Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tram Stop 14 Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 170 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers Located at 151-153 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 151-153 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy
83% 170
-37.8029709 144.9776280
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

The staff were really nice and accomodating and let me check in a bit early. Lots of long termers staying there which is a problem for some people who are only there for a couple of days but everyone seemed friendly! Good location, in a really cool suburb. Very clean, great showers. The rooms are really cold but they provide thick covers and a towel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We try hard to keep the hostel clean and our showers are roomy and have very good water pressure. The rooms are heated from the evening until well into the night. Our upstairs lounge/balcony is heated throughout the day in winter. Our long-termers are all friendly people who are always happy to see a new face in the hostel. Thank you for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

My stay at Tramstop 14 was a nice one. I was impressed with the amount of storage for luggage, the cleanliness of the room and also the bathrooms. I didn't spend time in the communal areas but it looked like it was used often. The only issue was that my room was right next to the lounge room - and the guests decided to put a movie on full volume at 9am. But other than that, a really positive stay there. Would I stay there again and recommend it? Absolutely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

All our rooms have ample storage for residents' luggage and belongings. We are working to reduce the noise of the television on nearby rooms. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2016
7.7

Super clean hostel I would say. But it was so cold in the hostel, especially in the shared bathroom... My feet were freezing cold due to the cold wind coming in under the bathroom door and the room i was staying at was quite chilly as well. If you are a light sleeper, abd sensitive to being cold it is not the best place to stay.. The manager and staff members are really nice though. Pros: location, clean Cons: loud, noisy (from trams, laundromat downstairs), cold, weed smokers, thin walls

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Don't know why you were cold, all our rooms are heated, and the outdoor balcony is heated during the day and well into the evening during the winter months. Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.1

Clean, secure and good atmosphere. Fitzroy is an awesome area of Melb with lots of brunch cafes, community markets, vintage clothing stores and trendy bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We believe it is our residents who set the standard for the atmosphere in our hostel, and it is always positive. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
5.7

Hi! My first surprise was seeing great reviews on HW app that doesn't reflect reality (8.6 rating and "Fabulous", really?). Long story short, the hostel is just okay. It feels more like a shared house (it feels most of the people living there are long-term) than a hostel. There's a great crowd and the employees try to be useful. It also misses open spaces to socialize - a table at the corner of the backyard doesn't really count ;)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our hostel is definitely not "just okay", in fact if it was "just okay" people would not stay but, people do come and they do stay because they like the shared house atmosphere, especially if they are working and don't want to keep moving around in the hope they will find suitable accommodation. We provide everything travellers need (except food) in a clean, safe and happy atmosphere; our residents make it work for them.

18th May 2016
6.3

The security is pretty good, coded front door and the rooms have locks with lockers. The facilities are pretty average, nothing to set the world alight, you share two showers and three toilets with a lot of people so get in queue early. The staff were not great on the whole, I arrived after 8pm and have to pay the $20 late fee which is extortionate. I did email ahead to say I would arrive at 22:00pm but I was not allowed off even though I did tell them I would arrive late so very poor of them.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Actually there are five toilets and four showers in the hostel, as well as a large, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor heating and lots more. The staff are wonderful and always ready to go that little bit extra for all residents. Thank you for staying at Tramstop 14 Backpackers.

6th May 2016
8.6

It is a nice hostel, close to the center with lovely atmosphere. Some people (long and short term were really cool). 4 bed dorms are nice with very comfy beds and wardrobe lockers, 10 bed where I stayed last night was a bit stinky. Was missing a knife or two in the kitchen and common "spices shelf" as in most of the hostels. Bathrooms were always clean. Recommended to anyone that is not into a party scene hostels - all the night life is just around the corner when needed :)!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.9

Overall it was okay but not more. A lot long-term people. The kitchen was dirty but that was not the fault of the owner, he cleans the kitchen every morning but the people staying there some of them are really pigs. My room was close to the road plus tram so it was really noisy. Kitchen is really under equipped. 1 big pot 1 small pot 2 pans and not much more and that for 30 people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The kitchen is untidy, but not dirty, and yes, the kitchen is cleaned every day. None of the residents are pigs, and most of them clean up after themselves in the kitchen. The kitchen is definitely not under equipped. In fact, not many backpacker kitchens are as well equipped as ours, eg, large refrigerator and freezer, each resident has a good sized food locker with utensils; there are two ovens, two stove tops, microwave and more. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

17th Mar 2016
8.0

Pretty good hostel, in all aspects: localization, facilities, staff and cleanliness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That's a "pretty good" review of our hostel. We try hard to cover the basics of what we think backpackers want and I think you've just about covered them.

11th Mar 2016
9.7

Proper dead good hostel. Definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope to see you again when you are next in Melbourne and thank you for your unique review of our hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.