X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Trafalgar Cottages Reviews

Trafalgar Cottages, Manggayad, Boracay Island, Philippines

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
392 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Joel was frankly unwelcoming. at first contacted Julia, she was very helpful re booking, but our travel plans changed. when we apologetically informed hostel (well before 24-hour deadline) Joel replied quite rudely, telling us we'd "made a mess of things" and that we "should have thought carefully". we arrived early to ask if we could store bags, he complained we were too early. then I saw he had emailed us 30 minutes before complaining that we were late and "no where to be found". what?


91%

I really enjoyed my stay at Trafalgar, the staff are very helpful and friendly. They can provide lots of information on things to do, they also have a currency exchange which is very useful. There were 2 power cuts during our stay but the staff worked very hard to get this up a running as quick as possible. The showers are a bit on the cold side but this wasn't too much of a problem for us!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff here were excellent and would go out of their way to help. The room was regularly cleaned and staff would tell you they were going into your room to clean. The only real issue here is the wifi. If the wifi could be improved I would have no complaints.


89%

Excellent value for money which is nowadays difficult to find on Boracay. Perfect location near to the beach but very quiet at night. The cottages are very clean, well kept with fan and shower and a comfortable bed. Wifi available in the common area , very nice and helpful owner and staff. Definitely one of the best options if you want to save money but still have a comfortable, friendly and safe place to stay.


94%

Woman who workes in hostel was nicest and sweetest filipina what we have met for a while. She made everything that we would enjoy our stay there (and we did) and hostel staff was really flexible and helpfull. We would recommend this Place for sure. BR, Friend group from Finland

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent staff, always friendly and helpful. Thank you Joel! :)


86%

The staff is super friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. They make their guests feel welcome and important and are always there for them. The location is right behind a souvenir marketplace, about 2 or 3 minutes from White Beach. And although you are not far from the action and the main road, the place is quiet at night and you can sleep. This is a clean no-frills kind of place and it does the job, no problem. If you are looking for simple and affordable accomodation, this is the place to go!


83%

pearlie who works there is nice. Clean place. Negatives: costs money to borrow a book to read and rather expensive to borrow and use the basic kitchen set up. Balcony area with hammock gets locked at 9 which is disappointing.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We enjoyed our stay. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and well kept. A short walk from the beach but a great value for the cost.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Trafalgar Cottages located nearby the market within few mins walking distance .you can find the store,coffee shop,market ,bar and restaurant. The room / bed is clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful !!! Speaks good english. I would stay here if go to Boracay again :)

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The owner Mr. Joel and his staff are really nice. Thank you for the kindness and accommodation :)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Good value for the money. WiFi is poor and tough to dry towels because sun doesn't shine down into cottages. Staff was ok, they didnt like that i was only staying for a couple nights. Saw them talking harshly to other customers. Would not stay here again.


77%

We love the hospitality provided by the staff, they 're very much friendly and helpful along our stay there. the private room provided is good enough and reasonable as to the price given, as it is near to the beach and also the jetty. So it takes less than 10 min to any of those places. I just wish the wifi connection would be excellent that I dont 've to hangout by the pantry, especially when I 'm to tired and feel like to lay on my bed instead of sitting at the pantry just to online.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

They were very accomodating

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • pa3k02029432
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

We were very happy with this accommodation. The guest house is located in Station 3, a 5-minute-walk from the White Beach. The room was pretty basic with cold shower and aircon, but it was clean. We liked our private balcony with a little hammock. The staff was helpful and friendly too. This wasn't a "wow experience" but a good accommodation. Would recommend the place to a backpacker, who is looking for a nice place to stay for reasonable price.


91%

I had a great time in Boracay and Trafalgar was a big part of it. The staff is amazingly friendly. The hammocks on the porch are super comfortable. The common area is a great place to meet people. The rooms are big, comfortable, and clean, especially by Philippines standards. The shower was pretty nice. And the walk to the beach is super quick. Great place. Thanks Joel and Pearly!


89%

The owners were lovely! So helpful to try and accommodate us and our changing schedule, as well as very knowledgeable with great advise on where to go off the beaten track in and around the Panay Island! Quiet location, but only a couple of minutes walk from the beach.


86%

Good quiet and affordable option in borocay away from masses on the beach! Would definitely stay again. Thanks Pearl and co!


80%

The lack of a laundry service are why i rated facilities and the "hammock" for every room (ours was not comfortable at all and impossible to lay down, it was more of a swinging net chair) are why i rated the facilities as poor. The staff were nice and the rooms were clean. It was only a few minute walk from the action and i would recommend it if you are looking for a quiet atmosphere. Overall it is a great value for the money and I would stay there again.


94%

Great place situated near the main street and markets yet very quiet and peaceful. Staff is excellent and very helpful and even assisted me in finding another hostel nearby since they had no availability . definitely recommend staying here


« first « Prev 1 2
(39 results)


View all Boracay Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback