Hostelworld.com

Tram Stop 14 Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 150 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers Located at 151-153 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne.
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3065 151-153 Brunswick Street, Fitzroy
86% 150
-37.8029941 144.9775707
Tram Stop 14 Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Mar 2016
6.9

Overall it was okay but not more. A lot long-term people. The kitchen was dirty but that was not the fault of the owner, he cleans the kitchen every morning but the people staying there some of them are really pigs. My room was close to the road plus tram so it was really noisy. Kitchen is really under equipped. 1 big pot 1 small pot 2 pans and not much more and that for 30 people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The kitchen is untidy, but not dirty, and yes, the kitchen is cleaned every day. None of the residents are pigs, and most of them clean up after themselves in the kitchen. The kitchen is definitely not under equipped. In fact, not many backpacker kitchens are as well equipped as ours, eg, large refrigerator and freezer, each resident has a good sized food locker with utensils; there are two ovens, two stove tops, microwave and more. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

17th Mar 2016
8.0

Pretty good hostel, in all aspects: localization, facilities, staff and cleanliness.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

That's a "pretty good" review of our hostel. We try hard to cover the basics of what we think backpackers want and I think you've just about covered them.

11th Mar 2016
9.7

Proper dead good hostel. Definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We hope to see you again when you are next in Melbourne and thank you for your unique review of our hostel.

9th Mar 2016
10.0

This is wonderful, finally an independent hostel in Australia that's worth named independent. Wonderful different and still great decent facilities. First time I rate a hostel 10/10, it is directly at Brunswick Street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We like our difference and our independence, we follow the beat of our own drum. Our aim is to provide residents with affordable accommodation in a clean and comfortable environment. And all this within walking distance of the centre of Melbourne, one of the world's most liveable cities. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2016
8.9

The staff was the best we have tried! So kind and helpfull! Very clean hostel, good showers, good location - just outside the free tram zone. The only bad thing is that people don't always clean after themselves in the kitchen, but that is not the hostel to blame. Overall a very good experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We tell everyone who stays with us that they must clean up after themselves in the kitchen. Most residents clean up and we are very grateful for this. Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2016
9.4

good location, very clean and very nice owner!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are in a great location, residents can take a tram or walk in to the city centre. We try hard to make sure our hostel is clean and yes, the owner is very nice. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

30th Jan 2016
9.7

Excellent location. Comfortable rooms. Systems in place. Thanks Joan and Evan.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Location is everything, and we are in an excellent location. We're glad that you found your room comfortable and were happy with our systems. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • ZACKGUTCHES
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
7.7

good facility for the money, good security and clean bathrooms/showers. kitchen was a bit lacking, and rules are unrealistic to be followed by guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Every hostel has rules and ours are not at all unrealistic; they're just good commonsense rules and not hard to follow. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2016
8.6

Gret location, very clean and relaxed atmosphere with a nice living area! Pretty quiet during the day as lots of people are working. Would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our hostel is great for travellers who are looking for somewhere not too far from the city. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2016
8.9

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 2 night as we were visiting Melbourne for the tennis. I was pleasantly surprised when we had a 3 bed room even though i'd booked in a 4 bed dorm. The facilities were great and the tram stop was very convenient! I'll definitely stay here again on my next trip to Melbourne and i've already recommended it to overseas friends!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We, and our residents, are lucky to have a hostel with a tram running right past our door, and you can be in the city in five minutes, or ten minutes if you prefer to walk. Thank you for your review of our hostel.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.