X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Tourist House Santa Croce Reviews

via Ghibellina 95, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1002 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

This place is good if you are ok with dealing with random things like the coworker who shows you porno memes in his phone or the racist comments of some staff. Location is great. The place has lots of bathrooms, which is good, but they need to be cleaned. No internet in the room (cause the walls are too thick, right?). Microwave was disgusting. Few places to charge your phone in bed, you have to do it in the common areas. Some of the staff is friendly and welcoming, but others simply ignore you


89%

It's a nice place to stay if you are staying in Florence a couple of days. It's cheap, well positioned and quite clean. The only con is that the street where it's situated is a nightlife hotspot during weekends...


80%

The staff is quite nice, but his English is not that good. The outside will be very noisy at night during holiday since the location is in te city center. It is a nice place to stay overall.


66%

One of the staff (he has a tatttoo on his neck) opened the door to our room in the middle of the night and asked to talk to one of the girls in our room. She went out all confused and came back mad. Then he opened the door again, and asked my friend to "talk" to him and keep him company. He even asked her for a kiss. He kept bugging her for at least 10 minutes. What the hell? He was obviously drunk too. It's very unprofessional and we felt harassed.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
he is not a staff member he is just a guest. sorry about that .... seems to be exaggerated a bit your relatation. I was there before you check out and you did.nt talk with me . Anyway I will TAKE measures

63%

We slept here only one night. The location was perfect, 5 min to Piazza Signoria! The staff..well we don't know we only met one guy and he was friendly but didnt know much about Firenze or reception duties. We left our luggages in the room until 8pm which was handy. We recommend this hostel if you have no expectations.


94%

I think this hostel was amazing, it was my first hostel I have ever stayed at, and it was good. I can say that it was a bit hard to find at first, since i had to go super far out to walk back to the other side to get to the hostel, but totally worth it. I can say that the staff was amazing, but they have to get the wifi on a longer distance to reach the rooms. It was a clean place, and I had my own bathroom and I met an amazing person who ended up traveling with me to florence and rome. Thanks!!


80%

Nice staff. No plugins. Not space. Cheap!


77%

They are right in Santa Croce, which turned out to be a great location only like 8 minutes walking to Duomo. The rooms were nice because there were no bunk beds! BUT I booked a 4 person mixed room and there were actually 5 beds in my room AND my room was up a strange spiral staircase on a homemade lofted floor. A bit strange and super hard to get to. But overall great value for money and we were happy with our stay!


57%

In terms of security, there is no safe space to leave your luggage, the door or the rooms are not lockable by key. The cleanliness was questionable, but average, and the kitchen was in good shape. However, the cost was too high for what was offered.

  • 1st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Preeettyy sketchy first impression, but we ended up having a great time. Functional kitchen and near to all the sights. Bang for your buck.


94%

The kitchen has everything and the staff is so nice. It's super close to all the main attractions and super cozy. All the people staying there are really nice. I only spent a night there but still I wish I had chose that as my first option! Super nice little hostel to have a nice time in Florence! I recommend it.


77%

Overall it was a good place to stay and a great location to be at. The street the hostel is on is pretty quiet during the day, but on weekends it can get pretty noisy for those trying to sleep. The bathrooms were a little dated but mostly clean, or as clean as shared bathrooms get. The wifi was pretty fast but for us it only worked in the common area and not at all in our room. In summary, would I stay there again? Yes.


60%

If you need a place for a night, decently good area, not too much money, then this will be great. Staff was a bit rude, and due to unmarked (no notice online or anything, via hostelworld) holidays, they didn't allow check in for about 8 hours later than expected.. Odd room layout, and kind of old blankets, but not horrible.


89%

Nice hostel, great value


57%

There were no towels and the shower was pretty shitty. always underwater and the water release out of the tub was very poor. overall: not good, but not too bad either.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 18-24


49%

The room was not good, no ventilation, humidity and very unclean place. Honestly pictures seem from another hotel. Good service from the staff but honestly terrible place. Not worthy of calling a Hostel.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Santa Croce is a good spot to go to discover the city and meet some people. The kitchen is a good point! The guy working there is really nice!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

the room is dimly lit. no direct sunlight as we are on the ground floor and there are 3 floors above us. good location as we can a bus just 5 mins walk and also quite a lot of restaurants to choose.


29%

Couldn't lock our door. Bathrooms were wet and muddy on the floor. Staff were rude when we arrived.


51%

Generally, it's ok. the bathroom is a bit dirty and not so looking good. the bed is ok. no lock in the bedroom. anybody can access the room.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback