X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Transit Motel Airport Reviews

Off Nyerere rd, J Nyerere Airport area, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
38 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 47%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 47%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Very convenient close to the airport. Safe. Staffs at the reception and the restaurant should have ready access to change, even if you check in late in the evening.


54%

Thanks to the driver who waited almost an extra hour at the airport because my lugage was not arrived. The girl at the reception was not very friendly and when she showed my room she had to clean some things on the floor (better check before) I could not pay with my visacard and that would be easier.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Bathroom mirror not cleaned.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

The staff was polite and helpful! Their driver picked us up at the airport when we called and was very kind. We think this spot was perfect for airport travel!

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

We arrived on a Wednesday and were kept up past 1am because of loud music playing right outside our window (we were in Rm 4). Although it is close to the airport - literally 5 minutes away - I don't know if it's worth it if you don't get any sleep. The shower head is rusted (and moldy), the restaurant service at the motel is slow and not very friendly. The hotel offers a pick up and drop off service from the airport for $5 (8,000 TZS) but negotiate for a taxi @ the airport for 5,000 TZS.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

It's right near the airport and to be honest it's only perfect for that purpose! I really wouldn't bother to stay here for any other reason. The restaurant was dark and had a very very aged feel to it - the food wasn't great either. The room itself was fine. Once again, I would only book this place if I needed to be close to the airport.


74%

If you are coming late at night, that can be a good choice to stay. Not very far from the city center but there can be really bad traffic jam. Hotel was good, clean and staff was helpful.


86%

We only stayed one night in transit from Dar to Arusha. It was clean and comfortable and it felt safe. The breakfast was good and the airport is literally just around the corner.


80%

Always a good option for a nights stay over


74%

Good location and service if you need to be close to the airport!

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This motel was great for our last night in Tanzania, great location and good value. The rooms were really nice, with the comfiest beds we'd had during our stay. Would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of staying here in the future.

  • 20th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice and close to the airport, but down a very interesting dirt road so immediately immersed in Tanzania. It is possible to walk to & from the airport in only about 10min but if it's dark or you have a lot of luggage I wouldn't recommend it. The room was clean, the bathroom was clean but smelled a bit. Rooms on one side are definietly noisier than another, all night from the street. The beds have mosquito nets but I wouldnt trust they as they are unlikely to be treated regularly.

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Thank you for a fine stay, we felt safe, which is important, when you have just arrived to the country.

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The hotel was near the airport just like we wanted. Good enough for one night between two flights.

  • 23rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Only one problem was the noise, to much noise at night. but for the price and distance its a good deal.


83%

very friendly staff, small bar nearby, excellent location 5 min from airport

  • 10th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Because it is impossible to pay with credit card in hotel, on place the should be prepared for money change.

  • 17th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Transit Motel Airport is excellent situated when you have to be in the airport the next day. It’s only a five minutes walk to get there! You really don’t need a taxi, we felt very save on the road even at 11PM and again at 6AM! The staff is very helpful but there English was very poor. The food in the restaurant is good value for the price but they take their time to prepare it. If you need an early breakfast you have to ask it the day before and you have to insist but you get one!! Very clean r


29%

negative! a horrible place, and very very noisy!!!


40%

Good Evening, Last Saturday (July 28th 2012) We arrived at the Transit Hostel in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, we were taken to our rooms when we checked in and were unable to get a hot drink, it was around 11 pm, people are tired when they have been travelling, I understand there are no staff to do this but there could at least a small kettle, single-use tea bags, sachets of coffe, sugar, $36 US is alot of money to charge for the service and standard, overall highly disappointing.. I could go on !

  • 28th Jul 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Dar es Salaam Hotels

Please give us your feedback