Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 352 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • christopherwelsh427
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
24th Jul 2017
8.6

Great and helpful staff. Very quiet in winter, not to mention cold in the corridors and bathrooms, but very good price for a nice place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jul 2017
9.1

For such a great service and accommodation it was really cheap! If you have a chance to stay in Christchurch and want to save money , definitely choose this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
8.6

Shorna was lovely and helped us organise our way to the airport, that was much much cheaper than an Uber or Taxi! Place was clean and rooms were spacious. thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Jun 2017
9.4

Lively stay at Tranquil Lodge! What amazing hosts, incredibly welcoming and warm in the cold weather 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.7

The owner is an awesome lady

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.3

Super friendly staff and incredibly comfortable beds. A little out of the way, but that's what makes it Tranquil!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

Although the weather was disappointing we felt right at home. Lovely big living room to watch movies and TV, free tea and coffee, and a lovely Scottish lady taking care of our grumbling bellies 🤗

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
8.3

I had a great experience here! The hostel has a great vibe to it and Fiona is so lovely!! She will go out of the way to help you and she bakes lovely treats for everyone! The only negative thing I would have to say is that it is quite far from the city. But other than that I would definitely recommend !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.9

The owner is very friendly, even made a cake for all! The rooms are normal, but you couldn't close the door to the outside, a problem for security. The bathroom and toilets are big and nice but the kitchen was unfortunately too dirty. But all in all a good stay and definitely recommending.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel and great value. The customer service is top notch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.