X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Townhouse Hotel Reviews

Villa Carolina Townhouse, 201 Roxas Blvd # 31 Bayv, Tambo, Paranaque City, Manila, Philippines

Reviews & Ratings Explained

65%

Rating
164 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 50%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Had an overnight stay before flight back home. Service with airport pick-up was great, extremely helpful, fantastic staff.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location if you want to be near the airport. Staf is nice and helpfull. The building is old so expect less clean and maybe some insects but we were prepard for it. Bed and linen were clean, wifi worked, so we were satisfied for the money we paid.


77%

Very appropriate as a one-night stop located close to the airport. That is why you will want to stay here: Location. The service is friendly, a comprehensive kitchen/bar offering and plenty of chilled space. The WiFi in the lobby was fast even when 10+ were loading it, and having come from the Islands this was a treat. Plenty of interesting books to read to pass the time, you won't want to venture out at night. Room was small and stuffy, not really for 4 adults but it doesn't matter because you


80%

I enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly and very helpful

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

would go again so cheap, needs more hands on management to fine tune the place

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

Booked hotel on hostelworld in the airport turned up 30 mins later and there wasn't even any of the rooms available we wanted, even after our 10% deposit the hotel still said we had to pay for another room at full price. Hotel is filthy with badly stained old towels and bed linen only good thing is its not to far from the airport

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you had a negative experience at our place;we usually process bookings once a day in the morning, occasionally more often but could never promise such express response. Usually we advise guests that no booking is needed if they show up before sunset when booking rooms with the cheapest rates because 80% of our guests do not book through internet agents like HW or hostelbookers or their 100+ affiliates. We wish you happier travels!

37%

The hostel need a total refurbish.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
By the end of 2014 we will have finished 100% renovation; at the moment only 1/3 finished. happy travels

37%

GROSS!!, DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER! The reviews weren't great, but I've stayed in low rated places before and they were fine. We had booked 2 (2person) rooms with a joined bathroom. When we arrived, there were only 2 rooms left (no shared bathroom) I went to the first - Gross, single bed, which they expected 2 people to stay in. Second room - a double bed, looked like the sheets hadn't been washed in a month. I felt gross just being there. We left and ended up paying for hotel at 2AM.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Robert for you detailed feedback; we are taking our 3 cheapest rooms off hostelworld due to such negative critical feedback. We will continue renovation of The Townhouse and should be finished by the end of 2014. We will be replacing all curtains with wood shudders since Manila's air pollution makes it nearly impossible to keep the curtains clean and looking fresh. We have 38 rooms with 8 rates and plan to simplify to only 4 or 5 rates sometime this year. Happy Travels Robert

71%

We booked the hostel last minute due to a canceled flight. The receptionist was great and worked very hard to attend to our needs. The rooms were basic but functional. One room had a shower that was broken but the other was excellent. The breakfast was fine and the internet fast. It is a short taxi ride to the aiport that the hostel can arrange. Not a place we're would stay for a few days but fine for a night.


51%

they didn't had my booking details...... But no worries I just picked another room, this room (300pesos) GREENROOM - 'on the staircase' and in the room was an wooden staircase. It was very noisy!!!!!!! Toilet was down the stairs, no hot water, not nice and not clean :( you get what you pay for, maybe alittle less!!!! Food was great and staff helpfull, close and easy from airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You Kenneth, We have removed out cheapest rooms from hostelworld due to both the popularity and the negative critical feedback from hostelworld guests' comments. Happy Travels

57%

I would like to be sepalated male and female rooms.

  • 22nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

It's a very convenient location near the airport


46%

Good, close to the airport location (taxi on meter 75 pesos at 2.00 am) and smiley receptionist but: private en suite room turn out to be very dirty/filthy with broken shower and no flashing toilet and cold only water from the lower broken shower tap. Unpleasant and loudly shouting kitchen staff. Room security close to ZERO, a hole in the room’s door lock, nets only in windows, in the reception area broken or without padlocks so called secure boxes. Managed to survive but worse then expected.


51%

will do a review on this later...its too complex to do at this time....also im awaiting the outcome of several and serious complaints i have with THH.....also possibly with HW also....

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Very easy to spend a night or two when you need the airport close at hand. Not the cleanest room by far, but it was good value for the money, never lost power, and had decent water pressure. Wifi only worked in the lobby area, but worked quite well there.

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Natalie for your honest comment; we have started a major renovation which will be finished by next Oct 2014 so hopefully getting rid of all the wood will help keep our rooms and lobby cleaner. Large cities like Manila with 14M people have air pollution which make cleanliness a challenge. HAPPY TRAVELS!!

83%

STaff are appreciated very much with more than enough help when needed. The longer I stayed the more the staff become like family and I really appreciate that. Room was a little shabby but you have to expect that in a 3rd world country. No hot shower again I am in asia but other rooms for the same price had warm showers but other problems were present in other rooms so I was overall happy with my stay and the hospitality of the hostesses and cooks. THANKS PINKY..........

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have started a renovation of the Townhouse which we have postponed for years as we have been busy expanding our Boracay beach front resort Casa Camilla. The first of 3 townhouse units is nearing completion so we'll take a break and start next April/May and hope to finish by Oct/Nov 2014. THANKS for your kind words and truthful feedback, Since 1986 this is our 4th major renovation. HAPPY TRAVELS, Bill Lorna and Camilla



View all Manila Hostels

Please give us your feedback