Hostelworld.com

Townhouse Hotel

  • Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila, Manila, Philippines
Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.1
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 236 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 6.3
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.1
Townhouse Hotel Located at Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila, Manila.
Townhouse Hotel
Philippines
Manila 1700 Villa Carolina Townhouse, 31 Bayview Drive, Paranaque City Metro-Manila
58% 236
14.5206057 120.9940087
Townhouse Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
25th Apr 2016
5.4

We only stayed here to rest our heads before a flight the following day. The location is great for the airport but not good for much else. When we arrived we were shown to our family room (we were 4 girls sharing) and there was one smaller than double bed and some dodgy looking sofa cushions that two people had to sleep on. The description of the room was that their would be a double bed and bunk beds and the staff were unhelpful. The only good thing about this place is the home cooked food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Shuttle to airport not available but declared on wall..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.0

Checked in late and left early so cant comment a whole lot. Pretty average in all departments. Bit tricky to find, the street is quite small and easily driven past. Close to domestic terminal though, you get what you paid for. Staff not overly outgoing, didn't have change so had to use my small stuff I'd planned for taxi which ended up being a hassle. I'd only stay if your on tight budget!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
4.0

staff unfriendly. nobody cares. there is no change, never. stayed 100m away on a nother building no wifi. shower was not working, coachroaches. only 1 plug. all together, only good if you have to sleep somewhere before your fly departure.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review; it's too bad you couldn't include the name(s) of our unfriendly staff because we would send them on "vacation" back to the province where they came from to be reminded how tough their lives were before working at The Townhouse Hotel Manila. We have called Sky Cable, PLDT and Cable Lnk internet and cable TV providers 5 times a day for the past 3+ months to have wifi and cale TV installed in our unit 11 just down the street 10 doors, 65 meters from our main building and though their technicians have shown up 2 or 3 times and promised to come back they never have so thanks for your reminder we start calling them 5 times a day again starting tomorrow, Monday April 4. If you had simply notified our front desk staff that you had problems with the shower our maintenance guy could have fixed the problems within minutes most likley. The "nobody cares" attitude seems to be very common and rampant in impoverished countries located in the equatorial zone with tropical weather but that said I'm NOT condoning it as the owner but simply stating a fact or battle as owners versus staff or as an employer versus employees forever ongoing problem and the more you travel the more you will experience such attitudes outside homeland where there is a "live to work" culture versus a "work to live" culture in the tropics and Mediiterranean climate zone.

  • anniemurphy025313
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.6

Wasn't a fan of the location, should've done more research. We ended up staying 2 nights instead of 4. We weren't given a refund but a credit if we ever came back, which is nice. The kitchen offered some tasty food and had beer and hard liquor. The private room had 1 full bed and a twin bed, also a tv and fan. No air con in the one we stayed in. Also we couldn't get Wi-Fi in our room, had to go to the common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • unclejohnoday7369
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Mar 2016
10.0

a nice oasis in a crazy place !! Bill the owner was nice and helpful . i'll be sure to stay there again and recommend to folks. the food was good as well john o

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing a simple review nd we wished all guests were as honest and complimetary as you; we LOVE our guest house style Townhouse Hotel Manila which we opened as a hobby in Jan 1986, 30 years ago with only one townhouse unit with 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms which has grown to 5 townhouse units with 32 private rooms and a 6 bed dormitory regardless of negative reviews published by less than happy campers / budget travelers

5th Mar 2016
6.6

This is a low price, basic hostel. It is a dreary place - nothing inspirational about it. The hostel has a small canteen with reasonable prices and basic fare. The nearest decent restaurant is 2 km away. There is nothing in the neighbourhood that I found attractive. On the other hand, the internet is good and the price is super low. If you are looking for a place to hang out for a day or two, get a good night's sleep, and you want to pay bottom peso, this is the place. I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2016
3.7

We have been very disappointed by this hostel. The philippino staff is not helping AT ALL - when we were asking questions they were playing on their phones! The owner and his friends have been a great help though! They gave us some good advice! We booked by email before coming back another time to the hotel and have been surprised to see that the room was not available but mainly they didnt want to rent us a room at the same price we asked in the booking email... not very pro. also cockroachs :/

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
4.0

Location near airport,but not nearto anything else. Staff was clueless even for most basic information. Cleanlines is Filipino style for budget accomodation - nothing gets cleaned, no hot shower.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, for taking the time to write your review, Only our P1000 / night air-conditioned rooms have electric hot showers and throughout the years of welcoming thousands of budget travelers from 93 countries we have found that most of them prefer cold shower in such a warm tropical country as the Philippines rather than pay extra for hot showers. Yes our staff are uneducated with little or no travel experience busy working to help their impoverished families in the provinces but my wife and I are available 24/7 to give travelers advice and travel tips. I wonder if you noticed the metro-manila, philippines and world maps I've hung on the walls in the lobby and the "Ten Travel Tips for the Philippines" tarpaulin sign and the mass transit sign with photos of all the various forms of mass transit in Metro-Manila, jeepneys, buses and air-conditioend Toyota FX shared transport. We also keep Rough Guides and Lonely Planet guides in our office so when guests ask travel questions they can find most of the answers they need.

4th Feb 2016
3.1

We chose to stay at this hostel because we arrived late at the pasay bus terminal and had to catch a plane the next day. So the location seemed perfect. The area is super creepy.The hostel itself is filthy, our bathroom didn't have any water and we saw the biggest cockroaches ever! When talking to the staff they said they couldn't do anything because their boss isn't there. They give you all those tips so you don't get ripped off by the taxi drivers but they themselves rip you off!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you Ann for taking the time to write your review, In Paranaque with population of 2+million water pressure has been an issue since the 1980s; we have 4 water tanks which we pump water up and occasionally when the tanks are empty due to our staff's lack of attention all our guests need to do is inform our check-in counter staff and in 15 minutes there will be water for shower. My wife and I have seldom been accused of being" ripoffs" throughout the 30 years of welcoming thousands of budget travelers from 93 countries and we have found that most of them prefer very basic accomodations rather than pay extra money to hotels with "professional" staff and which also have the same problems with insects etc of any large city in a tropical country. Yes our staff are uneducated with little or no travel experience busy working to help their impoverished families in the provinces but my wife and I are available 24/7 to give travelers advice and travel tips. I wonder if you noticed the metro-manila, philippines and world maps I've hung on the walls in the lobby and the "Ten Travel Tips for the Philippines" tarpaulin sign and the mass transit sign with photos of all the various forms of mass transit in Metro-Manila, jeepneys, buses and air-conditioend Toyota FX shared transport. We also keep Rough Guides and Lonely Planet guides in our office so when guests ask travel questions they can find most of the answers they need. We sincerely hope you find a better place to stay and enjoy your travel experiences in the Philippines

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.