Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Travel Hostel Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.1
Good 1,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.1
Good 1,477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 5.7
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.2
Travel Hostel Amsterdam Located at Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam.
Travel Hostel Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1012 JV Beursstraat 23, 1012JV
61% 1477
52.3749310 4.8968982
Travel Hostel Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
6.9

Apart from the ideal location and the overall cleanliness of the washing facilities, there isn't much good to say about our stay at the Travel Hostel Amsterdam. First of all, the beds were by far the most uncomfortable of the hostels we stayed at in Amsterdam. If walking up 5 flights of stairs with minuscule steps wasn't enough, the room felt like a furnace even though it was roughly 16C (61F) outside during the night. The wifi only works in the bar which is on the ground floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
3.7

We arrived there at 8am after an overnight bus trip, we tried to have a rest in the hotel "common" area and got yelled at, and then interrogated as to if we were staying there. Once checked in we had to go check ourselves if our beds were ready for us. Our bathroom in our dorm wasn't cleaned once, it was absolutely putrid. Upon check out we were told guests that were checking out can't store their luggage there. It is cheap yes, but I'd rather pay more for somewhere better in hindsight

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
3.1

Bathrooms were disgusting and there was only 1 toilet for like 15 people in a room. Urine all over the floors. Only 1 bathroom outside the rpoms which was equally as disgusting. The rooms were cramped and didn't have any air circulation. They were hot, stuffy and smelled foul. The staff were extremely rude. They overbooked 3 people in my room so people ended up sleeping on the floor. Then they screwed up my bed number multiple times and threw all my stuff off my bed. No kitchen. Terrible atmosph

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
2.9

Smelt, no aircon, no fans and no windows. By far the most disgusting rooms I've ever stayed in. Would not suggest to anyone ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Sep 2016
4.6

Besides the location of this hostel, everything else was below the expected standard for the price. The rooms were cramped and too hot and had a fowl smell making it very difficult to sleep at night. The lockers in the rooms didn't work properly and the bathrooms were constantly flooded. Some of the staff at reception were rude and there was little atmosphere around the whole hostel. If you do stay here be sure to venture outside the central red light district to the nicer surrounding arenas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Sep 2016
3.7

Worst experience ever....I literally swam in my own sweat and everyone else's in my tiny packed room way up on the 4th floor. Not to mention you could kill yourself on the staircase leading up to the floors, but wow get some air conditioning for the poor people in the hostel so everyone doesn't have to bake in each others muggy sweat all night! Really ruined the experience for us in Amserdam it was so miserable in there. Not to mention only wifi in the tiny cramped bar downtown...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
4.0

Shocking really for the money we paid

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2016
6.9

Amazing location. Lockers don't actually lock even if you buy a pad lock. Staff are unhelpful and just look like they hate there job! The bar area is dark and no atmosphere no music playing nothing! It's in a great location but you don't really want to spend any time there what so ever

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
6th Sep 2016
8.3

Clean, great location! Friendly and reliable staff. Wifi was horrible upstairs in the room and the room was crowded and no room to move and turn around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
6.0

The staff seemed arrogant and my room was on the 5th floor and carrying a 15kg backpack up the steep stairs was a nightmare. However, there was a socialising area which had music, a pool table and charging ports as the room had no charging ports.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.