X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Townhouse Hotel Reviews

Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila, Manila, Philippines

Reviews & Ratings Explained

53%

Rating
216 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 53%Security
  • 65%Location
  • 55%Staff
  • 47%Atmosphere
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

We chose to stay at this hostel because we arrived late at the pasay bus terminal and had to catch a plane the next day. So the location seemed perfect. The area is super creepy.The hostel itself is filthy, our bathroom didn't have any water and we saw the biggest cockroaches ever! When talking to the staff they said they couldn't do anything because their boss isn't there. They give you all those tips so you don't get ripped off by the taxi drivers but they themselves rip you off!


80%

Not a safe neighbourhood if you are alone as a girl here. We have stayed here twice now. Last time I gave a better review. But this time, we stayed up the block (like 2 min away) and we didn't have wifi in our room (paid same price). Wifi is still accessible in the lobby. And the lobby is a nice hangout. The owner is stressed about his renovations going late, and he is always yelling at the staff. It's loud, disruptive and most of all, disrespectful. Treat your staff better and lower your voice.


89%

Good place to stay. Food downstairs is great. At night, there's a movie on to watch and hang out. Close to a cheap market up the road (starts with a b, I can't remember the name). 10-15 min from airport. 10-15 min to Pasay bus station. Big Room had a couch, a table, a closet and two beds even though we only needed one. The only thing is the shower upstairs didn't work if someone else was using the downstairs one. So I had to walk to the other shower but it wasn't that bad of a walk. Clean hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we have water tanks above all of our rooms which need to be pumped to fill. It's really too bad you didn't simply mention the lack of water to our staff Raquel, Delores or Jasmin because it takes only 15 minutes to pump

66%

There is no air conditioner in dorm, just fans.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


20%

It felt very unsafe and the walls were so thin, you could hear the person i the next room breathing. Our toilette didnt flush and there was no water in the sink

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we have water tanks above all of our rooms which need to be pumped to fill. It's really too bad you didn't simply mention the lack of water to our staff Raquel, Delores or Jasmin because it takes only 15 minutes to pump. We have 24 / 7 maintenance as well that could have fixed your toilet in a couple of minutes but we hesitate enter guests rooms each and every day to inspect everything is working.

51%

there was cockroach in the room...and no hot water for shower machine was broken...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for writing a review; none of our P600/U$12+ / night / 1 or 2 persons have hot showers, only our P1000 / U$21 / night rooms have electric hot showers. Regarding cockroaches we have already replaced 18 louvered windows with fixed screens to help stop both roaches and mosquitos and other insects from entering our rooms but in large cities like Metro-Manila with over 12 million population in tropical climates fighting insects remains a constant battle. While visiting our daughter in Hawaii we bought a dozen liters of bauxite roach powder which we have sread around in all the typical path where insects move and also we have a dozen cans of roach spray we buy in Binondo / Chinatown which we use to kill roaches and other insects . I know none of this changes the fact that "there was a cockroach in the room" but even cities like Manhattan New York City have similar problems; I recently read the rat population in NYC is over one million so where ever there are people and food it seems the vermin will also follow.

20%

Verybadstaff...talkingrubbishwords...toomuch mosquitos around..no water...verydirtyplace...manydrunkarfsinside andtoomuchfoulsmell..no respect to the guest.its degraded ...

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for writing your review and I would love to read any other review you have written about the small businesses you have encountered.We have now decided to draw up an informal contract of each and every item guests expect and have complained about like yourself so before guests are given the key, the faucet, the shower the toilet the cleanliness, the smell, the electric switch electric outlet the TV , the bed the towel the toilet paper the noise or expected quietness, the window, the door, if our other guests are acceptable to them, if our staff shows sufficient respect and if our staff smiles while they check-in and maybe a dozen more issues so our future guests will need to sign above their written name otherwise they may like to see another type of room because we have 32 rooms . We hope eventually guests like yourself will find one of our rooms accpeptable enough to sign the above list of necessary criteria they expect to receive for the P500 ( U$10+) to P1000 ( U$21 ) they pay us for our private rooms.



View all Manila Hostels

Please give us your feedback