Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 310 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
7.4

It's a great little hostel run by a fantastic woman who obviously loves what she does. Although not in the most convenient place it is worth the trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.7

It's a massive hostel with everything you need to make your stay more comfortable. I booked a twin room, the biggest I've seen so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel!! The manager lady was the greatest and incredibly kind. Comfy beds. Clean toilets and showers worked well. Great small hostel just outside the city. No complaints, would stay there again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.1

Tranquil lodge is a laid back, welcoming and pleasant place to stay. I have been here for 5 nights so far and I still like it. Shiona the manager is welcoming and helpful to give you the information you need, she is kind and give the hostel a family feeling. She puts a serious effort to keep the place super clean. There is a fantastic dvd room where you can crash on the couch and watch how many movies you want. Suggestions: add lockers (though I had no problems with security, add free wifi)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Shiona the manager is so helpful and friendly. Nice living area and outside area. Peaceful hostel 10min walk from city centre with good spacious bed and rooms :) thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2017
6.9

Really can't make my mind up on this place still. On the plus side the woman greeting appeared very friendly, the atmosphere was decent and there was a good lounge, outside area and kitchen area as well as comfy beds. On the negative side wifi has to be paid for, location isn't great (though all hostels here seem similar) and the woman who'd been so friendly my whole stay was quite rude upon departure which really disapointed me as before that I was so impressed with her. Still undecided.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • JohannesStettner
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Jan 2017
8.6

The couple who ownes the hostel was super friendly and helpfull when I arrived late and stressed out! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jan 2017
8.0

We loved this place mostly because of how wonderful Shonna, who runs it, is, though it's an all-around good spot either way. The kitchen was great, and the rooms were breezy and comfy, and Shonna was a huge help as we were finding things to start out five weeks of camping, and gave us suggestions on where to shop and even let us have an old unused chilly bin. It's outside of the city center, but an easy 20 minute walk to the action. Overall, we loved it here and will definitely be back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Loved it there, especially the host mother makes everyone feel at home! A bit out of the inner city, but most hostels in Christchurch are. Has also nice outside sitting areas, well equipped kitchen, private showers and bathrooms, TV lounge with heaps of DVDs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Really lovely guests. Very clean. Had an amazing tranquil stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.