Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Transylvania Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.6
Superb 898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.6
Superb 898 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Very nice hostel with a nice location. Could be a bit noisy as some rooms are connected. The common room is an excelent place to meet people. I really enjoyed my stay, so I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
9.1

That is a good hostel. Location is perfect. It has a nice garden, free wi-fi and breakfast. I liked the group dinner where every guest was invited. Good way to meet people. Not much to complain about. Only suggestion is, since I was there during a heatwave, it cold have been nice to have a fan in the room. Even with the window open, no air was coming in. But nobody controls the weather so I can't hold this against the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
9.7

Perfect location for walking old town, where most of life happens in Cluj. Very helpful and friendly staff. Safe lockers and clean facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel was very lovely itself, but seemed to attract a bro-ier crowd than I was used to. That said, the location was great (the train station is near, there is a farmer's market close by, plenty of shops and restaurants around), and the staff were incredibly accommodating - and while everyone was extremely sweet and helpful, I have to single out Robert for our amazing midnight conversation on linguistics and migration patterns in the Balkans. Hope to hang with you again, dude!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

This hostel is more than a place to stay. its a Home. Robert and Ninio are great people and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. they are ready to help on any hour (even 3am). the Facility is far better than any other i visited in romania and the place is clean. very intresting people coming there from all over the world and you can socialize easily. theres a big garden outside that ideal for afternoon chill. Location is the exact place where a hostel should be. will come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
10.0

Probably the best hostel I've stayed at thus far. Very easy to meet people. Super chill environment . Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
13th Jul 2017
8.3

Great location, easy to meet other travellers, nice courtyard and big kitchen. A little expensive and the hot water ran out. There weren’t any events or evenings going out when I was there. The main problem is how difficult it is to work out who actually works there. Sometime there seemed to be more staff than people staying there which gave it an odd feel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.4

Overall, I was very impressed by Transylvania Hostel. The location is perfect, and the building itself is quite interesting; the garden in the courtyard is especially nice. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Everything was very convenient and free of hassle. The atmosphere of the hostel is the best part: very relaxed and friendly. This is due to the staff who hold social activities every evening. Dani was particularly great- friendly, played good music, and helped me with everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
8.9

Transylvania Hostel has a great common room and yard. Most of the staff members were truly friendly, dedicated and helpful. The three that stood out in my mind were Ahmed, Robert and Kyle. The hostel is clean and well taken care of in all aspects. Congratulations to the cleaning staff. The breakfast was ordinary. It has a great location right in the heart of the city! The beds in the 6 bed dorm were quite expensive (100 lei). Nonetheless a great place to stay in Cluj! Amagi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Amagi, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you thought we were too expansive, you were here during the huge Electric Castle Festival, when there were special prices for the event. The team is still talking about how sweet you were, and the note you left us is hanging in the kitchen for everyone to see. Have a wonderful trip and come visit us again soon!

12th Jul 2017
8.9

Nice hostel that had 24/7 open reception and security. The location is perfect and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.