X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tonys Guesthouse Reviews

24, Lorong Banda kaba, off Loring Bukit cina, Melaka, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

We loved the hostel, really comfortable beds, the opportunity for aircon (though not needed) and a very cosy and colourful room and living room. Thank you for your guest friendly help during our stay!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Tonys guesthouse is quirky and we loved it. Great location as everything is on your doorstep, the owners are lovely and the place is clean. We only stayed one night, but would of happily stayed longer if we had the time.


89%

The welcome was very nice and the host gave us a map of the surroundings which was very helpful. It was nice that you can have aircondtion for just RM 3 more. The blanket though was rather thin... Old town is just a few steps away. Room and facilities are rather old, but clean. We only stayed for one night, so we didn't use anything else than room and bathroom.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Tony and Any were like our parents, they take care of every single detail and the hostel was perfect.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a good place and value to money place to stay if you just decided to go basic for your accommodation during your trip. Most of the attractions are within walking distances which is great !

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

This place was nice and in a good location. Rooms and facilities are basic but clean- so value for money was ok but not great. Owners are friendly which is a plus. You have to pay extra for RM10 for aircon.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was a great place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, clean room and toilet, great location, quiet, value for money, no complaints.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Good place, the location is perfect. Clean and tidy rooms with windows, bed were comfy as well. Friendly and helpful owners. Great value for money. Would definitely stay here again and recommend the place.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Excellent choice for budget travellers. The owner is well travelled and this shows in the detail in the guesthouse - nice touches which mean you feel at home. Tony is also very helpful with travel tips, local knowledge and good to chat to. Would definitely recommend.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff in Tonys Guesthouse was extremely friendly and hospitable in making sure that we were comfortably settled. She also recommended food to eat (food in Melaka is amazing, don't forget to eat as much as you can) and places to go. The facilities are also clean and aircon is available to help with the heat in Melaka. The staff also arranged for our transport back to Melaka Sentral by driving us there at a rate cheaper than taxis. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Owners were very friendly and helpful in figuring out what to do in Melaka

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Pretty cheap for a 5 person room. Beds were alright and the location fine.would stay here again


86%

Additional costs for AC and no breakfast included. Shower not too powerful. Very helpful staff, very cool look and comfy bed. Mosquito nets at windows which is good.


83%

Prices are very hard to beat! Good for those who are on a budget. Delicious breakfast, seemed quite healthy too. Lovely artwork by tony all over the guest house. Though still fairly clean, there is room for improvement. The linoleum on the floor looks like it has seen better days. Bed was very comfy. I really liked the location as well, near enough to the lively attractions, but not too near, so the noise didn't reach the property.


86%

Tony's Guest House is a good place to stay in Melaka, it's very central so you can walk everywhere, security is good (door access card for the main entrance) and the staff is gorgeous! They even waited for me to arrive at night even though my bus was late and gave me an upgrade! The place itself is simple, the house seems to be older and could use some inside renovation in my view, the mattresses of the beds and couches were worn (lower rating on atmosphere), common areas cleaned daily.


51%

The place is ok. They should really hire a decorater, cause damn


91%

Tony is a great guy. Very supportive and nice! Also his staff.




View all Melaka Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback