X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Transit Backpackers Reviews

1st Floor, Hobart Transit Centre, 251 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
161 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Really nie host. Friendly helpful staff. Clean kitchen anand bathroms. Free parking. Great central location. Wifis excellent. I really enjoyed my time here.


60%

The room was cheap but overall the hostels is quite average. Most hostels I've been in Australia have been cleaner in kitchens and bathrooms but if your only staying for a short spell in Hobart (which I recommend as there's not much to do) its value for money could be your deciding factor that makes it worthwhile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We do clean the kitchen and all our facilities several times a day, please accept our apologies that it was not up to your standards.

83%

Except parking spot for car, all is ok. Carp parking facility is worst and needs improvement.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback Unfortunately we cannot cater car parking for everyone staying at the Hostel.

94%

Excellent facilities and staff. Had a very enjoyable stay and highly recommend it.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review!

89%

Have stayed here a few times now, I think it is the best valued money hostel in Hobart. It is a pretty relaxed place as most people staying there are working or going trekking. All the people are friendly. Free wifi downstairs in the comfy and spacious communal area. Lots of films to watch and info on exploring tassie. Very short walk to the centre of hobart/waterfront. Free luggage storage is great for going away for a few days as many people do!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks again! Enjoy your travels.

97%

Very pleasant hostel with polite staff! Walking distance to Salamanca square, waterfront etc. Free tea and coffee and free wifi downstairs - always a bonus!! Free luggage storage too if you want to spend a few days travelling around Tassie. What more could you want?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your review :) We hope you enjoyed your stay in Tassie!

74%

Clean and simple place

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for your short and sweet comment!!! :)

77%

The staff was great, the rooms and bathrooms were pretty clean, location right on the main street which is good on one hand but was also very loud, with music playing right under my room's window all night. Beds were kinda shaky and you could hear and feel every move of the person below/above you. Overall pretty good value for such a cheap price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your comment! Apologies for the music playing all night we do ask for no noise after 11pm. See you again :)

80%

We just stayed there for two nights but anyway so far I can say this is a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! You definitely need to come back and stay longer next time there is plenty to see in Tasmania! :)

94%

Was only there for 1 night but the staff were good and friendly people around. Lockers in the room would have been nice but there were ones you could rent ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your wonderful comment! :) re: locker, as you said we have the small ones you could rent, or a big store room for free, or you could even leave your valuable with our staff when reception is open :)

91%

Malinda is amazing! Best night manager there is!

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! :) All of our staff are here to help make your stay at Transit as pleasant as it could be :)

94%

Lovely staff, good atmosphere, great location, free wifi, a pool table and ping pong table what more could anyone want?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great comment!

89%

Good hostel, just a little short in space in the fridges, but nice living room and good wifi

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review! sorry to see you go, we all look forward to your next visit! happy travels and take care of yourself!

77%

I was in dorm number 1, right next to the door to the street. This would have been fine, but in both my stays here, the room was never locked except when I locked it. The door to the room was in full view of the street, so this made me uncomfortable. Other than that the hostel was very good, clean, with a nice atmosphere.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are always doing our best to maintain a friendly, fun and safe atmosphere. It can be a bit challenging at times when other guests in the dorm are not very savvy with securing your dorm. We always encourage our guests to keep the rooms safe by locking them when they're out. Hope to see you next time :)

51%

It was the only accomodation left in Hobart for the weekend of MOFO Festival. We were 3 well travelled women who were only in Hobart for the festival. The dorms were tiny and the shared spaces were dirty and lacked care. Beds were not comfy at all and squeeked. I'd stay at Alabama Hotel on Liverpool st if you have the chance. $80 twin share, stylish and clean.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, our system recorded that you are a group of 6, not 3, stayed in our 6-beds dorm. Our 6-beds dorm is not our biggest dorm, that's true. Re: cleaning, we vac & empty the each bin everyday, swept and mopped kitchen/lounge/dining 4times a day & clean the showers/toilets 2x a day. Our private rooms' rates are $56, $65, $70, those rooms are comfy, quiet, with TV, cheaper than $80 for twin rooms at Alabama. Comparing $27 room and $80 is not a fair comparison we thought? What do you think? :)

89%

Good little hostel, good common room and free WiFi, mattresses a little thin but alright. Very convenient location. Plenty of room even in the 20people dorm


77%

Free Wifi (or even paid Wifi) would have been good. Turning the common room lights out at 11pm was a first?!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Some issues with wifi, thats been sorted. There are dorm rooms near the common area as im sure you are well aware, lights are turned off so as not to disturb those guests that wish to sleep early. There is a huge out door lit area out back for people that like to stay up "later". You must have miss that.

51%

The kitchen was not clean at all and people were drinking and listening some music until late (around 2 am)... Moreover, the fire alarm starts beeping at 5 am and the person in charge didn't really know what to do, we had to wait 30 mins before going back to bed. Really hard to sleep in this conditions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunately, this happens at times, and when someone purposely sets off a firealarm there is little control we have over it. We apologize about the noise, and people involved have been spoken to, thanks though for the review.

80%

Great location, very helpful staff

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks alot!! we appreciate your comments, come again soon!

37%

Dirty place, huge dorms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the mess! though we do clean daily it can get a bit messy with over 100 backpackers in here during the summer peak season, sorry again though it was not up to your standard.



View all Hobart Hostels

Please give us your feedback