Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Tranquil Lodge Located at 440 Manchester St, St Albans, Christchurch.
Tranquil Lodge
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8014 440 Manchester St, St Albans
87% 288
-43.5169375 172.6398468
Tranquil Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.7

Loved it there, especially the host mother makes everyone feel at home! A bit out of the inner city, but most hostels in Christchurch are. Has also nice outside sitting areas, well equipped kitchen, private showers and bathrooms, TV lounge with heaps of DVDs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Dec 2016
10.0

Really lovely guests. Very clean. Had an amazing tranquil stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Dec 2016
7.7

staff are amazing, really happy and friendly. kitchen was well equipped. really clean and nice atmosphere mattresses were so old that most in our room were bowed, it was like sleeping on a hammock and caused some of us pretty bad back ache. location a 20 min walk to cathedral square so makes the day long

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
10.0

Awesome place, lovely owners

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
9.1

Very nice place with its own atmosphere. If you want a company - go dinning room. Need some private time for reading - go tv room. Owners are just lovely people. Really enjoyed my stay. Only unusual thing I found (coming from Asia) - internet is not free. But I would say this can be seen from a positive side as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Dec 2016
8.3

Owner was very friendly and easy going, made us feel very welcome and always said hello. Good sized hostel with all you need for a comfortable stay. A little bit rough around the edges but hostels often are. 20 minute walk from town in a residential area with plenty of parking if you need it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.7

Had a great stay at Tranquil lodge, ended up staying a week in the end. Shona was the most welcoming, lovely person in the world she is defiently an asset to the hostel. Would stay again purely for her. The place was great, private room for a good price and had everything you needed. Come and visit us in Hanmer Shona, Nina and Sally xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed your stay girls...real nice to meet you - how's it all working out in Hanmer, have you started the new job yet ? x

3rd Nov 2016
8.9

Nice quiet place to stay, the hosts here were absolutely fantastic though and I would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alikat2077
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Oct 2016
7.4

Really friendly and helpful staff and a nice hostel. The only problem was that it was a LONG way from town, and the atmosphere was lacking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
10.0

I really love this hostel. When the first time I enter the hostel, It was feels like home already. From outside looks not so big, but when you enter the hostel, they have spacious room. Big kitchen, dining room, and I love their TV room. Very big, and a lot of sofa and also quite and clean! The staff is very nice and lovely and really helpful. Location is just perfect! Walking distance to nearer garden in the city center, also walking distance to supermarket if you need to do groceries shopping.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.