibe. They were very helpful in finding things to do around the town. And the scones in the morning were fabulous!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
10.0

Good to find such a well run and comfortable backpackers, when you've just got off the ferry. Very clean and sharp. Great breakfast included in the price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
7.7

Very nice and clean hostel, and the breakfast is great! New baked scones! Very close to the bluebridge ferry terminal. The owners are nice aswell!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rachelebrewster
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
8.0

Good location especially for Bluebridge ferry - 2min walk up a hill past the cemetery,10 mins into central Picton. Private room clean and spacious. Good number of Shared bathrooms, clean. Quick, efficient check in. Spa available, ping-pong. Access to the kitchen, lots of crockery to use. Scones for breakfast were tasty, but no other variety. Good service of dropping our bags off at the bus terminal for us. Mix of clientele, families with young children, older couples and younger travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
8.6

I enjoyed my stay here. Nice room, nice patio. The location is kind of far from the ferry but they have a shuttle. FYI there are cats (if you are allergic).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel all around!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.