Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.9

The owner is very friendly, even made a cake for all! The rooms are normal, but you couldn't close the door to the outside, a problem for security. The bathroom and toilets are big and nice but the kitchen was unfortunately too dirty. But all in all a good stay and definitely recommending.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • NandiniKarunanithi
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.4

The owner is very friendly and helpful, even served us cake. The rooms are was just nice to accommodate all four of us. The bathroom and toilets are big and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
6.3

I wasn't very impressed with this hostel. The woman who runs it is an absolute doll and was super helpful, but that's probably the best quality of the hostel. The portable heater in my room was broken so it was freezing (actually it was freezing in the entire hostel besides the TV room), it's about a 20-30min walk to the city center, and you have to pay for wifi (though apparently this is going to change soon). Also not the best environment to meet people. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.4

Everything was nice and clean and we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend. The only downside to the accommodation was that you have to pay extra for wifi. Other than that it is great value for money and the staff were welcoming and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.3

The owner is lovely scottish lady who made me feel welcome from the get go. Facilities are good and it has a very relaxed feel about the place. It isn't the best in terms of location if you want to be in the centre of Queenstown. There is a bus to the airport just 15 mins walk from the door which is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
7.4

It's a great little hostel run by a fantastic woman who obviously loves what she does. Although not in the most convenient place it is worth the trip!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.7

It's a massive hostel with everything you need to make your stay more comfortable. I booked a twin room, the biggest I've seen so far.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
26th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel!! The manager lady was the greatest and incredibly kind. Comfy beds. Clean toilets and showers worked well. Great small hostel just outside the city. No complaints, would stay there again in a heartbeat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jan 2017
9.1

Tranquil lodge is a laid back, welcoming and pleasant place to stay. I have been here for 5 nights so far and I still like it. Shiona the manager is welcoming and helpful to give you the information you need, she is kind and give the hostel a family feeling. She puts a serious effort to keep the place super clean. There is a fantastic dvd room where you can crash on the couch and watch how many movies you want. Suggestions: add lockers (though I had no problems with security, add free wifi)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Shiona the manager is so helpful and friendly. Nice living area and outside area. Peaceful hostel 10min walk from city centre with good spacious bed and rooms :) thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.