Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 268 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Tranquil Lodge Located at 440 Manchester St, St Albans, Christchurch.
Tranquil Lodge
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8014 440 Manchester St, St Albans
86% 268
-43.5169375 172.6398468
Tranquil Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.7

Had a great stay at Tranquil lodge, ended up staying a week in the end. Shona was the most welcoming, lovely person in the world she is defiently an asset to the hostel. Would stay again purely for her. The place was great, private room for a good price and had everything you needed. Come and visit us in Hanmer Shona, Nina and Sally xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed your stay girls...real nice to meet you - how's it all working out in Hanmer, have you started the new job yet ? x

3rd Nov 2016
8.9

Nice quiet place to stay, the hosts here were absolutely fantastic though and I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alikat2077
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

Really friendly and helpful staff and a nice hostel. The only problem was that it was a LONG way from town, and the atmosphere was lacking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

I really love this hostel. When the first time I enter the hostel, It was feels like home already. From outside looks not so big, but when you enter the hostel, they have spacious room. Big kitchen, dining room, and I love their TV room. Very big, and a lot of sofa and also quite and clean! The staff is very nice and lovely and really helpful. Location is just perfect! Walking distance to nearer garden in the city center, also walking distance to supermarket if you need to do groceries shopping.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

I stayed here 10 months ago and have seen a huge improvement in the cleanliness and decor since then, whilst not the most modern hostel perhaps, I really like it - it's homely, comfortable and clean, close to a supermarket and pub etc and staff are welcoming and helpful, will stay again..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Owners were so welcoming and friendly. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if we could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
5.7

Doors did not fit frames properly and found myself locked in the bathroom twice. Stayed 1 of the 3 nights and found other accommodation due to lack of blankets in the room in the middle of christchurch winter. Staff were unprofessional and greeted me in their pyjamas. Heaters had zero effect and did not heat up when i had it on maximum. Hallways were a mess and clutered with lots of random stuff, no pride in the presentation of the building or for appearance for guests. Not a 'tranquil' time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
9.1

I arrived for check in at 1am to find the heater in my room was on so it was nice and toasty on a chilly winters night - much appreciated and made my short stay great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.