X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Totem Hostel Reviews

Lamadrid 2518, Mar del Plata, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
113 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

had a great time at totem,staff all the time were really nice and helpful. Breakfast could be a little better but I would recommend it in a heartbeat...!!!


94%

Very good hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of the best things in the hostel are the lockers - they are big enough for my backpack. The location is not perfect, but one of the best in the city: rather close to the central beach (overcrowded in January), and also not so far from much better beach Varese. All the other beaches are accessible by cheap buses.


31%

We were not at all happy with this place. Although the location is good, the place is dirty and unkept. We paid extra for a private triple room which was literally the size of a closet with no windows. The shared bathroom was filthy. The shower was quite simply a shower head over the toilet!! We were booked to stay for 3 nights and left after one night. The staff were very argumentative when we tried to cancel our booking. We would never stay here again.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, we are really sorry to hear that you were not happy about it. We clean the hostel and bathrooms all the time, at least 2 times a day. The room was small but it was clean for sure and had a window. It had a shared bathroom so sometimes it depends on others. We didn´t charge you any extra for cancelling your booking, it was ok for us, if you were not happy about it. Sorry for any inconvenience.

77%

Helpfull staff, good location! A lot of young people that were very noisy, but overall a good place to stay.


77%

First of all, the staff was awesome! They were always there to answer any questions or to help you when you needed it. The negative point of this hostel would be the breakfast (You just got coffee or latte or tea with bread and butter or jam) It was kind of poor you didn't have yogurt or fresh fruits or ham and cheese to prepare a sandwich. Second of all, rooms and bathrooms were not cleaned daily (and if they were, I didn´t notice honestly!). As for the rest, quite good.


74%

Cozy atmosphere, good location. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable, especially Guadalupe who's extremely helpful and a great problem solver.


83%

Only stayed one night, came late and left late so really cannot say anything about the location or overall atmosphere at the hostel. Staff was great though - very friendly and helpful! Seemed like the "normal-basic" hostel and I have no doubt I would have had a great time there if staying in the city for longer than just a stop-over!


100%

Javiar y Guada were amazing. So friendly / helpful in every way. The way they interacted with all the guests, they really are excellent. The house is older and comfortable with a lot of spaces to just have time out or join in the free for all. We enjoyed the terrace so much in the mornings. Our only reservation about this hostel is that we couldn't go outside on the terrace away from smokers. That was their refuge too but there are a lot of sidewalk cafes near by that we loved!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Totem is a great hostel, perfect location and extremely helpful staff. Big rooms and clean bathrroms. Absolutely recommended hostel, worth value. Thanks for all guys.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all Mar del Plata Hostels

Please give us your feedback