Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tranquil Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 255 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Tranquil Lodge Located at 440 Manchester St, St Albans, Christchurch.
Tranquil Lodge
New Zealand
Christchurch Canterbury 8014 440 Manchester St, St Albans
82% 255
-43.5169375 172.6398468
Tranquil Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

I stayed here 10 months ago and have seen a huge improvement in the cleanliness and decor since then, whilst not the most modern hostel perhaps, I really like it - it's homely, comfortable and clean, close to a supermarket and pub etc and staff are welcoming and helpful, will stay again..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Owners were so welcoming and friendly. We only stayed one night but would have stayed more if we could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
5.7

Doors did not fit frames properly and found myself locked in the bathroom twice. Stayed 1 of the 3 nights and found other accommodation due to lack of blankets in the room in the middle of christchurch winter. Staff were unprofessional and greeted me in their pyjamas. Heaters had zero effect and did not heat up when i had it on maximum. Hallways were a mess and clutered with lots of random stuff, no pride in the presentation of the building or for appearance for guests. Not a 'tranquil' time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
9.1

I arrived for check in at 1am to find the heater in my room was on so it was nice and toasty on a chilly winters night - much appreciated and made my short stay great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
9.7

We arrived late on a flight from Sydney and the lady that runs the hostel upgraded us from the dorm we paid for to a private room so we could settle in without worrying about being quiet. She dried our towels for free and stored our bags as we fetched our rental car the next day. Very friendly service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2016
9.1

Awesome homey feel and very helpful staff! Gave lots of recommendations for things in the area. Comfy beds too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
3.4

Taps have no handle, no soap in toilets, some doors had punches and the shower was trickling. Stayed one night, I would avoid. Plus it is quite far from bus drops

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.7

Great stay, awesome host

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.0

Very nice hostel! The owner is very helpful and actually remembered me when I stayed there for a second time a month after my first visit. She's also known to spoil the guests with homemade dessert or dinner every now and then. Unfortunately no free Internet and the location is a bit of a drawback although there is a Domino's and a large supermarket nearby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.