Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Townhouse Hotel

  • Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila, Manila, Philippines

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.8
Townhouse Hotel Located at Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila, Manila.
Townhouse Hotel
Philippines
Manila 1700 Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila
66% 246
14.5206057 120.9940087
Townhouse Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th Jul 2016
3.7

Best thing is proximity to the airport. I feel disappointed to say that for a place run by Western people it's by far the worst hostel we've been in during our travels. It was raining hard (rainy season). Nothing in this hostel was equipped to sustain heavy rain fall. There was a leak in our room and it seems also in other rooms. It took 3 attempts to get staff to move our 2 family members to another room. * place and nowhere to eat in the area. You need to sort it out...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
5.7

Needs full renocation, very poor service, typical backpackers, low budget, but friendly staff, needs total rebuild, and renovation, friendly, for 1000 pesos a Night AC room own shower, ok

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2016
8.0

So far the place is good for a budget hostel, the location is near Mall of Asia and the domestic airport which is nice for those who will be leaving Manila soon but wanted also to stroll for a while. The staff are friendly and the facility is good (You have to stay in the living room to avail the internet access). Overall it's a good place to stay if you're on a budget.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words and hopefully eventually we'll be able to do something to enable the wi-fi access inside all of our 34 private rooms and dormitory in all 5 townhouse units

17th May 2016
6.0

Had been staying this hostel for the last 3 trips but first time on the dormitory. Dorm is on the other building 6-7 units away, so do not have wifi. Use the smart data but no reception inside the room. No kitchen facilities and end up buying mineral water 2-3 bottles of 1.5l @ 25 peso at shop nearby vs 40peso at hostel cafe. Hot water available 5peso.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your helpful review to other budget travelers and we wish you happy travel adventures where ever go in the Philippines. My wife and I will be going to Malaysia soon to visit the national parks and see the country

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Apr 2016
5.4

We only stayed here to rest our heads before a flight the following day. The location is great for the airport but not good for much else. When we arrived we were shown to our family room (we were 4 girls sharing) and there was one smaller than double bed and some dodgy looking sofa cushions that two people had to sleep on. The description of the room was that their would be a double bed and bunk beds and the staff were unhelpful. The only good thing about this place is the home cooked food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking your time to write this review; we have 32 private rooms with 5 rates and no two rooms are the same so always encourage our guests to request having a look at 2 or 3 of the same priced rooms so they can choose the room they prefer. We have extra futon style mattresses for extra persons and encourage our guests to ask our staff to accommodate them any way they choose and not to be shy, otherwise our staff lack professional skills to encourage such. Again we email nearly every guest personally with all of our email, cell phone and land line tel # communication details so if they find our staff unresponsive all they need to do is ask or notify us personally and we're make things right promptly and sometimes send the more "unhelpful" home on "vacation" and replace them with new more helpful staff

2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Shuttle to airport not available but declared on wall..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our airport service is presently in limbo due to our driver leaving 6 months ago and our airport service charges being nearly double what metered taxis cost and also because of the massive construction projects between our place and the 4 airports requiring guests to wait for 30+ minutes to be picked up. We also provide guests with every email we send when confirming their bookings how to get from our place to all for airports for ONLY P7 by jeepney + a short walk and have found over the years our Townhouse guests are very frugal and choose the less expensive transport options rather than use our airport service

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.0

Checked in late and left early so cant comment a whole lot. Pretty average in all departments. Bit tricky to find, the street is quite small and easily driven past. Close to domestic terminal though, you get what you paid for. Staff not overly outgoing, didn't have change so had to use my small stuff I'd planned for taxi which ended up being a hassle. I'd only stay if your on tight budget!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
4.0

staff unfriendly. nobody cares. there is no change, never. stayed 100m away on a nother building no wifi. shower was not working, coachroaches. only 1 plug. all together, only good if you have to sleep somewhere before your fly departure.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review; it's too bad you couldn't include the name(s) of our unfriendly staff because we would send them on "vacation" back to the province where they came from to be reminded how tough their lives were before working at The Townhouse Hotel Manila. We have called Sky Cable, PLDT and Cable Lnk internet and cable TV providers 5 times a day for the past 3+ months to have wifi and cale TV installed in our unit 11 just down the street 10 doors, 65 meters from our main building and though their technicians have shown up 2 or 3 times and promised to come back they never have so thanks for your reminder we start calling them 5 times a day again starting tomorrow, Monday April 4. If you had simply notified our front desk staff that you had problems with the shower our maintenance guy could have fixed the problems within minutes most likley. The "nobody cares" attitude seems to be very common and rampant in impoverished countries located in the equatorial zone with tropical weather but that said I'm NOT condoning it as the owner but simply stating a fact or battle as owners versus staff or as an employer versus employees forever ongoing problem and the more you travel the more you will experience such attitudes outside homeland where there is a "live to work" culture versus a "work to live" culture in the tropics and Mediiterranean climate zone.

  • anniemurphy025313
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.6

Wasn't a fan of the location, should've done more research. We ended up staying 2 nights instead of 4. We weren't given a refund but a credit if we ever came back, which is nice. The kitchen offered some tasty food and had beer and hard liquor. The private room had 1 full bed and a twin bed, also a tv and fan. No air con in the one we stayed in. Also we couldn't get Wi-Fi in our room, had to go to the common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • unclejohnoday7369
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

a nice oasis in a crazy place !! Bill the owner was nice and helpful . i'll be sure to stay there again and recommend to folks. the food was good as well john o

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing a simple review nd we wished all guests were as honest and complimetary as you; we LOVE our guest house style Townhouse Hotel Manila which we opened as a hobby in Jan 1986, 30 years ago with only one townhouse unit with 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms which has grown to 5 townhouse units with 32 private rooms and a 6 bed dormitory regardless of negative reviews published by less than happy campers / budget travelers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.